Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage

In the face of uncertainty and danger, the courage of Christian missionaries remains largely unsung. Now these faithful servants tell their own stories - and you're invited to "listen" in! Endorsed by the International Missions Board, this collection of 365 readings will bless you with strength and inspiration to fulfill your own call from God! 480 pages, hardcover from Integrity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Review 1 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great sale price!

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jan Mosley
Location:cedartown ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift or a treat for yourself! Good value. Will lift you up and cause you to walk closer to Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Voices of missionaries

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adrienne
Location:U.S.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really great read. It opened my eyes to the life of a missionary (the ups and downs), the need for missionaries everywhere, and the conviction that anyone can share the message at any time anywhere. This is a must for anyone thinking about being a missionary because it will offer guidance and courage. But I do recommend this to every Christian because sharing the good news is just so important.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging!

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
SaraG
This is a wonderful 365 day devotional book! It has essays written by missionaries from across the world compiled by Beth Moore. Each month the essays are organized by topics such as: God's character, God's word, prayer. Each month Beth Moore writes an introduction for the topic. Since it is written by a variety of missionaries, it offers many insights and points of view. I found it to help me be aware of how God is working in and through missionaries around the world. And it helps keep me mission-minded. With that said, I kind of wanted more - to be more into the lives of these missionaries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Voices of the Faithful by Beth Moore

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Connie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For God so loved the world…John 3:16KJV So often we try to contain God by having Him fit into the boundaries we create for Him. In our comfortable homes and churches we sometimes forget that in all areas of the world others are not blessed with the same luxuries. Whether from the jungles of South Africa to Southwest Asia or in an apartment building in France these devotions offer a daily challenge to pray for these missionaries and inspiration to look for ways to support them abroad while also serving our God at home in the United States. Voices Of the Faithful helps one realize that the awesome power and love of God completely covers the universe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great to add to your devotions.

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rita
Location:Jesup, GA.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read this book 2 times already. I wanted to get a gift for a friend and knew this would be a book that she would enjoy as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Voices of the Faithful

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:Under 18
Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World with Beth Moore and friends who put their lives on the line for God. Complied by Kim P. Davis.
And that’s just the title :)! Voices of the Faithful has devotions for every day of the year. Obviously, I wasn’t going to wait a year to post this review but I am already in May. The devotions are written by missionaries all over the world so you get an inside look at their lives. They share their joys and struggles. It is inspiring and encouraging to read stories of what God is doing in other countries and how he is using ordinary men and women in His service. Bible verses from different versions begin each devotional. The stories can be exciting, scary, funny, touching, etc. Though these stories occur far from America, there is application for our lives. An introduction to each month was written by Beth Moore. Each chapter is a different month and each month has a theme such as prayer, witnessing, compassion, etc. It’s nice that all royalties from the Voices of the Faithful series support the work of the International Mission Board.
~I received this book free for review from Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring Stories of Courage

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
SimplyJesusMinistries
Location:Orange County, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has a devotional for every day of the year. Each month starts out with a wonderful intro by Beth Moore. With subjects such as God’s Character, Prayer, Contentment, God’s Grace and the month of December is devoted to Christmas Around the World.
Different missionaries from all over the world write the daily devotions. They tell stories and share lessons that they have learned and share how God has worked in their lives. Each devotional concludes with a prayer related to the entry.
Voices of the Faithful was such a blessing to me, it caused me to relate to and care for missionaries in a much deeper way. Beth Moore says something about the family of God in the intro that sums it up beautifully...
“ We’re meant to be like multi-colored Christmas lights attached to one electrical cord called the Holy Spirit and strung strategically all over the earth. Yep millions of lights on one cord with the guts to shine more brightly because we know the others are there.”
This book really encouraged me to remember that I have brothers and sisters all over the world that have the same struggles that I do. I really enjoyed Beth Moore's introductions to each month and the daily scripture, devotion and prayer were a huge blessing.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of Voices of the Faithful-Inspiring Stories

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Franklin, TN.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever thought of yourself as a missionary? Are you like some who tell the Lord, “I will do anything you want me to do, and go anywhere you want me to go! Just, please don’t make me go to Africa, Lord!” Perhaps you have determined that a missionary is a specific calling by God reserved for a select few, and that your only task is to remember them in prayer and/or perhaps support them financially. According to Scripture all Christ followers are missionaries. Look at what has been coined “The Great Commission” in Matthew 28: 16-20: “Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them inthe name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (NIV) This is a command straight from the lips of Jesus~ go and make disciples! Where? All nations!
Beth Moore has put together a daily devotional of stories from missionaries from around the globe: stories of lives being redeemed from abuse, martyrdom, witchcraft; stories of believers who have chosen to sacrifice their life of comfort in the known sphere of influence to life in the utmost sometimes most remote parts of the world to share the Good News of Jesus Christ, so “that none should perish”. Topics included in these devotionals include: God’s character, prayer, persecution, spiritual warfare and many others.
Each daily devotional begins with a short passage of Scripture, followed by a brief synopsis of a true story that occurred on the mission field, and ends with a prayer to offer up on behalf of missionaries everywhere. These stories invoke a myriad of emotions and as many responses: tears, laughter, joy, heartache, prayer and praise! You will be richly blessed to begin or end your day with these devotional stories, and hopefully you will be moved to seek God’s will for your life regarding missions. No matter your age or your station in life, God’s voice calls us to share His love and forgiveness with a dying world. Seek His voice; find your voice, and commit to praying for the voices of those already serving on local, national and international fields!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from
Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review
bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in
accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 :
“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful & encouraging

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently, I had the chance to review, "Voices of the Faithful" book 1 from the Thomas Nelson’s Book Review Blogger program . I had already had the opportunity to review book 2 sometime ago and was a little disappointed that at the time, Booksneeze didn't have book 1 for me to request. However, I'm so thankful now to have book 1 & 2 in my hands! I love reading the stories of missionaries as I have for sometime now.
"Voices of the Faithful" inspiring stories of courage from Christians serving around the world with Beth Moore is one devotional book you don't want to miss! It has 366 devotions for every day of the year and before each month begins, Beth has something to say to us. Each month has a certain topic. Believers around the world have gone through great sacrifice for their faith and their love for God. Their stories have been told. We must listen and remember them. I really love this book, it's such an invaluable treasure for believers. There is strength found in their stories so that we may live the gospel of Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Edwards
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book: Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving around the World compiled by Kim Davis and Beth Moore. This book was put together as a daily reading devotional with a verse, a short story, and a prayer on each page. At the end of each story it tells the missionaries name or initials and the country in which they were serving when this story occurred. Occasionally the days go together but usually they are unrelated and by different missionaries. Between each month is a longer devotional or challenge by Beth Moore. At the very end of the book there are a few pages set aside to help you and your church find ways to be more involved in mission work by more active prayer or the many other ways you too can serve. It is a very enjoyable, and touching read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Voices of the Faithful by Beth Moore

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovemyblessings
Location:ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
How can a missionary from another world inspire me? How can a christian ministering to another people group actually have anything that can encourage me? After reading this book those questions will no longer be in your vocabulary. Beth Moore has done an excellent job in compiling inspiring stories of courage from Christians serving around the world.
This 365 daily devotional has one topic for each month packed with daily encouragement and inspiring stories from missionaries and Christians serving in countries all around the world.
Beth gives a short introduction at the beginning of each month; that really sets the tone for that months topic. Each day has a one page devotional including verse, true accounts from fellow believers around the world, and a short prayer.
This book is very easy to use as a daily devotional, but you could also just read through it at your own leisure as well.
I really enjoyed these true to life accounts from other Christians, and was able to apply their life lessons easily to my own life experiences and challenges. Not only motivating and captivating; these stories were most definitely inspiring. Great book for young adult to adult age; male or female alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stories from those who are in the mission field

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie Van Roekel
Location:Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a daily devotional book with introductions for each month written by Beth Moore, and each daily entry written by a different missionary serving on the international field. It is described as: "Inspiring stories of courage from Christians serving around the world", and it does not disappoint the reader.
Each month begins with an introduction by Beth Moore, and then each day has a Bible verse reference and a story by a missionary followed by a prayer. These are in-the-field stories and they stir the reader away from the ordinary lives many of us lead to thinking about and praying for the missionaries who write them. Reading the missionaries stories helps me to get to know just a little of what their lives are like as they serve the Lord, and to be grateful for that service and for the Lord's provision for each of them.
Since I have not read the entire book yet because it is a year-long devotional, I am looking forward to reading each day's devotional and then digging deeper by exploring the Bible verse further and applying it all to my own life. This would make a wonderful gift book to those you know who support the work of missionaries and want to have a glimpse into their lives and work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Missions-minded Devotional

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela W
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Voices of the Faithful is a daily devotional authored collaboratively by missionaries representing the far reaches of every corner in the world. These servants share their stories of faith, triumph over trials, amazing miracles, and the love of God for His people. Each day's reading is uplifting and encouraging. To accompany the inspiring stories, a Scripture verse and prayer are also written.
As an added bonus for this big fan, Beth Moore penned the book's introduction as well as writing an introduction revealing each month's theme. As always, Moore's genuine, conversational, loving, thought-provoking voice oozed from every word. Her writing has a truly special quality that is so inviting to readers.
Understandably, the format is designed to be a quick, manageable read each day. However, I would have loved to have been able to read expanded, more in-depth and detailed accounts of several of the stories shared. Still, I know God used the brief excerpts to touch my heart and will surely touch others. I would recommend this devotional to others... especially those who desire to read of great faith and/or have a sincere heart for missions.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs K
Location:Midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is beautiful, weighty, and will help draw your attention to the many needs around the world. What better way to begin 2011 than to focus our prayer closet on those who put shoes on the Great Commission?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God is constantly working around us

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A day by day devotional written by Beth Moore and friends as a useful tool to remind us of how God is constantly working around us.
Finding a devotional book these days is rather simple, but finding one that speaks to your soul is another story. There are entire sections of book stores designated to devotional books, but it can be hard to find one that fits a growing Christians desire to read about what God is actually doing and not just what he promises to do.
In this book Beth Moore and a collaborative effort made by friends allow you to read daily for a year and see what God can and has done in the world we all live in. Each entry begins with a Bible verse and ends with a short prayer. Some entries are thought provoking and force the reader to delve into their inner souls. This allows the reader to think deeply about where they are and where God maybe asking them to go.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who feels that they need something more than just a daily quip about God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
aunterica
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book really opened my eyes to the work that missionaries do every day on the mission field, and convicted me of the little that i do here in my own little world. I really liked it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Daily uplifting reminder of worldwide missions

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seem to be on a kick, looking for that perfect daily devotional or something. So I welcomed the chance to check out Voices of the Faithful with Beth Moore. Moore wrote the introductions for each month, and the introduction to the book... but the daily devotions were written by missionaries from around the world.
I love this book. Each month is organized into a theme. December is Christmas Around the World, and Beth's introduction makes you think about what it would be like to celebrate Christmas in some of the places these missionaries serve, with nobody around who sees Christmas as special. The individual devotions are touching and real. I truly look forward to reading this each day.
Having used Sonlight curriculum, with its emphasis on missionaries, for most of the last decade, some of the things mentioned in Beth's comments (or in other reviews) don't really apply to me. My family definitely knows that missionaries are real people and an incredibly varied lot. And we've had plenty of opportunities to discuss and pray for them and the communities they serve. I can see where this would be a fabulous introduction to the whole idea of missions, though. And for me, it is a daily uplifting reminder of the work that is being done worldwide.
My plan for the book was to read a chunk, write this review, and then shelve it until January 1. However, I'm continuing to read. And next December, I expect to be looking for Voices of the Faithful, Book 2.
Disclaimer: As Booksneeze Blogger, I did receive this book for free from Thomas Nelson. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You can be "The Faithful"!

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Little Man in China
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a former tent-maker now studying to become a full-time missionary, I fell in love immediately with this daily devotional written by and about missionaries. As I trudge through many textbooks on missions for school, I often hunger to remember what service is truly like on the front lines of a completely different culture where I struggle with the language, I live beyond my means, and I spend every day with people who don't even know Jesus' name. Voices of the Faithful reminds me of those times each day I read, and the insights I get from this book teach me again how to pray for missionaries. If you have ever considered ministering on the mission field but have found trials, finances and family prevent you from doing so, pick up a copy of this book and do the following: live vicariously a few minutes each day through the authors of these devotionals, and then apply what you learn to pray specifically by name for a missionary you support. God will bless you through the words of this book and the prayers that you pray infinitely more than regret ever could. If you have never gone or can never go, you can always pray. And Voices of the Faithful will help you to do so each and every day.
[Note: I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson and Bookzneeze.com]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Devo!

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelb
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not every born again believer in Jesus Christ can be out on mission trips 24/7...because we are appointed to different gifts and ministires as the Spirit wills (See 1 Corinthians 12). Some are needed in the body for missions, whereas others have different callings to other ministries. Voices of the Faithful is a daily devotional for those of us who are called to stay where we're at...it provides an inside look at lives of Christians serving around the world. Another great thing about this book is that it is split into monthly categories, while still retaining the feel of a 365 day devo. The 12 categories are: God's Character, God's Word, Prayer, God's Grace, Witnessing, Persecution, God Working, Contentment, God Before Me, Spiritual Warfare, Compassion, and Christmas Around the World. I would reccommend this book to any Christian----in a mature walk with Lord, or just starting out----it will touch your heart and ignite, or re-ignite for some of us, the burning flame that is our faith. Go out and get it ASAP! Thomas Nelson consistently puts out great quality products...you can never go wrong with a Thomas Nelson book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Voices of the Faithful, Inspiring Stories of Courage
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging!

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alysa Sawyer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional book is written by Beth Moore and almost 300 missionaries serving around the world. Each page is a daily devotional which includes a scripture verse, inspirational story, and prayer. Each page is dated by month and day so it can be used like a perpetual calendar of devotions. The index includes all of the devotional titles by month. The themes for each month are the following: January–God’s Character, February–God’s Word, March–Prayer, April–God’s Grace, May–Witnessing, June–Persecution, July–God Working, August–Contentment, September–God Before Me, October–Spiritual Warfare, November–Compassion, and December–Christmas Around the World.
This book is an easy read especially if you use it as a daily devotional. The stories are written by real people facing real challenges in real places. I believe that this book will give Christians a better understanding of what serving overseas is like as well as providing encouragement in the Christian faith. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good daily devotional and/or to people who have a heart for missions.
In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission I am required to disclose that Thomas Nelson provided this book for free in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>