Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc This Little Prayer of Mine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc This Little Prayer of Mine

With engaging rhymes and beautiful illustrations, This Little Prayer of Mine assures children that God is always near--watching, listening, caring, and eager to respond to their requests. They'll also learn that prayer isn't just about asking for things, but about sharing their feelings of sadness and uncertainty as well as of thanksgiving and joy.

Most importanly, This Little Prayer of Mine reminds children-and those who love them-that they can trust God to tenderly care for them, no matter what the future holds.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Little Prayer of Mine
Review 1 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much needed!!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this children's book...the illustrations are engaging to my 3 year old. The prayer is simple enough for him to understand and covers so much that a prayer should. Thankfulness, requests, praise, forgiveness...all in words and form that a child can understand. My son recently had to have a procedure done in the hospital and this is the book he wanted to read right before he went in for the anesthesia. It is one of my favorites!! And will be for a long long time.
This book was provided for review for me by WaterBrook Multnomah for free. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
plasticmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never grow tired of reviewing children's books. "This Little Prayer of Mine" was a true joy to read. A simple, rhyming prayer, spoken from the heart of a child. "Whenever I feel really scared and I want to hide my head, please help me to be brave and strong and face my fears instead". What a wonderful line, so different from "and if I die before I wake", which always seemed to me a scary thing to be praying with a child at bedtime. The illustrations are calming in their muted shades, leading me to visions of a child curled up on my lap, dimmed lights, and lullabies playing while we'd read this prayer together at bedtime. Highly recommended!
This book was provided to me free of charge from Waterbrook Multnomah for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great tool for teaching your child to pray

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“This Little Prayer of Mine” by Anthony DeStefano is a delightful prayer in poem. This could easily become a favorite bedtime book of any child.
Teaching children how to pray can be difficult but I think that DeStefano has nailed it with this book. He includes some elements which many adults should include in their prayers. Help me to be generous, love me forever, help me do the things I should be doing, and forgive me when I don’t. This prayer model touches on things that impact kids, but also adults…
This book belongs in every church ‘s elementary Sunday school library, and would make a great gift for parents or grandparents who read to their small children.
Five stars!
I received a review copy free from the publisher in return for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not our favorite, but nice, w/good values

Date:May 15, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In This Little Prayer of Mine, by Anthony DeStefano, we follow a child through everyday life scenarios, from fear of the dark to ministry work, all while praying to God for assistance, comfort, companionship, and forgiveness, as well as offering thanks.
This Little Prayer is a nice change of pace from the average children's picture book. Not out to impress, but rather to calm and to quiet; its rhythmic, rhyming prose easily draws children into prayer.
Similar in format to Amy Parker's A Night Night Prayer for the 0-3 set, This Little Prayer would be a great follow-up as children grow to face more diverse world experiences and greater praying potential.
With that being said about the book's subject matter, what about the illustrations? I must admit I have mixed feelings about Mark Elliott's illustrations. They aren't a style that I normally prefer; I can't place my finger on it, but there's something a bit strange to me in these pictures. However, I do actually appreciate reading an occasional book that doesn't have the standard, typical, seen-it-already children's illustrations. So, I guess I end up neutral on the question of illustrations.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Press for the purpose of providing my honest review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I received This Little Prayer of Mine by Anthony DeStefano. It is illustrated by Mark Elliot.
I like the idea of making prayer a natural part of a child's life. I loved that this book tells children to look to God for strength when they are scared, and to ask Him for help in following Him. I also believe that helping the poor and sick is something not taught to children these days, and was delighted to see that included.
That said, the photo on the cover of the "cherubs" was creepy, and my daughter would not sit and listen to the story because she was afraid of the cover! I also did not love that it ended with the child asking God to love her/him. I think it may confuse children into thinking God's love is not unconditional.
I received this book as part of the Multnomah Press Blogging for Books program. I am under no obligation, nor do I receive any recompense for, a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful children's book

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Young children just naturally accept the concept of talking to God. If we instruct them in prayer at a young age, they will develop a relationship with God in a very real and personal way that will last a lifetime. A very good resource for introducing prayer is This Little Prayer of Mine by Anthony DeStefano. This book contains a simple rhyming prayer that covers so many facets of a child’s world: fear, sadness, joy, happiness, disappointment, obedience, thankfulness, and helping others. Add to that a heart of praise and worship and you have a perfect beginning for life lessons on prayer. Mark Elliott’s full color illustrations take this prayer and bring it to life as only a good artist can do. As a parent and former Children’s Church director I can easily see a place for this book at home and in the classroom. The combination of words and pictures create a book that is perfect for bedtime reading with Mom and Dad at the end of the day.
This review copy was provided to me by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am learning how important daily communication with God is, and I am trying to pass this knowledge down to my children. My kids are always coming up to me saying, "Mommy, I can't sleep, can you help me pray". Once they have had their time talking to God, they are more relaxed and better able to sleep.
Author Anthony DeStefano does an excellent job covering most basic topics that a child can talk to God about. I will enjoy reading this book with my children, and knowing that they can read it anytime they don't know what to talk to God about, and want some ideas.
----------------------------------------
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A good prayer- with a few tweaks

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
pyroboop
Location:Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A short book, with a prayer which can be said by people of all ages, maybe. First let me relate why I read this book and relate the positive aspects of this book. I do not have any children, so I'm not use to reading children's books, but I do have a great-nephew whom I truly adore, and I know that he will not grow up hearing about God's love for him. So, I read this book as a potential book to give to him, or to read to him when I am with him. The illustrations I do love, for childhood are readily depicted by the facial expressions, the messy hair, the realistic actions portrayed by the children are all believable. Overall the prayer includes words which people of any age can pray, however I do have issues with a few of the statements in the book, from a theological point. I don't believe God is “up in heaven”, for that helps depict God as being a gray haired man in the clouds with angels in white flitting around God. I also take issue with the statement that God has a plan for us, and the final page where the reader asks God to please love her/him. While I don't completely agree with the entire book, I do believe the majority of the book is good, and that the theologically different statements offer a great opportunity for discussion with the child.
I plan to keep the book, read it to my great-nephew when I see him, but I will change the sentences which I don't believe to be theologically correct.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
J. H.
This is a beautiful book! My niece and nephews love it and so do I! The words in this book targeted everyday situations and learning experiences, for all ages and for all Christians! I have gifted this book to so many kids and mommies who all have loved it. I think this should be a staple book for every child, it really guides them in the direction of learning about God and love! and the pictures are great!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erika Chapman
The pictures are absolutely beautiful. It is a sweet little book, great for bedtime. I think my boys will enjoy flipping through and looking at the pictures as much as they will enjoy listening to it. It pictures a little brother and sister as they pray together before bed. It deals with handling fears, hopes, disappointments and sin. Very innocent and sweet. Would be a great baby gift for a new little one. I look forward to sharing this with my little guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Looking for a cute story with beautiful illustrations to read to your little ones? "This Little Prayer of Mine" might be just what you are looking for. It was written by Anthony DeStefano and Illustrated by Mark Elliot.The pictures are absolutely stunning. The children in the book look so precious! The book is one long prayer from a child going about his daily life. It covers things like being scared, feeling sad, being thankful and much more. There were a few things in the prayer that I am hesitant to like - such as praying for riches, or one line in particular "I know there's nothing in the world that I can't do or be." It just didn't fit in well with a prayer theme and seemed a little selfish.Overall the book is adorable and I love the illustrations. The book is endorsed by "The National Day of Prayer."*Disclosure: This book was provided by Waterbrook for review purposes.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
This book was an absolute joy to read. I can not say enough about this book. My children all enjoyed reading this book! It really captured the simple faith of a child. This book is a must have for your book shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
What more can you ask for from a children's book?This is a beautiful book that I read to my son, he loved it so much he asked for it again. The pictures are just precious and they captivated him because he kept pointing out different items in them (he is 21 months). I actually loved reading it to him because not only does the story flow, but the rhyme and cadence of the story are wonderful and sweet. This is a book that would be a perfect gift and even the parents will enjoy reading it to their children at night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
I got this book in the mail this past week. Although it is a little too young for my family, I enjoyed it. The colors are very vibrant, the words inside are beautiful, and the pictures are well illustrated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
This Little Prayer of Mine by Anthony DeStefano and Mark Elliot is the perfect read for bedtime. First Mia's review: The book is a prayer to God. It's something that I would say to Him. The picture of the little boy being left alone by his friends made me feel sad. I thought the pictures were very pretty. I liked that there was a picture of a pilot in it, because I want to be a pilot when I grow up. Now my review: I thought this book was fantastic, because it shows children that they can pray to God about anything. Whether they are afraid or feeling left out or sad or even guilty, they can turn to God in prayer and know that He will listen. Elliot's artwork is outstanding, very realistic but with a touch of whimsy. The ending brought a few tears to my eyes, because of the childlike, innocent faith and trust DeStefano has perfectly captured. While this is a bit longer than the traditional "Now I lay me down to sleep" prayer, this would make an excellent substitute!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie's Mommy Brain
This book provides a good introduction to the topic of prayer for small children. It's simple and covers a variety of issues, such as making hard choices and being thankful for ice cream. Though not a "how-to" book, it gives children a basic understanding that you can pray about anything and everything and God will listen to you.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Lynn T
This is a great book for children of all ages. My cihldren both sat still to hear the whole story. While this book does not mention Jesus it is a prayer to God about all the things that little kids think about. I love that it helps the child dream and not think that there are things they cannot do because they are small or not old enough. It also puts things into perspective and leaves many teachable moments to be talked about with parents and child. I would recommend this book to any parent who wants to instill faith in their child and open the door to questions about their faith and God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Wow! That doesnt even begin to scratch the surface. What a wonderful, sweet, heartfelt book! The prayer was so true not only for children but for adults as well. I certainly enjoyed the words of this great little prayer, as well as the great illustrations provided by Mark Elliott. I definitely think that when my daughter is older I will use this book as a nighttime special. The prayer covers so many issues of the heart and character in such a short, fun format that you dont really realize what youre learning as you go. Im not one for prayers out of books, but I find that sometimes they really touch on the very core of the issue and that can be a fantastic jumping off point for your personal prayer time. What a unique tool this is to help children in their prayer time with their heavenly Father. I highly recommend this neat little book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
What a sweet, sweet book. The illustrations are wonderfully done. The story is cute and does a good job showing children how God is just a simple prayer away. We loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for This Little Prayer of Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Inside this beautifully illustrated book lies the prayer of a child. This book would be a wonderful addition to your collection of books for your child. We see the glimpse of a precious heart praying to the God they believe in and trust. We could all take a lesson from these beautiful words spoken so purely from a child's heart and heard from up above. I loved this book and willing be giving one to my new grandbaby to cherish. This little book is a great teaching tool for children. The pictures in this book are brilliant and bring it to life and will enlighten any child. This book was a gift from Multnomah WaterBrook Press.robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>