Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)

Elsa Anders's dream of marrying Peder Ramstad is about to come true. But as this independent, strong-willed woman discovers her own creative gifts--a love for travel, painting, and the sea--can she find happiness with a captain who insists upon leaving her safely on shore?

Leaving their home in Norway behind, Elsa and Peder embark on a new life in with their closest friends, including: Kaatje Jansen, a woman seeking a new beginning for the sake of her marriage and for the child growing within her; Elsa's sister Tora, a sly young vixen who knows exactly what she wants--and exactly how to get it; and Karl Martensen, a man torn between his friendship for Peder and a forbidden, secret love for Elsa, a man tormented by emotions that threaten to ruin them all.

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Review 1 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsa Anders is about to become the wife of Captain Peder Ramstad. Leaving her beloved Norway for the shores of Maine, Elsa wants to be more than just a captain's wife. She wants the adventure of the seas; see exotic places, painting the beautiful sights and vistas, and just being with her husband. Will Peder allow it? Or will his authority as captain spill over into their lives?
Kaatje wants to come to America to save her marriage. Her life, and the life of her unborn child depend on it. Karl Martensen has been friends with Peder since childhood. He fights his secret and impossible love for Elsa, but his emotions threaten to destroy everything they have set out to accomplish. And Tora Anders, the defiant yet seductive young woman that believes she can win the world with her woman'y wiles and wit. Will any of these immigrants find what they are looking for in America? Or is their fresh start an unreachable dream?
This book will take you on a wonderful journey, Once set your eyes to it's pages, you are sucked into the tale and there is no describing the agony of waiting to see what will happen to all the characters you've come to love. I have held my breath so many times in anticipation, stifled a gasp at another twist in the plot, that I feel silly for becoming so enchanted without so much as a look back. I read a lot of books, and I like to think that I can anticipate and know what happens next. This book stripped away all I know of fiction, and took me to the beautiful country of Norway, a magical voyage across the sea that became a mix of tragedy and joy, and finally brought me to the promised land. But so many questions remain. Bergren tells many character stories, but she is successful at making each person an unforgettable part of the tale, as real as the many immigrants that have docked at our shores.
A copy of this book was provided for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: There was a lot going on this book, but not too much to be overwhelming. First, there is the immigration to America that is experienced by all of the characters in the book, then you have the stories that unfold for each, once they arrive. None of the stories are complete however at the end of the book, but such is life, I suppose. I assume that the stories carry on into the next two books in the series.
Characters: I really enjoyed the depth of the characters in this book. The entire story line really is based on the history that each character has in Bergen, and how they develop as they continue their lives in America. Each character is so different from each other, yet they flow so fluidly together to tell the story that they really all share.
Themes: I would consider the main theme of this book to be "starting over". Each of the characters longs for a new life in America and they are all starting over from something. Elsa and Peder, for example, are newly wed and beginning their new life together; Kaatje seeks a fresh start with her husband and the arrival of their child, and Tora seeks a new adventure in America.
Emotion: This book was very fast paced. While the emotion wasn't deep-seated, I did find myself engaged in the story. The more I read, the more I wanted to know what was going to happen to each of the characters, and how they were going to be affected by the next tragedy or joy that they faced.
Overall: I found the book to be slow at first, but as I continued through, I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed the way that while each character had their own story and experiences, they were all so intricately weaved together. I also found the story to be very unpredictable, which kept me engaged, almost every time I made an assumption about what would happen next, I was wrong. While part of me wishes the stories would have come to a nice little conclusion, I am anticipating reading the next books in the series to find out what happens next.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relatable people! Down to earth!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Tawn Bergren has done it again! The moment you pick up one of her book's, your instantly devoted to every character, every situation, every trial and victory as every emotion is happening to you alongside them!
The Captain's Bride, Elsa and Captain Peder Ramsted, childhood sweethearts and now newlyweds are preparing to leave their homeland Norway and charter new dreams and hopes to America. Karl Martensen, having also grown up alongside Peder as brother and best friend has secretly been holding a torch for Elsa, but doesn't want to jeopardize his friendship and love to the two most important people in his life.
Elsa's young rebel sister, Tora stowaways aboard the ship, and causes turmoil, frustration and pain to almost everyone she meets, as she too seeks independence, wealth from high society in America.
Kaatje and Soren are also trying to begin fresh and new in their marriage. Yet Soren, a womanizer cannot stay devoted to his wife, amidst failing attempts to forgive and forget.
The characters have many twists and turns, yet Lisa Bergren stays true to form, making you feel the sorrow, the joy, the pain and the triumph of each relationship bringing so much depth to them, and this is just the first novel! I loved this book so much, I highly recommend it for anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic characters and relationship struggles

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Captain's Bride" is a Christian historical novel. It has five main characters, and the story jumped around in location after the group splits up after reaching America. I never had any trouble keeping track of who was who or where they were, but the ending only provided resolution for a few of the characters and the rest ended with more of a cliff-hanger.
The characters were all very realistic and complex. They dealt with real life struggles, and most of their problems were brought on them by their own poor choices. The vivid historical details brought the story alive in my imagination without slowing the pacing. The suspense was created mainly by relationship tensions but also by physical danger to various characters.
Even when things were going well for the characters, I felt like something was going to happen to spoil it. I went through the novel feeling dread for what was going to come instead of hope that good would come through all the bad. Though good did come from the bad--stronger relationships and so on. Perhaps this feeling was partly because I couldn't predict precisely what would happen next, which is a good thing.
The Christian element was woven naturally into the story line and realistically portrayed the Christian walk, with its ups and downs. The brief prayers came across as genuine. The characters (except Tora) wanted to have a good relationship with God, and that's what affected their behavior (rather than lectures from other Christians). I liked how this was portrayed.
There were no graphic sex scenes. There was a very minor amount of "he cursed" style of bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this well-written historical.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Captain’s Bride, by Lisa Tawn Bergren, is a well-written historical novel showing the lives of immigrants as they traveled to America and attempted to forge new lives there. She begins the story in Norway, and follows her characters through both their struggles and celebrations even after they arrive at their new homes.
Elsa and Peder Ramsted marry in Norway and sail for America two days later. As Peder is the captain of the ship and president of their shipyard in Maine, their lives are very much open the public. They go through typical problems that many newlyweds encounter, finding the answer in following God’s will for their lives. Tora, Elsa’s younger sister, stows away on the ship, causing nothing but trouble on the voyage and after her arrival in America. Many of the others, Karl and Kaatje for example, will also steal the reader’s hearts in their struggles.
Bergren’s characters were very down to earth and realistic. Their personalities and problems, the mistakes they made, and the victories they had were all true to people in current everyday life. I very much enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to all who enjoy historical fiction.
Kara
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Journeying Through Life on Land and Sea

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Lisa Tawn Begren's The Captain's Bride is a gripping tale of love and betrayal on the high seas as well as on the new land of America.
Instantly, one is drawn into the story line as one after another, the characters' secrets start unfolding. Even the most "perfect" of characters soon discover life is not so perfect thus shattering dreams but creating new ones.
That is exactly what this novel is about--new beginnings. Each character desires a new beginning for various reasons. Whether to start their married life or save their marriage, the characters find themselves leaving their homeland in search of the their new beginning in America. However, things start to unravel as life on the seas, despite it picturesque vistas, starts to experience physical and emotional storms. Will they be able to weather the storms even when unexpected cargo--Tora Anders threatens to destroy one life after an other in pursuit of her selfish goals?
Their life at sea and the arrival in America is not so much a travel journey but one of growth. The protagonists learn that marriage is not the same as the captaining of a ship or the painting thereof. While other characters learn that their actions have consequences often times hurting the innocent. Restoration and forgiveness is a lesson they will have to learn over and over once their sea journey ends and their land one begins.
Overall, this book captivated one's attention and heart. One could not help becoming distraught as the characters lived through tragedies and becoming angry as the nemesis continued to wreak havoc on those around her. This is an excellent read for a mature audience, since some themes and innuendos are explicit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsa Anders is about to become the wife of Captain Peder Ramstad. Leaving her beloved Norway for the shores of Maine, Elsa wants to be more than just a captain's wife. She wants the adventure of the seas; see exotic places, painting the beautiful sights and vistas, and just being with her husband. Will Peder allow it? Or will his authority as captain spill over into their lives?
Kaatje wants to come to America to save her marriage. Her life, and the life of her unborn child depend on it. Karl Martensen has been friends with Peder since childhood. He fights his secret and impossible love for Elsa, but his emotions threaten to destroy everything they have set out to accomplish. And Tora Anders, the defiant yet seductive young woman that believes she can win the world with her woman'y wiles and wit. Will any of these immigrants find what they are looking for in America? Or is their fresh start an unreachable dream?
This book will take you on a wonderful journey, Once set your eyes to it's pages, you are sucked into the tale and there is no describing the agony of waiting to see what will happen to all the characters you've come to love. I have held my breath so many times in anticipation, stifled a gasp at another twist in the plot, that I feel silly for becoming so enchanted without so much as a look back. I read a lot of books, and I like to think that I can anticipate and know what happens next. This book stripped away all I know of fiction, and took me to the beautiful country of Norway, a magical voyage across the sea that became a mix of tragedy and joy, and finally brought me to the promised land. But so many questions remain. Bergren tells many character stories, but she is successful at making each person an unforgettable part of the tale, as real as the many immigrants that have docked at our shores.
A copy of this book was provided for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Have now finished all three books. It will be hard leaving good friends and not knowing anything more about their lives. I kept thinking that somehow Peder would have been rescued...but that was not to be. Really enjoyable reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Captain's Bride, Northern Lights Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Captain's Bride by Lisa Tawn Bergren is the first in the Northern Lights Trilogy about Norwegian immigrants to the US in 1880. Elsa Anders has been in love with Peder Ramstad since they were children together back in Bergen. The day of their wedding, they, along with several neighbors, boarded his ship destined for Camden, Maine to begin a new shipyard there.Tora, Elsa's strong-willed younger sister, stows away onboard and begins an clandestine relationship with with Soren, who is married to pregnant Kaatje . Karl, Peder's first mate and best friend, is trying to fight his feelings for Elsa, but close confines only bring them to a boil. I'm not always a fan of historical romances, especially Christian ones. They all too often are saccharine and predictable, but Bergren's tale of these tempestuous Norwegians is compelling and fantastic, a true joy to read. Peder struggles to juggle his roles as husband and captain, while Elsa tries to practice submission without giving up her dreams.Tora is feisty and unforgettable , and while her actions are at times shocking, she's never boring or a stereotype. Even though this book is over ten years old, it's incredibly relevant. I will definitely be seeking out the rest of the books in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.