Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Snow Angel

B&H Books Snow Angel

Fierce and fragile, the mysterious Elizabeth is obsessively drawn to the promise of gold in 1880s Alaska. But when kind Noah Wesley saves her life during a violent blizzard, she won't tell him why she's chasing her dream through a pounding storm. Can these cold and lonely hearts risk everything and be forever warmed? 304 pages, softcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snow Angel
Review 1 for Snow Angel
This review is fromSnow Angel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twists, Turns, and Redemption

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
FictionFan
Location:Forest, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd never read anything by this author before reading Snow Angel. I'm glad I found her! This story was exciting and endearing. Set in Alaska, with a female who has lots of spunk and "baggage" - and a Godly man who helps her in her time of need. The good vs. evil in this story keeps you guessing. I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snow Angel
This review is fromSnow Angel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story showing God's mercy and love

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jpan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed reading this eventful story about God's love and mercy to all.... No matter what they have done. Our Faithful long suffering God shines through
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lovely Story!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alright so as you can see by my review summary, this I thought was a lovely story! I was really sad when I saw a few of the reviews though.
Sure I read the parts in the books that some thought were "inappropriate" and I myself wouldn't want to exactly read it to my Mom because of those parts but not because I see the book as dirty. Because it is in no way dirty and God WAS there! And, I feel I should add this, though I wouldn't feel comfortable reading this book to my Mom, I don't mind purchasing it for her. It is actually going to be one of her Christmas gifts but don't tell! It's a secret!
This book showed that there is a God who loves you. Jamie showed this and how much God cares that you know He loves you and is watching over you by, yes, Noah. God works in many different ways and to "cure" Elizabeth, he put a very special person in her life. A person to give her love and show her God's love through that love.
This is at least how I see it. And felt in and out of the book. I loved this book but will be watching who I purchase it for though. I won't be buying this book for those who I feel need to mature as they won't be able to see the love in it is FOR GOD at the moment. This fact is common for ALL books that I give off as gifts though.
Anyway, I highly recommend this book and it really was a sweet story. I loved the butterflies and I loved how Jamie Carie put God in it! I hope you will feel the same way and if you view the book as I do, I know you will! This is a top favorite now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Kocher
Recommend this to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction. Furthermore, I am interested in reading addition books by Jamie Carie.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norma Foster
Loved the book and love author, jamie Carie, too, however, my favorite by her is WIND DANCER.....it is awesome!!!!! I will read every thing Jamie writes, that's for sure.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
I was very disappointed with this book. Even by the end of the book you really didn't know anymore about the people than when you began. I truly do not know how this was considered a Christian book. There was no true salvation message or any other biblical message. If there was it was so watered down you didn't know it was there. All it seemed to be was two people who were thinking about how attracted they were to each other and they could never be honest with each other. It was just a book basically about a relationship built on their lustful thoughts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dena Alley
I give it no stars because we sent it and Wind Dancer back. My 14yr old daughter was shocked by the content. She didn't even finish Snow Angel and didn't want to try Wind Dancer. CBD was good and asked for our help to identify the places of offense. This is the second set of books that have had content that isn't needed for a good story. Please writers show us how to find love and honor God. Don't just write for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean
Intriguing, yes, but I guess that I am the "odd man out here!" I did not appreciate the many sexual innuenduos and the inappropriateness that I found many times in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alicia H Williams
What a way to depict the love of God in black and white. I was thoroughly attached to the message of love's pursuit of us through Noah's pursuit of Elizabeth. God pursues our hearts with relentless determination, but also with a tenderness that welcomes us to be found. Love will not back down against a threat of opposition, nor will He force His way into our heart if it is clear we have a stronger desire for something else. This book gave me a timely reminder of God's unconditional, unfailing, always available love for me.Thank you, Carie.You are all that and then some. Smile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Evelyn "nana4three3"
Suspense, intrigue and romance. This pretty well sums up Snow Angel. There were actually three stories in one and the way Jamie brings them all together and shares God's love as well makes for a very interesting story. Would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda
Snow Angel captured my attention from the very first page. Jamie Carie develops her characters very well, and she weaves romance and suspense throughout the book from beginning to end. It is tantalizing that the reader knows somewhat more than the characters do, and I was on the edge of my seat several times urging them on. While I usually prefer contemporary stories, Snow Angel was excellent and totally captivating. Jamie Carie...please keep the stories coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angi
Her style blends the perfect amount of description, conversation, and adventure. The pace was perfect. And the characters were lovable. The romance was sweet, no inappropriateness. I am not a big romance reader, but this book combined just enough adventure and action with the romance that it was very enjoyable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Elizabeth Smith doesn't know where she has come from but her future goals are clear ~ she just didn't count on a storm interfering with those plans.Noah Wesley loves the solitary wilderness that is his Alaskan home but when God calls him to open his front door during a fearsome blizzard, the unconscious woman lying at his feet unlocks a chamber in his heart previously undiscovered.While drawn to each other during Elizabeth's recovery, Noah knows he can't compete with her yearning to stake a claim in the Yukon gold fields. Noah fears for Elizabeth's safety as she pursues a perilous course but it is a more evil threat from her past that may haunt them forever.Snow Angel captured my imagination from beginning to end. It is an epic romance with fast paced intrigue and an emotional intensity rarely achieved. Jamie Carie's gifted characterisation is of a calibre expected from a multi-published author not one writing her debut novel. Noah and Elizabeth have enormous depth, with appealing attributes alongside tangible weaknesses that evoke an emotional and compassionate response. Jamie does not shy away from portraying genuine romantic tension and desire and the dilemma that poses for Noah, a man of faith and integrity experiencing passion and attraction.Jamie's prose is elegant yet accessible, placing the reader amongst the icy shards of the blizzard and the muck and deprivation of the gold fields. Faith and belief is interwoven seamlessly, gently revealing the loving heart of God amidst the heartache of loss and loneliness. Prepare to be swept away by this powerful tale of love and sacrifice and become a devoted reader of anything Jamie Carie pens in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rhonda S. Johnson
Jamie Carie's debut novel, "Snow Angel," gripped me from the beginning and wouldn't let go. This romance/adventure story includes Christian themes as well as suspense and history. From the first page, the characters and their struggles drew me in. Elizabeth, Noah and Jane seem real. Their personalities are well-developed; they have strengths and weaknesses. They're not perfect, but regular people trying to make the right decisions. Sometimes they succeed and sometimes they fail. Joining each of them on the journey made me want to speak aloud to them, to tell them what's coming next, or to tell them what they don't know that might prompt a different decision. Also watch for Will and Cara Collins, Charlie McKay, Joe Brandon and William Cleary, among others.Their story takes place, for the most part, in rugged Alaska during the 1897 gold rush. The historical details and facts about life in that time and place give this book an educational aspect, even for readers whose main purpose is simply to escape into another world. The historical details blend in with the story and don't overpower the plot or frustrate the reader who wants action instead of dominating description.Their struggles: a toddler taken from her mother, given away by her grandfather - location unknown; a woman seeking gold and freedom, half frozen at a man's door - someone seeks her for dishonorable reasons; a man warms to his new companion, just as she decides to pursue her dream.This book is a thoroughly enjoyable read. Others, like me, may find they don't want to put it down until the last page is read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Snow Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In 1897 in an isolated section of the Alaskan territory, Noah Wesley stays warm in his heated cabin while a blizzard rages outside. However, he soon hears a noise at his door that he initially thinks is his imagination of being alone and then considers a wild animal. He cautiously takes a look outside encouraged by what he assumes is the voice of God speaking inside his head. He is stunned to find an unconscious half frozen female angel who he fears if she survives the weather might still suffer frostbite.------------He takes Elizabeth into his home, but soon believes this brittle woman will try anything as she asks Noah to take her to the gold fields so she can search for gold. Still he feels the fierce climate will send her scurrying to the lower Forty-eight while trying to convince to give up on the gold fever. Elizabeth rejects his contention that she is to delicate to survive the wilderness while hiding her real obsession for wanting to go to the gold fields from him though she is falling in love with this man whom she trusts with her life but not her objective; at the same time someone searches for her as they have for over two decades.-------------The divine matchmaking romance between Noah and Elizabeth and the mystery subplot enhance a terrific look at Alaska during the frantic gold rush days of the late nineteenth century. SNOW ANGEL provides a vivid stark look at the wintry climate in which the weather is lethal for the unprepared. The lead couple is a strong pairing as he knows she is god sent to him and she loves and trusts him with her life and everything else except her reason for needing to go to the gold fields. Jamie Caries debut is a wonderfully descriptive historical tale as the audience will wear woolen hats and gloves (in September) while reading this book.-------------Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.