Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation

Random House, Inc Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation

From the authors of Every Man's Battle comes a survival guide for male teens and young adults struggling with sexual temptation. Learn how to help young men implement a practical "battle plan"---exchanging shame and confusion for a positive, thriving relationship with Christ. Includes a companion workbook for individual or group study. 352 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Review 1 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for some people

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I went to a christian school, and we went through this book in my Grade 12 Bible class. Some benefitted with some of the tips, but some of my friends who didn't struggle with the issue initially encountered difficulties with lust after reading. The descriptions are pretty provocative, and can start some bad thought processes especially for somebody who really struggles with sexual addiction.
All in all, I've found that after trying to apply their strategies and tactics, including the "starving the sumo," I found my problems only worsened. This book helped me realize that my problems came from my heart, and not just my surroundings.
If somebody's sexual sin is a result of the environment they put themselves in, this book can be very helpful. If you aren't sure why you struggle with sexual sin, I would also recommend this book, as it can help you diagnose where your temptation is really coming from.
Being somebody who is working through these issues myself, there are some things I wish I would have known before I read this book. My first recommendation to anybody who struggles with sexual sin is to speak with your pastor or some (Christian) authoritative figure in your life who can speak to your situation.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good tool against sexual sin for teens

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Meemom
Location:AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I bought this book for our, then, 14 year old son who is a believer but had a hard time with females tempting him to fit into the world view of dating and fornication against God. Since then we gave it to a 14 year old girl who was a flirt and believer. She had no idea what young men go through until she read it! My, now 15 year old son wanted another copy so he bought one for himself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Young Man's Battle

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
malpassunity
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A "must read" for every young man who desires to maintain purity in his relationship with God & young women.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Beware....To Graphic!

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
SMiller
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I must say this book is like porn with scripture thrown in between the sex scenes. If you or your teen or are already dealing with this issue, all it does is give you new graphic images to lust after and is a how to guide on sexual gratification. As a parent of a teenage son and daughter myself, I understand the need for straight forward talk about sex. However, it doesn't need to be straight out of the gutter to get the point across.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reps
Location:UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really worried about my two boys entering the world of sexual availability. It seems that today free sex is everywhere and that does not feel good at all. I saw this book and thought I would give it a go. I am so glad that I did. Written in an easy format that is difficult to put down once started. I could not believe how direct, appropriate and honest this book is. It gets to the bones of what is causing us problems in today's society. One of the best purchases I have done and feel that a lot of pressure and worry and been eliminated from me. I can now help the boys to be, and maintain being, authentic.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
xTurk
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall great guide to purity but wasn't to fond of the use of the NIV bible quotes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom of 3 boys
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I am a mom of 3 boys and 1 girl. My son tried porn as a freshman in high school (now getting married), then found out my husband was watching as well. I was sexually abused as a child and felt great betrail when this came crashing into my life. My second son has also been into porn on the enternet, introduced to it in the locker rooms at school. My youngest boy a 7th grader has already had friends show him nude photos on their phones. My husband has given his life to Christ and has done an about face away from this temptation. We have started reading this book together as a family and I am amazed at it's reality. I pray that God will guide our study every night, and He has. The conversation and words no longer seem filthy, but we are able to talk about it openly. I feel God's hands in it all and I am very blessed to have this available to help our family. I recommend it to ALL! There is not a soul on this earth that shouldn't read this book. We are going to read "Every Young Girls battle" after this one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Make sure its age appropriate

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
OtRock
Location:Modesto, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't do enough research on the book and gave it to my son who is 13. BIG, BIG mistake. He was not ready and due to the graphic nature of the book, actually learned how to masturbate because of the book. Completely worked against what I was trying to prepare him for, being sexually pure. I got rid of the book, its not in my home anymore. For someone older I think it would be fine. Wish I had read through it more before handing it over, huge mistake on my part. Now i get to deal with the consequences. I honestly don't understand the point of being so graphic with the stories. The same point can be made leaving that out. Very disappointed by that content in the book.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Stott
I thought it was for high school age but it is actually more like college age. A little too mature for my 14 yr old. KS Canton Michigan
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
I was 21 when I first read this book. I was struggling with internet pornography for most of my life. This book helped shape me to the man I am now. It teaches a man to safe guard his eyes, heart, and mind. Staying away from sin by removing and staying away from the temptations that may lead us into it. A plethora of testimonies from guys just like me. Its focused on the single man, and very similar to Every Man's Battle, with the addition of a chapter on M*****bation. Although focused more on a married man, Every Man's Battle I felt packed more of a punch and I'd recommend that one more (although it doesn't hurt to read both, just more money). It is all worth every penny. He truly speaks from the heart.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Baldwin
This is not a new book, but I just discovered it. Practical, DO-able steps that WORK. The book is direct, hard-hitting and frank. I teach classes of guys ranging from 14-22. This book provides tools that are helping them find success in their quest for sexual purity. I thank God for leading me to this study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sam
An excellent and critical book for all males -from early teens on up. A book parents should make a must read for their sons. God's sexual standards are very high. Our society -even Christians for the most part- is ignorant or ignores God's standards. This book lays out God's standards for sexuality with scripture, and then delves into the practical aspects of implementing God's standards.This book is very open and honest in its description of male sexuality. For this reason, I highly recommend it to all females age 15 and up who want a true understanding of male sexuality. Sin thrives in the dark. For females,this book will shine the light of truth on the nature of male sexuality which is so thoroughly bound in sin and will help men in their battle.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Rife
Awesome. Happy that this addresses issues vital to my son's health and well-being. He's enjoying it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Every Young Man's Battle: Strategies for Victory in the Real World of Sexual Temptation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carlos Sebastian Pazmino
A book that every man should read, hard, challenging, but worth it.It might take some time, but each page is full of wisdom and dying to oneself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.