Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs

Thomas Nelson 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs

We serve our 3- to 7-year-olds healthy snacks---but it's even more important to nourish their hearts! Here's a feast of stories and songs rooted squarely in God's Word. Elkins's resource features 100 illustrated Bible tales with life-application lessons; plus two companion audio CDs with songs, hymns, and spirituals. 208 pages, hardcover from Integrity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Review 1 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book of Bible stories for young children.

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Himalyantrekker
Location:Kathmandu, Nepal
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two grandchildren like stories read to them every night before bedtime. What a great book of Bible stories. An extra bonus was the CDs containing songs and stories as well. They both liked their OWN book of Bible stories and enjoy singing to the CDs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
cjackson78
Location:Porter, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book and so does my 29 month old son. One of our favorite things to do know, sit and read or ride and sing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
100 Bible Stories 100 Bible Songs is a childrens Bible-story book written by Stephen Elkins. Elkins takes familiar Bible stories and characters and devotes 2 pages to each of them - condensing the story into one paragraph and providing a cartoon picture on the opposite page. This book has two cds containing a song for each story/character in the Bible. This book is wonderful for providing short devotionals for a toddler. Combining songs with colorful cartoon pictures and stories is a wonderful way to capture toddlers attention.This book is not a Bible, and it is important to understand that when reading it. Because the stories are condensed so much, many details of the stories are missing. This book is best for very young children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Morin
This book/cd combo is great! I teach 3-5 year old Bible study and it's a great tool to use as follow up for the lesson. In two pages it has the story an aim and life application, illustrations are very colorful and pages are sturdy. The cd's are great for background music during free play time. I have purchased this book for my grandchildren!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Naomi Musch
I gave Stephen Elkins book "100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs", the ultimate test. I handed it to my two grand-daughters ages 6 and 8. These are girls who only get to church occasionally, and most Bible stories are still pretty new to them. Last Easter we gave them a childrens Bible, so now the youngest has two books that she calls her God Books. Whatd they think? They quickly scanned through the pages, stopping to read a couple of the stories, and were excited for me to play them the music CDs. Each CD contains 50 songs that span the years of familiarity. I was surprised that I knew so many of the songs. I thought that I would be hearing lots of new kids tunes, but was delighted to hear re-dos of the many I loved as a child, and could now pass down to my grandchildren. Songs such as Kumbaya, Amazing Grace, I Will Sing of the Mercies, The B-I-B-L-E, and Oh You Cant Get to Heaven, were delightfully sung by children singers. As for the Bible stories contained in the book, I really found the layout desirable. Face it, little kids have very short attention spans. In the book, each double page capsulizes a story in one short paragraph on the left, and on the right a single-sentence synopsis to help them remember. On the bottom right is another single-sentence life application. Each story lists the Scripture reference where the story is found, as well as the correlating song on the CDs. The pictures are bright and engaging and fun. If you are thinking of introducing daily Bible reading or devotions to a young child, "100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs" would make a marvelous start. Its also a magnificent gift book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kate
As a Christian parent, I think that one of the most important things that we can do for our children is to instill in them a love for the Lord and His Word. 100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs is an excellent resource for parents and children for just that purpose. Stephen Elkins has created a collection of short and succinct Bible stories while also giving a good representation of many of the most important biblical truths, complete with just enough details for your young child. Each story concludes with a valuable application. Tim OConnors illustrations are adorable and the songs (sung by children) that accompany each story are catchy tunes that stay in your head and can be remembered for years to come, teaching biblical truths in memorable ways. My 4-year old son was singing along by the 5th track!Although this book is not meant to be a stand-alone Bible for your child, it is a wonderful introduction to Gods Word and can be used as a springboard for deeper discussion and further reading from the Bible, as each page contains the reference from which the story was taken. This book is geared towards children 4-8 years old, although, I believe it can be used for children as young as 2, and I highly recommend it.I am a Book Review Blogger for Thomas Nelson Publishers
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Micca
My son has a new found love-singing!! Especially Bible songs. I recently got the book 100 Bible Stories and 100 Bible Songs from Thomas Nelson. It is great! The illustrations are beautiful, the Bible stories are on a child's level, and songs that go along (2 discs with songs). Some songs are oldies and some are new. I love hearing my son sing songs about God and all that He does for us. If you have kids, I highly recommend it! It pulls it together to be able to read a story and then sing a song that goes along with it. It allows a child that can't read take the story with him. Of course, my son does have some interesting versions of the songs. Such as the "B-Hi-E-L-E" and he stands on the heard of God. We're working on it!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley Wells
100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs is a children's book full of bible stories from throughout the Bible. Like the title suggests, this book includes 2 CDs that include a Bible song that goes along with each of the Bible Stories. I think that this would be a great book for children up to preschool age, especially the music. Some of the Bible songs are more traditional, like "He's Got the Whole World in His Hands," while others are new. They mostly keep an upbeat tune and the lyrics are simple. I was disappointed that they didn't include the lyrics in the book at all, however they did include a website in the front of the book where the lyrics could be found. The book is full of colorful pictures that would keep any child's attention. However, I was disappointed that the actual stories included in the book are not straight from the Bible. I think when we paraphrase bible stories and take out and put in details, they lose some of the meaning. I am a firm believer that our children need to hear and learn God's Word, His true Word, not a paraphrase. However, if you are just looking for a book to teach your children basic Bible stories, you will be pleased with this book. But, remember, it is a Bible story book, not a Bible. I read this book as part of the Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program, http://brb.thomasnelson.com/.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
I quite liked reading through 100 Bible Stories 100 Bible Songs. It was very insightful and looked at some of the bible stories from an interesting angle. I really liked the illustrations they were really good and I felt that they brought the story to life. The stories are well-written and use simple terminology making it easy to read. The songs on the cds were quite nice and I felt that they went along with their respected stories really well. Overall, I felt that 100 Bible Stories 100 Bible Songs is a great and entertaining way for children to learn about the bible stories. I would recommend this one to parents who want to teach their children the bible stories and also to children interested in the bible themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
What a way to teach a young one Bible stories than with their very own Bible story book. This padded hard cover book is just the right size to fit in you lap along with your child. It isn't too big and bulky. The pictures are wonderful and would catch any youngster's eye. The Bible stories are very short for their little attention span. Each story has a life action application and a song on the CD to go along with it. Also for the older child you may look up the Bible story in your Bible if you wish. I was afraid I wouldn't like the CD's because I'm from the old church and don't like the rocky song of today, however, I was pleasantly surprised with the songs. They aren't rocky and any child would love to listen to the short choruses.The stories are of wide variety from creation (the Beginning) to Rev. (the End). Your child will learn Old & New Testament stories. Adam, Moses, Noah, Elijah, Balaam Rahab, Ruth, Hannah and The disciples, Paul, Zacchaeus, and many others. The songs range from Bible story songs such as Only a Boy Named David or Who Built the Ark; to Bible Truth songs: Do Not Judge or To Obey is Better. There are Scripture verse songs such as Behold, Behold or Such a Time as This. Praise songs: What a Friend we have In Jesus, Kumbaya and you'll find Character building songs such as: Kindness, Sharing is caring and many more.This is a thumbs up for any youngster ages 3-7 and old ones would just love to listen to the fun songs. My teenage girls do and so do I. Anyone with a young heart would love it. It's not too early to start think about Christmas. Highly recommended from a conservative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ellen Gillespie
100 Bible Stories, 100 Songs by Stephen Elkins, is a book for young children. Its illustrations are engaging, its stories short and simple, its CDs inviting the listener to sing along. Add in basic Bible lessons and life applications written for a child's viewpoint, and you have a perfect combination for learning and remembering Gods Word.And what about the grown-ups? What a great teaching tool for families, for teachers, for storytellers, as well as others who would be guiding young readers. Within this book you will find many of your favorite Bible stories. The accompanying music gives you 100 Bible songs to choose from. Use this book as a jumping off place for planning lessons, skits, puppets programs, storytime, or any other type of get-together group, be it for children or in a multigenerational setting.On the downside is the mix-up in CD track-titles and their coordination with the matching stories. Its really too bad this error was not caught before production plans were finalized. But you spending some time beforehand, locating the tracks for specific songs that you want to use, will insure that you have a smooth execution of all your storytelling plans.[Thank you to Thomas Nelson and their Book Review Blogger Program.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
ColleenB
100 Bible Stories 100 Bible Songs is a bible/gift book for children, written by Stephen Elkins and illustrated by Tim O'Connor. I think this book is appropriate for toddlers, preschoolers and elementary school aged children. The book has 100 bible stories , from the old and new testament, that are each only two pages long. Each story has the title, the song and the bible verse that corresponds with it. The stories themselves are short and simple, which I think is great to hold the youngsters attention. They typically are just one page long and then on the second page there is a beautiful illustration and the general lesson for that story. I really like how it is set up for the young learner. It would make a great first bible for toddlers and elementary age children. It would also be great for those just starting to read and in bible education classes. My children are enjoying having one story read to them each day. The illustrations are very cute, colorful and full of expression. The book also comes with 2 Cd's that have a total of 100 bible songs. There are many songs we have heard, and many that are new to us. My daughter has been enjoying listening to this as her bedtime music. I reviewed this book as a member of the thomas nelson book review blogger program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Out of all the books Ive had the privilege of reviewing for Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program, this review has been the most enjoyable. As a mom with several young children trying to pass on my Christian faith, I found 100 Bible Stories 100 Songs an interesting contribution to children's Bible storybooks. Packaged with brilliant illustrations and pleasant music, this book is sure to delight a number of audiences.As the title implies, this Bible storybook not only includes written narrations of Bible stories, but there is also a song for each story! Some of the songs are very unique, and theyre all very well performed. All my girls (even my 9-year-old) enjoyed listening to the music. My one-year-old was patient enough to sit through an entire story, which I found a plus. It fits nicely with a wide range of ages. My only qualm with this particular Bible storybook is that the stories are more devotional in nature than simple retelling of Bible stories. I would liked to have seen more accurate narratives, as opposed to an entire spread on why we should not judge others. I think this would more accurately be titled: 100 Bible Devotions, 100 Songs. Just this moms 2 cents!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen
Great fun for Kesley! I recently read this book and listened to the music. This book comes with 2 cds of 100 songs total that center around the Bible. The songs are in order with the Bible books. The songs are lots of fun and provide a great car ride home with Kelsey. I did expect that since there were 100 songs and 100 stories that they would match to one another or that they would be the same (i.e. that the songs were just the stories put to music) but that was not the case. The stories were stories and easy for Kelsey to listen to before we were on to another project. The illustrations are great and Kelsey loved learning which animals were which and looking through the pictures. Overall the book was wonderful and provided a lot of activities for us to do together. I can definitely see Sunday school classes and VBS's using this book/CD. I can see many projects and programs using these Bible-centered songs and stories. Each one follows a Bible verse so it would be very simple to use the items in lesson plans. I also liked that they followed the Bible sequence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin Lowmaster
Once again am I impressed with the work of Stephen Elkins. If you know anything about this author, you know he is the author of many other loved Christian children's books such as one of my favorite titles, LullaBible A to Z Promise Book: Baby's First Bible Promises. I've owned this promise book for a few months and enjoy reading it to my daughter and listening to the accompanying cd."100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs" is one of Stephens latest works. This book is geared preschoolers, though my 12 month daughter really enjoys listening/dancing along to the two accompanying hymn & filled CDs that go along with the stories, as well as looking at the beautifully illustrated pages along side of me.I look forward to the days when my daughter will take to heart these easy to comprehend renditions of well know Bible stories with their simple to understand life applications."100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs" I highly recommended for families, churches, and libraries of all kinds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
100 Bible stories, 100 Bible songs is a must read for any parent wanting to get their child interested in the Bible! With the simple yet truthful way the Bible stories are presented to the absolutely amazing illustrations this is sure to captivate any reader! And I LOVE LOVE LOVE how not only does Elkin present the Bible in this book, but he also includes small life lessons for them as well! What an awesome teaching tool!! The songs, I can't say enough good things about all the songs on the cd's! There are so many that were childhood favorites of mine that now my son can take an interest in. Plus some newer ones that we can learn together! I 100% recommend this book to anyone with young children!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
This was so much fun to read and review! "100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs," written by Stephen Elkins and illustrated by Tim OConnor, is a wonderful story book and CD collection. It is a soft-cover, hardback book, with good quality, sturdy paper, which is perfect for kids. There is a wonderful and detailed table of contents, which includes the story, along with the verse and song that accompany it. The stories are fantastic and at a perfect length to young readers. It is also quite colorful and the illustrations are simply fantastic. Many of the songs took me down memory lane, back to Sunday School and VBS! The stories included are from both the Old and New Testament. Each story shows where it was taken from in the Bible, along with a short lesson and has a song that accompanies it. The verbiage is perfect for preschoolers and reads in a fun way. This is a great way to introduce your child to Scripture, and build a foundation of the Bible in his or her life. I cant wait to begin using it to teach my toddler daughter all about God and Jesus, and to use it as a tool to train her for life! I definitely recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenna
Its very important to Scott and I that we share the joy and wonder of the Lord and His Word with our children. Our daughter Kaelyn is 19 months old and although young, has already been exposed to a number of things to help shape her understanding of God. Whether it be the music she listens to, the television shows she watches or the things we talk about...we are always doing our best to instill in her these values and beliefs. Her favorite book is actually her Bible, or bibi in her words. Even at such a young age she enjoys learning and hearing the stories of the Bible.Thats why I was SO excited to have had the opportunity to receive a copy of 100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs from Thomas Nelson Publishers to review! I knew that as much as she loves her Bibleshed this and all it has to offer....and I was right! It includes 100 Bible Stories that are introduced in a kid-friendly way as well as two CD's filled with 100 Bible Songs...all of which are very catchy!What I think is so great about 100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs is the way it was made. I appreciate having a kid-friendly way to introduce our children to the Bible in a way that's meaningful to them. I really liked the way it was laid out. Each story references the chapter and verses from the Bible, and has a one-sentence summary from the passage as well as an application statement. What a wonderful way to introduce your little one to scripture and application! I really look forward to spending many hours with our daughter, reading these stories and singing the songs together. Kaelyn especially loved the colorful illustrations that went along with each story! Although the publishers recommend this Bible Storybook for preschool age children, I think it was great even for my one year old! She enjoys every minute of reading the stories and listening to the songs and it's never too early to share the Word of God with your children!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Stephen Elkins is the author of numerous titles such as The First Step Series: First Steps in Prayer, Beginning Lessons of Gods Love and the 3rd largest producer of kids music world wide. He has won copious awards. This soft padded covered hardback book is wonderfully illustrated by Tim OConnor whose charming drawings adorn the pages in vivacity and cheeriness. 100 Bible Stories 100 Bible Songs is geared for preschool aged children and contains 2 CDs filled with 100 songs, hymns and spirituals. Also, there are 100 Bible stories with truths and life applications. This product is geared towards preschoolers. Each story references the chapter and verses as well. The songs are fun to sing and bring back memories from my own childhood. There are so many, that I cannot pick just one favorite. The only downside, or blooper, is that the soundtrack lists the song titles incorrectly. Who Built the Ark? is listed on the CD as Come Bless Me Lord and this error continues on disk 2. I forgive the soundtrack error and still think this is a wonderful product to have and share. If coloring sheets were available for each lesson and the CDs errors were corrected, I would rate this product 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Bible Stories/100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Stephen Elkins 100 bible Stories 100 Bible Songs is a colorful, kid-friendly, padded cover book. Each story is kept to one page with the adjoining page displaying a coordinating picture. There is a song to go along with each story that is contained on one of the two cds that are included in this book. Many songs are familiar, such as My God is so Big, however there are also songs that may not be quite as familiar included as well, such as Do to Others and Jesus in the Morning. This is a great resource for tying in music with teaching Bible stories with children and the songs are ones that will be remembered over the years and enjoyable for the entire family! Just a side note, I had inserted the first cd into my computer to listen to and the playlist that was displayed did not match up with the songs, for example, on the playlist, the first song was listed as The B-I-B-L-E while the song playing was In the Beginning which is also the song listed in the book. So the right songs play, however the wrong titles are coordinated with the songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>