Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World

WaterBrook Press Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World

Tap into your wild side and awaken the power of God within you! Using the prowess of the lioness as a metaphor, Bevere urges women to become spiritually, mentally, physically, and emotionally strong; embrace others; use their gifts of intuition; work for their community's welfare; and become a ferocious force for good in the world. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
3.522 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
16 out of 2273%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Review 1 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A life-changing word for women today!

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
LLAndrewsKS
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the most inspiring book I've read in years. Maybe I was just at the place where I needed the motivation between the covers, but I must say that this spoke to me in a way no other book has. After reading it I felt bolder, more confident, and ready to do what God has called me to do! A must read for women everywhere!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is wonderful!

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Steward
Location:Sierra Vista AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of great challenges to us ladies to awaken inside of you spiritual strengths the Lord is calling you too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lioness Arising Review

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
gcwfarmgirl
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really don't have much to say about this book....Good concept, it was OK, and I kind of liked it... But I just couldn't get into the writing style....I also felt like it was more of a journal about the author. The book started out good...but then it turned into too much of Lisa Bevere and not enough God...
I was not given/did not win this book in trade for a review. I actually bought this book, and decided to write a review on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for women with a heart for God

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon D
This book is so timely. God is moving in big ways and we are being called to stand with Him in these days. This book is for women of all ages. Open your hearts ladies and let our God renew your mind to His purpose for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marf
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have only read 2 chapters as we are doing this book as our Womens Bible Study at church. I want to sit and read it straight through however as it is hard to put down! I know I will not be disappointed and gain much from this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wake Up and Change Your World

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lisa Bevere, in Lioness Arising, starts her book put with a ‘vision/dream’ she experienced when she was pregnant with her fourth child. She was standing in some heavenly realm, a place of illumination without glare. The colors were so concentrated, that she is unable to describe them to our earthly colors.
On a platform of a flawless, cream-colored stone a golden lioness reclined. On the front of the pillar platform she saw: Number XXIII. … When her eyes focused on the lioness’ eyes, she heard a voice behind her saying, “With the birth of this son, you will awaken a lioness.” She physically awakens not knowing what it all meant.
Using Scriptural references, Lisa continues her book by comparing the life, beauty, passion, and strength of this lioness to us as lionesses as we arise up in the strength of the Lord’s power to change our world. It’s not a world where women are stronger or better than men, or vise versa. Strength is for service to one another and others.
Lionesses never act alone. She intricately incorporates how we ‘lionesses’ need to take lessons from the real lioness and do the same in protecting children and women caught in human sex trafficking, making Godly changes in the world, and caring for our families.
She describes how the lioness relates to her lion, empowering him to protect, while they do their part in protecting the pride. They work in groups and become a ferocious, strategic force to reckon with. The same is true in the lives of us women ‘lionesses’ in today’s world.
They biggest question Lisa bring out is, “Are our ears awake? Listen. Listen to the Wind Words, the Spirit through the churches. Rev. 2:7″ To accomplish all this, we must learn to listen to the great Lion of Judah and be willing to do His will His way through His Spirit. You need to question yourself as to whether you are willing to walk in His Light? You must be determined to quiet yourself to hear the Whisper of God’s voice. Lisa’s book challenges you to count the cost.
And you don’t want to be mistaken for buff, as Lisa found out! You can’t miss this! It’s a lesson learned the hard way! It’s a personal walk that you can’t won’t allow pretense.
In order to live in sync with God, Lisa gives us five objectives:
Look up–looking up to heaven
Look around–seeing ourselves, surrounding, and inhabitants in His eyes
Look well–shining light to expose areas of darkness
Look ahead–realizing our present choices affect us and those around us forever
Tell the truth–know the Truth and living and sharing it
I have to admit I would never compare myself to the bold, strong, stealthy lioness. Yet Lisa, through her vision, compares us in a way that challenges us to stop living the status quo and move out into the will and leading of God’s ways. It’s time and He wants us ready. If you are ready to hear the Wind Words and Whispers of God, this is a book for you to pick up and apply by the grace of God!
This book was provided by Debra Gaynor of Reader’s Favorites in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
ddlion
Location:Memphis, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am just starting to read the book and it is thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a current word to the women of God to allow Him to awaken the lioness in them to fulfill the plan and purpose of God in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book! LOVE IT!

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
familymgrkendra
Location:Berwyn, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had never read or heard of Lisa Bevere before receiving this book, I was completely intrigued by the book topic and the title of the book. I also love reading material from "new to me' authors.
I must admit, I at first had a hard time getting interested in the book as it was a little bit much for me to comprehend, but by Chapter 3 things began to get a much easier and I was very much stunned by the book. Lisa compares woman to a Lion, strong and fierce, not afraid to take on the world. The book, Lioness Arising, is about being a strong woman and taking your role as "wife and mother" to new levels. Lisa shows how a woman can use her God given roles to make changes within her own community and in the world. I have always been one who wants to care for others and make changes, but this book inspired me to do more and give more. Lioness Arising is about taking our strengths and making us stronger.
I highly recommend this book for women who want to make changes, not just in your own, but in the community and the world around you. You will love this books just as much as I did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Much of God, But PLENTY of Lisa Bevere

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
zekesmom10
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Becoming a lioness would take me far out of my comfort zone, but I could use some shaking up. The jacket cover said this about Mrs. Bevere: "Passionate. EDGY. Relatable. POWERFUL. Funny." Funny. I like funny. So I began to read. In the five (out of 11) chapters I managed to choke down before I finally gave up, I did not glimpse this woman's humor. OK, it isn't a humorous topic. This is serious business, becoming a lioness for God. The entire first two chapters, all I read was "me, me, me, my, my, my, I, I, I". I forced myself to keep reading. I honestly wanted this book to get better. Finally, in chapter three, a nugget, a glorious wake-me-up nugget. Two pages later... Wait. Seriously? More of nothing. The chapter ended with a few pages more of "good stuff".
I don't have a lot of free reading time. I was wasting it all. I was so sick of her references to the reader as "lovely ones". That's something a dear friend of mine might say, but only because she is kooky like that. No one says that to strangers. I also didn't care for her use of The Message for most Biblical verses. Why would lionesses need a paraphrase? Give me the meat of a real Bible. Thankyouverymuch! On page 71, Mrs. Bevere mentions Christians being forced to denounce the Lord or be put to death. She references the Inquisition. Really? You can't think of any more current time/place where this same thing is going on? There are Christians martyred around the world all the time. Today.
In chapter 5, something comes up about her discomfort speaking in front of men though she is a lioness before women. My immediate thought (though this may be an unpopular stance) is that women have no business ministering to grown men. I don't believe it's Biblical. I'm not saying men can't listen to and even glean interesting insight from a woman's point of view. I am saying a man's pastor and main source of Biblical truth should come from men. Just moments later, Mrs. Bevere tells of a woman who felt the same way and shock! once she read her Bible, she came around to see just how wrong this belief is.
I read a few lines and concepts that I felt a take home message, like "...let's find our feet, turn around and run hard after God" and "God's love was supposed to be a banquet, not a burden" (referencing Matthew 23:4) but honestly, there's a little too much Lisa Bevere and not enough God. I cannot recommend this book. I see by the four pages at the beginning of the book, though, that plenty of others are happy to do that.
I was provided with a free copy of this book by Waterbrook/Multnomah in exchange for my honest opinion.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a HUGE Lisa Bevere fan. I have seen Lisa and her husband John numerous times and the anointing they have is truly amazing! In her book Lioness Arising, Lisa shares about a vision she had back in early 1990. Lisa writes with such passion and truly has a heart for women and for young women as well. Knowing Lisa's testimony and how she was prior to knowing the Lord the fact that she has such a heart is truly from the Lord.
Lisa encourages women to be like a lioness, urging us to awaken and rise, to be strong and wise. For older women to nurture and protect those younger than ourselves, and to speak out for the silent ones. She truly hopes to help us to change and awaken to the calling God has given each and every one of us.
I would rate this book a 3 out of 5 ♥'s Thank you WaterBrook Multnomah Blogging for Books Program for this complimentary issue in exchange for my honest reveiw
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lisa Bevere does it again!

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love anything by Lisa Bevere. She speaks truth in a simple, powerful and heart-felt way. It always strikes me at the core. This book is no exception. If Lioness Arising doesn't awaken something deep within you, then you need to read it again. Lisa does a fabulous job of stirring up the passion that lies buried deep within each of us and calls us out to be more than we have ever dreamed of being - all for God's glory and His kingdom purpose. Please, read this book! You'll not regret a moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I thought this was a waste of time

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
plainolme
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to read this book with an open mind. I did not see this following a biblical idea. Lisa wants you to open up your wild side and allow God to make you roar like a lioness, but she doesn't back that up except for one scripture reference.
This book went on and on. I found myself struggling to keep reading. Nothing hit me nor encouraged me. Lisa bases her book on a vision that she "received" in the early 1990's.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my review.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not exactly what I was hoping for, but good

Date:February 2, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lioness Arising was a book that I was a little intrigued by with the title itself. Lisa did a great job describing a lioness and the characteristics and paralleling it to women. This book was meant to be motivational and challenging. There were parts that were thought-provoking, but I don't think it was a lot different from many other books I have read about being a woman.
The topics were interesting, such as Awaken a Lioness, Walking with a Lion, A Force Unseen, Lionesses are Strategic, From a Whisper to a Roar, Lionesses Live in the Light and Hunt in the Dark, and Strength is for Services. There are obviously quite a few more chapters than these, but this gives you some highlights as to what the book includes.
Lisa writes with motivational and with passion. She not only wants us to come back to God, but she points out that we need to follow Him whole-heartily and with all of our hearts. We are to be intentional and passionate about our relationship with Christ.
All in all, this book is one that I would probably recommend to a woman who was very discouraged about her relationship with Christ or who was new to the Christian faith. It was a good reminder for me of God's purpose for my life, though.
____________________
I received this book free from Waterbrook Pubslihers as part of the Blogging for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great thoughts, a little slow in the middle

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book by Lisa Bevere will awaken in you a desire to be a lioness in the kingdom of the Lion of Judah. She begins the book with a riveting description of a dream she had of seeing a beautiful lioness and an inscription of "Numbers XXIII." When she awoken and read Numbers 23 in the Bible, she came to verse 24:
"These people rise up like a lioness, like a majestic lion rousing itself."
The book details what she believes God has revealed to her through this dream and her own research of this magnificant cat family, the lions. She encourages us to serve God with our strengths, identify our weaknesses, and encourage others to come along with us as we step out into service for Him. We are to come along side each other, build each other up, provide for and protect all children, and pursue God and what He has called us to do together. She challenges women to be bold and confident, while serving our Lion in faith.
If I were to rate the beginning and end of this book only, I would give it 4 stars instead of 3. It begins and ends very strongly. But, the middle of the book gets a little slow and hard to follow at times. Sometimes I thought that Bevere stretched the lion analogy a little too far, reading a little more into in than may actually be there. But, overall, her thoughts are intriguing and challenging.
She closes the book by referencing the roar of the lioness. I love this analogy because she describes that for a lioness to roar, she must bow her head and take a deep breath first. She compares this to our being reverent and prayerful, filling ourselves with the breath of the Spirit, so that we can roar and make a difference in this world. She calls us to live a life connected to each other, serving together, just as lionesses often roar together. And, isn't that what God has called us to?
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

enthralling lioness parallels, but tedious

Date:February 1, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lioness Arisinng, by Lisa Bevere, is a call to women to tap into our wild side and awaken the power of God within us. Using the prowess of the lioness as a metaphor, Bevere intends to excite us spiritually, mentally, physically, and emotionally, to become a ferocious force for good in the world.
Yet again, I found myself reading a book that started as a 5, but ended as a 2. Bevere did a phenomenal job setting up the premise of the book; I was fascinated from the start by her study of the lioness and its parallels to our lives. So, too, were the anecdotes from her ministry work abroad fascinating. My interest in both the lioness and Bevere's stories carried me along through this read.
But, ugh, did it become tedious reading page after page of a never-ending plea to embrace God's design for the feminine. Understandably, there are many women whose life circumstances have been different than mine, and may, in fact, need to read 240 pages of how strong women can be when united in God before they can actually believe it. But for the rest of us, 100 pages might have been enough, with those extra 3 hours used for acting on, not reading about, our charge to bring God's light to the world.
While I realize there is an audience who will respond very favorably to this book, thus am thrilled someone is reaching to pull them from their sense of powerlessness, I have one worry that spans all audiences. And that is the author's almost-disdain for traditional religion.
Her negativity on religion was at first just annoying, but when she went so far as to say that children respond with less inhibition to music than adults because they have not yet been taught that music composed outside the church is to be avoided (pg.158), big red flags went up. (I am very inhibited in dance, but we always had non-church records - yes, records! - playing in my childhood home.) Bevere may have over-generalized the negative impact of her own experience with religion. If she is thus unable to objectively analyze the effects of religion in her life, she may be the wrong person to help other women deal with their own religious and spiritual awakening.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Re: Lioness Arising a must read

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
emmylou585
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Bevere's newest book, Lioness Arising should be a wake-up call for Christian women. Stemming from a vision that God gave her years ago," Bevere introduces the lioness as a point of comparison to illustrate women's potential power, passion, prowess, and purpose once they are stirred awake."
Lioness Arising is theologically ground-breaking. It challenges long-held beliefs about the role of women in the church. Bevere advocates for women as viable members of the body of Christ with God-given gifts and roles to fulfill. Women will begin to release the weight of religious baggage that has kept them in their so-called place.
Bevere speaks to the multi-dimensionality of women's roles, such as that of wives, mothers, sisters, and daughters of God. She encourages women to be fierce in protecting all children, acquire night vision to rescue those caught in the grip of darkness, to nurture other women, and to advocate for the voiceless. Christian women will be inspired to fearlessly stand up and step into position as joint heirs with men of God's promises and bearers of His light.
This book introduces a change into the landscape of Christian thinking concerning women's role in ministry. It has been anticipated by countless women who have known deep down inside that they have been created to be world-changers. As a true spiritual mentor bent on helping women realize that they are God's creative answer to the problems the world is facing, Bevere shares sketches of personal experiences in her own spiritual journey. With solid biblical grounding through out this book, Women will be motivated to awaken, rise up, lift their individual and collective voice and fulfill their God-given purpose to make a difference in the world. Kudos to Lisa Bevere for an outstanding book. I would highly recommend this book. I give it 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

wake up and change your world

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovemyblessings
Location:ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My first impression: First, I have to say this book was very different from what I usually read. The author definitely did her homework when it came to describing the life of a lioness. I found the book very motivating and challenging at the same time.
Summary: This book was, in a nutshell, a challenge to all christian women to rise up and change their world. The authors comparison of a women's christianity with that of a lioness was very fascinating. She did an excellent job with her analogy of a lionesses strength, passion and beauty and that of a woman of faith. The challenge to christian women was to use our God given abilities to change our world spiritually.
Quote from Book: " The wild, fierce beauty of creation is but a window that offers a glimpse of the God who created us. We need to throw open this window and allow God's untamed, limitless beauty to awaken a heavenly awe within us. As we open our eyes to the wonder of creation, it arouses a God-yearning. Our spirit will respond to what it sees."
What I liked: My favorite part of the book was about the protection of our children. As a parent I completely get the lioness' protection and guidance of their young. I understand how something so beautiful and graceful can become wild and aggressive when the safety of her cubs are threatened.
What I didn't like: Although I loved the authors passion for those enslaved in human trafficking, I felt she might have went a little overboard in mentioning it so many times in her book. I didn't feel it was in line with the concept of the book; though it would not bother me if it was mentioned(maybe just not so many times).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

LIONESS RISING by LISA BEVERE

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Lioness Rising is a bold attempt to bring women into their full power. To unleash all we are and to be all we were created to be. Lisa begins with a dream, a vision, she has and shares how this has impacted her life. Throughout the book she brings stories together that teach women to rise above and take control of their lives. She brings scripture together with many stories of her own life to teach inspire women to overcome and reach our capabilities by acknowledging we are daughter's of the King of kings. We are to wake up and change our world. This book leads us to empower ourselves to dive into all God has for us. We were created to do more, be more and seek more. She teaches us that we should be the best version of me. The whole book is comparing the lion world to women in God's world. As the lioness is strong and powerful she still knows how to be gentle and quiet. The more I allow God in my life, the stronger I will be as a women of God. I want Him to have control of my life and take the lead. There were parts of this book that were really interesting and others that I found lacking.
This book was a gift from WaterBrook Press for it's review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World
This review is fromLioness Arising: Wake Up and Change Your World.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too much Lioness...not enough Lion

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know this book is for women and is about women but I have read other Christian books for women too. My spirit was troubled during the reading of this book. The focus did not seem to me to be on anything really...only on making women feel powerful and strong and beautiful. THere are many books out there in the world today that do this same thing...many with the goddess theme. It was almost as though this book was reworking that theme but throwing in references to God and Jesus and Scriptures to sort of support what the author wanted to get across. It was a bit more feministic in nature than I like. I am sure the author is quite entertaining as a speaker. There were many good stories of her life and her dreams and her insights but I just did not get the whole book.
At one point she writes that she wants the book to awaken the readers not just be a how-to book. But to awaken someone would need more than is in this book.
I did learn a lot about lions which was interesting. I just felt like the focus should have or could have been more glorifying to the Lord and less focusing on us as women or the author and her visions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>