Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2

B&H Books A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2

Callie Duflay just isn't like the rest of her family. While they've built white collar lives, she prefers getting her hands dirty by working with children and local California causes. When Callie learns that a beloved piece of untouched property in her town of Otter Bay may soon be developed, she confronts the architect assigned to the project.Gage Mitchell may be an easygoing, eco-friendly professional, but he's not about to back off this job no matter how cute Callie or her pet pooch, Moondoggy, may be. His reasons and hers are noble-both have a heart for protecting God's creation, and the truth is these two would be perfect for each other outside of this face-off. But will they ever figure that out?
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Review 1 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny, true, and a very "shore" thing!

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all I'm 14 and I don't think 30 is old like this woman but whatever. Anyway, I love this hilarious, true, and endearing book. I'm a fan 4-ever!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Callie Duflay is a young woman who enjoys working as assistant camp director, and enjoys being involved in local causes. While walking the beach one day, Callie discovers that the Kitteridges are selling Otter Bay and it's being marked for development. She can't believe they would sell it, as they had promised the property to the town. Since then, the otters have returned and were rebuilding their lives. Callie decides she should do something about it, and starts a group to try to stop the development. For Gage the developer, everything is riding on this job and Callie could ruin it all for him. Callie believes she is doing the right thing, and so is Gage. But as time goes on, will they discover what the right thing really is?"A Shore Thing" is a beautiful book about family, friendship, love, commitment, keeping promises, faith, and hope. It has some very good messages behind it, making it not only entertaining, but a book with values that gives you something you can take away with you long after you've finished.This book was furnished by Nordskog Publishing for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
A Shore Thing by Julie Carobini is an Otter Bay novel following up to Sweet Waters. Callie Duflay has earned a reputation as always fighting for some cause or another. Her family is frustrated by her refusal to settle down and live a normal life instead of working as assistant camp director at a local Christian camp. When she discovers that a section of beautiful shore land is going to be developed into condominiums, she starts a protest group to stop the destruction to the beautiful natural area, but she finds that she may have jumped the gun when she talks to the owner and finds out the truth behind the property's sale. Throw in handsome Gage Mitchell, the architect for the project who creates sparks with Callie every time they meet, and you have a recipe for star-crossed romance. Gage is a likable hero with strong faith and the desire to build green buildings, but he seems to throw back his head and laugh a lot. Callie's desire to do right leads her into plenty of trouble, but she has to learn to accept that God's will may not be what she wants. Gage and Callie are a natural couple, but at times the story seemed a bit stilted, with a bit too much of heads being thrown back in laughter. It's still a sweet romantic read perfect for the beach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Combine an unwanted stray dog, a warm sandy beach and two people trying to ignore their attraction to each other and you end up with a fantastic recipe for a summer romance! A Shore Thing is a perfect summer time read for lovers of Christian fiction / romance. This story revolves around Callie Duflay, a 30 something single woman who throws herself head first into her volunteer work and her position as an assistant camp director. Callie is an Otter Bay native and is furious when she finds out that an architect has plans to turn her beloved pristine shoreline into a large multi-use development. Architect, Gage Mitchell, is a handsome, single man who makes Callies heart race, even though hes technically the enemy.When Callie rallies other angry members of her community, they nominate her as president of their group Save Our Shores. As Callie begins to prepare to fight for Otter Bay and stop the development, she discovers that her feelings for Gage keep getting in the way. Gage and Callie find themselves meeting up time and time again with opposing views, and both are determined to win the fight for Otter Bay. Callie is tenacious and has sentimental ties to the shoreline she grew up with and is unwavering in her protective feelings of her hometown. Gage has everything riding on the development of Otter Bay, including his personal livelihood. Sparks fly in more ways than one as the two slowly begin to realize that they may have more in common than they originally thought. Gage and Callie begin to discover that the development deal may not be on the up and up, and the future of Otter Bay becomes even more uncertain.This is a clean, well-written story with affirmations of faith in God, trusting Him with your future and the importance of family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Callie Dufflay is a cause fighter. She is always fighting for some cause or another. She has deep convictions about right and wrong, about taking care of our planet and she stands and acts on those convictions. A deep faith also drives her to do the right thing. She is on a mission to help save a piece of property in her small village that borders a marine sanctuary. Gage Mitchell, is starting over. His last boss was so dirty and crooked, he knew it was time to begin a company of his own. Choosing the small town of Otter Bay, and a new project that looked like it would be a real money maker, he is finally feeling like things are going his way. His sister and nephew have come to live with him, after her husband was sent to prison, Gage is happy to be able to have them with him. This project/mission is really stretching Callie. Not only is she suddenly all in the news, her family is not happy about it. And this new guy in town Gage, she seems to constantly be running into him. She knows that there is some underhanded dealing going on with this property, but her promise to the owners, keeps her silent. Will Otter Bay have a new development? Will the Kitteridge family be robbed of their property? What will happen to Otter Bay?This book was so fun to read, I never knew what Callie would be up to next. I could relate to her anguish over trying to help someone who is being swindled, while trying to keep their confidential secret. This book is definitely a book to read this summer. I loved it from cover to cover. 400 pages US$14.99 5 starsThis book was provided for review purposes only
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie P
A Shore Thing by Julie Carobini is a creative and fun story about real characters trying to honor and preserve Gods creation without worshiping the sand and birds. Callie Duflay is busy in her central California coast town of Otter Bay. She works weekends at the local Christian camp while her weeks are full of family and community activities. She loves Otter Bay and is dismayed to learn that the last undeveloped land along the coast is about to be sold and plans are being drawn.Architect Gage Mitchell moved to Otter Bay believing his client, a local builder, shared Gages values of green design and construction. Gage understands the communitys opposition to the development, but wishes that attractive woman, Callie, would at least listen to his plans for an eco-friendly project. At least her dog, Moondoggy, seems to like Gage. Callie and Gage each learn secrets about Otter Bays residents and businesspeople. They struggle to balance doing the God-fearing and right thing while honoring their promises to others. I almost expected to shake out sand from between the pages of A Shore Thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fallbrookfamily
A truly great read. Julie Carobini has been one of my favorite authors since her first novel Chocolate Beach, and A Shore Thing has risen to the top of my list. This "green" beachy read kept me engaged to the very end. I fell in love with the main character, Callie Duflay, and her quirky thoughts. At one point she says to herself, "If I could bend that way, I'd deliver my own swift kick to my behind." The story unfolds in Otter Bay as Callie tries to save the town's beloved beachside bluff from development, and in the process is drawn to architect and arch-rival, Gage Mitchell. The message throughout reminds us that although we often forget to ask, it's the Lord who determines our steps. I thoroughly enjoyed this fun story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rich Bullock
Julie Carobini has a gift for creating interesting characters (and animals) in interesting settings. A Shore Thing pulls us into the coastal world of Callie Duflay, nature lover and lost-cause-addict, as she works against love interest newcomer Gage Mitchell and his plans to develop her beloved open space. Callie is also somewhat of the black sheep of the Duflay clan, bucking their encouragement to "not fight the system."Fortunately for us as readers, Callie does the opposite of her families wishes and provides us with never-ending entertainment as she and Gage battle their attraction and causes in this fast-reading story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Very engaging writing with a warmth of faith to touch the heart. Julie Carobin weaves a wonderful tale of misconceptions, misunderstandings, and missed opportunities into an all out battle to save and preserve the habitat at Otter Cover. The characters make mistakes, loose battles and get depressed. Yet faith in God is the thread that weaves its way into their lives, giving them determination and courage to press forward when the tides turn and it appears all is lost.The writing is smooth, realistic and has a good balance of description and engaging dialogue. The characters are many but each fits well into the story. They interact with realism and the challenges of modern life. The surprising twists and turns will keep you reading.A Shore Thing is an upbeat and enjoyable book for the Christian Romance booklover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Shore Thing: Otter Bay Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Callie Duflay is an energetic young woman who enjoys working as assistant camp director, and much to her family's horror, enjoys being involved in local causes. While walking the beach one day, Callie discovers that the Kitteridges are selling Otter Bay and it's being earmarked for development. She can't believe they would sell it, as they promised the property to the town. Since then, the otters have returned and were rebuilding their lives. Callie decides she should do something about it, and starts a group to try to stop the development.Gage Mitchell is an eco-friendly architect who was hired to draw up plans to develop the Bay. He has the good, or maybe not so good, fortune of running into Callie and learns about her mission. For Gage, everything is riding on this job and Callie could ruin it all for him. Callie believes she is doing the right thing, and so is Gage. But as time goes on, will they discover what the right thing really is?My comments:I normally don't read romances, and gave up on Christian type romances quite a few years ago. They all seemed so... eh. Nothing thrilling nor exciting nor new. I wasn't really sure what I'd find between the pages of this book, and had put it off for a bit, because it was a romance. So, one really yucky day, I sat down and started reading. I was so surprised. What a delightful and heartwarming read! I became so wrapped up in the book, I found that a couple hours had gone by and I really didn't want to stop and put it down. The characters were fun, it had some humor, and held quite a bit of suspense throughout. It was truly an enjoyable read and one that I won't have a problem giving to my teenage daughter."A Shore Thing" is a beautiful book about family, friendship, love, commitment, keeping promises, faith, and hope. It has some very good messages behind it, making it not only entertaining, but a book with values that gives you something you can take away with you long after you've finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.