Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives

Moody Publishers Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives

This collection of devotions squarely addresses the challenges that military wives face in their day-to-day lives. How can you maintain a strong sense of patriotism without allowing your country to become an idol? What good can possibly come from moving every two to three years? How can you be sure that God has a purpose for your life that is as strong as His purpose for your husband's? The foundation of this devotional is the unchanging character of God and the anchor of Jesus Christ, even amidst the shifting circumstances of a military family. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.97 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Review 1 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking, Encouraging

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daws1996
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great book! While not every devotion spoke directly into my life, I could relate in so many and felt the author's love and encouragement throughout. While each marriage should find agreement and compromise on the issues raised within the pages, much of what you'll find helps you to think through and pray about the topics before approaching your soldier to determine what will work for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
marci
Location:Hawaii
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great words of wisdom. I highly recommend this book to any wife preparing for, or in the midst of his deployment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith Deployed: A Husband's Perspective

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChrisL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife has read many biblically-based books on military life. One such book is Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives, by Jocelyn Green (and contributing writers). As my wife shared these encouraging devotionals, I realized this book not only was applicable to military wives but to the soldiers lives, as well. While on temporary duty, I ordered my own copy with much expectation.
As I read through each devotional, I found relevance to my own life, as well as helping me understand my wife’s experiences. After receiving news of a potential deployment, I was reminded of God’s Sovereignty when I read Jill Hart’s devotional, “Blessed Contentment.” Jill Hart’s personal struggle to find contentment in the midst of her circumstances helped me realize the importance of a grateful heart.
Sarah Ball’s devotional “In Everything Give Thanks” spoke directly to my circumstance when she questioned, “Who could possibly expect me to be thankful during deployments? The uncomfortable answer to that question: God does. God expects and desires my thanksgiving in all circumstances. God does not command us to be thankful for everything, but we are expected to give thanks in everything. (1 Thessalonians 5:18) She continues, “I was relieved to realize that I didn’t have to be thankful for deployment, but convicted of my need to continue praising God even during deployments.” After receiving word of my now impending deployment I, too, am convicted of my need to offer my praise to God.
I continued to find nuggets of truth in each devotional. The Holy Spirit has made my marriage a great priority in my life, second only to my relationship with Christ. I read with great anticipation Section Two, Guarding The Heart: Protecting Ourselves from the World’s Temptations. In Affairs of the Heart, by Jocelyn Green, I was reminded to watch carefully over even the small traps that can lead to an emotional affair. There is always more I can do to guard my heart. Jocelyn writes, “One way to play it safe is to guard our mouths. Flirting, complimenting, complaining, confessing, and inappropriate counseling and praying are all ways of communicating that could lead to a deeper relationship – in other words, avoid them!”
There are many truths of God’s word which relate to life. The final devotional, “Making Ourselves Ready”, by Jocelyn Green, clearly speaks to all of us in the military. She declares, “God wants to be more to us than merely our Creator. By assuming the names Bridegroom (Nymphios) and Husband (Aner), Jesus reveals the kind of intimate relationship He desires to have with us, His bride.” What do brides have to do with men? In scripture husbands are told to “love our wives, just as Christ, also, loved the church” (Ephesians 5:28). We were given marriage, as the example to understand our relationship with Christ.
I highly recommend that husbands read Faith Deployed, as there is great wisdom which can be applied toward every soldier’s life. I would encourage you to read this book with your wife. If deployment or temporary duty prevents you from doing so, then share your thoughts through e-mails, phone calls or other forms of communication. The words you read will lead you closer to Christ and bring you closer to one another.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
tbmk
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was just what I was looking. Being a military wife, I can relate to the segments. It is so powerful how the author brings those situations that we face as military wives back to God. Wonderful mini-lessons that could be adapted into a bible study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marine Wife
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the book. I like how it's so scripture oriented. I can relate to the stories too. The book definitely touched the heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have book for military wives

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the introduction to her book Jocelyn Green states,
"Faith Deployed is not a guide to long-distance relationships or a how-to on navigating through the military culture. It does not offer “ten easy steps” for an easier, painless life. Instead, through squarely addressing the challenges you face, Faith Deployed will equip you to respond biblically to the daily struggles that threaten to wear you down."
This book is exactly what Green set out to produce. It is a great tool to help women get through the ups and downs of life as a military wife.
Faith Deployed is written by military spouses, from all branches of service, who share their common experiences that most military wives will relate to. Their honesty and transparency is refreshing. This book is not only for those going through a deployment or separation, but for all military wives.
We were new to the military and were going through our first deployment when I received a copy of this book from my local PWOC (Protestant Women of the Chapel) president. While my husband was in Iraq, I used Faith Deployed as part of my devotional time each morning. It was just what I needed to start off my day.
Faith Deployed is broken down into 8 themed sections with approximately 10 chapters per section. The chapters are short and concise. Beginning with a scripture, each chapter encourages the military wife with personal stories by the different authors, followed by thought provoking questions to get you thinking, and ending with a prayer related to what you just read.
Faith Deployed is a must have book in the library of every military wife. It is an invaluable tool that I will not only keep on my bookshelf, but gladly share with other military spouses. It's an inspirational book for women who are holding down the fort, giving hope for those keeping the family moving forward in the midst of war and separation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sweetslady
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is truly an amazing and one of a kind devotional book. I have looked forward to reading each devotion, when I do my devotions each morning. Every time I turned to the newest one to read, as a military wife, I could nod my head with each example and things that I've experienced as a military wife of 17 years. I love how it is divided into sections that speak on different subjects and the wide range of military spouse writers. The devotions have spoke to me in so many ways from showing hospitality to contentment and so much more. I can't wait to share it with my military spouse friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book seemed like it was written for me

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
trooppetrie
Location:fort bragg nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, did this hit home. It talked about a couple who left good jobs to join the Army and how he came in as a private and how hard it was to even see other soldiers get promoted. That was our story to a T.
It was just the reminder to be content to be happy where I am at. We have been that specialist with no money. Now as an Officers wife I can look back and understand what that private’s wife is feeling. I try daily to not be thinking about the next promotion but be happy with what we are doing now and what I am being taught now.
This book was a very easy read and fits perfectly in my purse. It is something I can read with my older children and not worry it is too much. It helps me to realize I am not the only military spouse dealing with these things
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith Deployed: A Book for all Military Wives

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
chengerang
Location:Arizona
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic book that every military wife should have in her hands. Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives was written by Jocelyn Green, with contributions from several other military wives. Their spousal experiences range from married to Active Duty to Reserve or Guard; Enlisted to Officer; Air Force to Navy (and all of the other branches)—with an array of positions that their husbands have held during their services. The book has won two Bronze Medal awards, one from the Military Writers Society of America and the other from Branson Stars and Flags Book Awards.
Military life is a sensitive subject to write about, especially from a spousal point of view. Wives have trained themselves to be independent and can be dismissive when it comes to hearing advice, but Green’s book had me grabbing my highlighter from the first story—something that I rarely do. I found myself nodding in agreement, smiling at the similarities between the stories and my own, and, at times, wishing I had heard the advice earlier in my journey. Some of the topics discussed are “Guarding Our Hearts,” “Viewing Our Role as a Ministry,” and “Giving Up Our Attempts to Be in Control.
Faith Deployed is divided into topical sections (e.g. Section One: Taking Every Thought Captive: Training Our Minds to a Biblical Perspective), as opposed to chapters. I was confused at first as to how Green picked her topics for encouragement, and then found in the first paragraph of the Introduction that the book addresses different challenges that military wives face in their lives. The subtitle is, “Daily Encouragement for Military Wives,” and while the book certainly is encouraging, I would have preferred for the “Sections” to be labeled instead as “Challenges.” I realize this sounds picky, but knowing this little fact helped me to categorize how the author selected the topics and how they applied to my life. I also felt that the Section subtitles were a bit redundant and only clouded the main ideas. These were my only concerns with the book.
Each section contains about ten or so stories from the contributing wives that pertain to the challenge. The stories are written in first-person format. They begin with a Bible verse, then tell the story, and end with a few personal growth questions and a short prayer.
I didn’t agree with everything written. There were a few stories that didn’t apply to me or made me think, “I’m not sure many people would feel that way.” However, the great thing about the book is that when there is a story about one end of an extreme, there is usually a different story that discusses the other end of the extreme. For example, while there is one story that encourages wives to reach outside their comfort zone of the military life and into the civilian world (83), there is another story that cautions us against exclusively creating friendships with civilians in an effort to avoid painful military friendship separations (90). The book does a good job of covering its bases and includes struggles of all kinds.
The stories were inviting, written with a tone that said, “I’m not perfect. Here is what I did wrong and here is what I learned.” I never felt as though the writers were talking down to me. Instead, I felt like I was sitting around a café listening to my friends who care about me. The advice is biblically sound and is spoken with love for the reader. For the most part, I felt that the stories were written by women who are mature in their faiths and have successfully overcome the issues they were discussing. By the time I finished the book, I was challenged in ways I didn’t expect to be challenged.
In all, I enjoyed the book and expect to use it as an encouraging reference during the next deployment or military struggle. I look forward to sharing it with my friends and would love to see it passed down within military units from wife to wife, encouraging those who serve outside the ranks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
LisaMc
Location:Covington,Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Christian Army National Guard wife of a deployed soldier I am so blessed to have this book in my life! This is our first deployment and we have two small children and it is tough! When reading Jocelyn Green's book Faith Deployed:Daily Encouragement For Military Wives I feel a sense of calm and reassurance. Reading this book that is full of God's wisdom helps to ease my mind and gain much needed strength to get me through the day. Thank you Jocelyn for sharing this wonderful book with me!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
I believe every military spouse should have this book. It truly is encouraging and helpful. And has helped get me through multiple situations. I love this book and have made multiple marks in it to go back to read over and over again when unplaned things come up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
We are on our 1st deployment. We are only a month in and I find myslef running to my Faith Deployed book to help give me strength through all this. As a mother of a very active 2 year old it can be very hard to be on your own. Faith Delpoyed has showed me I don't have to be Wonder Women Army Wife, I just have to be myslef and trust the the Lord will get me and my son through this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Ortega
Jocelyn Green with contributing authors from every branch of the U. S. military has brought hope, encouragement, and support to military wives with her book, Faith Deployed. The book is set up as a daily devotional, but I read more than one entry each day. I couldnt put the book down. She has helped wives to see their role as a ministry for Christ. With transparency, humility and compassion, she and the other contributors have covered temptation, the price of duty and the need to give up control. Shes addressed active duty faith with boldness and ends with a section on the hope of victory. The appendix on resources for military families offers a wealth of information. Military chaplains, church libraries, and military ministries need this book on their shelves to offer hope to military spouses. I wish this book had been available when I was an active duty military wife. It would have helped immensely.Yvonne Ortega, Finding Hope for Your Journey through Breast Cancer, Revell 9/2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Rhea
Jocelyn Green gets it. She knows the life of a military wife. And she knows the challenges unique to that life. In Faith Deployed, she offers encouragement centered powerfully on the word of God in perfect, bite-size servings that feed the soul. I'm talking, delish! For the military wife, for those who know a military wife, or for those who minister to military wives in any capactiy, Faith Deployed is the gotta-have-it resource!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
This excellent book covers just about every concern that a military wife could think of. The devotionals compact a lot into pithy, short 2-3 pages on subjects like jealousy, being still and seeking God, finding support, stress, and oh, so much more. I so appreciate the vulnerability and honesty of the military wives who wrote the devotionals. They share their hearts and give practical ideas and advice. I actually think any woman could enjoy and benefit from this book even though the focus and topics are specific to military wives. But who shouldn't and couldn't benefit from reading about seeking God? The ideas are powerful enough for everyone but yes, military wives will appreciate it the most.I'm passing this valuable book along to my niece who is a Navy wife. I just know she's going to gain so much from it and draw closer to God because of it. And she'll know to a greater degree that her service for our country is appreciated. Because she is serving too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia M
As a leader in a Military Ministry which reaches out to pray for and encourage not only veterans and active duty men and women, husbands and wives, the deployed and the left behind--this book was placed in my hands. What I thought could be a great resource to share with military wives and others with deployed loved ones turned out to be so much more than I first imagined. Presented with great transparency, grace and mercy, Jocelyn Green and the other authors draw us into a tender and candid understanding of the challenge to trust God in the face of very real emotional strains, fears, doubts and struggles and lift the spirit while ministering to the soul... While I am not a military wife, I found myself personally drawn into each experience and being ministered to as I read each devotional. I guess it is because the compassionate truth it presents engages the heart and points us to God's word with the effect of great healing. I was particularly blessed by the format of the ASK (Yourself) suggestions and the appropriate PRAYER offered at the end of each devotional.It is a must read not only for every miliatry wife but for anyone interested in gaining insight into ministering to their spiritual needs of our military population. Illuminated by God's word, this book ministers encouragement far beyond the military wife--to anyone battling thoughts, loneliness and temptations that bombard the mind and heart and war to rob contentment and faith...you will be blessed.Thanks & blessings to Jocelyn & all the contributors!!PatriciaTSC Military Ministry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
For anyone who has ever had the privilege of loving and supporting one of our military heroes--particularly a spouse--Jocelyn Green's new book, FAITH DEPLOYED: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives, is the perfect source of guidance and companionship.With contributing authors from every branch of the U.S. military, this excellent release from Moody Publishers contains not only encouragement for daily living, but also applicable prayers and even resources for military families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie
I just loved this book! The book is filled with little devotionals for those going through a deployment. Right after my husband deployed last year I saw this book at our PX. I just had to have it. As a Christian and a military spouse, I knew this book was written for someone in my situation. The book itself is divided into sections. This is great so that if something specific is on your heart, you can look up devotionals under that topic. The setup of the book makes it very easy to read. You could sit and read several chapters in a row or just take in one at a time. During my husband's deployment I did try to read at least one devotional a day. Some days I would end up reading two or three of them. These 14 writers along with Jocelyn Green make up all the devotions in the book: Pamela Anderson, Sarah Bell, Rebekah Benimoff, Paulette Harris, Jill Hart, Sara Horn, Denise McColl, Lori Mumford, Vanessa Peters, Lasana Ritchie. Sheryl Shearer, Ronda Sturgill, Marshele Carter Waddell and Eathel Weimer. What is great about all these authors is that they come from all branches of the military, both Active duty and the Reserves. This helps bring perspective and a sense of realness to the devotions. I enjoyed the different tones and experiences that the different writers brought to the book. There were several devotions that I read and thought, "Wow that totally hit home!" Then others I could not relate to as well. The book was also able to address some of the fears I have had or do have about having a husband in the military. Each little devotion starts with a Bible verse. I love that after each devotion there is a prayer and a question for the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanne Francis
Faith Deployed is an inspiring book,the words of encouragement is so profound. I believe God used Joycely Green as his contact person as a way of encouragement not only to Military Wives but to every one who read this book. I would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
JWiggins
A few nights into my husbands 2nd deployment (1st being married)... I was unable to sleep. I prayed about what to do... got on the internet and stumbled across the FaithDeployed website. I wanted verses but also to hear from real people who had been through this and had positive solutions to getting out of my cave!! I felt instantly connected to the stories and testimonals so I ordered this book! I am not lying to you when I say- from the first day I got the book, each entry went exactly along with the trials of my heart, mind and spirit! I was amazed at how much it helped me to know other women were struggling with the same issues... and there was solid Biblical references to turn to. I read this at night with my devotionals to keep my mind in a positive direction and also to feel connected to the "Military family" when I'm feeling lonley. Check out the website too... there is daily help on all sorts of topics!! This is a "Must have- Must read and Re-Read" for all military spouses or family members struggling with the issues of a deployment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>