Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary

Moody Publishers The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary

The world needs the influence of women who are willing to go against the flow of the culture and live a life of conviction. In The Uncommon Woman, you'll learn to wisely pick your battles, persevere against the pull of pettiness, and make a difference in today's culture. At the end of each chapter are study questions for further reflections. 6x9 paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Review 1 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We are using this book for a women's group of about 15 ladies. It speaks to women across all ages and we are definitely enjoying it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Riemer
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Small group is enjoying the study we are doing with the book as our guide. Everyone is getting something out of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beck Gambill
I don't usually read or like what I consider Christian self help or opinion. And generally stick to Christian classics or bible study books. However this is far from Christian opinion or fluff. Susie Larson's wisdom is strait from Scripture and hit home in my heart. I cannot describe how transforming the book has been. I've been posting excerpts on my facebook page and several friends have bought copies of the book because those posts have meant so much to them. It's a fabulous read! Expect to encounter Jesus in it's pages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
The Uncommon Woman is one of thee best books for woman I have ever read. And I do not say that lightly. I have read enough great books for women's living that I consider it hard to compete with the authors I have come to love; but Susie Larson has become a favorite of mine.This book challenges women to be uncommon and explains what that means and how to make it a reality in your own life. Each chapter is followed by several discussion questions and action steps that really probe the heart and soul. I enjoyed the honest and fresh look that Susie takes on subject we face every day in our lives as women. I appreciated her own examples and testimony and was encouraged greatly by them.While this book does not flow as well as some books do, and is actually hard to "get" without reading the whole book, it packs a punch for when you do read the whole thing. It digs deep and makes you think but in easy-to-grasp terms. The Uncommon Woman could easily be read in an afternoon - but you won't want to - you'll want to soak in this book and re-read portions as it encourages you to be the woman God wants you to be: the uncommon one. The one who is willing to live for Him, the one who is willing to bow down.You will walk away from this book, as I did, with a renewed desire to live the extraordinary life rather than the ordinary one the world says is so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
LaVorges
This book is a keeper, Susie hit so many key points on betrayal. It has change the way I view those that come up against me. I have learned so much words cannot explain. If you have been hurt by those you love and don't understand why so much pain in your life. This is the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
I don't read much nonfiction, so it takes a lot to make me finish a book. It has to draw me in and speak to me personally. THE UNCOMMON WOMAN: MAKING AN ORDINARY LIFE EXTRAORDINARY did that. In the first chapter Larson describes the incident of Jesus washing Judas's feet in such a way that I wept, and left me with a longing to rise above the pain of injury others have inflicted on me -- not only to forgive, but to serve those who have hurt me. Each chapter ends with introspection questions that bring Larson's wisdom home and makes it personal. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
Susie gives her readers a fresh glimpse at the heart of Jesus for us as women and the amazing privilege we have been given to follow Him on the higher road. Addressing each of the areas that women commonly face, she shows us how to draw on the power of Christ and choose the uncommon response of love. This book is for any woman who wants to experience the much more that God promises; the life for which we were created and have been called.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Uncommon Woman: Making an Ordinary Life Extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
In this book author Susie Larson encourages women to kick their relationship with Christ up a notch by marching to a different beat than what the world is marching to. Larson encourages women to "take the high road" and be willing to be called out by God to live a life that is "uncommon". In this book she not only talks the talk, but gives the reader the needed tools to know God more intimately and to follow Him more closely.This is a great book for a Book Club or Bible Study as Larson places thought provoking questions at the end of each chapter and she backs up her teaching with Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.