Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Living Victoriously in Difficult Times

Random House, Inc Living Victoriously in Difficult Times

Living Victoriously in Difficult Times is a 6-week small-group study for people who are interested in learning for themselves more about what the Bible says on various subjects, but who have only limited time to meet together. In this study you'll examine what the Bible says about suffering and why God allows it. Through the stories of many who persevered through times of testing, along with hope-filled verses, you'll discover how to find joy even when life seems unfair. You'll also learn how to glorify God and walk in His strength, no matter what comes your way! With the leader's notes and Bible passages included right in the book, each self-contained study is a powerful resource for personal growth and small-group discussion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Review 1 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Truly blessed
Location:Chicago
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book to have especially dealing with everday issues,sharing with coworkers,definately purchasing more series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Bonita Springs, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I am leading a women group and this is the book I have chosen. We will begin our study next week. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product works well with group study

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
birdwolf8
Location:Delaware
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having used this for small group study for a couple of weeks we find in an hour we are only able to cover about half the lesson. It has generated good discussion and most members of the group say it has been very helpful to their learning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonchebo3
Location:West jefferson, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To be honest, some of our ladies did not like circling and marking key words - they felt it took away from the actual important text - made it more like Middle School versus studying the Bible. The text and other items relating to the study were really good, but this aspect was not. Others in the group didn't mind the markings of the words - so it is a personal preference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A table of contents would be helpful.

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shep
Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was unable to see a "live" copy before I purchased this book and after I did, it would not have been my first choice of study materials. Because it does not have a table of contents requires one to look through the entire contents to see what the week's topics are. It has solid, biblical references and a workable format. Being a former teacher, I'm not too sure the "no homework" characteristic is all that productive. I like to encourage people to do their homework BEFORE class and not during. I think the Greek words and definitions are very helpful as they provide the real basis for the meaning of the English word with which we speak and understandd. Members of my SS class have done previous studies of K. Arthur's materials and I was open to try one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always, a wonderful study guide for a small group bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great study

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
speedy
Location:Tuscola, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think the format of the book is excellent. We are living in difficult times, and this study will be helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good, Scripture-focused Bible study

Date:November 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a no homework, 6-week-long Bible study. It's designed for small groups to do together once a week in a 40 minute period. The Bible study pretty much let Scripture speak for itself. It examined the lives of several people in the Bible who suffered (like Job and Paul) and what Scripture says about the reason and purpose of suffering and how we should react to it.
The study had people read several verses (which were included in the book along with information about the context of the verses), mark/highlight certain words, then answer several questions about what was just read. Insight boxes were included with historical information that helped make a verse or point more understandable.
The questions were helpful in focusing attention on all the points that needed to be looked at. In case you missed a point, the "wrap up" section at the end of each week's lesson summarized what was learned that week.
I enjoyed this study and thought it was well-written and made good points. Overall, I'd recommend this Bible study to new Christian believers or those who don't understand why a good God would allow his people to suffer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
meem
This study has opened the Word to several people in our time together in such a powerful and timely way! I recommend this book to everyone because we all go through trials, tribulations, suffering on this earth. But if we don't know what the Word of God says, we don't realize why. It has brought such hope and peace! I can't say enough wonderful things about it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Living Victoriously in Difficult Times
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Naomi Fryery
Beneficial for all ages..very good in small group..love to study God's word and what He has to say..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.