Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist

Crossway Books & Bibles I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist

Norman Geisler and Frank Turek show, first of all, that truth is absolute, exclusive, and knowable. From there, they proceed to demonstrate that the cardinal Christian doctrines are true beyond reasonable doubt, all convincing for you as a Christians to believe, but requiring a leap of negative "faith" if an atheist is to disbelieve them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Review 1 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:May 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
N3ZR0
Location:Arkansas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm only into the the 7th chapter but i'm very impressed with this book. So far it doesn't really mention anything about the Bible or its scriptures, Its just from a scientific standpoint. When i first got this book in the mail and flipped through the pages i was a little worried about how difficult it would be to read and understand, but actually the way its laid out is really simple. When I read a book i usually like the chapters to be short, but the chapters are pretty long in this book, despite that- when i start a chapter its really hard for me to put down. The arguments in this book are great and a big eye opener, It will definitely help build your faith or help any skeptic come closer to the truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well presented

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tyler
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent one to get the head and heart in alignment. I think a lot of the time our hearts are ready to accept the good news of the gospel, but our minds are swayed by the "intellectuals" in our society to think of the Bible as foolish or a book of impossible stories. This book by Geisler and Turek removes that cognitive dissonance, and gives a firm foundation to know your faith and be grounded in reality, so your heart can be engaged with the message. An excellent book I would recommend to anyone with doubts about the validity of their faith, or anyone who is new to the faith, as it answers questions that are bound to come up.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Profoundly helpful; occasionally condescending

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Buster
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What Led Me to This Book:
The content of this book is immensely helpful. I am a Christian who has struggled greatly with my faith due to a poor understanding of God. Shortly after starting off well I came under the influence of some bad theology, and this in combination with the lack of a good foundation caused my view of God for a long time to become not much different than that of a tyrant. After suffering the bondage of this view for long enough, in pursuit of freedom I naturally began considering worldviews other than Christianity and God... none of which ended up making much sense to me.
How It Helped Me:
Despite my improper view of God, the foundational truth of Christianity still made more sense to me than anything else. This in combination with personal experience kept me through this long and trying period. Eventually, I came to realize that my problem was not that I doubted God's existence but that I had an improper understanding of Him. But by the time I realized this I had gained a lot of newfound questions due to my journey outside of the faith and these needed to be dealt with. So I definitely came into this book with a bias, that is I wanted to repair my faith, but I was not prepared for just how convinced of my faith this book would make me. The enormous collection of arguments and the way they are clearly and logically presented is excellent. I often found myself thinking "yeah but what about this?" only to have the very next paragraph deal with my objection.
I've read a lot and I have yet to find a better single resource that covers nearly everything like this book does, and it is not afraid to tackle some of the most difficult objections in a manner that is easy to understand. The format and style is clear and easy to navigate lacking just about anything except the facts.
Strongly Recommended For Anyone "Looking For A Way In":
I realize I'm biased but please don't let that prevent you from checking this book out. Somebody once said to me regarding claims about the validity of the testimony of the Bible, "People come to the Bible in 2 ways, either looking for a way in or looking for a way out." This is not intended to be a blanket statement, but in my own life I've found this to be relatively true. I've had genuine intellectual struggles, yes, but I've found them to increase as I've considered the possibility of conclusions contrary to the Bible and God's existence. Christianity for me does seem to make much more sense than the alternatives. For those who are "looking for a way in", who are seeking God or already believe but are genuinely struggling, I think this book will be immensely helpful.
For those who are "looking for a way out", who wish to make sense of this world without God and Christianity, I doubt this book will be all that helpful. If it's genuine answers that are sought, I believe this book provides an abundance of them, but as I found with myself during the times when I was trying to "find a way out", the arguments for the faith really didn't matter. Deep down the truth was kind of always there but many of my questions came as a result of over complicating the obvious to avoid it. And that's one of the strengths of this book, it takes what appears to be very complicated arguments against the faith and profoundly answers them in a simple yet thorough and logical manner bringing the reader back to the obvious.
My One Complaint:
My only complaint is that the rhetoric and tone in a few places can be somewhat condescending especially if you are already sensitive to this type of language or have had a bad experience within Christianity. I wish the authors were more considerate in this regard as it can be a bit of a turn off, especially for someone who is not opposed to the faith but is genuinely struggling with the questions at hand. It can come off in places as if it's "preaching to the choir", and for people who have experienced a loveless or condescending Christianity, this book in places may "appear" to resemble that tone, though I don't believe in any way that this was the author's intention.
Please don't let this turn you off. I don't think it's purposeful condescension as much as it is a result of the author's having spent much of their life debating people who are militantly against Christianity. The further I got into the book the less it bothered me as the content is excellent and the author's genuine intentions shine forth.
Conclusion:
Overall, I think it would have benefitted from a gentler and less sarcastic tone in places, but regardless, I cannot recommend this book enough for the intellectually struggling believer or seeker. It quite literally covers everything from cover to cover in a succinct yet powerful manner. I am grateful to the author's for putting forth such an excellent and comprehensive piece of work.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great apologetic foundation

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shepherd Girl
Location:Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for anyone wanting a foundational understanding of the major issues in Christian Apologetics. Written to engage those well versed in the subject as well as the new Christian searching for answers to the most common questions about our faith: evidence for the existence of God; the reliability of the Bible; the evidence for the divinity of Jesus Christ and the reality of Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best book on Christian apologetics i have read

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
randy
Location:nc
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bis a must read for all Christians and an outreach tool for those who aren't Christians.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book rocks!

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosannie
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book contains a carefully crafted combination of facts, syllogisms, and anecdotes wrapped in a winsome narrative! I loved the book from cover to cover and have loaned it out to many of my atheistic friends. Dr. Geisler and Mr. Turok help their readers to successfully navigate the minefields of so-called "wisdom" of the world and bring them along on the journey until they finally reach the undeniable conclusion that it takes more faith to be an atheist than to be a believer of the God of the Bible.
I have also bought an audiobook version of the text so I am able to enjoy it while I am driving.
"I Don't Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist" should be required reading for every young person, as it clearly delineates the reasons for the faith and ferrets out the lies of evolution and its accompanying atheistic presuppositions.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
ImAblvr
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did the audio version of this book. I thought the reader did an excellent job. It seemed like she didn't just read it she believed it. I went through all the range of emotions. So many questions were answered. I think if you doubt GOD loves us read this book and find out how much HE loves us. I highly recommend this book.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book puts all the facts at my fingertips

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
faith
Location:Burlington, Wi.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy ordering from CBC. They offer a wide selection of resources and christian fiction for all ages and levels of understanding. Products arrive through the mail in reasonable time and great condition, saving me time and gas.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best apologetic books on the market!!!

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Chilton
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a book that tackles the main issues of apologetics today, you will want to pick up a copy of "I Don't Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist." This is one of the best apologetic books that I have purchased in recent memory. Some apologetic books gets bogged down with difficult language that takes time to plow through. Other apologetic books use such easy language that the difficult concepts are not tackled. Turek and Geisler tackles difficult concepts while maintaining a high level of readability. This is one of the...if not the...best apologetic books that I have purchased. This is a MUST READ.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
youthdirectorguy
Location:Columbia Mo.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a great tool for helping the younger generation in discovering the truth about faith in Christ. The arguments for faith are laid out in an easy to understand format that lends it self well to a group study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Searcher
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first ebook I have ever purchased, but will not be the last. I feel it was well worth the price and the download was easy. Very good book for the believer, and also for the skeptic. It would also be good to give to someone who needs to see the world view compared to the Christian view.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Truet
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Excellent content and organization. Speaks to so many questions that Christians are often afraid to ask much less apply scientific principles.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING BOOK

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jesus Freak
Location:Millerstown, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to any individual. If you're a Christian, then it gives you undeniable proof to back yourself up. If you're agnostic, it gives you clear and perfect direction on what to believe. If you're atheist, then you better get ready to have your whole mindset changed. This book gives a very deep explanation of multiple reasons why there HAS to be a God, with funny anecdotes to push the reasoning better and in a clearer way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good philosophy, bad Biblical Hermeneutics

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although I enjoyed the philosophical parts about why truth exists and it is absolute and exclusive, the parts about science don't exactly fit in with the evidence or with the Book of Genesis. The Big Bang theory is not a fitting theory for the Creation of the world, and because of that I did not enjoy this book as much as I thought. Although the parts about why the New Testament is valid are well done.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
believerx2
Location:Southern Ontario , Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent addition to my reading materialon the subject, I will be loaning it out and recommending it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

buy it

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great because it explains the bible without the bible by creating logical arguments for God. Very informative, buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant book

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Eastern, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellant book to give reasons for your faith and to back it up with evidence. It will also help you to defend your faith. There is also a TV series and a podcast by the same name. You will learn a lot from this book and you will not be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome so far

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Carmine
Location:Reno Nevada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the book answer lots of anti-God question I had bought the book for Me and My Nephew whom told his Mother that he was a evolutionist and Atheist I am praying he reads the book with a open heart and mind all Christian need this to defend the faith Stand up against the illogic of the atheist evolutionist Book is down to earth and tells it like it is As a Pastor this helps me build my Faith in God and how wonderful he has made everything
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great summary of facts supporting Christian belief

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The authors have created a very systematic approach to the rational reasons for Christian beliefs. To believe that the Bible is true, that Jesus is who He said He is, is not a leap of faith but rather a small step of faith. They do an excellent job of putting a lot of information (with references) into one book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for I Don't Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book answers many questions about the bible.

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
ralfie
Location:Braithwaite, La.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book based on the tv show . Even through I am not finished reading the book, it is very good reading and is very informitive. I would recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>