Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best

WaterBrook Press Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best

Struggling with weight issues? Do you love food? Chantel says you can have your cake and eat it, too! Encouraging you to enlist food as an ally, she helps you implement the 80/20 rule---eat healthy for 80% of the time and indulge yourself the other 20%. Her revolutionary diet-and-fitness plan works---Chantel lost 200 pounds! 240 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Review 1 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book!

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Don Gordoni
Location:Dallas, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book! Since I am all about exercising and eating right, this book was right up my alley!
I love the way Chantel Hobbs writes. She doesn't write as an expert who's learned everything there is to know about diet and exercise and talks down to the reader. She writes as one who's "been there and done that." She is humble and candid about her own personal difficulties about food and weight loss. To my delight, she writes as one who is in the trenches with the reader, teaching from what she has learned and is in the trenches with the reader to teach and encourage. In other words, imagine sitting at an intimate table, having coffee or tea with a friend and having a wonderful conversation. That is what her writing style is all about and I really like that!
One of my favorite quotes from the book is "...Living well, while loving food..." She makes the important point all throughout the book that it is not food that is wrong, but our perception of food that is the problem. In addition, the point is made that we should set realistic goals for ourselves and see ourselves as uniquely made by God. We shouldn't try to fit into a mold that God never meant for us to fit into. Another quote I loved is when she said "(I had to) choose to live a life of moderation in a world where excess is encouraged." This is so true! Anyone living in the United States of America can relate to this in some form or fashion, no matter what situation they're in.
I really like the fact that she makes complicated concepts regarding calories, fat, protein and carbohydrates, simple and easy to understand. Some authors go into great detail about these things, thereby making them sound very complicated. For me, that translates into "too much work," and not very important. Chantel keeps these concepts simple and easy to manage on a day-to-day basis.
The chapter I didn't agree with entirely is the chapter on fats. She has many important points about fats, but in my opinion, she leaves out one of the primary points about fats. She doesn't mention at all, the difference between long chain fatty acids and medium chain fatty acids. Medium chain fatty acids are the ones we need to steer toward and long chains are the ones we need to steer away from, because of their cancer-causing effects, etc. I do wish she had made this point in her book; however, all the other information is very good, informative and important.
The truth is, so often, books about healthy eating leave out exercise entirely. I believe it is because many people think of exercise as a four letter word! But, not so in this book! Chantel talks much about the importance of regular exercise and how it should be incorporated into a healthy lifestyle. This is so important! She also includes many exercises she has created. I really love the chapters on exercise and I encourage you to read them too.
Lastly, just like we need to keep God in the center of everything we do, she reminds us to keep God in the center of our healthy lifestyle change, no matter what! In order to succeed at anything, as Christians, nothing else is more important than keeping God the center of everything we do. I encourage anyone interested in developing a healthier lifestyle to read this book. It is full of encouragement from someone who overcame a weight issue and has maintained a healthy lifestyle ever since. After reading, you will feel encouraged and blessed!
(I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
jlsnydee
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished up this book and I really enjoyed it. I am a big fan of Chantel Hobbs. I read her first book Never Say Diet over a year ago and it totally changed the way I view losing weight. This book is no different. I have read tons of weight loss books and hers by far is my favorite. Her writing style is easy to read...like you are her best friend and she's merely giving you some weight loss advice. About 10 years ago, Chantel found herself at 350 lbs and at the end of her rope. She surrendered her battle to the Lord and He helped her to change her life one step at a time. She has kept the weight off all this time and is now using what she has learned throughout her journey to help others. She doesn't teach a lose-10 lbs-by-tomorrow sort of plan, but a lifestyle change through good old exercise and healthy eating. Her book contains information about calorie counting, recipes, body types, and even exercises (with pictures!) to help you as you start your own weight loss journey. This is a great read for anyone who is wanting to lose weight and live a healthier life. I found it so encouraging!
In addition to teaching readers about the physical aspects of weight loss and living a healthy lifestyle, Chantel also teaches the importance of inviting God into your journey. God created food for us to enjoy, so why should we feel guilty about enjoying our meals? Of course, we must use reason and self-control when eating so we don't self-sabotage our efforts to lose weight. Through this book, Chantel teaches us that we really can Love Food & Live Well!
If you would like to read Chapter 1 of Love Food & Live Well, click here!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book inspires both phsically and spiritually

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rev Bob
Location:North olmsted, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
Chantel Hobbs as well as an author is also a life coach and fitness expert, and she uses all these skills in this book to, Lose Weight, Get Fit and Taste Life at it's very best (cover).
Chantel's acknowledgement page gives you an insight to her personal reasons why she wrote this book. She brings the reader into her personal life introducing them to her whole family and explains why they are important to her. She also gives testimony to her faith in God and her Savior and how they are an intricate part of her life as well.
"Admitting that your not in control and living like you really believe it are huge! If you learn this well, it will change your life," Chantel (pg8). Hobbs cautions the reader to consult their personal physician before starting any diet program. She has worked closely with experts in medicine,nutrition and physiology to bring this program to you. Another great tool in your arsenal she says is having a positive attitude. Chantel also states that a good relationship with God is another positive step in reaching your goals. With God in your corner any fight whether its weight or self-esteem is winnable.
After letting God back into her life (she calls it her Lazarus moment), she shed 200 lbs and authored four books, all because God became her partner in her weight-loss and workout life.
From the time you open this book the inspiration starts flowing from every page, from the battle over blue jeans to brownies, birthdays,cruises,celebrations, inspiration both physical and spiritual oozes over your eyes and mind. One of the more inspirational quotes from the book comes from her chapter called, God offers you the deal of a lifetime, "...two deal points brought me back to God. Or perhaps the deal points introduced me to God in a way I never known him before. The first is that we must grasp the extent and power of God's love for us.The second is that it's futile to try to do life on our own.We will fail every time" (pg 53).
Hobbs also educates you on the nutrition of the foods you eat, from the good and bad carbs all the way to, "does that snicker really satisfy?" In her interval traning she gives you an exercise regiment that helps guarantee your success and breaks down all the particulars like metabolism and heart rate.
Chantel Hobbs sums up this book (and her life) best by saying, "After writing four books and producing a learning system fr weight loss and fitness, I can see that God continues to use me as a voice of real-life experience. A big part of my message is this: let me help you stop sabotaging yourself and your life. I know from hard experience, how to overcome self-defeat."
Chantel Hobbs has accomplished many things with this book. She will inspire you, help you make the right weight loss deal and give you the fitness plan to accomplish all of it. Most of all she will tell you, you don't have do this alone, for God is with you every step of the way.
I received this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not your typical diet book

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
dolodd
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would be hard to call Love Food & Live Well a diet book, but that is the underlying theme. She addresses many of the things we have been told about dieting and how to diet. For the first time I read a clear explanation about carbs, protein and fat in the foods I eat and their function in my diet. For that alone, I recommend this book.
But let’s not stop there. Chantel tells about her weight struggle and the things that she learned when it came to losing weight. She encourages the reader to look at why they eat, what they eat and how they can make changes while still enjoying that chocolate. Yes, you can love food and lose those extra pounds. Exercise and its importance are talked about, but Chantel doesn’t stop there. She shows exercises that we all can do using a stability ball.
She introduces us to the 80:20 rule. Choose foods with calories that have solid nutritional value 80% of the time. The other 20% is for those special foods that you really like, but couldn’t enjoy of many of the diets that are out there. If you know you are going to a party at the end of the week, then you eat out of the 80% for the first part of the week.
A book well worth reading if you are having trouble losing weight, need to lose some or maybe just want to help someone else with a weight problem. Not a typical diet book, Love Food & Live Well is a book of help and encouragement without overloading the reader with a lifestyle that many cannot follow.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Food and Live Well

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Txann21
Location:Euless
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First it's the New Year's resolutions to lose weight and get into shape, then it's time to get in shape for bikini season, then it's time to look our best for the Holiday season. These are just a few times during the year that we are hit full force with diets and losing weight. In Chantel's new book, Love Food and Live Well, you will find a realistic approach to what the body is designed to do and you get a better grasp on "balanced" nutrition and lifestyle changes to help you lose weight or to help you make better food and lifestyle choices.
Chantel shares a lot of personal stories about her weight loss journey, and she provides lots of motivation, encouragement, and instruction to help the reader meet their weight loss goals as well as total emotional, and physical health. I admit, I "love" food! Everyday is a battle of mind over matter and making the right, healthy food choices. Here in Texas, it's already time to start working on that tan for the summer so bikini season is now! So remember. . .food is not the enemy, loving food is not a sin, and we are not bad people because we sometimes make bad food choices!
"Living well and loving food is entirely possible." Chantel Hobbs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love Food & Live Well
Chantel Hobbs
Waterbrook Press
3 Stars
First I have to say I have not read Ms. Hobbs other books so I did not have them to reference back to. I also felt the title was a little misleading for myself. Not really needing to diet so much as to learning to eat better foods and that’s what this Title led me to believe. It is there along with some exercises to do but there is so much other that one has to read through to get to it.
I realized that this was a Christian book and I have no problem with that and I know that God can help a person win over any addiction. While using faith as her basis for overcoming her weight problem, I figure there also has to be self control which she used also. There is also a lot of her relating back to her previous books and other women she had met who have read her books and has been helped. I have to say there are some parts that are amusing and then others that were a little boring. I feel there should have been more dealing with some sample menus along with some recipes . The 6 recipes that were in there is not much . There is more on exercising which is great and helpful for those who diet or just need to exercise.
I congratulate Ms. Hobbs for the weight that she did lose and has been able to maintain her weight since then and also in her walk with God. I just feel that this title and back cover will be a little misleading to some, but there are others out there that this book will be very helpful to them.
I received a copy of this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group through their blogger program. A positive review was not required and all opinions expressed here are my own views of the book..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging!

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
T L Goad
Location:Champaign, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(I received a copy of this book free to do a review.) I loved how the book focused on not just "another" how to plan. It focused on the only true way to be happy was to have a relationship with Christ. I also like the 80:20 approach and how there is "no" food off limit. The best feature of the book was the strength training exercises with pictures included. I was disappointed in the lack of recipes and meal plans. She did a great job of explaining calories, carbs, proteins, and fat (but most of us will admit to knowing the basics!)....but I would have like to have had more recipes or meal ideas to get started with. With that said, I loved the book otherwise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book gives hope

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been really enjoying and appreciating this book called Love Food & Love Well by Chantel Hobbs.
In this book Chantel shares a lot of the struggles she has gone through being almost 350 lbs and then being able to lose like 200 and best of all being able to keep it off. She becomes a weight loss expert as well as a certified fitness professional.
This book offers a lot of good advise a lot of the issues are not new but she offers them in a fresh new way. Chantel doesn't just offer advise she also offers hope and encouragement for the journey.
There is a section about healthy eating and a section about exercise with a suggested interval training schedule and strength/toning exercises using a stability ball. There are also several good looking recipes in this book as well. Chantel talks about making meals meaningful by using her 80/20 plan .
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.
This is my honest opinion I did get this book for review but I would buy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brilliant

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
bcm75missy
Location:Ireland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a carry on from Chantel Hobbs first book. She's pushing balanced eating and fitness rather than weight loss which will happen anyway if you are going for fitness. She also includes a whole new set of exercises that one can do at home, saving the expense of joining a gym. Great motivator!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

helping out

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
leia
Location:nc
Age:18-24
Gender:female
What to Look For in a Gym
By Abbie Cleek
Most people will seek membership at a gym one time or another in their life for one reason or another. Whether it is for a New Year resolution, a quick slim down for an upcoming wedding, or a means to stay healthy, there are a few important things a person should look for in a quality gym that conforms to your needs and goals. The first thing you should look for is the quality of customer service at the gym. Are they polite? Do they genuinely want to help you achieve your goal? Is the gym clean? Watch how they interact with current members. Take notice if there are any certified personal trainers on the floor. The customer service will make or break your enjoyment at a gym. Secondly, the variety and condition of the equipment is very important as well. Whether you like running, lifting, taking classes or doing physical therapy and core strengthening, there are certain crucial pieces of equipment that you need to achieve your goal. Also if you are a mother, a gym that provides childcare will be an important advantage to look for too. Don’t be afraid to ask questions and be picky about choosing your future gym as it should provide you with a sense of accomplishment, stress relief and comfort, as you begin down your road to fulfilling your goal. Go Get’em!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

food was meant to be enjoyed

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Food is not the problem, says Hobbs. It is a challenge, but the more troublesome challenge: ourselves. The struggle is in our heads. “First you change your mind, and then you can change your body and your life.” (36) She lists five decisions that must be made: being truthful with yourself and God, repent and ask forgiveness, make a commitment, seek knowledge, then daily surrender to God your life, your strength and your ability to change.
Hobbs encourages a healthy love of food and knowing the real role of food. She has a great section on the types of food, what they are made of and why they are needed to supply energy to the body.
Hobbs suggests calculating how many calories your body needs to sustain the weight you want. “All weight loss comes from a deficit of calories. Period. If you use more calories than you consume, you will lose weight.” (93) Hobbs provides some suggested exercises, too.
One of two parts of the book I really like was her 80/20 rule. “A full 80 percent of the time, all food you consume should accomplish the following:
supply vital nutrients
satisfy your hunger
deliver long lasting energy.” (127) “What helps you commit fully to this discipline is the knowledge that the other 20 percent of the time you can splurge – within limits.” (128)
The other part of the book I really like was her ten ground rules for loving food and living well. One is “smile while you swallow.” Another, “feel free to spit it out.” Despite what my mother always said, “food can go to waste.” You don't have to clean your plate. These ten ground rules are great!
One would not have had to read her previous books to benefit from this one, but to receive the full impact of what Hobbs is communicating, reading Never Say Diet would help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Food & Live Well: Lose Weight, Get Fit & Taste Life at Its Very Best
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouragement

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This was an easy and enjoyable read. Although I don't struggle with a weight problem I do struggle with maintaining a healthy lifestyle balanced with good eating and exercise. I appreciate that this book is not about a new "diet" or setting a weight loss goal but rather about a life change and thought change. It is more an inspirational or encouraging book about the challenge of living a balanced life. I really enjoyed the author's candidness about her own struggle with self-esteem and weight and how the two went hand in hand. My favorite part was the exercise routines. I have implemented one and thus far am enjoying it.
Thanks B&B Media for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.