Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God

Moody Publishers The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God

On average, you think approximately 45,000 thoughts each day. What you tell yourself in your thoughts has a great deal of influence over your emotions and choices. In The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk, Shelly Beach exposes the thoughts that can damage our self-image and effectiveness for God. She offers tools to assist in the spiritual disciplines of self-assessment, repentance, commitment, and transformation to help you gain victory over negative self-talk. Learn to hear the Father's voice above your competing thoughts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Review 1 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Auntie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just received the book last week. I read a couple of chapters. I had to put it down. It is a book that once you start you don't really want to. I had other things to do...like sleep. Im so glad she wrote this book. Now I don't feel like Im the only one that seems like I cant get it together for the Lord. It helps to understand more of what those 'voices' are. I don't have to keep looking over my shoulder.....'that their coming to take me away.. ha ha hee hee' '
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEWARE

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
John R
Location:Johnstown PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book because of the title, I knew I had problems with my self-talk; but I never expected the eye-popper I got after just three chapters!
The above review summary is a good beware or caution in that the reader should be prepared to have their eyes opened to all the negative, destruction self-talk one experiences in their daily routine especially if they are not disciplined in checking it. Most people are not disciplined enough. This book is a awake up call.
The author writes to women; men, it will pay us to purchase a copy of this valuable resource/tool as well.
YES!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well-written

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very well-written and an easy read. There are appendixes in the back for further related Bible study or for journal purposes. The book title summarizes well what the author is trying to get across to the reader: that we often deceive ourselves with negative self-talk and that God has a higher calling for us, to be used by Him and to become the best we can be for Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
I never would have thought that someone could write a whole book about self talk. But Shelly Beach has done it! And wow! Is it ever a powerful book. I highly recommend her book. Here are some of her amazing ideas. She writes powerfully and effectively how we can stop and listen to our thoughts because they could be turning us away from the Lord."...one surprising element of Eve's interaction with the serpent is that he never urged her to do anything. He simply asked her to think. With a carefully nuanced phrase or two, the serpent set Eve's self-talk in motion." (pg 31)"In our woundedness, we often strip others of their rightful place at the foot of the cross beside us. But in our woundedness we must be ruthless in examining our motives and self-talk." (pg 122)"As the weeks passed, God began to answer that prayer. He showed me I could begin to understand my motives if I would take the time to stop, look, and listen to myself before, as, and after I spoke and acted." (pg. 136)"I cannot be changed until I first understand how desperately I need to be changed." (pg 143)"Whispers of entitlement call to us a hundred times a day--telling us we have a right to rage, to indulge in pride, to gorge on resentment, to criticize and complain, to shove our way to the front of the line...At times one eye is barely opened before I have to begin the work of asking, Where did this lousy attitude come from? What am I telling myself I'm entitled to, and is what I believe really the truth? Am I depending on God or relying on people to come through for me instead? On bad days, when I've thought about giving in and giving up, I've thought about wearing a sign around my neck: Warning: Child of God Under Construction--Slow Learner." (pgs 144-145).These were some of my favorite quotes but the book is filled with practical, significant, and Biblical ways for us to "take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ" (2 Cor. 10:5).I highly recommend her book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delores Liesner
This book was one of the most profoundly effective life-changing personal journeys Ive read to date. Simple truths of Gods word combined with personal revelation that anyone can relate to makes each chapter a gate to mental and emotional freedom through an increasing intimacy with God.In addition to personal discovery the evidences of self-talk reveal motive and action of Biblical Characters from Genesis to Revelation and cannot help but enhance ones understanding of Gods Word and how to avoid the subtlety of the enemys attempts to destroy our faith from within.The end of each chapter has suggested scriptures for prayer and questions for meditation and personal application, and a closing prayer. The back of the book has 10 sections of assessment tools, evaluations, outlines, guides and summaries. It is an excellent resource to accompany the chapter readings, for use in self-study or lay-counseling to assist in moving head-knowledge to heart knowledge and then to godly action.I will be sharing this book with our pastor and with family and friends. It will find a place on my counseling shelf with books by others who have had a deep walk with God and a willingness to share their own pain for the benefit of others Chambers, Bunyan, Piper, Lewis et al.Highly recommended for personal use, counseling, and speakers or writers who wish to understand characters of history or current times. Every thinking person should read this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
This book is going to be near the very top of my favorite book list. I was blessed by the author's honesty and love for the Lord. At one point early in the book, she shared a very honest and hard story--admitting her own fault in a situation (which she actually does many times in the book) rather than sharing a story from someone' else's life. She wanted to do that, but felt the Lord impress upon her heart that she needed to share her own story. One thing I struggle with in books is when the tone and voice that authors speak with when they speak with a "teacher" voice as if they are the expert and others are far worse of than they are. It is a voice of pride and judgement. Because Ms. Beach shared her own stories, I experienced grace and the reassurance that I'm not alone in this struggle to think rightly and glorify the Lord in my thoughts and in my heart. It is that grace and reassurance which prevented me from putting up walls and instead really listen to the convicting thoughts she has to share in her book.I realize that I haven't really shared what this book is about. The title explains it well. This book is about looking at the motives and heart behind the things we say and do. Why do we do these things? Are our reasons glorifying to God? Should we make other choices? How do we choose to think thoughts that are more glorifying to God? How do we get to the heart of our motives? In a way, that sounds very simple, but it really isn't. I think we'd all agree that our hearts and minds are complicated. We rationalize and justify the things we say and do and cover up our real motives. We think we can hide them, but really we can never hide them from God and from ourselves. If I could give a book 6 stars instead of 5, this would be one of the very few books that I would do that for!Please note that I did receive a complimentary copy of this book for review by Moody Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Marincic
I teach a women's Bible study and am always looking for great to books. I heard Shelley Beach interview on Moody Broadcasting about this book and the Lord put it on my heart to use this in our next study. It has been a very life-changing and powerful book for all the ladies. I've heard and seen awesome testimonies through out this study. Shelley says it like it is and makes us really think about the selfish attitudes and habits we've allowed our thoughts and hearts to listen to. Not only are we in the study being changed but great things are happening to our spouses and children!!! I would suggest this study for anyone. Be prepared to be changed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Goldenstein
This is a wonderful book! With the exception of my study bible, I have never read a book that I have underlined and marked as many pages as I have on this one. I will be reading this over and over again. Very helpful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Dillon
I will be reading this book again and again.Every Christian needs to understand what is going on in our minds and Shelly Beach doesan excellent job at explaining the process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Silent Seduction of Self-Talk: Conforming Deadly Thought Patterns to the Word of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Shelly Beach has such a unique and delicious writing style that I feel as if I've stolen away for a private serving of chocolate cake when I read her books. Beach understands the power of words, and she's not afraid to use them! In addition, her vulnerable approach to personal topics transfers the issue to the reader, enabling the reader to relate and recognize him/herself on every page. Silent Seduction/Self-Talk makes me wonder if Beach has been following me around all my life, listening....A great resource for breaking out of the seductive lies we have believed about ourselves for far too long!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.