Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook

B&H Books A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook

It's Christmastime in Amish Country, and Chloe Humphrey has begun settling into her life in Appleseed Creek excited to see where her new relationship with Timothy Troyer will lead. Unfortunately it leads to murder when the couple discovers the body of Amish teenager Katie Lambright while on their first date.

Near the scene there is evidence that Timothy's friend and auto mechanic Billy Thorpe is involved with the crime. The police reveal Billy is not really who he said he was and has been living the last decade in Knox County under a stolen alias. Now, Chloe and Timothy must find Billy, bring him to justice, or prove his innocence.

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Review 1 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am thrilled to have discovered this series.

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am delighted that Amanda Flower continues to surprise me with twists and turns in her Appleseed Creek Mystery series.
I don’t want to spoil it for you, but you SO need to read this series!
But let me say right here and right now… this story is NOT finished! Many authors go with a 3-book series, but there is so much more to be written…
What happens to Chloe and Timothy? Becky and the rest of the Troyer family? Billy? Curt? Amanda, your readers want to know!
Read it… this book covers the English and Amish characters with great insight. I am thrilled to have discovered this series.
I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USA Today recently hailed award-nominated author Amanda Flower for A Plain Death, calling it “the first Amish rom-com . . . bring on the next one!” As the enthusiastic reviews continue to mount, she’s back with her third Appleseed Creek mystery, A Plain Disappearance.
It’s Christmastime in Amish Country, and Chloe Humphrey has begun settling into her life in Appleseed Creek excited to see where her new relationship with Timothy Troyer will lead. Unfortunately it leads to murder when the couple discovers the body of Amish teenager Katie Lambright while on their first date.
Near the scene there is evidence that Timothy’s friend and auto mechanic Billy Thorpe is involved with the crime. The police reveal Billy is not really who he said he was and has been living the last decade in Knox County under a stolen alias. Now, Chloe and Timothy must find Billy, bring him to justice, or prove his innocence.
My Review:
This Amish mystery is quite the page turner! Dead bodies seem to abound in Flower's novels, and despite the unpleasantness of that, it makes for quite the whodunit! This novel builds on the previous two books in the series, so I do recommend that you read them to get the background story. The story is invariable made difficult by the fact that the Amish prefer to have as little intervention of the outside world, but the main characters, Chloe and Timothy, are former Amish and willing to lend a hand in the investigation regarding a teenager's death.
What I found so unique and fresh about Flower's novels is that she took two popular genres and seamlessly created an entire new one! This novel was unforgettable, and I fond myself desperately wishing she decides to write a fourth book. A must read for a fascinating new genre, A Plain Disappearance is not to be missed!
This book was provided for free by the publisher through Handlebar Media in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely LOVED this series!

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timothy Troyer is taking Chloe Humphrey on a sleigh ride and pulls onto the old Gundy place 'to stretch thier legs'. The purpose of this sleigh ride is for Timmy to give Chloe her Christmas present from him, a necklace with a hammer and a computer mouse. As they are stretching their legs, yep you guessed it, the gift is given but now it's ruined as they discover the body of a dead Amish girl. Not just any Amish girl but the sister of Ruth's (Timmy's little sister) best friend. This will only cause more problems between the Troyer's and the Lambright's.
Amanda weaves a good story as Chloe and Timmy try to help solve this murder. There are lots of possibilities from family, to boyfriends, and to a couple of others in the community. Chloe does find herself in some pretty desperate situations as she is working this murder mystery.
I would highly recommend this whole series, oh yes you MUST read the 3 books in order, to readers that like Amish books or mysteries. I really did love all three of these and this one has a good ending, I just wish I knew how things end with Chloe. Of course I guess we can make our own ending as to how we want things to be in her life. I know what I want, lol. Hopefully Amanda will write more books like these. Oh, and I really like what happens with Curt, I think you will too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a plain disappearance review

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"A Plain Disappearance" by Amanda Flower is the third book in the 'An Appleseed Creek Mystery' series. The series focuses on Chloe, a computer worker, who moves to Amish country to work at the local college. In this novel she is courting Timothy, an ex-Amish man, and is solving murders in Knox County. I have not read the previous two novels in the series and found it not necessary to understand this one. Though, it would have been helpful. Chloe and Timothy find the body of Katie, a local Amish girl at an abandon barn and begin to help the local police solve the murder.
This novel reads like a modern day Nancy Drew. It is full of sleuthing and clues. It is relatively tame, but entertaining. I never did figure out who the killer was in this one. Not till she told me, of course. Also I really enjoyed the Tee character and like the dynamic between the two young women. I wished she had put more of her in the book. There were a couple of things I didn't like. The stereotypical step-mother routine was a little tiring. Also, the story was told in first person, so I wish the author had gotten into Chloe's head a little bit more as well. I liked this book. It was nice. I will read the other books in this series when I get the chance. I can't recall who I got this book from. I know it was in exchange for a review. I believe it was from Handlebar. The publisher was B&H Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer M
Location:Phoenix
Gender:female
A Plain Disappearance, by Amanda Flower, is the third book in the Appleseed Creek Mystery Series. It is set in an Amish community, although its two main characters, Timothy Troyer and Chloe Humphrey have chosen not to live the Amish lifestyle. The story begins with Timothy taking Chloe out on their first real date, where they happen upon the body of a young Amish girl in the snow. They call the police, and an investigation begins, with much assistance from Chloe (despite the fact that she is not in any way employed in any type of law enforcement.)
The story was well-written and well paced, and the characters were likeable. I enjoyed reading about the Amish way of life, and it was obvious that the author was well-versed in this area. She really made the community come to life. There was an interesting dynamic between the Amish, and those in their families who'd decided to leave the way of life and become "Englischers", which added a certain richness to the story.
My only real complaint about the book - which isn't technically a complaint at all - is that being the 3rd book in the series, I did feel like I was missing a bit of back story. The story itself did stand on its own, but there were certain characters and events referenced from previous books that would have felt more relevant had I read those books. This is not a problem with the book, or the writing, of course... more a matter of preference.
I'd definitely recommend this book if you enjoy 1) any sort of book set in the Amish community, and 2) sort of sweet, light-hearted mysteries. You probably just want to start with book one.
* I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. *
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Plain Disappearance by Amanda Flower

Date:October 28, 2013
This review gives more insight than just "it was/wasn't a good book" or "this is/isn't a must read". While I try not to give too much away, sometimes it's difficult to write about the story and have it not be revealing.
Chloe Humphrey is once again somehow involved in a crime committed against the Amish in her town. She helped solve the crimes committed in A Plain Death and A Plain Scandal, books one and two in the Appleseed Creek Mystery series. This time she is asked by Chief Rose to get involved because she is “the Amish whisperer”, although she would have been on the manhunt without the Chief’s request. I thought that it was wise of Amanda Flower to actually have the Chief ask Chloe to get information from the Amish and be involved in helping solve the crime because I questioned the fact that Chief Rose would let Chloe be privy to the sensitive police information that she told her in A Plain Scandal. A Plain Disappearance is the third book in the Appleseed Creek Mystery series.
Chloe moved to Appleseed Creek, Ohio when she accepted the job as Director of Computer Services for Harshberger College. Chloe befriended Ex-Amish brother and sister, Becky and Timothy Troyer, shortly after moving to town. She is roommates with Becky. This story starts with Chloe and Timothy on their first date. This is when they discover the body of Katie Lambright, a sixteen year old Amish girl. Chief Rose suspects Billy Thorpe committed the crime. He is a friend of Timothy and has quickly left town. Chloe and Timothy are on a search to find the disappeared Billy and soon discover more than they would have imagined.
While Chloe is searching for Billy, she is also searching her heart. She needs to forgive if she wants to move on with her life. Chloe needs to offer forgiveness to more than one person. She also learned that not all Amish are honest and hard-working pacifists.
Chloe has been dodging two criminals that have been out to get her since the beginning of the series. In A Plain Disappearance it seems that it’s only one , Kurt Fanning, now that can’t let her be. He her even followed her to church. She knows that he wants something she has but she doesn’t know what. It is very surprising what he does want from Chloe at the end. It is definitely something she never expected.
Amanda has done a good job of sending my mind around in circles in figuring out who killed Katie. One chapter it seemed like one person. The next chapter I thought it surely had to be another person. I was surprised when I finally discovered the killer; I never had any suspicion of that person. There are several story lines interconnected creating a great flowing story.
I was glad to see Chloe and Timothy finally together in the beginning of this book. After reading book two I knew they would soon be a couple. They have a very sweet romance. Grandfather Zook’s humor and view on life gives a fun twist to this mystery. I would recommend reading the previous books in Appleseed Creek Mystery series so you aren’t overwhelmed with all the characters. If you like mystery, humor, and romance, you’ll get them all in this great read by Amanda Flower.
I received a free copy of this book from B&H Publishing and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quirky, Cozy Mystery

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third book in An Appleseed Creek Mystery, A Plain Disappearance is just as good as the first two. Readers will be reunited with some well-loved characters that feel like family. No worries for those of you who haven't read the other books in the series though because this story reads well as a standalone but series fans will still get an extra kick out of it. :-)
The mystery is solid and I totally didn't solve it until the very end. Love it when a mystery keeps me on my toes like that. Flower really knows how to pace the suspense while interspersing sweet romance and a few interesting character twists along the way. And the solid message of forgiveness adds substance and wonder to an already stellar read. This is a quirky, cozy mystery that you don't want to miss out on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mystery

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a good mystery and when it revolves around the Amish that's even better and with "A Plain Disappearance" Ms. Flower provides a tight mystery that not only kept me turning the pages, but also kept me guessing as well!
Who would imagine finding a dead body on their first date? Well that's just what happens with Timothy Troyer and Chloe Humphrey. Timothy decides to stop at an old barn so that he can give Chloe her Christmas gift, but when the step inside the old barn they find the body of a young Amish girl. The questions that pop into my mind are who is she and how did she wind up there and who killed her!
Finding a dead body in the first chapter of a book is a sure way to grab my attention! The author provides a very well written suspense filled mystery where there are a few clues but overall kept me guessing,as to who the guilty culprit was. The characters are very well done and easy to like, for the most part. I thought the character of Chloe was very well done, I loved how the author allowed the reader to see things thru her eyes. I also thought the author's portrayal of the Amish was totally realistic, instead of them being perfect, they were human, flaws and all. A page turning mystery, with suspense, along with plenty of twists, makes this a fast paced read, the romance between the main characters was just an added bonus for me. While this is the third book in An Appleseed Creek Mystery it can really be read as a stand alone work, but if this book is any indicator then I believe that the entire series is well worth reading!
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Found a New Author to Love

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
booksbysteph
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Timothy Troyer takes Chloe Humphrey on a buggy ride for their first date. They stop at an old abandoned, rundown barn to stretch their legs. Timothy surprises Chloe with an early Christmas gift. But the joy of the evening evaporates when Timothy's dog takes off running to the side of the barn. Timothy and Chloe follow and discover a horrible site.
Buried in the snow lay a young Amish girl, blue from death. At first, the cops believe an icicle fell from the barn and killed the girl, but no one can think of a reason the girl would be at the barn in the first place. However, this conclusion is not final when they find out the girl was actually strangled to death.
The Amish will not talk to the Chief of Police, Greta Rose, so she enlists Chloe to help. Chief Rose wants Chloe to talk to the Amish and see if she can come up with any Amish suspects.
I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 Stars
Read this series in chronological order!
Because this is the first book I read in the series (in hopes it would stand alone), there were a lot of references to things that happened in the previous books. That caused some confusion, especially when it came to character development. And I do not understand why a cop would enlist a civilian to talk to the Amish and she is not even Amish.
I never thought I would ever say I read an Amish murder mystery; this would be my first and what a great story to start with! As clues are gathered, you start to believe you know who the killer is, naturally. Then you find out things that throw a wrench in your theory. You are truly reading things and trying to come to a conclusion just like a real cop. And the ending will surprise you in so many ways!
Until next time, live life one page at a time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Keeps you on your toes

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like Amish Fiction. I also like cozy mysteries and when you can combine the two genres then in my book you have a real winner. This Book is the third in the Appleseed Creek series and it keeps you guessing from the very beginning to the very end. It has what I enjoy about both of the genres. The Simple life that the Amish live but they still must deal with the problems of life and the mystery of cozies. Even though this is the third in the series you can read it without reading the others but if you are like me you will going back to catch up on what happened in the other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was quite intriguing as well as ingenious the way this author wrote a masterful mystery! Once again, Chloe is in the throes of a murder investigation when she and Timothy make a gruesome discovery. The victim was an Amish girl from a local well known family. As layers are peeled away to locate the responsible party, more twists are added to the story. The plot thickens as other secrets are revealed while investigating the scene where the body was found. The land belongs to an Amish family who has long since moved; however, inside the dilapidated barn are items that identify the number one person of interest.
The romance continues to grow between Chloe and Timothy even when other family members are being directed to remain at a distance from their friends. Curt, who has been hassling Chloe for months, suddenly appears at a church service. Why is that? Not only does he always seem to be where Chloe is and watching her, his friend Brock is not his side kick anymore.
Grandfather Zook, who is a talented carpenter working with intricate patterns, seems to be making less money than before since he is selling his work through his friend Levi’s store. How can that be?
I hope Amanda Flowers continues to write mysteries with the characters she has started in A Plain Death and continued in A Plain Scandal. Her books reveal not just the differences in the Amish life and beliefs, but also in people in general. Whether a friendship or a family, it is interesting to see just how each character reacts or responds to the hard times that come in all relationships. I love how the Amish family holds hands, bows their heads and says a simple prayer.
Chloe’s and Timothy’s characters show us how past hurts can heal, but at the hardest of times remind us of how we may or may not have failed others in choices we made. While it is true that the pain of death eases with time, it is equally true the fear some have that they will forget how their loved ones once looked. Recently, the son of a girlfriend, who died 10 years ago, got engaged and in my heart I felt happiness for them, but also a sting that my friend wasn’t here to share in the event. Yet, life does go on. In our hearts, we always can carry the memory of those we loved with us till we see the face of Jesus!
Read all three novels in order, enjoy and see what inspires you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Mystery that will keep you Guessing!

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Disappearance
An Appleseed Creek Mystery
By Amanda Flower
In the Plain world of Appleseed Creek it is Christmas time and murder has marked the season when Chloe Humphrey and Timothy Troyer discover the body of a teenage Amish girl buried in the snow near an abandoned barn. Talk about a memorable first date.
But when it is determined that Katie Lambright was murdered Chloe is tasked with the task of figuring out whether or not any of her new Amish acquaintances had anything to do with the murder. But the Amish don't totally trust Chloe and her Englischer ways nor her knack for helping the police - unofficially of course.
In A Plain Disappearance Chloe is spending her first Christmas with Becky and Timothy and Becky is excited to spend her first non-Amish Christmas embracing a true Englischer Christmas with all the trimmings. And there is a special surprise for Chloe that will make her Christmas complete.
With a full cast of possible suspects Chloe has her work cut out for her. But can she sort through the suspects or will she be the next victim? A Plain Disappearance is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing as to who the guilty party is and believe me there are several who look pretty likely.
A Plain Disappearance is the third book in this series but it can stand alone if you haven't read the first two but don't deny yourself the enjoyment of the entire series as Chloe solves mysteries and makes a place for herself in Appleseed Creek.
I was provided a copy of this book through Handlebar Marketing in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Plain Disappearance is an Amish fiction winner!

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit up front that this is the first book in this series that I have read. But, while I know some of how things will turn out, I still want to read the two previous books. This book only made me want to read them all the more.
Some of the storyline was familiar with the heroine being an Englischer making friends with the Amish and being courted by a guy that left the Amish several years ago during his rumspringa. The young couple find a body and they must track down the killer. The struggle with other characters either having left the Amish or thinking about it was also expected. But what I didn't quite expect was the portrayal of the Amish themselves. Often in Amish fiction they are overly romanticized as if they have attained moral perfection. Not in this book, some of them are very accepting and some are absolutely not, some are very loving with their families and some are harsh, they have similar fears and concerns that most parents and families do. The characters are as varied as people are in reality.
The issues in this story are much darker than the typical Amish story but the ultimate theme is forgiveness. From forgiving one's self, to past hurts, to forgiving people in the present. Each character struggles with this in his or her own way.
The mystery element in this story is excellent! Amanda Flower has done a great job, neither overdoing nor underplaying, and the pacing is very good. The storyline was believable and not forced, you could easily see why the characters acted and reacted as they did because they were what any normal person would say, do, or think. I honestly had no clue 'whodunit' until the murderer was revealed, I had guesses on who I thought DIDN'T do it but no idea who could have done it.
A Plain Disappearance is told in the first-person from the perspective of Chloe. Very enjoyable and the author did an excellent job of getting inside of Chloe's head and heart.
I did, of course, have favorite characters; Chloe with her desire to help and for family. Grossdaddi (Grandfather) Zook with his kind understanding and penchant for learning new Englischer words. And Greta Rose the sharp-tongued but fair, in Grossdaddi Zook's words “lady copper.” And, of course, I can't forget the other two most memorable characters, Mabel and Sparky, gotta love both of them!
Not everything is completely resolved, there is no sweet ending all packaged up with a pretty bow. The reader is left wondering and more importantly hoping that more stories with these characters will be soon forthcoming.
An enjoyable and wonderful addition to the Amish genre, don't miss A Plain Disappearance or the entire series!
(I received this book from B&H Publishing through Handlebar in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gotta love that suspense!

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product from Handlebar Publishing in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
A Plain Disappearance by Amanda Flower is the third book in the Appleseed Creek Mystery series. It is a stand alone book. I am rather glad I came in on the third book because the main couple was already together making A Plain Disappearance seem more like a mystery than a fictional romance. Though it did make me want to go back and read the first two installments.
In this book, I saw a glimpse of the struggles Amish families must go through when their children decide to leave their Amish communities for what is considered “English”. This story showed some of the not so good aspects of being Amish or being an “Englisher” dating an almost shunned Amish man. It also revealed a dishonest side to the Amish. Something that usually isn’t seen in the Amish books I have read in the past.
The best thing I liked is the fact that I was kept guessing right through to the end. Gotta love that suspense! I was actually surprised how the mystery concluded.
A Plain Disappearance was a really good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good with minor exceptions

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anita Batey
Location:Scottsboro, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have enjoyed this series of Amish mysteries by Amanda Fowler. However, I have found two discrepancies with this book. The first is the name of the Amish man murdered in the second book got changed. This would probably not been noticeable if I had not just finished reading book two. The other discrepancy is more noticeable to me, a former teacher of adult education. One of the main characters who is former Amish wants to go to college, so she needs to get a GED. In this book it is referred to several times as the GRE. Probably many who are not even retired teachers will catch that error. The GRE is a totally different test. But over all, it is a good book. Editors take note.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Murderer Within The Appleseed Creek Community

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Flower in her new book, "A Plain Disappearance" Book Three n the Appleseed Creek Mystery Series published by B&H Publishing Group reunites us with Chloe Humphrey and Appleseed Creek, Ohio.
From the Back Cover: It's Christmastime in Amish Country, and Chloe Humphrey has begun settling into her life in Appleseed Creek. She's really excited to see where her new relationship with Timothy Troyer will lead. Unfortunately it leads to murder when the couple discovers the body of Amish teenager Katie Lambright while on their first date.
Near the scene there is evidence that Timothy's friend and auto mechanic Billy Thorpe is involved with the crime. The police reveal Billy is not really who he said he was and has been living the last decade in Knox County under a stolen alias. Now, Chloe and Timothy must find Billy, bring him to justice, or prove his innocence.
At the end of a hard day I like to sit down with a good murder mystery. It takes my mind of the events of the day and I enter into a new environment, in this case Appleseed Creek, Ohio. Once again Chloe finds a dead body; this time while she is on her first date with Timothy. The Sheriff is not going to appreciate this at all. Now the Amish Community wants to keep the solving of the murder within the community so the Sheriff wants to use Chloe and Timothy to help solve this case from within. It is extremely possible that the murderer is someone who lives and works alongside everyone in Appleseed Creek. Ms. Flower has crafted a real puzzler of a mystery. "A Plain Disappearance" keeps you guessing and I defy you to figure out who really did it. Add to the pot a cast of characters that are just wonderful, some good, some bad and Ms. Flower has given us a great setting with Appleseed Creek. If you enjoy a good murder mystery like I do then this book is for you. I enjoyed this book a lot and am hoping there will be more in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Handlebar for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cozy mystery you can give a teen or adult to read

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For those of you who grew up reading Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys mysteries, you are in for a new take (sort-of) of their adventures as author Amanda Flower modernizes, intensifies, and deepens the old tried and true youth mysteries. Those old stories involved young folks who were not detectives or police but got themselves involved in the solution of various crimes and mysteries.
Here in A Plain Disappearance we have a young lady who is an "Englischer" computer geek at the local college and her not-quite-boyfriend, Timothy, involved with the local police in the solving of a murder. Actually, Chloe and Timothy are the ones who discovered the body of the young Amish girl in the snow. (Prepare yourself for a nice cozy mystery.)
This story while not a deep dark read does actually present a varied community of folks. We see Amish who are very strict living with family members who have left the church for the more "modern" Mennonite faith. We also see relationships developing between Mennonite, Timothy, and Englischer, Chole. Interesting indeed.
This book also brings out a darker side to some of those who live within the Amish community and who are living as "respected" church members. There is intense anger, cruelty, abuse, and isolation. But to our true enjoyment, the story also brings the delightful character, Grandfather Zook, to the forefront and you will absolutely fall in love with him. And I would be derelict if I did not mention "Sparky" - the faithful old horse that they all love.
As usual, family is a big part of the story as it is in all Amish tales. But as I mentioned, these families are beginning to mix it up a bit with leaving the faith and embracing another faith and yet being allowed to remain in the family and fringes of the community.
A Plain Disappearance is book 3 in the series Appleseed Creek Mysteries by Amanda Flower who is a prolific writer of Amish stories, middle reader adventures, and contemporary cozy mysteries. She is an Agatha-nominated author (A Plain Scandal, A Plain Death), and published by B&H Books. I also reviewed Andi Unexpected which is one of her middle reader adventures. .
I received a complimentary copy of A Plain Disappearance for the purpose of rendering my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. I received no compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USA Today recently hailed award-nominated author Amanda Flower for A Plain Death, calling it “the first Amish rom-com . . . bring on the next one!” As the enthusiastic reviews continue to mount, she’s back with her third Appleseed Creek mystery, A Plain Disappearance.
It’s Christmastime in Amish Country, and Chloe Humphrey has begun settling into her life in Appleseed Creek excited to see where her new relationship with Timothy Troyer will lead. Unfortunately it leads to murder when the couple discovers the body of Amish teenager Katie Lambright while on their first date.
Near the scene there is evidence that Timothy’s friend and auto mechanic Billy Thorpe is involved with the crime. The police reveal Billy is not really who he said he was and has been living the last decade in Knox County under a stolen alias. Now, Chloe and Timothy must find Billy, bring him to justice, or prove his innocence.
My Review:
This Amish mystery is quite the page turner! Dead bodies seem to abound in Flower's novels, and despite the unpleasantness of that, it makes for quite the whodunit! This novel builds on the previous two books in the series, so I do recommend that you read them to get the background story. The story is invariable made difficult by the fact that the Amish prefer to have as little intervention of the outside world, but the main characters, Chloe and Timothy, are former Amish and willing to lend a hand in the investigation regarding a teenager's death.
What I found so unique and fresh about Flower's novels is that she took two popular genres and seamlessly created an entire new one! This novel was unforgettable, and I fond myself desperately wishing she decides to write a fourth book. A must read for a fascinating new genre, A Plain Disappearance is not to be missed!
This book was provided for free by the publisher through Handlebar Media in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps me coming back for more each time!

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again it seems that Chloe Humphrey seems to attract more than just attention, she once again is the common factor in yet another murder in the heart of Appleseed Creek. This brings the total to three and even though she has an air tight alibi, this murder may in fact be the one that ultimately divides the English from the Amish in town. While exploring a deserted barn one early morning after a sleigh ride with her boyfriend, Timothy Troyer, they locate the body of Katie Lambright just under the snow. Signs may point to an accidental death by way of a frozen icicle that is missing just right above when they have found her body, but until they contact the local sheriff, Greta Rose, they won't know for sure. All they know is that she won't like that it will be Chloe once again who has discovered another dead body.
In the third novel in the Appleseed Creek Mystery series by Amanda Flower, A Plain Disappearance once again takes two very different genre's, Amish and Murder Mystery and combines them flawlessly to create something not only unique but unforgettable as well. I have had the wonderful opportunity to be able to read all of these novels and while there is a common thread running through them, they are each completely different. However with that being said in order to understand the relationships the English have with the Amish people living in Appleseed Creek is necessary to read them in order.
In this one it shows the difficulty that can had whenever a crime takes place within an Amish community. Rather than seek outside intervention, the Amish believe that whatever happens is best dealt within their own community of believers and is God's will. The sheriff utilizes the relationship that Chloe and Timothy have being former Amish residents as a common thread that will allow them to solve the crime and find out just who has murdered Katie Lambright, a young girl who was known for attracted more suitors than she needed. Is it possible that despite all the clues they find, the murderer is someone they don't suspect and resides within the town itself working alongside both English and Amish alike? To find out, you'll simply have to pick up this novel!
I received A Plain Disappearance by Amanda Flowers compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Handlebar Central for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are mine alone. This is such an exceptional series because of not only the combination of genres but it really addresses the subject of forgiveness and what happens when the seeds of bitterness are allowed to grow in people's hearts. I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and look forward to more from Amanda Flower in the future. There are even some great discussion questions included for book groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Plain Disappearance: An Appleseed Creek Mystery - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Disappearance continues Chloe Humphrey's adventures her first year in Appleseed Creek. Chloe and her former Amish boyfriend Timothy Troyer have discovered the body of local Amish girl and even though Chloe want to leave the mystery solving to the police, when the chief of police asks Chloe to make some discreet inquiries within the Amish community Chloe can’t say no.
In this book we see that Chloe and Timothy relationship is being taken to the next level, while Timothy's sister Becky, who is also Chloe's roommate, is making some drastic changes in her life.
I love revisiting the Troyer family and especially Grandfather Zook. He's picked up a few more English words that he manages to use at the proper time. He is a riot and I love reading about him. It was also wonderful to get to know Chloe’s best friend Tanisha. After only getting glimpses of her when Chloe would talk about her past, it was a treat to really see her up close and personal.
But I think the biggest twist for me was Curt. After reading about him in the first two books as being a certain way, it was a interesting to look at him in a different light.
This book was very well written and I found that the author did a fantastic job of keep my attention and the mystery going until the very end. I have recommended this series to several people already and have had any bad feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>