Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1

B&H Books Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1

A beautiful yet tough woman working in a beautiful yet tough setting, Brannon Callahan is a search and rescue helicopter pilot for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Strong faith and a decorated history of service have kept her one step ahead of on-the-job dangers, but there's no precedent for what's about to happen. After a blizzard takes down a small plane carrying U.S. Marshal Roark Holland (already haunted by a recent tragedy), Brannon must save him in more ways than one and safeguard the donor heart he's transporting to a government witness on the edge of death. Otherwise the largest child trafficking ring in history-with shocking links from Thailand to Tennessee-will slip further away into darkness along the Appalachian Trail.
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Review 1 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It was okay

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AntieM
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a no-brainer for me, which made it disappointing. The villain is obvious from his first appearance on the page and many of the other plot points were equally obvious. Overall it was an okay read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Like 4.5 Stars!!

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I always get a thrill when I feel like I've stumbled upon a real gem in the vast collection of Christian fiction. With so many books available that I could spend my time reading, I always appreciate it when I come across one that I will recommend over and over again. Let me tell ya....Deliver Us From Evil was such a book. The suspense was top-notch, the action intense, and the romance.....oh, the romance (giddy smile) took my breath away.
I have to admit, though, that the beginning of the book was a little slow. I could sense that the heart-pounding action was within my grasp, but it took a little longer than I wanted for it to arrive. Once it did, it was all downhill from there. :o) I literally had to make myself put it down at midnight so I could get some sleep!
I have no doubt that I will be reading more of Robin's books in the future, including the rest of this series. There was a little teaser at the end that leads right into the next book in the series, Fear No Evil. Brannon's close friend, Lincoln, was one of my favorite characters in the book, and I'm anxious to see what will happen to him next.
So in case you're still wondering whether or not you should try Robin's books for yourself, let me end the suspense for you right now.... Yes!!! You should! You should go to the store right away and get a copy for yourself right now! :o) You'll have it read in no time flat, I promise you!
4.5 Stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Brannon Calahan (a female search-and-rescue helicopter pilot) finds herself drawn into a dangerous attempt to uncover a child trafficking ring when U.S. Marshal Roark Hollands helicopter crashes in her area while transporting a donor heart to a government witness whose survival is vital to the governments case. Divided almost neatly into two main segments, the first portion of this novel deals with Roark and Brannons struggle to survive and deliver the donor heart safely after the helicopter crash, while the second delves more deeply into the intrigues behind the child-trafficking ring and their ongoing attempts to uncover it from beneath the layers of secrecy surrounding it.Brannon is a woman of strong faith (who is also somewhat bull-headed), Roark on the other hand is a man who feels hes been burned by God, but when confronted with Brannons own difficult past, and views her strong character, hes in turn driven to re-examine his own beliefs as he is drawn nearer to her.Interspersed with Brannon and Roarks adventures are the heart-breaking experiences of the young girls whove been led astray and forced to work in the ring of brothels operated by the child-traffickers. These passages manage to convey the horror and unwillingness these girls experience as well as the breaking of their spirits without unduly explicit writing. Still, these interludes were difficult to read, and are meant to be.Caroll kept me reading through this brisk-paced suspense novel, though its conclusion seemed somewhat predictable after a certain point. Fans of the genre will no doubt enjoy this solidly written title and the romantic interplay between its two strong-willed characters while having their awareness raised about the horrors that surround us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Brannon Callahan is a search-and-rescue pilot for the Great Smokey Mountain National Park and on this cold, stormy day she is about to find herself in a rescue like none she has experienced before. Answering a distress call from another chopper downed in the rugged terrain, Brannon and her partner realize it is a call for help from none other than a U.S. Marshall ferrying a heart destined to be transplanted in a key witness. What follows is not only a desperate race to keep the heart viable for transplant but to survive along with her partner and others she encounters along the way.First among those others is U.S. Marshall Roark Holland, the man tasked to get the heart to its destination. Throw in child trafficking, a questionable politician, some pretty dangerous mountain people, and the human heart and Robin Caroll gives the proper mixture for what makes a romantic suspense work.An important sub-plot follows the desperate longing of two young girls from Thailand to escape the nightmare of being sold as sex-slaves in the land they both always longed to see. Who will succeed in bringing this despicable business in the buckle of the Bible-Belt to an end? Will it be a key witness waiting in coma for that heart lost in the depths of the mountains, a heart quickly losing viability and depending on Brannon and Roark to find some way to save it? Or will it be a brave teenage girl trapped in a land she always considered a place of freedom? Only those willing to trek along with the characters will find out.Robin Caroll leaves the familiar confines of her previous novels set in the Louisiana Bayous and offers a fast-paced adventure in a place few would expect to find the evil she uncovers there. The technique she uses to interject the spiritual aspects of the story are unique and one I am sure would drive a guy like U.S. Marshal Roark Holland running away screaming were it not for what happens when a woman and God enter the mix.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Another great read by Robin Caroll. Her books are romantic, suspenseful, and clean. It's hard to find fiction like that now-a-days like that. This is a great story and the first in a series. I look forward to future books by Robin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2010
I don't need to repeat what other reviewers have said better than I can. But I have lived a sheltered life. I cannot comprehend the evil that lies outside my community. Deliver Us From Evil will make the reader aware of a very real very evil exploitation of children right within our righteous United States. It is time to wake up and be willing to make a difference.This book really made me stop and think and I like that in a novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Deliver Us from Evil by Robin Carroll is the first book in an unnamed series about about law enforcers in the South. Brannon Callahan is good at her job as a search and rescue helicopter pilot in the Great Smoky National Park. She's called in to rescue a downed chopper carrying a US marshal named Roark Holland who is bringing a donor heart to the only witness who can bring down a child trafficking ring. They end up on the run for their lives after a sniper takes out her chopper and kills another pilot and an EMT. I was a bit disappointed in the villain; he was obvious from his first appearance on the page (he was smoking in a Christian book, hello!), and many of the other plot points were equally obvious. Brannon and Roark's relationship is the saving grace of the story as they each struggle to let go of previous pain and fear and come together. I hope that in the sequel, Fear No Evil, Carroll has given more time to character and plot development. Her nail-biting action scenes will keep readers turning pages until the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Robin's novel, Deliver Us From Evil, has death-defying moments, along with some romance, that keep you reading into the wee hours of the morning. A helicopter crash has stranded U.S. Marshall Roark, haunted by a recent tragedy, who is delivering a donor heart to a Federal witness who can decipher information of a major child trafficking ring. Brannon, who is the search and rescue (SAR) helicopter pilot who is out to find the U.S. Marshall in the Smokey Mountains National Park, has her own set of issues that keep popping up. The tension between them is palpitating throughout all the plot twists in the book, even in places you don't expect!The storyline brings out the drama of SAR and the horrors of child trafficking, along with the travesty of justice, in a way that opens your eyes to the plight of this horrific dilemma. It will give you a more healthy respect for the law enforcement and government officials who risk their lives for our safety and the children caught up in child trafficking.This is a powerful book that opened my eyes to the vastness of child trafficking today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Ranger to the Rescue.Crimes against children are the most heinous and often hidden deep in the criminal underworld. Robin Carolls portrayal is written with striking realism and heartbreaking consequences. Trust and faith in God is put to extreme testing. Physical trials, emotional trauma, and death take their toll.The characters are easy to visualize and blend in an unusual mix of villains verses heros. The way the story was broken up with time/location notations was distracting. I was a bit lost with the helicopter pilot lingo and other unclear acronyms. The quoting of scripture for support between friends flowed okay but seemed a bit excessive.The overall writing was captivating and the story line was strong and driven. The challenges were realistic and reflective of todays struggles. Suspenseful, captivating, and a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
This book was EXCELLENT! I loved everything about this book. It's emotional, romantic, suspenseful and full of Christian beliefs. An awesome combination! One of the things I liked about this book is, while I have heard nothing but awesome reviews on this book, it is by an author who is totally new to me. And, now that I have read Deliver Us From Evil, I will definitely be checking out more of the talented Robin Caroll's books! She has a talent to write a book that has the ability to leave you with a white knuckle grip on the book, turning page after page, flowing with the roller coaster twists and turns, to get to the end of the book for that long awaited reveal,all the while, showing us the wonderful mercy of God! I'm not going to say that just one character tugged at me the most. I enjoyed all the characters(except the bad guys, of course!), from Roark to Brannon to Lincoln. They all had a magnificent part in Robin's heart wrenching story of child trafficking. Robin created this child trafficking story by pulling fact into the fiction. It's amazing how real this book seems. I think it would make a perfect movie(not all books turn out to be great movies but this one has the pontential). I think the only down side to this entire book is the ending...Robin makes me wonder if this is the start of a series. And guess what? It is! The release of Fear No Evil is August 2010 and I absolutely CAN NOT wait until that time! I want to read more of these fantastic characters by this wonderful author! All of those things said, I rate this book with 5 stars! There is no question abou it! FIVE STARS! When you read this book, you are sure to feel the same way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
I finished this book a couple of weeks ago and it's still in my head. It was a great read and I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Lawrence
This book is a nail biter right to the end. I can hardly wait until the next one comes out. A great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
The main character in the novel is Brannon Callahan, a search-and-rescue helicopter pilot in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. I absolutely love that part of the country, so that is another reason for loving this novel! And I did!The story revolves around a very difficult topic child trafficking. Thai children are the victims of this particular ring. Brannons mission is to rescue a donor heart and get it to its recipient, the main witness in the case against the child traffickers. Another helicopter carrying U.S. Marshall Roark Holland and the donor heart had gone down in a severe snow storm. The first half of the novel covers Brannon and her partner Lincolns attempt to recover the survivors of the crash and the donor heart. Brannon and Lincoln are both strong Christ-followers, & they make Him a part of their everyday lives. On a regular basis, they quiz each other on Bible verses. One of them will quote one, & the other will have to recite the address of the verse. I thought that was a unique way to introduce scripture in a non-fiction work. Their back-and-forth had an impact on U.S. Marshall Holland, whose faith had been shaken by a tragic event in a previous case. He was reminded that the Lord is with us always and is always in pursuit in His gentlemanly manner.I found this story to be very engaging both in its many action sequences and in its human interactions. Mrs. Caroll does a wonderful job in bringing her readers right into the action. In fact, I think this book would make a thrilling movie!This book was provided to me by B&H Fiction for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
The main character in the novel is Brannon Callahan, a search-and-rescue helicopter pilot in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. I absolutely love that part of the country, so that is another reason for loving this novel! And I did!The story revolves around a very difficult topic child trafficking. Thai children are the victims of this particular ring. Brannons mission is to rescue a donor heart and get it to its recipient, the main witness in the case against the child traffickers. Another helicopter carrying U.S. Marshall Roark Holland and the donor heart had gone down in a severe snow storm. The first half of the novel covers Brannon and her partner Lincolns attempt to recover the survivors of the crash and the donor heart. Brannon and Lincoln are both strong Christ-followers, & they make Him a part of their everyday lives. On a regular basis, they quiz each other on Bible verses. One of them will quote one, & the other will have to recite the address of the verse. I thought that was a unique way to introduce scripture in a non-fiction work. Their back-and-forth had an impact on U.S. Marshall Holland, whose faith had been shaken by a tragic event in a previous case. He was reminded that the Lord is with us always and is always in pursuit in His gentlemanly manner.I found this story to be very engaging both in its many action sequences and in its human interactions. Mrs. Caroll does a wonderful job in bringing her readers right into the action. In fact, I think this book would make a thrilling movie!This book was provided to me by B&H Fiction for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Kerley
I had a real hard time staying focused on the book. I was raised in the area and work law enforcement and EMS in that area for 25 years. I know that it is a work of fiction but in the main backdrops and setting of the book where wrong and so I had a hard time staying focused on the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Although Robin Caroll has authored eight books before "Deliver Us From Evil", this is the first I have read by her, and I promise you, it certainly won't be the last. I thoroughly enjoyed the story line. It was filled with suspense that kept me up way into the night reading, making it nearly impossible to put down.I enjoyed the characters. Roark was every bit what I would have expected from a Marshall, and I adored Brannon and her partner, Lincoln. They are a fantastic team and their way of keeping themselves grounded in bad situations was brilliant. Their messages of faith, love and courage, woven throughout the story were well done and meaningful.I was very pleased with way the child trafficking was handled. You were made to realized the horror of of the situation, and the description was just enough, without too much information - giving it realism without being too graphic. Because of this, I did rate the book for older teens."Deliver Us From Evil" should be on everyone's reading list. This powerful story of the horrors of human trafficking packs a punch that will leave you looking at your comfortable and quite world in a whole new light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pete
It was great, I couldn't wait to see what happen next.It's a tragedy what people will do to kids for money and power.I'm looking forward to her next book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Bisch
This book was great .We had just been to the smokies and the area it was set in.The story just drew me into it.I really enjoyed it and could,t put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Heads up readers, theres a new kid on the block writing stellar romantic suspense with grit, authenticity and heartfelt emotion. Robin Caroll hits it out of the park in Deliver Us From Evil as Search and Rescue helicopter pilot, Brannon Callahan comes face to face with US Marshal Roark Holland in a wild blizzard. Sparks and bullets fly with equal abandon in this action packed novel!Tackling the despicable evil that is child trafficking, Robin brings awareness to this hidden trade in humans and the frightening toll on young lives. Tempering the painful truths in the story is the burgeoning relationship between Brannon and Roark that is simply a delight to read. Robins talent for building romantic tension is second to none, her plot twists intriguing and her faith elements quite uniquely woven into the tale. I am now a devoted follower of Robins books and am eagerly awaiting Lincolns story, Brannons SAR partner, in Fear No Evil releasing in August!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deliver Us from Evil, Evil Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ron Estrada
One of the rare books that kept me up late to finish! Caroll delivers a great story and a message that must be heard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>