Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God

Moody Publishers He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God

Do you want to develop a more intimate prayer life? Even more, do you want to hear from God in practical ways? Let Priscilla Shirer prepare you by giving you a deeper understanding of the Holy Spirit. Based on the life of Samuel (who first heard God's voice while still a small boy) and packed with practical examples from Shirer's own life, He Speaks to Me speaks directly to the need to develop a richer prayer life and a deeper, more intimate relationship with God and to learn how to comfortably share your experience of God with others. Includes application questions at the end of each chapter.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
14
Customer Reviews for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Review 1 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn
I am so surprised at the negative reviews I have read on this site. Because of these reviews, I had mixed emotions going into the group study I did with this book and the DVD's that go along with it. I thoroughly enjoyed this. As someone who has done a few Beth Moore studies and loves her as well, this was a refreshing return to the roots of knowing God and learning to listen to His voice. Sometimes, we need to be reminded of the simple things. I loved Priscilla's humility, stories, and compassion for women - it shows.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaine DeLoach
We actually used the workbook and the DVD series. Our group of women were varied, but God has used this study to grow in our relationship with the Lord and to encourage one another. It has been most convicting at places and am encouragement to see that women struggle in similar places in we are honest with God and with one another. I highly recommend this study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Violet Bennet
This book (study) is so shallow. If you really want to hear when God speaks read "Walking with God", by John Eldredge. That's an awesome book, it helped me have an intimate relationship with God.Very disappointed with all of Priscilla's materials.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie
This study is very superficial, if that's what you're looking for then I guess you can leave a glowing review when you get done. But if you're interested in a more in depth study look elsewhere. Try Beth Moore.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Claire Jaben
Very disappointing study...we couldn't believe how shallow this study was. Will not do another study by this author.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus Book Club
I'm writing this about the book, not the group study on this book."He Speaks to Me" is an excellent God-focused and Scripture-focused book. If you're interested in hearing from God, I'd recommend this book to get you prepared to hear from God and "Listening For God" by Marilyn Hontz to help you with practical ways to hear His voice and guidance.Priscilla Shirer used the story of when Samuel heard God call to him as a boy as the frame for the points she made, then she explored what the rest of Scripture had to say. She used examples from the Bible and from her life to illustrate her points.The book was easy-to-understand and had a lot of good, Biblical insights. While the author was writing this to a female audience (she referred to the reader as "sister"), the information does apply to men, too. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone who feels disconnected or distant from God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
msjewel
I am ordering this for a neighbor of mine who was not raised in a Christian home but has recently had the desire to see what God has to offer her. I read this at the beginning of my spiritual journey and it ignited me to seek Him with a whole heart! That was approximately 5 years ago now. I think both this and Priscillas other wonderful book, Discerning the Voice of God, are a must for every newcomer to the faith. I have to think that the negative reviews were given because the book was behind where the reviewers were spiritually. We all go through a process of sanctification (becoming more Christlike) and we must be "fed" according to our need. I think Priscilla does a wonderful job of spelling it all out for the beginner, but if you have already moved on from "milk" to "meat", it would be like an avid reader picking up a school Primer....you just won't get too much from it because you are past that. I am not saying there is an age-group that this book speaks to because spiritual journeys cannot be measured by age, but if you read the bible, or devotions or pray and just feel like you aren't getting anything from them, then this book is for you! Priscilla is a very easy to read author with solid scriptural support for everything she writes. I couldn't put either book down and wrote all over them! I always had my bible by my side to read the scriptures as she referred to them and that is when God knew I was serious in my effort to know Him and began speaking to me! This book is like gold!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carla Jensen
The ladies in our church were very disappointed in this study, it was very shallow and not in depth as we had hoped.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lea
I came to CBD today hoping that the "sequel" Priscilla spoke about at the end of this video series had been written. I find it interesting that ladies either loved this book or hated it. I am thinking about Jesus and how it was the same for Him. People either followed Him or denied what He said. Priscilla challenges us to lay aside ourselves and seek Him. God used this book to cut into my sin and to heal the incision. We used this book along with the DVD in a ladies small group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Flowers
Very surprised by the number of negative reviews. References to scripture abound in this study and are very applicable. The ladies in our study group range in age from their 30s to 60s; all of us are being blessed and our toes are being stepped on! In addition, His Word is coming alive for us in ways that it hasn't before. Please note, we are using the DVD set as well as our study books. The combination is powerful and leaves you eager to get into the daily lessons and His Word. God bless you, Priscilla!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charlotte
Solid scriptural teaching. Our hearts were open and receptive to God's word and He used Priscilla to teach us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie
So glad this study is finally over, no substance whatsoever. Did not find this study to be helpful.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann
Study was powerful! Taught us how to prepare ourselves for God to speak to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Patterson
Very disappointing study, don't see how anybody could have gotten anything out of this one.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chanelle
This book left a lot to be desired. Should have reviewed it before using it in our Bible study.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Natasha
This book is a rehash of so many other books out there it has become confusing and not the least helpful. Our group of 14 did not benefit from this.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
What a disappointment this book is. I think I'll stick with Elizabeth George or Beth Moore. Priscilla copied info from various books and gets things confused.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susanne
This book just didn't work for us at all. Our church has been very disappointed with this book.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barb
This study challenged our ladies group to prepare ourselves to hear God speak. The way Priscilla paralleled Samuel's willingness to hear God and obey was concrete and applicable to today. I not only would recommend it. Our group has already ordered her next bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
This book did not help at all, I wish I could say that it did. Was looking for an in depth study, this is not it.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>