Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evangelical Press Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement

Evangelical Press Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement

If you want to start an "interesting" discussion in most churches, bring up the subject of musical styles! Lucarini questions the use of contemporary worship music; shows why he believes congregations have been deceived into using worldly means to "reach the lost"; and advocates a return to melody and harmony is more important than the beat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
12
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Review 1 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book for the price

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Vagabond Preacher
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone; but especially pastors and worship leaders, who have concerns over Contemporary Christian Music and what it is doing to our churches. I find it interesting that pastors who are suppose to be protectors of the sheep, will spend hours preparing a sermon but little time in researching out the latest trends. This books helps in doing that. It is a fair warning, for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent work on a controversial topic

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Timothy
Location:Fort Walton Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucarini has provided an insightful work on a subject that may address the most controversial topic in evangelical Christianity today. While some criticize his efforts as being largely subjective, I applaud Lucarini speaking from his personal experience, his 20 years of embracing CCM, and then his sharing the gradual spiritual maturing process that guided him away from the movement. While there are elements of a personal testimony in the body of the work, that provides a strong element of credibility to Lucarini's biblical, musical, and cultural insight. Frequently proponents of CCM claim that we have to immitate the worldly pop music model (the performers, the style, the spectators), in order to attract the young people. Quite a contrast to "do not be conformed to the world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind..." Many of our churches have chosen the entertainment format of the performers (the rock band, or praise band), and the spectators. And it is a proven success to attract folks that are looking for entertainment. It has turned many of our church services into little more than a spectator event. Unfortunatlely what is lost is that experience of lifting our voices together in congregational singing, an important part of corporate worship. There are a few CCM tunes that allow for that, but precious few. We need courageous folks in the laity to demand a higher standard from our worship leaders. Lucarini will help all of us to articulate those concerns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the author's honesty!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Curt Alexander
Location:Wabash, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have long felt that the Contemporary Christian music movement is not pleasing to God. The author of this book lived as a CCM leader in several churches, and his background was rock music before he got saved. And yet, when the Holy Spirit spoke to this man's heart, he realized that he had to give up this music style. The book is the author's honest story of his love for music, and what the Lord taught him. It is a great testimony!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
copper
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written. He brings out good information about the effects of contemporary music in the church. Our church uses it but the people performing don't dress in a provocative manner he was describing in the book. To me it is performing and not praising, a lot of emotionalism. He brought out how the whole congregation sings when they sing a traditional song and hardly anyone sings when they do a contemporary. Very good reading.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
K Von
As a worship Pastor, I read this book at the recommendation of a man in our church who is upset with our music and volume. It greatly concerns me that Dan claims a moral high ground right out of the gate. I was floored by his lack of Church music history, and in most references to scripture putting a lense over those verses in the same way he accuses CCM people of doing. With his line of thinking we should buy clothes at any store but a christian book store because if we buy clothes of the rack at walmart someone who commits sin could have possibly worn the same style of shirt and therefore the shirt be ruled evil or give the apperance of evil. When reading this book I was reminded Jesus dealt very harshly with those considered to be the religous of his day but showed grace and restoration to everyone else. When Dan claims to have removed the speck from his eye in the first few pages then shuts down any open dialog. I would gladly have this discussion with him. One verse he refences in Psalms about the worshipers that David had that were set apart, if the music they played was the only correct music, then what was it? Let's only sing those songs. With that Said I do like Hymns but in there day they too were considered contemporary music. Also in the 1600's there was a massive issue ripping the church apart in the same way Traditional Vs. CCM, you know what it was congregational singing. So riffs in music is nothing new. Riffs in style of music has been happening for hundreds of years. So why Hymns and traditional music? What makes that sacred? Because the authors had no sin? Absolutly not! Could it be in 200 years from now the future generations will view our contemporary music as sacred and the same way we view hymns today? Jesus being a rabbi was always challenging peoples views of the scriptures and the law. When we hold on to tradition more than Christ we fall into the same sin that Dan is accusing any CCM worship person of.
-10points
9of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy
A very beneficial book to read. Music and dress are two issues that make finding a church rather difficult. We are not to be conformed to this world, and I believe that points to every area of our lives. Where can you find a church today that will properly love the "weaker" brother?
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andrew E. Jackson
Amen. Wish I could have expressed feelings and thoughts about CCM as you did. Bringing folks into the church by using Contemporary music is misleading and a disservice to them. God Bless.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Erickson
Intriguing evaluation of the "contemporary" Church Music ("CCM") currently in vogue these days. While I agree with some of the author's comments such as the one where he talks about the attitude of the "CCM" people being "if they don't like what we have, THEY can leave". I disagree with his personal solution namely to totally get away from "CCM" eliminate drums and praise groups etc. The author, overall seems to be fairy balanced in his discussion of the. My personal experience has found his comments to be dead on! Does every 'Old" hymn have to be sung with a "back beat" and with drums? "Blended worship should be just that, some of the new and some of the old (not reintrepreted in "CCM" style). Our congregations tend to lose the ability to sing and harmonize. In "CCM", they tend to be more like spectators of a performance (of praise group people).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Giuseppe
I translate this book in italian, because we don't have a book that talks so clearly about the danger of the music, especially in our churches. My prayer is to find an editor that can pubblish the book, so that this book can be a blessing also for italian christians. To God be the Glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Van Duren
One of the great tragedies in contemporary worship services is that the 'Praise and Worship' time is relegated to the segment of the service led by the so called "Praise and Worship" team. Worshiping God is an attitude of the heart and will and should be happening all of the way through the service....during offering..... the sermon....the corporate prayer time ...etc.This book gives an insider's look to the whole contemporary music scene and lets us know what today's worshipers are missing in a spiritual as well as musical sense, by ignoring the rich history of traditional Christian music. It is a thought-provoking text which helps the reader to take a whole new look at Christian music within the context of the church service. Are we worshiping God or pleasing ourselves by employing only contemporary music in the worship service? Make an informed decision!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rowan
Unsubstantiated rhetoric. It seems as if Lucarini has merely jotted down his bugbears without serious musicological or theological research. I urge people to consider readings on this subject with humility and neutrality - however I would also strongly recommend that readers should be seeking books which are written by people qualified in both musicology and theology. CCM debate is emotionally charged - writings need to be factual, well researched and substantiated.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
It's kind of funny, if you think about it, that God must have decided to withhold musical gifts within the church because He was finished with the worship reperetoire! I think anyone who understands the history behind church music and its many beautiful facets will find this book filled with holes and errors. God's Word is living and active (have we forgotten?) and stirs the hearts of all believers throughout all generations. Different generations express music differently--seems logical to me. Plus, since when did all hymns have great doctrinal truths? As someone who used to help with the selection of music at our previous church, there can be just as many fluffy hymns as newer choruses. I also find it funny that we are told in Scripture itself to sing Psalms, hymns, and Spiritual songs, but we really shouldn't sing anything other than hymns. I guess our opinion trumps God's Word. Yet another book that encourages division in the church . . .very sad.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Brown
I cannot believe we finally have a person to see the importance of writing a book that clarifies what so many Christians feel about CCM in the church. To tell you the truth, I was encouraged that I'm not alone in my concerns. I have been extremely discouraged the past few years, especially as I saw my own church go from traditional, then a blended service, and now they finally dispensed with the traditional Choir director and it appears to be going exclusively contemporary. In my quest to find a new church, I am running into churches who are even more ensconced in this movement, and I have great difficulty worshiping in these churches. This book helped me to understand why my spirit is so grieved, and how to articulate to other believers in a non-hostile way. I highly recommend this book to all believers. We all need to wake up and see the harm of this movement.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Renee DeMoss
Amazing, Truthful, & God Honoring InformationWhat a kind, sound, Biblical presentation of the honest truth regarding secular music and it's place in church. God doesn't need our junk - for if we do not honor Him in His pure way we fail. We have been called out of sin and into new life and our music should represent this.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Detherage
As a musician,this book spoke to something that has bothered me a lot in recent years, even to the extent that our church has gone in this direction. Having the background that Lucarini has really authenticates his views on this and makes his change of heart valid & believable. By the final chapters of the book, I was saying "AMEN"! to the observations & ideas he had; I thought: "Finally someone understands how some of us feel in the modern day church!!" I just wish our church leaders would not be so quick to "go along with the crowd"! I very much appreciate his Bible substantiation,too.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trudy Rodgers
This is an excellent book for all that are concerned about the health of our churches and families concerning the music issue. Dan Lucarini has put into words what many Christians have been unable to express. In many cases - including mine, the exit signs of the church have been pointed out to those daring to take issue with the worldly trends that have caused divisions - world wide! "Worship" has become a "spectator sport" in a time when true worship and church family unity are more important than ever. How sad when we think that a dimly lit rock concert is fit for worshipping (Sunday morning no less!!) a God who says in the Old Testament that we are not to worship Him in the way that pagens worship their gods. (deut. 12:30) Dan Lucarini has discovered the truth about Satan's infiltration, and is to be thanked for writing his book.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Vail
The author succeeds in presenting his case for the use of God honoring music in our churches. I have witnessed this struggle in my own church, with very damaging consequences. This is book will challenge the reader to rethink how they approach worship.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ed Heaton
Excellent resource that removes the mask of deception from the face of CCM. Well written. Wish I had a box full to give away so my friends could be set free from this form of New Age bondage.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sam Meyer
This is a well-written and easy to read story of one man's realization that the contemporary christian music trend is actually a move away from biblical worship instead of a new and better way to draw people to Christ. The author is gracious in relating his experience and firm in his conclusion that CCM has no place in true worship.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Why I Left The Contemporary Christian Music Movement
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hector Figueroa
Dan Lucarini has been given a clear view of what truly is going on most Contemporary Christian Music Services. He backs his balance statements with many biblical principles. True to God's word. A must read for Worship Music leaders and pastors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.