Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Rooms

B&H Books Rooms

When Micah Taylor's uncle leaves him a home on the Oregon coast, he suspects a prank---but the place is beautiful! However, bizarre things begin to happen, and Micah is told the house is "spiritual." What's that supposed to mean? Would God use a building to heal a man's darkest wounds? Includes discussion questions. 400 pages, softcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rooms
Review 1 for Rooms
This review is fromRooms: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

makes you think...

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MNobles
Location:benton arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes you think. Whether you are a new Christian or have been for awhile, this book although fiction will truly make you think about your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tweet
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is great and the characters are wonderful! The rooms are rooms we all have in our heart and I believe if we let Jesus in those rooms we can be transformed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is right up my ally. Suspense, creepy, with lots God and the way He might work mixed in. I really enjoyed this book temendously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rooms
This review is fromRooms: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great find

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was just looking through fiction ebooks when I came upon this book. The publishers description made it sound very interesting to me. I started reading reviews and realized they were giving the whole story away so I quit reading them and just ordered the book. It was amazing. Nothing earthshattering but I couldn't put it down. I hope I'm not giving anything away but when he was talking to himself and tried to convince himself that he should walk away from God and go back to his billion dollar company, it really made me think. The voice that talks to us, we need to make sure we are listening very closely and be sure it is the voice of God. The author has great insight and imagination to come up with this book. Makes me wonder if were given the chance would we change some bad decisions we've made along the way. This was my first book by this author and then immediately bought "The Chair"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a Clever Book

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review by Jill Williamson
Successful young businessman Micah Taylor inherits an ocean-side home from a great uncle he never knew. Suspecting a prank, Micah drives from Seattle to Cannon Beach to check the place out. A pretty woman named Sarah gives him more motivation to visit his new home each weekend.
But strange things start happening in the rooms of the home, reminding Micah of past memories both pleasant and haunting. A local mechanic tells Micah that the house is spiritual. But it’s more than that. It’s part of him.
This is such a clever story idea. Rubart weaves the story layer upon layer, building a foundation that—when it all comes together—is astounding. I enjoyed the book very much. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rooms
This review is fromRooms: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I recommend this book...

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having it all is almost never what it sounds like. In this book, Micah Taylor, the main character comes to discover that what he has and what he really wants are two entirely different things. When he receives a house as his inheritance, he begins a journey that will change him and those around him in unexpected ways.
The book covers a lot of territory, in terms of time and faith, and it does it in a pretty compelling way. I would say that while I enjoyed the story for the most part, I was disappointed in the ending. There were no loose ends, really, it just felt abrupt. I liked the characters, and wanted to understand more about what happened next. Especially since there was a story line about Micah using his talents, but it never seemed that he used them in any particular way.
The book’s premise is a good one, and the storytelling is solid. I liked the spiritual component as well – it definitely captured my attention, and set me to thinking about my own walk with Christ. Understanding how the Holy Spirit works in a Christian’s life is never easy to portray, and I think James Rubart did an excellent job of putting that in a unique context that is fanciful but real enough to work.
Overall, the book is worth its price, and I would recommend it to someone who was looking for something to read, especially someone who I thought could benefit from some of the lessons and ideas in the story. I certainly gained something, and that is always worth the price of admission for me.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This one will make you think!

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What if you had the choice of choosing A) A life with prestige, fame, wealth and power or B) A life with a deep and meaningful relationship with God? What if you had the opportunity to wander back and forth between both lives and see the results of those choices? Pretty thought provoking stuff. James Rubart examines these ideas and many more in his book "Rooms".
Micah Taylor, a very successful up-and-comer Seattle based Software mogul, is put into a huge quandary. “Is the life I’m living really the life I want?” when he receives a mysterious letter from a deceased Great Uncle Archie. In this letter, his uncle has left him a rather large house built for him in Cannon Beach, Oregon. Having never met this Great Uncle, Micah is incredibly confused and rather skeptical that this offer can be real. “It’s time to face your past”, his Great Uncle writes him and that’s the last thing that Micah wants to do. But the mystery is too much, so Micah acquiesces and goes to check out the house. It is a house like no other and “face his past” he does, along with a great many other things in his life that need serious attention. The house was designed specifically for Micah and its quite a ride as he confronts many things in the ever-changing house. There are now choices to be made worldly success, or God- and he finds himself with one foot in both worlds. What would you choose?
Coming at this book from a Christian world view I found that James Rubart really raises so many truly intriguing questions in this book and takes Micah Taylor on quite a spiritual journey- one that we can all relate to. What are those things in our life that we have let pull us away from a deeper relationship with God? There are so many fascinating aspects to this story that I can’t fit it in to this review. I would encourage you to read it for yourself and just like the house in the story that was ever-changing , I suspect that each reader will take away something different that impacts them in a unique way. My only negative comment is I felt that the story got a little slow in the middle, but it truly is worth plowing through because the ending is brings the whole story to a great conclusion. I will definitely keep reading this author and look forward to his reading his next book “Book of Days”.
I was graciously provided a review copy of this book by B&H Books through the Netgalley program and the opinions I expressed were my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rooms
This review is fromRooms: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book has great insight into salvation.

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
susiepogo
Location:Saint Petersburg, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and the message it gave. I felt closer to God as I read it. Reading it makes you want to be close to God and is a faith and hope builder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I recommend this book with no reservations.

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn Calcote
Location:Jefferson City, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a convicting message and a great story line. It is quite an accomplishment to write a story that is both entertaining and impactful. To me, this novel was much better and more readable than "The Shack". I take my hat off to James L. Rubart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Story

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Rooms - James Rubart - April 2010
I wasn't too sure what to expect when I requested this book from Netgalley , a huge thanks by the way to Netgalley for providing me with a review copy - http://www.netgalley.com/ . I am now glad that I requested it . Rooms by James Rubart was such an amazing story that in parts are both believable and unbelievable and it goes to show that when God grants Miracles , they can be the impossible or at least fall into the impossible category, as the Bible verse goes "All things are possible , through Christ who strengthen me".
Rooms follows the story of successful businessman Mitch Taylor, who has it all and has just inherited a house -newly built just for him from his Uncle Archie who has been dead for 10 years. The house is a mansion of sorts and has a room for everything that has ever been important in Mitch's life, the house interior is designed to suit his tastes and if he could ever have had a dream house, then this is it. The downside though, is it situated at Cannons Beach. A place that Mitch once loved with all his heart until a tragedy happened there when he was 9 years old.
As the story goes on we read as Mitch was a strong christian and that no matter what he has been through and how far he slipped back on the burner -God has always played such an important role in his life and has cared for him , so much that Mitch starts to experience miracles after miracles occur and many of them seemingly impossible for the human mind to absorb. It leaves us wondering whether God is really playing with Mitch's mind or is he starting to show signs of craziness which his Uncle Archie was infamous for ?
Rooms is a novel that will be suited to all those who have ever travelled down a different path in their life, one they know they really shouldn't have gone down but instead they did and it proved to be good for them whether they became successful , rich and wealthy like Mitch. However , the path Mitch chose to enter was one without God and in Rooms we start to witness the real Mitch and what would of happened if he chose God those many moons ago but also a point that Rooms makes is that no matter what has happened , it is never too late to re-enter God's way and mark yourself a place in his Kingdom.
On Page 377 , there is a lovely short poem that sums up Rooms , that I thought I would share with all you readers out there :
Utterly engulfed,
And wanting more
Buried,Drowned,Intoxicated,
With the vastness of the Love
Losing myself as the waves wash over me,
Through me,Surrounding me,
Caught up in a hurricane of overwhelming peace,
I have let go,
And He has found me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book That Will Not Disappoint!

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Micah, the founder of RimSoft company receives a fully furnished 9,000 square foot home on Canyon Beach built for him by his uncle Archie. His only thought was to sell it and make a profit from the sale. Reluctantly he stays there and strange things start happening in the house. While in a romantic relationship with his business partner, Julie he meets Sarah who works at Osborn's icecream shop he visited in Canyon Beach. Sarah along with his best friend Rick offer advice and guidance to Micah. But Micah who is haunted by his childhood which comes alive in his dreams and memories in the house, finds that forgiveness seems impossible with so much past pain. A story of good versus evil and how one man's heart can be tranformed by Jesus. A truly engaging and compelling novel and unlike any other book I have ever read. A very creative novel that flows well complete with lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. A well done book that will not disappoint. Thanks to B & H Publishing Group for providing this ARC copy for me for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Thought Provoking

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
123Jan
Location:Fresno, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author used a very interesting and creative way of depicting the Christian's struggle between the world and the abundant life Christ offers us while still delivering good fictional entertainment. The character development was superb--especially Micah's character. Best of all I found nothing contrary to what the Word teaches us about "listening to God" or God's character. It really helped impress the importance of knowing the Word in order to be able to discern God's voice and to not be deceived by the voice of the evil one as we journey through a world "that is not our own." Scripture was expertly woven in without being overly preachy or distracting to the story. This was a very good biblically-based work of ficture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
aobibliophile
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Micah Taylor has everything. he is the President of a successful Seattle-based software company, has a penthouse condo and owns stocks worth millions of dollars. he lives a life only a few could ever hope to achieve or experience. one day, he receives a 25 year old letter from an uncle he never knew. it says that he has inherited a 9,000 square foot house on the Oregon Coast. driven with curiosity as much as skepticism, he goes to Cannon Beach to find out the truth. in no time, his life - his perfect life - or so he thought begins to change in ways he never thought possible.
reading this book was such a coincidence or should i say a God-incidence. as a Catholic, i had no difficulty understanding and embracing the themes of sacrifice, redemption and salvation in the story. nor was it hard for me to relate with what Micah had to go through.
for the past couple of years, i have experienced so many losses in my professional and personal life. it is only lately that i can admit to myself and to the world that i am beginning to smile again. i have learned to accept with pain and difficulty that there are really things i cannot control and there are those that i can. i still feel pain occasionally but i have learned to manage my emotions well so far. perhaps the time for healing which has eluded me for quite some time has finally begun. now i am slowly reaping its bounty.
author James L. Rubart explores in this book how our choices affect everything in our lives. he also reminds the reader that all is not lost. as long as one breathes, there is hope because God is always in control and that nothing is impossible with Him.
Rooms contains spiritual and supernatural elements geared towards Christian readers but i believe its message is for everyone. one has only to read it with an open mind and heart.
Disclosure of Material Connection: i received an Advance Reader's Edition of Rooms from the B&H Publishing Group through NetGalley.com i did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. all opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. this disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This books is by far a better read than <em></em>The Shack<em></em>. I just recieved it and am utterly surprised that it is not already as well known. The message of freedom in Christ is a resounding theme on every page.
It exposes the biblical truth that the enemy truly seeks to steal, kill, and destroy and one way he does this is through deception and lies. More than once it is brought out by different characters that truth mixed with a lie is still a lie - my favorite was when Sarah told Micah that 99% truth and 1% lie is still a lie!
The book is intriquing and very difficult to put down. If I were not a home schooling mom of 4 I would have devoured the book in one day! I was in suspence the entire time: hoping Micah would make the right choices and wishing he would stop going into the one room he felt safest, but that I felt was the least safe (a place the enemy had come and made himself look so friendly just like the creature in the garden).
This book invites readers on a journey of self-discovery as they go on this same journey with young Micah Taylor. He is given the opportunity and choice to face past hurt, dissapointments, and pain to recieve healing. Moreso he is confronted with the choice of surrendering ALL his life to Christ or clinging on to some of it for himself. The reader is left on the edge of their seats as Micah discovers more and more about his hidden pain and the effect it has had on the choices he has made in life. He discovers how the lies of the enemy that he has believed have shaped his life with empty things.
Will he discover true freedom? Will he surrender all of his life to the Lord? Will he give up control and trust for the first time that God has a divine and perfect plan at work?
An excellent, easy read. This author is at the top of my favorite fiction authors and as of right now this has been my favorite fiction read of this year. I can't wait to read Book of Days by this same author and to be released in March 2011.
Thank you B&H for this review copy in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Read

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
L J A
Location:Pismo Beach, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading rooms for the second time. After finishing the book the first time, just three months ago, I felt like I had just been to the best Christian Retreat ever and the whole weekend was just me, the characters of this fabulous book and my Jesus. What a glorious weekend. During the last few weeks when I thought about the book, I wondered if I had just been in a really good mood….. but, after finishing it again, I feel exactly the same way. There is no doubt the writer has felt the touch of Jesus. He so wonderfully expresses the emotions and feelings of the characters as they experience God’s forgiveness, healing and freedom. As a reader I totally can see what Micah sees and feel what Micah feels. The characters are real, honest and because of their encounters you feel and know the God of the universe is real, alive and living in each of us who have allowed Him to enter into our hearts. The Bible is my number one Book, but I believe God can use fiction to draw people closer to Him and this book has definitely done that for me. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Merry
Rooms is one of the most interesting, compelling fiction books I've ever read. It is a journey of what life is or can be, it is choices for God or self, it is freedom or captivity of the soul. It made me think, reflect and desire all that my life can be in Christ. Amazing! I will have this story in my heart and mind for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Toni Mcmurtrey
Wow, it's almost hard to explain or review this book. It is extremely thought provoking and totally expands your mind and vision of how God speaks to us. There are some similarities to The Shack, but needs to be judged on its own merit. I really enjoyed it - had a difficult time putting it down. It clearly shows how the decisions we make in our lives impact our future and how many of us have a distorted sense of what is truly important. I will recommend this book to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Rooms is being touted as another great among Christian allegories, such as Dinner with A Perfect Stranger or The Shack. I believe it will be the Twenty-first Centurys Hinds Feet on High Places or Pilgrims Progress. Following Micahs journey of discovery is an eye-opening - or perhaps I should say a soul-stirring - experience. As a Christian, I related to Micahs faith journey, his confusion, doubts, hot one moment and cold the next. But its Rubarts masterful imagination that makes this story so amazing. Rooms is not a chapter-a-night book; its a one-sitting-read. A thrilling page-turner, and a keeper in my permanent library. Rooms is the book I will purchase for Christmas gifts this year. Rooms is a must-buy book. Novel Reviews and I give it 5 stars and our highest recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Thompson
Do you have hidden rooms in your soul? Rooms that you would rather no one see or know about? Micah Taylor is about to find out what is in the rooms of his soul.Micah is a software tycoon in Seattle. Very successful, penthouse apartment, all the money he could ever want. Everything is going fine until he receives a letter from a long dead uncle whom he has never met. This letter informs Micah that a house was built for him, on the Oregon coast, in Cannon Beach. Micah has been on Cannon Beach before. He loved it, but he never wants to see it again.Micah goes to Cannon Beach with every intention of selling this house and returning to Seattle, to his successful life. When he walks into the 9,000 square foot house he suddenly feels like hes home. Everything feels familiar and like him. Then things, strange things, start to happen in this house. Doors that werent there before appear. Rooms that hold strange and amazing things await him. He begins to think that maybe he can make this a weekend getaway, decide later if he really wants to sell it. He meets Sarah Sabin at the local ice cream parlor. Shes gorgeous and very likable. Micah thinks maybe he CAN stay around a little while longer. He meets Rick, a local gas station owner, who he becomes fast friends with. He asks around town about his house and is told that it is spiritual. This doesnt sit well with Micah since his faith slid to the bottom of his priority list years ago.This is one of those books that I just didnt want to put down until I finished it! But I did have to return to real life every now and then! James makes his characters very believable. I thoroughly enjoyed Rooms and will definitely pick it up again for another read through. It made me very aware of the secret rooms I have in my own soul.rooms that I need to clean out and let God inhabit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rooms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
OH.MY.GOODNESS. How on earth do I start this review? How do I put it into words what I feel about this book? There are so many things I'm feeling right now! That was ABSOLUTELY amazing. God truly spoke to me through James L. Rubart's words. I enjoy nearly every book I read, but few are so powerful that they leave me speechless and raw afterward. But, boy, did this one sure do that! The plot line of facing your past, no matter how horrible or rough it maybe, forgiving yourself, others and your past, and moving forward with God by your side is absolutely captivating. Rubart did an excellent job of creating Micah and Sarah, two souls struggling and gripping my heart. This story has a tad bit of humor and just a twist of suspense added to it leaving you hungry for each new page and unable to put the book the down. So, please trust me when I say that you MUST give Rooms a try. It's most definitely worthy of top of the list, 5 star recommendations along with two thumbs up. This book will be in my heart for along time to come! Great work!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>