Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Split Ends

Thomas Nelson Split Ends

In a fit of short-lived courage, Sarah Claire Winowski flees Sable, Wyoming, for Beverly Hills, where she earns the title "Hairstylist to the Stars." But success isn't very satisfying---and she wonders about the small-town girl she left behind. Can she see through her gorgeous boyfriends, unscrupulous relatives, and an egotistical boss to find the real Sarah? 304 pages, softcover from Integrity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Split Ends
Review 1 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Read

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cracked up off and on through this whole book. Not an unusual experience for me with Kristin's work. Such a sweet story, with those humorous moments that had me laughing so hard I got cramps in my side. And SO relieved to know I'm not the only who noticed the "plastic". LOL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DREAM!

Date:June 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like Sarah Clare, I've always had dreams of escaping my past and embracing a future of epic awesomeness. But as I dove into the book two years ago, I realized your future doesnt just disappear. You have to let it go and let God. Then you can dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hope.
From Split Ends, you can really learn that the past is the past and you shouldn't let the world change you. Throughout the whole book, the author does a really good job putting Sarah Winowski in a realistic position. Whether she is working at a five star hair salon or walking the red carpet, you really start to believe that she is as real as your best friend or a next door neighbor. That whole aspect makes it really relatable for the reader. Split Ends is quirky, humorous book that will really catch the eye of anyone who thinks their life is crazy and difficult as Sarah's. It will really get the reader wanting to turn each page also put them on the edge of their seat wanting more. I highly recommend this book for anyone at any age who likes a great book with an amazing ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally
This is just the kind of book I LOVE to read after a busy day at work. The story hits on all cylinders. At times it is light hearted, other times it's serious. The comedic parts are hysterically funny, and the touching parts do bring a tear or two. I really like the characters. They are unique, believable, and totally engaging. I really hope I see them again in a Split Ends sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2008
Kristin Billerbeck's "Split Ends" seemed like just another `chick lit' novel to start. This time, our heroine is from the wrong side of the tracks - an illegitimate daughter of the town's richest guy - but she wants a better life, so she leaves town (and the responsibility of caring for her alcoholic mother) to pursue her dream of being a hairdresser to the starts at an exclusive salon in California! I was finally able to really commit to the novel by page 118 when I encountered my favorite line in the book: "...her beauty didn't protect her." The author was relating the story of a gorgeous California girl that just got dumped. This is one of the major themes of the novel, and it really touched me. Beauty has no power! The celebrity quotes that begin the chapters are charming and some represent very sound advice. The story is smart and funny and touching and (although drama-laden) so true for many American women, today. We place too much importance on what other people think of us instead of who God actually tells us we are. That is an important lesson for us to learn, so this is an important book for us to read. Not only does Kristin Billerbeck entertain, she ministers to the deepest hurt faced by many of us - self-criticism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abbie
I really liked this book. It was unique, the characters were complete individuals, and it had this type of off-beat humor that really cracked me up. (My friend and I both loved it:)The main thing that I didn't like was that the romance progressed SO quickly. I mean, no one falls in love in a few days. Other than that bit of unrealistic-ness, it was a great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
TamiH
I really liked this book! Sarah's sense of inadequacy struck a chord in me and spoke to my heart. At times I wanted to reach out and shake her (yes, I know she's not real, but she felt real to me!) and tell her that God's measure of her worth is not about the clothes, the job, or the success, or even about who her absent father is or her mother's shame. Don't we all struggle with this? Finding a way to accept God's love for us even though we've made certain mistakes or feel unworthy? Reading about this struggle in Sarah's life helps me remember God's love for me too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angie
I really enjoyed this book. I actually read the Ashley Stockingdale series first and liked them so that was the pushing factor in buying another book written by Kristen. However, I really enjoyed Split Ends more than Ashley. There was more suspense in Split Ends that made me not want to put it down until I reached the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I thought this book was great. It never got boring. Kristen did a great job at making you want to flip to the next page. I hope that she writes a sequel to this book. I loved the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Cusack
Frankly, I *was not* impressed with this book. I appreciate the writer's efforts to write a funny, youthful work, but it just didn't fly with me. If you like contrived, girly chick lit, then go for it, but it just didn't touch me, nor did I feel for the main character either.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brooke
Excellent read!! Yet another home run for Kristin Billerbeck. My only complaint is that I finished it within a day and now I have to wait months for her next one! If you love chick-lit, then this is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Sarah Claire Winowski believes that if she stays in Sable, Wyoming she is wasting her talent as a hairstylist and will end up like her fortyish mom looking and acting like a octogenarian. Thus her dream has been to follow in the footsteps of her famous cousin Scotty and become a hairstylist to the rich and famous at Yoshis salon.When Scotty gets her work in Beverly Hills, Sarah Claire believes she is on her way to becoming the one that Hollywood turns to for that special look. As she begins to achieve success, Sarah Claire finds men want her, which has further increased her self esteem, but on the downside her alcoholic mother has arrived in town so that her daughter can buy her drinks.SPLIT ENDS is an amusing chick lit tale that stars a woman with dreams who concludes the road to success is one way out of Sable. Sarah Claire is a fascinating protagonist who understands that her unsophisticated innocence leaves her one rung above the Clampetts without their money in the world of Beverly Hills. Although at times her aside complaints disrupt the interesting coming of age plot, sub-genre readers will feel that is splitting hairs as this is overall a fine character study.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Split Ends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
Sarah Claire has the opportunity to remake her life. She just didn't realize what would be involved when she left Sable, Wyoming for an exclusive Beverly Hills salon. Sarah has an abundant stash of emotional baggage that's accompanied her to Hollywood. Add a stylist who won't let her do more than clean toilets and empty trash, a cousin who's being over-protective, a mother who can't leave her alone, a best friend who's quite possibly lost her mind, and men suddenly taking notice of her, and Sarah's no longer sure where her life is headed. Then she gets the opportunity to break out and has to decide what really matters to her.Kristin has a gift for creating characters that I care deeply about. I can always see pieces of me in them and Sarah Claire was no exception. Sometimes her struggles reminded me a bit too much of me. But because of the humor and faith, I enjoyed the challenge to my perceptions.This book explores the depths of Sarah's issues and needs while maintaining Kristin's trademark humor and color. I loved this book and hope she'll bring these characters back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.