Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2

With his father in a nursing home and his mother needing support, former Great Smoky Mountains park ranger Lincoln Vailes moves to the bayou town of Eternal Springs, Louisiana, to become a police officer.

Recent college graduate and eager social worker, Jade Laurent has also moved there to try and right the wrongs of an abusive past. But someone is running her car off the road and pointing guns in her direction. As Lincoln investigates her case,he uncovers ties to big-city gang warfare up north that appears to be makingits evil way down south.

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Review 1 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book With Take Home Value

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book at the ACFW Conference in Indianapolis, IN last year. I had read Deliver Us From Evil the year before and knew I liked Robin's writing.
I was not disappointed.
Although the main thread of this story revolves around big city gang warfare, I was interested in the thread of domestic violence which the heroine of the story addresses with social worker Jade Laurent. According to Wikipedia domestic violence is a serious, preventable public health problem affecting more than 32 million Americans, or over 10% of the U.S. population.
Robin is a master story teller with well rounded characters. I could not put the book down until I had turned the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable, suspenseful

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Fear No Evil" is a Christian romantic suspense novel. It's the second in a series but is essentially a stand-alone novel. You don't need to read the first novel to understand this one, and reading this novel first will spoil only the romantic outcome of the first novel.
The characters were likable, complex, and dealt with realistic struggles. The two main themes were gangs and domestic abuse. The suspense was created by physical danger to several of the characters and stress from work problems and family illness. Some setting, gang, and job details were woven into the story which helped to bring it alive in my imagination. There were some Spanish words used, but typically they were brief phrases that were then interpreted in the character's thoughts.
Many of the characters were Christians. One main character struggled with trying to be in control of her life and realizing she wasn't, and the other struggled with his anger at God for letting his dad (a pastor) get Alzheimer's Disease. There was some praying, and God brought a fair amount of (quoted) Scripture to the characters' minds to answer their questions when things seemed their worst.
There was no sex. There was one explicit bad word and a minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this well-written, suspenseful novel to those who like romantic suspense.
I received an electronic review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
I read this book in a day on vacation. It is a gripping story of southern suspense, the kind Caroll is best at telling. And the characters (even one of the almost bad guys) really make you care about them. If you read the first book, you'll remember Lincoln Vailes. Now he's moved to a small town police department and is thrust into the middle of a dispute involving a local social worker. Jade Laurent brings a host of personal experience to her job...and it makes her care...almost too much. And someone is out to get her. Lincoln is determined to save her, but seems thwarted at every turn. If you love suspense and richly drawn characters, you will enjoy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
If you enjoy a gritty, suspenseful read that will keep you on the edge of your seat but want to skip the profanity and sex found in most secular novels, Robin Caroll's books may be your answer. I happily devoured Fear No Evil, after reading Deliver Us From Evil, which was the first book of Robin's that I had ever read. Much different than Deliver Us From Evil, (but equally suspenseful), Fear No Evil tackles the topics of domestic violence, gang violence, murder, abusive pasts and aging parents. Fear No Evil picks right up where we left off with Lincoln and Brannon, and begins telling the story of Lincoln Vailes, the injured park ranger who is forced to change careers. Lincoln moves home to Louisiana to help take care of his father, a former pastor who has been stricken with Alzheimer's disease, and finds another woman in his life, Jade Laurent. Jade is a social worker with a horrific past, and she makes it her goal to protect other women and children in hopes that they will not endure what she witnessed as a child. When Jade crosses the line and becomes too personally involved in a case shes working on, she finds herself the target of harassment and violent crime. Lincoln meets Jade when he responds to an incident at the Women's Hope Center where Jade works, and from that point on their lives are intertwined both personally and professionally. Although the storyline is complex and involves many characters, I found it easy to follow. In fact, I become completely absorbed in the characters and found the book very hard to put down.I like that Robin interjects romance into her books, but doesnt allow it to become syrupy sweet and unbelievable. Her characters face intense, hard-core situations with subject matter that is completely relevant and could easily be ripped from the headline news. Robins characters are tested and challenged, and the reader is taken to the brink right along with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Fear No Evil by Robin Caroll is the follow-up to Deliver Me from Evil. Lincoln Vailes is recovering from both a gunshot wound that damaged his knee and a broken heart from his best friend Brannon marrying another man. He's left the forest service to work as a police officer in Louisiana in order to heal his wounds and be with his father who is deteriorating from Alzheimer's in a nursing home. When a series of strange murders happen in the small town, Jade Laurent, a social worker who tends to get too involved with her cases, seems to be connected to them all. Lincoln and Jade have to figure out how her past has caught up with her while exploring their feelings for each other. The two have great chemistry in each scene as they fight and then can't stop thinking about each other. I was a bit disappointed in the plot about Jade's past; the ending was broadcast from the very beginning. But there's a strong message of faith and learning to trust in God, no matter how bad things appear, and Jade is a terrific heroine. Hopefully the next book will be back up to the quality of the first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Lincoln Vailes, is back in Louisiana where his parents live. He has returned home to help his mom with his ailing father. A minister all his life, now Lincoln's dad is facing the horrible disease of Alzheimer's. Lincoln's faith is tested to near the breaking point Jade Laurent (Santiago) is a social worker fresh out of college, with a mission to save all abused wives and children. Her past gives her a passion for the abused wives, and she is serious about her job. Perhaps too serious, allowing herself to become to muchinvolved in a ongoing case.Someone is in the small town of Eternal Springs Louisiana, on a mission to harm Jade, and Lincoln, as a police officer on the small town force is determined to find out who it is and why they want to hurt her. What he doesn't expect, however is to loose his heart to the young social worker. Now it is personal, whoever is trying to hurt Jade has to be exposed. Will exposing that person lead to Jade's death? Will she survive the terror that has been planned against her? Robin Caroll, who I already enjoyed reading from her previous book Deliver Us From Evil (which Lincoln Vailes was in that book also) once again proved herself as an author with the ability to keep me on the edge of my seat. Throw in the fact that she is a fellow Arkansan, and she moves right to the top of my list of favorite authors. Definitely a book to read this summer! . This book was provided by B & H Publishing for review purposes only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
LincolnVailes, is home. Back in Louisiana where his parents live. He has returned home to help his mom with his ailing father. A minister all his life, now Lincoln's dad is facing the horrible disease of Alzheimer's. It is hard to see him not in his right mind. This illness has definitely taken its toll on the Vailes family, Lincoln's father is not himself, raging in the disease, Lincoln's faith is tested to near the breaking point, and his poor mother is tired. Jade Laurent (Santiago) is a social worker fresh out of college, with a mission to save all abused wives and children. Her past gives her a passion for the abused wives, and she is serious about her job. Perhaps too serious, allowing herself to become emotionally and personally intangled in a ongoing case. Someone is in the small town of Eternal Springs Lousiana, on a mission to do harm to Jade, and Lincoln, as a police officer on the small town force is determined to find out who it is and why they want to hurt her. What he doesn't expect, however is to loose his heart to the fiesty young social worker. Now it is personal, whoever is trying to hurt Jade has to be exposed. Will exposing that person lead to Jade's death? Will she survive the terror that has been planned against her?This book was an attention grabber. I started this book late at night, my first mistake, and ended up reading into the wee hours of the morning. I had to finish it. I could not put it down. Robin Caroll, who I already enjoyed reading from her previous book Deliver Us From Evil (which Lincoln Vailes was also in that book) once again proved herself as an author with the ability to keep me on the edge of my seat. Throw in the fact that she is a fellow Arkansan, and she moves right to the top of my list of favorite authors. Definitely a book to read this summer! This book was provided by B & H Publishing for review purposes only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
Jade Laurent, after witnessing horrific childhood abuse issues, the death of her parents and subsequent adoption, and her graduation from college in the field of social work, has moved to Eternal Springs to make a difference in other peoples lives so they wouldnt have to suffer as she did. Her motives appear pure and unselfish, but her over-zealousness tends to undermine her work.She intervenes in a domestic abuse case, that may end up causing death threats, violence, and abduction. The fingers point to the domestic abuser, but then things take on a baffling, more violent nature directed at her specifically.Lincoln Vailes, a former Great Smoky Mountains park ranger, who is now a police offer, has moved to Eternal Springs to aid his mother with his fathers care. In his position of a police officer, he avails himself to Jade, hoping to catch the perpetrator and end her streak of mishaps.Robins fast-paced, yet detailed circumstances, keeps you reading to find the perpetrators behind all the violence aimed at Jade. Interspersed within the main story line, Robin includes the ramblings of gang warfaretheir plots to keep ahead and abreast of what is taking place among the three main gangs in Philadelphia.Robin also slips in a little romance between two resistant participants. Will this romance interfere with what is happening, hampering Lincolns work of protecting Jade while finding the ones responsible for all the havoc?Robin will have you coming away with a different look at domestic abuse, along with the strains of dealing with gangs. This is not necessarily an easy read, but one needed for people to get involved where possible and necessary. She does an excellent job in bringing out hard issues we cant ignore. Fear No Evil is a great follow-up to her book, Deliver Us From Evil. Hopefully more are coming!This book can be purchased here or here.This book was provided by Julie at BH Publishing Group for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fear No Evil, Evil Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
A high-octane read, Fear No Evil, is an excellent read! Caroll stuns again with her mastery of great plot twists, strong characters, and true-to-life drama. This is an awesome summer read and will not disappoint!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.