Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Stretch Marks

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

David C. Cook Stretch Marks

Mia is a granola-eating, sensible shoe-wearing, carbon footprint-conscious twenty-something living in a multicultural neighborhood in Chicago. Her mother, Babs, is a stiletto-wearing Zsa Zsa Gabor type who works as an activities hostess on a Caribbean cruise line . and if you guessed there's some tension there, you'd be right. Factor in an unexpected pregnancy and Mia's idealistic boyfriend-Lars is such a visionary he doesn't believe in the institution of marriage-and the mother-daughter relationship is, well, stretched very thin. As is Mia's sanity when Babs shows up to... help?
Average Customer Rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
8
1 star
1
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stretch Marks
Review 1 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What was Christian about his book?

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loves to Read
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not one to fritter away my time reading fluffy fiction stories, I was disappointed in this “Christian” book. I want to read a story that is going to lead me to worship the Lord, convict me and/or teach me some truth. This book seemed to portray “I’m-a-Christian-in-name-only,” rather than a sold out “Jesus-is-my-first-love” kind of lifestyle.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
prairiequilter
If one is looking for a well-written, fun, PC read, this is a 5-star novel. If one is looking for a novel with even a moderate Christian message, it probably won't be found here.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Stretch Marks by Kimberly Stuart is a humorous look at the way pregnancy changes and stretches a woman. Mia is very happy with her life, for the most part. While her job as a social worker doesn't always fulfill her need to change the world, she pays close attention to her carbon-footprint, eats organic, does yoga, and has a live-in boyfriend, Lars. Everything changes when her unexplained nausea and fatigue turns out to be a pregnancy and Lars leaves in the night. While Mia tries to make a new life for herself and the baby-to-be, her mother, Babs shows up to help. Babs is Mia's antithesis with her frosted hair, artificially enhanced features, and love for meat, leather, and plastics. Mia will be stretched to her limit making peace with Babs, her new body, and just maybe the cute guy at the grocery store. Several reviews are slamming Stuart for keeping the faith bubbling below the surface without the overt mentions that most Christian fiction has in spades, but I think that this makes Stretch Marks far more marketable to the secular reader. Stuart portrays Babs' faith and church realistically and gently sands down Mia's agnostic edges without ever alienating the reader. The novel is funny and moving and full of spot-on mother/daughter angst. Mia is a delightful character who will shatter readers' preconceived notions of tofu-eating/free trade buying/climate change activist.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Every now and again I come across a book that is a pure treat! Stretch Marks is just that humorous, poignant and honest to a fault. Kimberly Stuarts writing is fresh, energetic and timely. Following the heartache of an unplanned pregnancy and the tension of a difficult mother/daughter relationship, Kimberly plumbs the emotion and conflict that results. Unique characters inhabit Mias neighbourhood and show their support with love and tenderness as she comes to terms with becoming a mother. A touch of romance and the joy of healed relationships, make Stretch Marks a delightful journey. I will be certainly be looking for Kimberlys backlist.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Potter
Interesting characters, emotional, extremely well-written, but no punch in a solid Christian message. This was a Wal-Mart off-the-shelf secular book with a sprinkling of good and godly thoughts. Even the paraphrased and italicized biblical references were from the Book - not the Bible. Talk about PC. Disappointing Kimberly couldn't send out a strong message; especially to precious Flor, that Jesus can be her anchor and loves her unconditionally!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gracie Thompson
Why Kimberly wrote such a beautiful story and skittered around declaring Jesus as the answer - not a blurred image of God is beyond me. Kimberly has such a HUGE gift in her writing, but she side-stepped every chance she gave herself and her wonderful characters. Her story was perfect, in the secular sense, but I felt deflated at not solid message of Jesus' grace and compassion, especially for precious Flor. I have three teenage girls and this tender age needs advocates for the ADVOCATE. No, you don't have to preach, just stay the obvious. Please!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rhoda Covintong
On the Chrisitan side, this was like a date with a hot hunk - who shook your hand on the porch when he bid you a "good-night". On the secular feel good side, it was a warm hug. I'm an ethics teachers who belives like Angela Hunt said, "If it's a banana pie - it's a banana pie." So, if you write as a Christian the name of Jesus, the word the Bible, and fully quotting Scripture shouldn't be skipped around or glossed over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Riki Syder
Goodness but this was a beautiful, thoughtful book loaded with amazing characters, with a gazillion chances to deliver a power punch message of Jesus, which was missed at every crossroads. Kimberly Stuart is no doubt an excellent writer and I'm a thirty-five year teacher; but why did she stop short every time? She worked so hard to please everyone with her ethnic mixture and no-offenseive "religious" approach that only a sort of glazed over God popped up now and then - a disappointing and growing trend of Christian writers wanting to be successful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Butes
Sadly disappointing as a Christian story, but awesome as a secular work. Kimberly Stuart is a wonderful writer who doesn't need to be shy about her faith, which every [marvelous] character would have blossomed to explore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
C.L. Howard
Every aspect of this very well written book was great - except the fact there was a major hole when it came to showcasing any element of real faith. The Ebenezer women would have been a great opportunity, as would Silas; but Stuart only mentioned prayer, spiritual harmony, a user-friendly God, and the "Book" which only Christians would get, so why not address the life changing availability of Jesus when Flor, Babs, Mia, and Adam could certainly all have used such a gracious and merciful Anchor!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helga Bolder
Kimberly had SO many opportunities to share a solid Christian message and let them slip off the page. References in italics to paraphrased versions of Scripture, calling the Bible the Book, and tiptoeing around "God" was a let down; considering she has such a huge gift for writing. This read like a secular story with a generic God sprinkled in like fairy dust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Mia is a different sort of woman, she has no use for marriage, and not really into God either, does not think about getting pregnant, she lives in a multi cultural neighborhood and "boom" the thing that women think will happen to someone else, happens to her. She is pregnant, she is unmarried, did not plan for this and neither did her boyfriend. When she faces the fact of a pregnancy alone, dealing with interesting friends, sudden cravings for meat as a vegetarian, as well as a very quirky mother, you get this funny book about pregnancy and one woman's journey that takes her where she never thought she would go.It was very different for me to read a christian fiction book that was about a non-christian. There are some out there, I have read a few lately, but this one was a bit different. It was well written and had me cracking up the whole time. I am not sure what else is funnier than a book about pregnancy for a mom of four.....you just have to have experienced it and you are cracking up. I think I would have liked to see a bit more christianity in the story, but I felt like it was a good story of her journey and would appeal to a wider audience the way it is written, but still it left me longing for a bit more to it...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
I like to read Christian books that could be considered controversial. I enjoy the challenge and I enjoy other views and perspectives, but I also enjoy witnessing a life being transformed when I read a story. Stretch Marks sounded like that type of book, which is why I wanted to read it. Certainly a single, pregnant woman who has been abandoned by her live-in boyfriend could be considered controversial by some. I hope that sort of thing would not dissuade the average Christian reader because they would be missing out on an excellent book.Stretch Marks is about so much more than a single woman who is having a baby. It is about the joys and pains of family. It is about the strong bond between a mother and a daughter, no matter how different they are. It is about tolerance and acceptance. This book left me with such a warm and happy feeling. It has a nice dose of humor; mainly from Mias mother, Babs, but also from Mias adventure with pregnancy. I really enjoyed the way the book flowed in that it never felt rushed or slow. I am very pleased with this book and pleased that the author took a chance on writing Mias story and writing it with love and openness. I highly recommend Stretch Marks as a fun and loving book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
J. Ripple
I was already a fan of Kim Stuart's earlier books when I read STRETCH MARKS. Kim is able to write a character who is modern and full of wit and grace. When Mia (the main character) finds herself in a less-than-ideal situation, her life gets shaken up and heads in a direction that she wasn't prepared for. The "secondary" characters in the book (who help Mia adjust to the changes in her life) are well-rounded and well-written - the sweet neighbor, her over-the-top mother, her unconventional best friend and the concerned grocery store owner and his son, who nourish not only her body, but her soul. Every time I read a new Kimberly Stuart book, I have a new favorite, and STRETCH MARKS is no exception.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stretch Marks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara Mosley
No review I write will be eloquent enough to do justice to Stuart's novel. Stuart paints portraits of her characters with Vermeer's virtuosity. Each one is a multi-faceted being who you can neither truly love or hate, but all of whom you can recognize in your everyday life. The story arc is refreshingly unique, subtle, simultaneously entangled and harmonious. She brings soulful dignity and grand levity to subjects otherwise considered taboo. The musical and pop culture references, fashion digs, and self deprecating humor sprinkled through out the book provides treats for all generations. The variety of issues that Stuart dares to tackle such as: polar opposite politics, racial relations, single's realtionships, Christianity/religion versus agnosticism, etc. is bold, but somehow neither offensive, strictly conclusive, nor condemning, but definitely thought provoking and gracefully considered. The book simultaneously leaves the reader with a greater inclination to both attempt to understand God and to empathisize with persons whom may have different beliefs than their own. Stuart is an exceptional author with unparalleled talent when it comes to genuinely capturing both the ridiculousness and benevolence of human nature. This is a great read for someone who wants something beyond the status quo Christian message, wants to explore modern issues through a intellectual and spiritual lense, and would like to laugh and revel in God's glory while they're doing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.