Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD

Crossway Books & Bibles This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD

Ashton is an unremarkable small town where nothing much ever seems to happen. That is, until a skeptical reporter and a prayerful pastor begin to compare notes. They find themselves fighting a hideous plot that bears grave consequences, not only for the people of Ashton, but the entire human race! Behind every scene the spiritual realms are being shaken as the hosts battle for human souls. And only the power of prayer can tip the balance...
Across a vast panorama of heart-stopping action, this book serves up a penetrating portrayal of our world and a vivid reminder of the redemptive power of Christ. This stunning audio abridgement, presented with dramatic sound and music effects and read by the author himself, brings to life all the thrills and excitement of Frank Peretti's 1st selling novel, a book that blazed a trail for all of Christian fiction and that has changed the way millions of people perceive the spiritual realm. Read by the author. Abridged. 3 CDs. 3 hours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Review 1 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story / great author

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
LiLa
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story is a great reminder of the spiritual battle all around us. This audio version does leave out some details but the story line is still intact. Peretti does a great job with the reading and the voices ~ though if you've never heard him speak, his voice may take some getting used to. This version is somewhere between a normal audiobook which is strictly read by an individual and radio theatre. Though it easily captures and keeps my attention just like radio theatre does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica Rollins
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes you really think about the spiritual warfare going on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Babs
Although I had read this book it was even more exciting hearing Frank narrate it. I would love to hear Piercing the Darkness with him as the narrator. Well done! I just wish it had been longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Clark
The story is captivating and brought to life by sounds on the CD. Frank Peretti's voice and emotions brings so much to the story! The characters and storyline will have you on the edge of your seat. I highly recommend the CD set to anyone who might be traveling for the summer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nettie Goodman
I recommend listening to the audiobook before reading the book. The book is absolutely fantastic. The book is so good I have read it more than once!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenton Creighton
I have heard this presentation before on my friends cassette tape series and i wanted to put it on my ipod, so when i got it on CD the quality was just awesome and i love it. Definitely a must read or listen-to for anybody. great representation on how the two realms of the spiritual and physical are so close and so active way more than we take into consideration for. Recommend to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather Castellana
I love the fact that this is read by the author. He does such an amazing job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lloyd Shepherd
Very good since it is read by the Author, brings a new perspective to the characters in the book. If you want to be challenged in your place in prayer I really recommend this book as well as the hard copy as I have already listened to the audiobook twice, and have read the book at least three times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paul Goedecke
HAving read the book when it came out over 20 years ago, I hoped that this audio version would be a good thriller to share with my now teen boys. Unfortuately it was abridged. The power of prayer was not the real central focus. Still it was a good listen and the story line was still intact. Would be good if it was put into a movie with all the technology available!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steve And Charlene Klinkenborg
I really enjoy Frank Peretti's book but I would preferred the unabridged version. My employment allows audiobooks while we work and the story went too fast especially when I have had read the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
David Marsh
Frank Peretti is a fantastic writer! This has always been one of my favorite books. Mr. Peretti should stick to writing and leave the story telling to others. His voice, and the overpowering music and sound effects, almost ruin the story for me. If you have not read this book, you absolutely should. If you have read this book, you absolutely should read it again. I would not suggest listening though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2004
Customer Avatar
Philana Crouch
I used to own these on tape and I am so glad they are finally on CD. The best part is that Frank Peretti is the one doing the narration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Present Darkness - Audiobook on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2003
Customer Avatar
John Matthew
This is an excellent book it is truly an insight into the spiritual kingdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.