Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged

As they build new lives in America, Tora, Elsa, Kaatje, and Karl each experience a personal tragedy that threatens to destroy everything they left Norway to find. Tora's web of lies has cost her a successful future with the man she loves. When tragedy strikes, Elsa must draw upon her faith and the strength she can muster to discover who she is and the path she must follow. After her husband's disappearance, Kaatje struggles to raise two young daughters and tend her farm, and Karl finds himself caught in a life of loneliness and emptiness. Only by placing their trust in God-and in each other-will they pass through these rough waters and find the safety of the harbor.

From the richly forested banks of the Washington Territory to the burgeoning city of Yokohama and across the turbulent, danger-filled waves of the open sea-experience the epic saga of perseverance, pain, faith, and calling in the Northern Lights series.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Review 1 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Building new lives in America, Elsa, Karl, Kaatje, and Tora find out exactly how high the cost of rebuilding really is. When personal tragedies devastate each of their lives, the price of a new life on American soil is almost too great a cost. Soren's disappearance leaves Kaatje alone with two daughters and no hope of his return. Elsa is faced with the worst tragedy of her life and an unpredictable future. Karl is alone and unable to find any real joy in life. Will any of the Bergensen's find the new life they seek? Or will their dreams be dashed in the new country that was supposed to mean a fresh start for all of them?
This sequel to Captain's Bride was as tragic as it was intriguing. I enjoyed the follow-up stories of characters I met previously, but good gracious me! They had one thing after another happen to them to the point I concluded it was as close as real life as you can get in a story. Life is full of disappointments, lost chances and loosing loved ones. But this book takes you on a journey that is sad, yet realistically echoes many a shattered dream and broken promises that are true to most of our lives. There were happy times in this story as well, but the harshness and reality faced by many immigrants in their journey and new life in America is perfectly portrayed while drawing you into the life of each and every person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacque Bonesio
Location:Northern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved learning about Scandinavian cultures. My grandmother was Swedish. This book gave me a chance to deepen my understanding and enjoy a great story too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Building new lives in America, Elsa, Karl, Kaatje, and Tora find out exactly how high the cost of rebuilding really is. When personal tragedies devastate each of their lives, the price of a new life on American soil is almost too great a cost. Soren's disappearance leaves Kaatje alone with two daughters and no hope of his return. Elsa is faced with the worst tragedy of her life and an unpredictable future. Karl is alone and unable to find any real joy in life. Will any of the Bergensen's find the new life they seek? Or will their dreams be dashed in the new country that was supposed to mean a fresh start for all of them?
This sequel to Captain's Bride was as tragic as it was intriguing. I enjoyed the follow-up stories of characters I met previously, but good gracious me! They had one thing after another happen to them to the point I concluded it was as close as real life as you can get in a story. Life is full of disappointments, lost chances and loosing loved ones. But this book takes you on a journey that is sad, yet realistically echoes many a shattered dream and broken promises that are true to most of our lives. There were happy times in this story as well, but the harshness and reality faced by many immigrants in their journey and new life in America is perfectly portrayed while drawing you into the life of each and every person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I want to read all of her books

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Libby Caudle
Location:Alleghany County N.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just fell in love with the story line and did not want to put it down. Just wished Petra had stayed in the story.
Libby, N.C.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and hard to put down

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bette
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved the whole series of Northern Lights....I'm so excited to find another Christian author, whose characters "talk" to the Lord. Thank you, Lisa.
Thank you for your constant offering of quality products, CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Miller
It doesn't seem possible that a woman had such seaworthy expertise at any point in history, but this book made me a believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
C Cole
Characters have no real resolutions. Yes, Tora "comes home" to family and faith, but with Trent it's unsettled. Elsa, Peterd's death, and Karl is odd; especially her high seas traveling. Kaatje and Soren is tragic. I felt sorry for the kids in each family with no real stability. Only the issue of Mason is addressed and dealt with. Not what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
dk4him
I was thinking over what I wanted to say about this book and the words I kept coming up with to describe this book were "epic adventure." So I love that in the publisher's summary they say epic saga. I completely agree. This book reminded me of books like Gone With The Wind or a James Michener novel because of the adventure, the history and the depth of the characters. I found myself picturing it as a movie or mini series. The descriptions and adventure in the book were that good that I could just "see" it like it might appear if it were on screen. I am not sure if I could pick a favorite character... Kaatje perhaps? I liked her servants heart and humility yet she also had so much strength and strength of character. I like how real life, the good and the bad were depicted in the book but with a strong element of faith and how a believer gets thru the good and the bad and how God's hand can be seen in all of it. I liked the depiction of God's pursuit of us with characters such as Tora. The gospel was depicted plainly and I liked that! I believe this book is actually the second in a series. I will definitely seek out the others in the series and would highly recommend this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
This book is very enjoyable. I have not read the first book in the series, but did not feel like I had missed out on anything that I needed to thoroughly enjoy this book. I loved each one of these characters. I disliked Tora at first, but as the story progressed she more and more became a favorite. Each one has their own storyline in the book and I thought at first it was a little confusing, but as I got to know each character, it became much easier. Ms. Bergren did a great job of developing each story and I totally loved this book. There was great adventure at times and descriptions of exotic places (at least to me) that I loved reading about. There were also times when the characters faced things that caused them to examine their faith and it also caused me to think about my faith. I love books that can do that. I definitely recommend reading this book. You won't be bored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deep Harbor, Northern Light Series #2, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
I have been so encouraged by this book on a few levels ~ One being, Gods timing is perfect! He is with us even when we feel lost, alone and far from HIM. He waits like the loving Father that HE is, for us to seek HIM and HE is ready with Forgiveness when we humble ourselves and repent and have the desire to live life with HIM in all our endeavors. Deep Harbor is set in the 1800's and is full of adventure for these characters, along with much heartache. You will fall in love with these strong women and men and learn from them as well. Deep Harbor shares examples of redemption, humility, and determination to go on despite some very difficult situations. I simply cannot wait until the 3rd book comes out!!I LOVE this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.