Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook

Revell Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook

Rose Schrock is a plain woman with a simple plan. Determined to find a way to support her family and pay off her late husband's debts, she sets to work to convert the basement of her Amish farmhouse into an inn. While her family, especially her cranky mother-in-law, is unhappy with Rose's big idea, her friend and neighbor, Galen King, supports the decision and he helps with the conversion. As Rose finalizes preparations for visitors, she prays. She asks God to bless each guest who stays at the Inn at Eagle Hill. As the first guest arrives and settles in, Rose is surprised to discover that her entire family is the one who receives the blessings, in the most unexpected ways. And she's even more surprised when that guest decides to play matchmaker for Galen King.
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Place Where Miracles Happen!

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge fan of author Suzanne Woods Fisher. This book did not disappoint me at all. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters in this book. It wasn’t hard to fall in love with them, even the sharp tongue Mammi Vera.
What caught my interest right from the start was the back and forth between the Amish world and the English world. Both worlds had plenty of obstacles to overcome.
We know that God allows us to go through illnesses, heart breaks, and devastation. We also know that God has promised to go through them with us.
There are choices to be made, people to love, pasts to leave behind and forgiveness to extend.
This is a book that will tug on your heartstrings and allow you to dream about a place called, The Inn at Eagle Hill.
I highly recommend that you pick up a copy today. You will be glad you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Several great characters

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once I was able to get into this book it was a pleasure. There are several points of view that the narration switches between, but once I was able to keep it all straight I enjoyed the multiple perspectives. Each character is so different and their personalities, thoughts, and struggles were portrayed with such individual voices and had a depth of feeling. The plot moves along somewhat leisurely, which is why I think switching between perspectives helps rather than hinders the storytelling. It was interesting how each life was intertwined and the ending was wonderful and sweet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic read!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Letters” is a MUST READ! What a wonderful story! What a tremendous blessing! What a relief to find out how wrong I was about the book.
I don’t know why I had such a hard time getting into the book…especially since I had absolutely no trouble getting into “The Calling” – the second book in the series...So maybe it was just me.
Suzanne Woods Fisher has a particular talent for getting a reader attached to the characters. I was so hooked, I found myself worrying and being frightened right along with them. I could feel the confusion and determination as if it were my own.
I have been so blessed by this book and by the second book in the series (review to come in a few days) and I find myself on pins and needles, waiting for the next one!
When we begin our story, the characters are all a little scattered and a lot stressed (maybe that’s why I felt so frustrated myself…I was already sucked in, I just didn’t realize it yet). As we go on, we get to see things go from bad to worse before we begin to see God’s plan emerge. And when it does, there are so many little things that suddenly make sense in a way that they never could have without the knowledge that God is in command and his plan will move us in the direction we need to go even when we don’t see it ourselves.
Suzanne Woods Fisher has an exceptional talent for showing us all these loose threads that we could never imagine weaving together… until we begin to see the bigger picture. Suzanne has indeed blessed her and I am exceedingly glad to be blessed myself by reading her wonderful books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read From A Top Amish Author

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, Suzanne Woods Fisher has done it yet again! She is one of my favorite Amish authors, and indeed this book did not disappoint. It has everything that readers have come to know and love in great Amish fiction:
1. A look into the daily lives of the Amish
2. The Old Ways versus the New Ways
3. Great romance (that is clean)
4. A deep-seated faith in God
These elements are the things I so appreciate about this author and her writings. I love the Stoney Ridge series, and this takes that to an entirely new level. Okay, so maybe it's sappy at times, but it is also real. When the Amish deal with the struggles of the outside world, there are some difficult issues that are raised. However, God is in control, and He permeates every nook and cranny of this novel. The reader will find a recipe in the back (what is an Amish book without recipes, right?). The book is never "preachy," but it is solid. I can recommend this book to everyone, and I greatly anticipate the next installment.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Letters

Date:October 15, 2013
This review gives more insight than just "it was/wasn't a good book" or "this is/isn't a must read". While I try not to give too much away, sometimes it's difficult to write about the story and have it not be revealing.
Suzanne Woods Fisher fans get to visit Stoney Ridge again with her new series, The Inn at Eagle Hill. The Letters is the first book in this series. I didn’t read the Stoney Ridge Season series so all the characters are new to me.
When Mennonite Rose Schrock and her family moved into her Amish mother-in-law Vera’s house she didn’t know she would be a widow in the months to follow. After her husband Dean died she needed to support her family. She decided to realize a dream and open a Bed & Breakfast, which became named The Inn at Eagle Hill.
Sixty year old Delia Stoltz had not planned to be a guest at Rose’s Bed & Breakfast; she went there on a whim. But it proved to be what she needed and more. Delia needed to heal her body from surgery and her heart from her husband’s unfaithfulness.
Rose is a loving and caring mother to her five children. Tobe and Bethany are step children but she treats them as her own. Tobe has left home. Bethany is nineteen years old and ready to marry Jake Hertler, her boyfriend from York County. Mim is thirteen and likes to learn facts about anything and everything. Sam and Luke and younger and enjoy being in a constant state of motion. They all are still trying to get over Dean’s death and how he died.
Rose is very caring toward her mother-in-law Vera, who is anything but easy to be around. Vera has been diagnosed with having mini-strokes and is having physical and mental issues. Vera wants nothing more than her family to get back to its Amish roots.
Next-door neighbor, Galen King, has really helped Rose and her family since her husband passed away. Galen has never been social and is perceived by the community as unapproachable. Rose only sees him and a gentle and kind man. He’s also a good example for her younger sons who “help” him with his horses.
I like how God caused Rose and Delia’s lives to intertwine and in the process so many things are worked out according to his plans – all of which you’ll have to read on your own because too much would have to be revealed about the story. There is actually more than one set of letters going on which I thought was interesting. I liked how the author showed how people and situations aren’t always as they seem. “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover” can really be proven true in this story. This is an enjoyable story because the characters and their individual issues are situations are realistic. I read The Letters in one day. I look forward to the next book in this series to see where it takes Rose, her family, and The Inn at Eagle Hill.
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Publishing and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

UNEVENTFUL

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I WAS DISAPPOINTED IN THIS BOOK. IT WAS BORING, SLOW PACED, NOT LIKE SUZANNE'S OTHER BOOKS
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong faith in a complex world

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Letters is an Amish story, an Amish family with many complicated problems to solve, and an interesting view on their lives as God-fearing people who want to do the right thing but keep running into obstacles. Young girls (and some men) looking for love and hoping to fulfill their dreams are often thwarted in their goals and have to look at alternatives.
Rose Schrock is a widow raising four children (five actually, but the oldest ran away from home and hasn’t yet returned). Rose was left with some very troubling business problems by her late husband and she has taken it upon herself to make everything right, even if it takes the rest of her life to do so. She is living with her mother-in-law who is suffering from something affecting her brain and thus, her thinking, and she has become very difficult to live with. The family is very close, very loyal to one another, and very caring about each other’s burdens.
Rose decides to make their house into a bed-and-breakfast and with a neighbor’s assistance, accomplishes this in a beautiful way. Her very first guest, an “Englisher” is a woman who comes to their home with a huge pack of troubles herself. The bed-and-breakfast soon becomes an oasis for this woman and she, in turn, is able to assist Rose in overcoming some of her own fears.
There are many twists and turns for this family, with each member of the family facing their problems in special ways. It is a fun story and brings smiles—and tears—to the reader. How they eventually work out their problems with the help of God and His people is well worth reading about. Rose is told by a friend, “Things can get good again,” and her realization of this truth brings much peace to her heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
leanie
Location:Dover, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great kickoff for a new series The characters, Amish and Englishers were AN interesting mix. Their characters were real and welcomed you in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
poochiepepper
Location:Corpus Christi, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another book Suzanne makes come to life. Her characters, the Amish farms and a lesson in disguise. I love her inspiring writing and that with God's assistance, your life will be better. Not that he always says yes but that He will always be there for us all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Well Written Book by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne's books always have a depth to the characters. When you finish her books you feel like you are saying "good-bye" to friends. Faith, love and support of the Amish community, families, church and how they deal with the everyday problems in life. It reminds me of how my grandmother grew up in the late 1890's & first half of the 1900's. When I read about the Amish lifestyle I realize how fast our world is going. We forget to sit back and look at the beauty God created. Rose Schrock turns their home into a bed and breakfast despite her mother-in-laws objection. Rose is a widow, her mother-in-law isn't able to do things and Rose has children to raise on her own - after her husband's death. I would have read this in one setting but had to run some errands. I finished in less than 24 hours and loved every sentence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Winner in Amish Fiction!

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must admit, when I first picked up this book, I had the dreaded feeling of being "let down" - NOT because it wouldn't be a good book, but I was disappointed that The Stoney Ridge Seasons, by Suzanne, had ended and I was just POSITIVE that this new series couldn't be THAT good!!! I am delighted to say that I was WRONG!! BIG TIME WRONG! "The Letters" is another winner, the first book of a new series, "The Inn on Eagle Hill", and was every bit as wonderful as previous series!
On the back cover of the book, there is a statement , which describes the novel.
"Welcome to a place of unconditional Love and unexpected Blessings." That well describes this story, characters and setting in a perfect way.
The main character, Rose Schrock turns her Amish farmhouse into a bed and breakfast to the chagrin of her cantankerous mother-in-law, and a few others in the community. After all, should Rose be opening her home to all these Englischers?? Disapproval of the church is evident. With all of these challenges, she still continues her life, BUT one big surprise , is the way that the guests at the Inn spill their problems into her life as well as into her heart. A totally unexpected event, is the help and support Rose gets from Galen King, the quiet horse trainer who lives next door. Love can bloom, Rose finds in the most unusual circumstances.
This author continues her trend to give us not only things to think about, but also teaches us facts of- what else, according to the Series' name- eagles! I love the ability to put some information within the frame of the story, that many of us find new and intriguing. Not only did I love the plot of this book, but ending up being able to spout off my new knowledge of eagles.
The plot of "The Letters" is intriguing and spellbinding, not in a mysterious way, but in placing in the reader, a compelling desire to find out more! There are twists and turns around each corner, totally unexpected. The complications that come about in the story are in keeping with those that are realistic and in total keeping with the lifestyle of the Plain People, the Amish. Suzanne uses rich language and descriptions that make you see and befriend the characters. You not only see them, they become very real and easily befriend you. It is in fact, difficult to separate yourself from the main characters. They lived on in my mind after I had finished reading the book.
Suzanne's reputation of writing top notch Amish fiction continues to shine!! With inspiration from a true story , she invites you back to Stoney Ridge, where we continue to find simple pleasures and strong faith in a very complicated world.
Definitely a five star book!!
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Letters

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Schrock carries the burdens left by her deceased husband. She willingly takes on the responsible of his parents farm which includes the care of his mother. Her mother-in-law had a stroke leaving her weak in body and mind. Rose also her hands full with her four children especially the two youngest boys. She feels it to be her responsibility to support the family and right the wrongs of her husband. In order to accomplish this she has decided to turn the farm into a Bed and Breakfast. Surprisingly her neighbor, Galen King sees it to be a good idea and helps her to prepare the farm for her guest.
Her Bed and Breakfast becomes the means of not only financial needs but far more. God had a plan for Rose Schrock and her family. Rose put her faith in God to pull them through the trials and tribulations that came her way.
This story kept me thinking about Job and how he always stayed faithful to God through his trials and tribulations. The author writes a story that will tug at your heart. She wrote of how events can cause stress on so many people. It's like being in the path of a tornado. Many can find blessings in time such as these just as Rose Schrock found laughter with her children, tenderness and patience for her mother-in-law. She even dared to hope for love with Galen King, her neighbor.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Revell Publishing and Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding What's Before Your Eyes

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a wonderful story, that I never wanted it to end, and as it is book one, I can't wait for the next.
We are back in Pennsylvania, and are with Rose Schrock, and her family. They are living with her cantankerous Mother-In-Law. She is one grouchy person, and seems to enjoy doing so. On another hand she is laid up and cannot use her body like her mind wants her to. According to her doctors, she has had several strokes.
Rose is caught between a rock and a hard place, her husband has died, and she hasn't any money. She has been a Mom to his her husbands first two children, from his first wife, and she a two sons and a daughter. That keeps her very busy.
There are some bright spots in this story, and some that a actually quite funny. Some people come here in great pain, but the calming effects of their surroundings and the people, seem to help a great deal. There is even a fellow interested in Rose, Galen, her next door neighbor. He is such a giving person, and tries to help Rose out....actually a lot!
There are a few other people here that we meet and also want to be friends with. Come along and journey into the real home life of some wonderful Amish folks. You also won't want to leave.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Blog Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another WOW by SW Fisher!

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Such a plain simple life and yet filled with enough trouble and stress to knock any Englisher over. I believe Ms Fisher nailed it in this book. Amish plain life isn't so because troubles and worry keep their distance from them, their life is plain because they in all things simply look up to God and around for true friendships not all the money, career, style and the like complications to fulfill their needs and heal their hurts. (hope it came out right)
The description of Eagle Hill, the warm friendships, and even feisty Fern and Vera make me want to visit that place, to stay at the miraculous Inn and find peacefulness that manages to elude us here in the busy World.
While reading I fell in love with each character... It is almost impossible to be like Rose, to bear the hurtful accusations and turn them into lovely banter, to bear the burdens for all and gracefully make each person count, to find the right words to say no matter the situation it impressed me greatly. I was glad to see Will again I hope there will be a book for him. Jimmy Fisher as always made me laugh at his antics and at the same time gained my respect for being a man he should when it counted most.. Luke and Sammy and Mim and Beth were the icing on the the cake. Glan though, in his quiet manner, in his strong love for Rose touched me most.. He was there practicing love-in-action, being the father figure for all kids and even for Jimmy and a pillar for Rose. It is a strong trait in a man and I admire it.
Dear Reader please enjoy this book it is very refreshing, and even though it deals with some serious marriage and family troubles know that all ends well when we rely on our Almighty God. I cant wait for the next book to come out!!!!
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from Revell Publishing, through NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish fiction taken to a new level

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With her signature plot twists combined with gentle Amish romance, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites readers back to Stoney Ridge for fresh stories of simple pleasures despite the complexity of life.
The Letters is the first book in Suzanne's new Inn at Eagle Hill series. With rich characterization, multilayered plots, unexpected twists, and humor, Suzanne has written a captivating story that elevates what would be just another "bonnet" novel into something much deeper. This was my first novel by Suzanne Woods Fisher and I have no hesitancy in highly recommending The Letters.
The Letters, inspired by true events within the Amish community, introduces us to Rose Schrock and her five delightful children, a family struggling not only to survive, but to make amends after the failure and fraud investigation of their family business. Tobe, the oldest son, was somehow involved in his father's investment business and we only learn a little about him in this story. 19-year-old Bethany, who has a lot to learn about romantic love, is the child who has a sweet affection and gentle rapport with her cantankerous grandmother. 13-year-old Mim fascinated me because she loves school and is a collector of the most interesting facts and words. And the two young boys, Luke and Sammy, always made me smile.
Suzanne beautifully incorporates the beauty of God's creation in this story with the eagles' aerie, Galen's "horse whisperer" gift for training Thoroughbreds, and Rose's early morning walks and quiet times on the farm. Rose often reflects on the saying . . . "Faith is the bird that feels the light and sings when the dawn is still dark."
Discovering that there is no lodging in Stoney Ridge, Rose decides to use the family's basement as a bed & breakfast, which turns out to be a great plot vehicle for the building of relationships outside of the Old Order Amish community. Rose prayed over each room, asking God to fill it with His chosen guests, those who needed rest and refreshment - and that's exactly what He did with their first guest, Delia. "Rose spoke about God as if all of life belonged to him," and Delia's view of God changed as a result.
Rose's neighbor, Galen, is a strong, appealing character, and I loved the sweet romance that develops between them. Galen felt responsibility keenly, seemed to work hard at being unsociable, and was described as "a man who had never been young." But Rose and the children see a different side of him, a caring man with a genuine desire to help fix what was broken.
When an incident draws media attention to Stoney Ridge and the press makes the inn sound like a place where miracles occur, Rose describes it well: "Miracles did occur, every day. Maybe they weren't the kinds of miracles that could be scrutinized for scientific proof, but how could you ever test for a change of a heart? Or a healing of an emotional wound? Or the power of forgiveness? Miracles meant that god was at work."
With The Letters, Suzanne has created a family and community that I grew to love and am eager to spend a lot more time with. Of course, fans of Amish fiction will love this story, but I think it is written in such a way that any reader of inspirational fiction would enjoy it. Highly recommended!
This book was provided by Litfuse and Revell Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventures at Eagle Hill!

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose Schrock was propelled into a life of chaos when her husband's bad business decisions forced the family into bankruptcy. The family moved in with Rose's ornery mother-in-law, Vera. After her husband's drowning, and with four children to support, Rose faces great financial hardship. She prays for help and direction. In the grocery store she overhears a couple in need of lodging for the night. Rose offers her home as a place for the couple to sleep. Upon receipt of $100 for supplying bed and breakfast to the couple, Rose begins to think about transforming the basement level into a bed and breakfast in order to make ends meet. After considerable prayer Rose undertakes renovating the space into a pleasant efficiency unit with the help of her bachelor neighbor, Galen King. Rose prays for a special blessing for each guest who stays at her inn, and miraculous events begin to take place. Her first guest in the newly remodeled space brings heartache that turn into blessings as Rose and her family reach out to her in her time of need. Adventures abound and romance develops as life at Eagle Hill transpires.
In this multilayered story Suzanne Woods Fisher has created a beautiful blending of plots and relationships. A variety of situations and personalities are developed throughout the story. Heartache, disappointment and mistrust evolve toward faith, prayer, hope and humor. Attention to detail and descriptive qualities make this an outstanding book of inspiring Amish fiction. I enjoyed this book so much that I will certainly read it again in the future. I look forward to the sequels in The Inn at Eagle Hill series.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity for the purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received as a result of my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend - A Lovely Novel

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher possesses something no one else has--her voice. That certain Suzanne voice that defies description and when I've tried I've mangled it.
In "The Letters" you're introduced to a household of characters and some from nearby and some from out of the area. But even with all the cast of characters each one has his or her own voice and unique traits.
Even if the listener doesn't agree with the choice the doctor's wife makes (or choices) by the end of the story you'll find yourself accepting them and seeing how it could work. This secondary plot line was extremely well done.
Rose Schrock is a special heroine and Galen King a subdued but persuasive hero for the story. Loved how Suzanne had this one twist with the step-daughters "boyfriend." And the plot line with the underlying medical condition. I am trying to not do any spoilers.
Endearing characters and a taut storyline with multiple secondary plotlines make this a wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Bed And Breakfast and Romance

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher in her new book, "The Letters" Book One in The Inn At Eagle Hall series published by Revell introduces us to Rose Schrock.
From the back cover: Welcome to a place of unconditional love and unexpected blessings
When widow Rose Schrock turns her Amish farmhouse into a bed and breakfast, she expects there might be problems. The reaction of her cantankerous mother-in-law for one. Disapproval from the church for another. But what she doesn't expect is that the guests at the Inn at Eagle Hill will spill their problems into her life and into her heart. She also never expects the kind of help and support she gets from Galen King, the quiet and rugged horse trainer next door. Love, Rose discovers, can bloom in the most unexpected ways.
With inspiration from a true story and her signature plot twists, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites you back to Stoney Ridge for a fresh story of simple pleasures and strong faith in a complex world.
Welcome back to Stoney Ridge and a brand new set of people to come to know and enjoy. Rose is a widow with five children, three of her own and two from her husband;s first wife. To make ends meet Rose converts her farmhouse into a Bed and Breakfast. This leads to disapproval from her mother-in-law and from the Amish church. Yet the benefits of having the Bed and Breakfast far surpass those that are against it. Plus there is a new romance. Suzanne Woods Fisher writes an interesting story that moves along at a remarkably brisk pace. This is the first book in this new series and I am really interested to see where this series is going to go. Ms. Fisher has a lot of characters to work with and she provides an excellent story for them to grow in. "The Letters" is a good read and a great beginning to a wonderful series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Return to Stoney Ridge

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Letters, Suzanne Woods Fisher provides a great beginning to The Inn at Eagle Hill series set in Stoney Ridge. Some of the characters from her Stoney Ridge series show back up here, adding an air of familiarity for those of us who have read the previous series.
As always, Suzanne weaves an engaging story of the Plain people and their captivating lifestyle. Rose Schrock has endured more than her fair share of struggles and still finds her life extremely challenging. Her steady faith and sense of commitment to her family and responsibilities carry her through a wide range of adventures.
Some of the details of this book are a little out of the norm for typical Amish fiction, and I found it interesting that a real-life incident inspired Suzanne to write the story. Her well-developed fictional characters round out the true story in an engaging way. And there are enough unfinished plot lines to definitely whet my appetite for the next installment.
I highly recommend The Letters to fans of great Amish fiction.
Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Thanks to Revell for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Letters, The (The Inn at Eagle Hill Book #1): A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT read!!!

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked forward to The Letters for many days after I first heard about it and I'm SO glad I read it! This is an awesome book! I thought that the inn was a great draw, but when the horse trainer was mentioned I was hooked! There are some things that really kinda made me go hmmmm. One being that I didn't feel that the back cover book description was truthful in the fact that the church was against the inn in a any way. Second being that I thought that shunning would have been implemented towards one of the characters in his past choices. Excommunication was lightly mentioned but never shunning. I was just a little confused about what I already know about the Amish rules and way of life and what was in this story. But that said I REALLY enjoyed all of the characters especially the kids in The Letters. Suzanne is also an author after my own heart! She provides the recipe for the special cornbread mentioned in the beginning of the story! I don't like it when an author goes on and on about a great tasting food, and then never gives us (the readers) the recipe! ;) LOL! So kudos to Suzanne for giving us the recipe! :D The pace of the story was excellent with no lulls in the plot or dialogue and moving right along with the story in a nice flow. I also loved loved loved the way she wrapped everything up and ties it all in a great big surprising and satisfying package! The twist blew me out of the water and I'm still in awe of it! I can't wait for more in this series. Suzanne portrayed so many wonderful messages! The way Rose lives out her faith and trust in The One that will always come through is beautiful, and the way everything just falls into place perfectly holds the true message of who God truly is and what He does for us as His children when we rely and truly trust in Him! The fact that circumstances may seem horrible to us and we think that we have been forsaken, but actually the bad turns into some of the greatest blessings we will ever know, is so true to life in The Letters. I highly recommend this book!
Songs that I feel go with The Letters: "To Kill a Mockingbird: End Title" by Elmer Bernstein, "Bald Eagle Call" by Wildtones, and "He Leadth Me" by The Cluster Pluckers
Matthew 6:34
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>