Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1

Devout Anne Boleyn uses her influence over Henry VIII to champion an English translation of the Bible. Meanwhile Rose, a woman of the streets, is moved to seek God by Thomas More---ignorant of his efforts to destroy those same Scriptures. A remarkable story of two women, their guardian angels, and the book that launched the Reformation! 320 pages, softcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.357 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
2 out of 540%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Review 1 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVED this book!

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
kdfw61
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I read by Ginger Garrett, who has become one of my favorite historical authors. I saw an interview with her on a TV show and found that she had done all her own research for this book, which prompted my reading of it. I think she has done a wonderful job of telling Anne Boleyn's story in the true context of the oppressive society women lived in during this period. By the time I finished reading it, I was convicted to the core of having taken so lightly the cost of the very lives of the people in this story who risked everything to make the Bible available to the common man. Everyone I have recommended this book to has loved it, including an unbeliever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
eliz
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed, because I did not feel like it ended. There were a lot of loose ends that were not wrapped up. I definitely did not get the end of the book. Why did it end the way it did for Mariskka? What happened to David? We know almost nothing about who Bridget was. The whole story of Rose just ended abruptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Meh

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazed
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately I found this book a little confusing. I enjoyed the storys of Anne and Rose, but found Bridget's "story" vague, short and therefore confusing. I was saddened that we didn't get to go into more detail about her and what ever happened with David. I also found that it ended quite abruptly.
On a plus side, I am not usually a fan of this period in history, yet I found this rendition of Anne Boleyn's story quite interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christin
I really like this series, it offers an interesting combination of styles with Historical Fiction and some Fantasy. Many Christians seem to take for granted the fact that they have the Bible in their own language, but after reading this book that will probably change. Before reading this book I was aware of the fact that William Tyndale died because he translated the Bible into English but I had no idea of the tremendous persecution which took place in England. One chapter of In the Shadow of Lions details the trials of two people who had read the book and were burned at the stake; but people only had to have it in their house to be burned at the stake, even if they had never read it. Another chapter details a secret meeting of women deep in the woods where they read the book and are then asked to remove their linen underwear as a donation for printing the book. After some hesitation all the women present agree because they believe in the cause so strongly. The chapters jump back and forth between the stories of Rose and Anne, which at times can be confusing to the reader to whose story is being told at the time. Fortunately the two women are never in the same chapter together, which helps to keep them straight. Bridget’s story cuts in occasionally, but her story is told in first person instead of third, which helps to distinguish it. However there are often long breaks in the book where Bridget does not enter, and it can be hard to remember the last thing that happened to her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

disappointed

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louise Unrau
Location:Vernon, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love history and bought this as a gift for another history buff and we were both very disappointed. It is a unpleasant story, creepy actually. This is not what I want in a historical novel. I couldn't finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
This book was interesting. It wasn't the easiest read I've had, but to look at the Boleyn story in a different light was very creative and as I said, interesting. It's not a book I would keep in my collection but I may get the second just to see how "the scribe" story works out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal Laine Miller
This may well be my favorite book of the year. I read quite a lot and historicals are my favorite genre. I knew the history of our Bible, but this book brought it up close and personal. Garrett's interpretation of Anne Boleyn was refreshing. I felt like cheering and the story inspired courage and faith in me.What a great book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin Mcdowell
Like one of the other reviewers, i agree that this was a total waste of time and money! It was confusing, weird, unrealistic, and unbelievable. As someone very interested in European history, this book did little to justify the time period. And also as someone who is an avid reader of all things Christian fiction, I heartily say: Do not waste your time reading this book. It may be a good story, but who wants to be depressed and not encouraged? When looking for a good book, you should look for one that will not be disheartening. This is why I gave this book 0 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
This book was a definite waste of time and money.I don't know who could stand to read it.After reading reviews of In The Shadow of Lions,I thought this book would be perfectly safe.It sounded like an inspiring novel about our Christian heritage and the world-changing Reformation.It was the total opposite!There were five main reasons I DID NOT like this book. First,it was downright WEIRD!I mean,how weird is it that this 7-foot angel scribe is telling a hospitalized woman to write a story. Second,it was hard to follow and extremely slow-moving. Third,it just seemed unrealistic and depressing. Fourth,it didn't even focus on,or talk much about,the Reformation. Fifth,and most importantly,the amount of sensuality in this book quickly(and I mean quickly!)turned me away. Some suggestive comments and inappropriate scenes that this book contained should not even be mentioned! In The Shadow of Lions should not be read by anyone,especially Christians.I solemnly warn against picking up this book for any reason.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2009
This is probably the most unique, riveting piece of historical fiction I've ever seen. The first scenes are absolutely spine-tingling, and deliciously atypical for a Christian novel. In fact, the whole novel is atypical for today's Christian fiction market, which is why I liked it so much. Most authors would not dare to tackle subjects like angels and the supernatural at so close a range, and Ginger Garrett is brave to do so. Moreover, she pulls it off. But I think the thing Ginger does best is how she's able to pull me into the psychological worlds of Anne, Henry, Thomas, Catherine, Margaret, and the others. It is difficult to live in a world where everyone believes they are serving God--and everyone else is totally evil. That had to have been scary, and at times, I was scared right along with the characters. But I was also thinking and praying with them, and that's great. I admit that there were things I didn't quite understand, such as Rose's role in the story, but otherwise, this was a great, thrilling book. Good work, Ginger!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Breaking the mold on the many Anne Boleyns in historical fiction, Ginger Garrett in In the Shadow of Lions (Chronicles of the Scribe, Book 1) casts Anne as a woman striving to stay true to Gods commandments. Rather than depicting a manipulative throne snatcher, this Anne is swept away by the power and insistence of King Henry VIII while she strives to protect her virtue. Garretts reinventing of Anne is based not upon pure conjecture, but has roots in study, research, and a heart for Gods revelation of Himself throughout history. Garret has created a surprisingly gray world in which characters are presented as striving to serve God in irrevocably opposite ways. Thomas More tortures those who read the earliest form of the English Bible in order to protect the Roman Catholic church while his house servant Rose, Anne Boleyn, and his own daughter seek to know God better through the words of this forbidden book. Unlike many authors she leaves the matters of who is right and who is wrong wide open, presenting each flawed individual as striving to serve God in his or her own way. Her goal is not to provide simple conclusions, but rather to lead readers into contemplation and appreciation of the occurrences that eventually led to the legal printing and distribution of the English Bible.Any reader with an interest in British history, the Reformation and the birth of the Bible will appreciate this immersion into those tumultuous times (specifically London, 15261536). In the Shadow of Lions is the first in a new series Chronicles of the Scribe. Ginger Garrett will continue to delve into historical fiction; re-imagining the lives of prominent women with an eye for Gods purposes and plan woven through history. I look forward to reading more of Garretts fresh perspective on pivotal events throughout Christian history.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2008
Ginger Garretts In the Shadow of Lions grabbed my attention with the first sentence! This incredibly creative delivery of historical fiction tells the tragic story of Anne Boleyn in a way that it has never been told before. Ginger Garrett writes in such a thoughtful and thought-provoking way. She does justice to the historical account while bringing an emotional level to the story that draws the reader to invest herself fully in the tale.I cant wait to read the next Chronicles of the Scribe story by this wonderful author. In the meantime, I may have to check out her novel, Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther. The after words pages are an informative and enjoyable added bonus to this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
What an amazing story! I hated for it to end. The only thing I didn't care for was the current "scribe" scenes. I totally loved the scenes from the past and Anne Boleyn's story. It amazes me when I think about how incredibly fickle people were in those days, and how ignorant. For Henry to kill or cast off each wife that wouldn't bear him a son, oy! How sad! I felt sorry for the women because it wasn't their fault. What difficult times they lived in. I found the accounts of the persecution fascinating and also hard to stomach because the story was so well-written I felt like I was there. To think that reading the Bible was enough to get you brutally tortured to the point of death... I shudder when I ponder it too long. So if you love fiction that transports you back in time with realism and cultural flair, you will want to read In the Shadow of Lions. Awesome and compelling storytelling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In the Shadow of Lions, Chronicles of the Scribe Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Ginger Garrett's expertise in recreating the stories of women who changed the world is on full show in this epic tale of love, faith, fear and persecution. With impeccable research, Ginger provides an alternative view of Anne Boleyn as a woman keeping her promise to God in refusing Henry's advances as he sought desperately to father a son. In The Shadow of Lions reveals the terrible lengths many church leaders went to in order to prevent the Bible from being accessible to the people and is a heart wrenching and often difficult story to read. While not overly graphic, the violence meted out to those who opposed the dominance of the organized church, is a tragic reminder of the sacrifice others made so we can enjoy the privilege of owning a Bible. The numerous transitions between scenes of the Scribe, Anne and Rose requires that your mind be fully engaged in this complex story but the reward to staying focused is great. Immerse yourself in the beginnings of the Reformation and see God's hand at work in history.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.