Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers The Missionary

Moody Publishers The Missionary

American missionaries David and Christie Eller run a clinic for homeless children in Caracas, Venezuela. But when an angry David publicly rails against the government, he falls into an unimaginable nightmare of espionage. Will his life-or-death gamble to escape the country with his wife and son succeed---or will the resources of a corrupt dictatorship prevail? 300 pages, softcover from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Missionary
Review 1 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
American missionary David, his wife Christie, and four-year-old boy Davy are living in Caracas, Venezuela, helping to rescue homeless, sick, and starving orphans on the streets of Caracas, Venezuela. wWhile helping some children, David meets a stranger with a helping hand and after visiting Hope Village give David a check to help out. A few days later the same man comes and pays a visit to Hope Village the Orphanage in which the Eller's work. The man identifies himself as Carlos Edwards. He proposes a deal with David that will make everything David has ever dreamed of come true for the orphanage come true, and maybe even build another one. The current president Armando Guzman is not very well liked. Before David knows it, he is caught in a vicious war, one that could cost him and everything he holds dear to him in danger.He finds out about the attempt on the life of the president and that he had been unknowingly involved so her sent his family away and he stays behind because some old friends had been arrested. But unknow to him the family didn't get away and he was on the run with more than one bad organization after him. I just wanted to get into the book and tell David not to do some of the things he did, I think he should have listened to his wife about meeting and trusting strangers.It would be easy to say that "The Missionary" by William Carmichael and David Lambert is a suspense story that grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go. And it is that, a terrific suspense novel, with sadistic torturers, calculating bureaucrats and mercenaries who form the web that ensnares Eller and his family.The book was sent to me by "Bring It On" Communications for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Scott
Great job Bill. I'm a guy and I enjoyed the book so much that I passsed it along to my daughter-in-law who is a missionary with my son in Thailand. She too enjouyed it VERY much. I am expecting it to come out as a movie. Hope Barbara and I can go see it with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nils Ohman
Great read! Dave Lambert demonstrates what he teaches in good, solid Christian thrillers. The authors take a current situation in the Venezuelan dictatorship right off of today's headlines and through each extremely well developed characters make the situation come alive. The hero's faith is challenged...will God really walk through the valley with an errant Christian? Can He really take another, a self centered "success" and redeem him to Christ? Fast paced, I really didn't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam Barry
This is a fast paced book that you won't be able to put down. It has good character development so that it is believable how a missionary could get involved with the wrong group of people because he wanted so desperately to help the children he is ministering to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamera Lynn Kraft
David is a frustrated missionary. No matter how hard he works, there's always more homeless poverty striken orphans he can't reach. He wants to do more, but how can he with the repressive dictator he blames for Venezula's misery in control. If only something could be done? This is the mindset of David when he is approached by a man who claims ties to the CIA and says he plans a peaceful coup. All David has to do is make a few deliveries. David knows he's putting the mission, his family, and his life at risk if he agrees, but this is his chance to do something important. But then everything goes wrong. I can relate to David's stupid decisions. Many times as Chritians, we don't feel like what were doing is making any difference. Sometimes it's easier to do something "big" to change things. This is not your typical missionary story with the protaganist who meekly serves. This man has the faults and temptations we all do, and sometimes he screws up big time while trying to help God out. I literally could not put this novel down. From the moment I started reading it, I was hooked. I had to see what happened next. I couldn't put it down. If I could give this novel 6 stars, I would. It's that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joanne Englehart
Very good, very suspenseful, political backdrop/setting is very current and believable making this fiction book seem almost real. Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Artyomenko
I was really expecting something different when I got this book as I was looking for a missionary story of someone who had an exciting, thrilling tale of helping natives in South America. Instead I felt like all I got was a tale of how one American's stupidity destroyed a mission that would have been successful because of being stupid and not talking to people he could have trusted to guide him in a better direction. It was an exciting tale, but I felt frustrated as I read it and wondered how on earth I was going to review this one. To be certain, I asked a friend to read it with me and she felt much the same way as I do. It would be a book that I think teenagers may enjoy, but as an adult, I felt like it was disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Missionary by William Carmichael & David Lambert is a pulse-pounding thriller about how an innocent man's actions can shake an entire nation. David Eller loves his job as a missionary at the Hope Village in Caracas, Venezuela working alongside his wife Christie and their young son Davy. But he's angered by the children who are devastated by poverty and neglect on the city's streets, and he doesn't always keep his comments quiet in a country run by a megalomaniacal dictator. His political views bring him to the attention of a man who asks David to do just a couple of small, simple tasks, but when the country suddenly faces an attempted coup and David can't contact the mystery man, he and his family are on a race to save their lives. The authors really keep the pages turning through shady alliances and non-stop action. The reader wants to shake David repeatedly as he acts without thinking, but it's an integral part of the character and a vital plot element. My only complaint is with the character of Davy. Early in the story, he is described as having ADHD; David even calls him a hummingbird on steroids, but never once in the story do we see Davy showing any symptoms of ADHD. Not through running for his life, capture for the government, and other traumas does he display any of those characteristics. If the writers had left out that description at the beginning, Davy would be portrayed well. If they had thrown in a few scenes of him acting out to his mother's terror, it would have been powerfully moving, but as it is, that part just doesn't work. Davy is, however, only a minor character, so this small flaw does not detract from the thrilling action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
The Missionary by William Carmichael and David Lambert is a fast-paced page-turner. The story of David Eller and his wife, Christie is an eye-opening look at the poverty-stricken existence of the homeless in third world countries. This story is detailed with depth, insight and brutal honesty. In fact, the plight is probably worse than the story would indicate. The suspenseful twist - of how a missionary and his doctor-wife take their family into the world in an attempt to bring aid to the less fortunate only to find themselves in the midst of a life and death struggle for their own lives in the midst of a major espionage plot seems a bit far-fetched, but probably really happens! Its just that incredibly fantastic.At first, I found the writing to be choppy and hard to follow. But the short, increasingly exciting chapters won me over, and made this book difficult to put down. I havent finished the book, yet, but dont let its size intimidate you it is a fast read. It also contains a nicely assembled list of questions for your personal reflection or book discussion group. One final note: this is the second book Ive read that has sworn me off of field missionary work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Matthews
Book is great-I couldn't put it down in fact I read it in just a couple of days. Well worth reading. Guys will enjoy this also
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie Bornholdt
Captivating! Difficult to put down. I served a short-term medical mission to Venezuela and reading this story brought back all the sights, smells, people & culture of this fascinating country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angie Farnworth
Fast-paced and gripping, this is one action-packed adventure full of unexpected twists and turns that will keep you reading well into the night. Strong, believable characters give a fascinating look at the world of international espionage, drug cartels and frighteningly hostile dictatorships. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
The Missionary starts with the pacing of a South American afternoon then pulses to a heart-stopping race to escape the country. When David is approached to participate in an attack at the problem rather than the symptoms, he's torn. He works at Hope Village with his wife and son and a missionary couple he loves. At the same time he's wrestling with what to do, operatives sneak into the country...and that's all I'm going to tell you because I don't want to spoil the book for you.Instead, let me just say this book pulls you into the colorful setting of Venezuela. As I read, I could see, smell, and taste the Venezuelan countryside and experience. I also felt swept into the action and conflict with and between David and his wife Christine. She wants him to work below the government's radar, and he's so focused on doing something he looses focus.Who hasn't felt frustrated by a systematic problem? Wondered what the right response is? Been tempted to go off the reservation? After setting the scene (which takes awhile to get all the characters in place), this book has the pacing of a thriller with all the international twists and turns you want.If you like books filled with questions, foilable characters, and a plot that keeps you guessing until the end, then try this one. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peg Stewart
A very unusual missionary story, David did not check this mans true identity, and did not share what he was doing with his wife. But he was truly repentative. How his poor choice effected the mission home for homeless children is serious. I truly enjoyed these authors and will look for more to come
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daniel Darling
This is probably one of the best novels I've read in a while. The missionary is soul-stirring, heart-pounding journey thru the messy mix of mission work, espionage, and third-world politics. David Eller is a flawed missionary whose tireless work in Venezuela has him itching to do more to bring justice to the country's poor. His impulsive actions lead him into more trouble than he bargained for, jeaopardizing his marriage and his mission. Will Carmichael and David Lambert really deliver with tight writing, believable plot lines, complex characters, and nonstop drama. They take you inside the sad and sorid world of Venezuela's politics and policies, bleeding out a concern for the forgotten poor in a troubled part of the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
If you love suspense, but don't need bad language you will enjoy this book. It is a page turner and you have to remind yourself to breath. Will they make it to safety? Some do and some don't.A gripping tale of betrayal and forgiveness and a loving God who sometimes protects those who love Him, even when they take chances they should not take, make decisions they should not make, and put their family and friends in danger.We know God is with us even when his decision might be to take us home to him. Or to suffer the consequences of our foolish actions. This book had a very satisfying ending but not an easy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terri Gillespie
From the first chapter of The Missionary, best-selling authors Carmichael and Lambert took me to the politically troubled Venezuela and threw me into the fray with American missionaries David Eller and his wife Christie. The Ellers rescue neglected and impoverished children of Caracas. Despite their commendable efforts, David is frustratedsometimes publiclythat they can only minister to a tiny segment of the growing population of throw-away children. He longs to truly make a differencenot only for the children, but for the oppressed citizens of a corrupt government. Surely he can do more.Davids efforts and public denouncement of the government do not go unnoticed. A man with a cloaked identity enlists the nave David to do more. The question is will David and his family survive the task?Carmichael and Lambert wove a believable story with strong characters, action, crises of faith and political intrigue. By the way, I read The Missionary on a cross-country flight and was so immersed in the story when I paused to answer the flight attendants question I was surprised she wasnt speaking Spanish.If youre looking for a bite-your-lip suspenseful novel with believable characters youll care about, pick up The Missionary today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Robbins
While the title, The Missionary, might lead you to believe this is a sweet story about a crusade for the poor in Venezuela, it is anything but that. This is action packed suspense that builds intensity until you find yourself unable to put it down. Lambert and Carmichael have taken an ordinary man who feels a call to the mission field, set him down in a poor section of Caracas and then offered him a way to make life better for those he serves. Unfortunately it involves him in a nightmare of life and death decisions and bad choices that threaten to destroy him, his family, and his friends. Dont miss this great read. Just be sure you have a block of time to devote to it. Its a page turner to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Missionary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
LeeAnn Rawlins
This is a great book. It is well written and you can hardly put it down. The plot is a good and it is written in a style that keeps you on the edge from cover to back of book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.