Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2

He fought to seek his fortune.

Would he lose a greater treasure: the love he left behind?

As the son of the squire of Grimston Way, aristocrat Rogan Chantry has fought hard to win his independence from Sir Julien Bley and the British South Africa Company. Now, his pursuit of a mysterious deposit of gold, marked on a map willed to him by his murdered uncle, Henry Chantry, is challenged by a new complication: the impending British colonization of South Africa. Can Sir Rogan find the gold in the midst of escalating tensions among the native tribesmen, the missionaries sent to win them, and the new colonists?

Meanwhile, Evy Varley, the woman Rogan loves back in England, is headed for a brave yet dangerous confrontation with Henry's killer-but at what price? With so much against Rogan and Evy, a reunion seems improbable, if not impossible. Can yesterday's promise hold them faithful to the hope of future freedom and a victorious love?

Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Review 1 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series, Loved it

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lorrabell
Location:Vancouver , BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love historical fiction and this series put you back in south africa during the diamond mines. Loved book one and tow, having trouble finding that 3rd book in this series. I guess it is out of print. Hopefully I can find it soon. I highly recommend this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was awesome.

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shayna
Location:Fallon, NV
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My book was wonderful and was in very good condition. Thank you very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Bearsley
I'm so glad they reprinted this book! I bought the first in the series and enjoyed it so much I had to buy number two and find out what happened. Linda Chaikin writes a gripping story that keeps the reader interested but doesn't move too fast, and I love the way she involves so much history and fact into her writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy Gould
Greed can be an ugly thing. It can take over your life and ruin your chance at true peace and contentment. Many times it also prevents us from truly loving those around us - our family, friends, spouses and the Lord. Several characters in this book are obsessed with wealth and power. It has taken over their lives and they will stop at nothing to get what they want. Rogan Chantry is caught in the middle of this conflict. Will he be able to seek his fortune, a mysterious deposit of gold that is marked on a map inherited from his uncle, and be untainted by the drive to possess it all? Will it cause him to lose the love he left behind? His love, Evy, is left behind to confront a murderer and recovery from a horrible tragedy. As she seeks to unravel a mystery - what will it cost her and the man she loves?A story full of intrigue and adventure that pulls at your heartstrings as you root for these two main characters. It also caused me to ponder the things that so easily distract me from family, friends and most of all the Lord. We are drawn to success and maybe even wealth and power (at least to a certain degree), but at what price are we willing to pay for these things?Will Rogan and Evy's promise of love endure through the many trials and temptations that challenge them from every direction? You will have to read Yesterday's Promise to find out? :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
I had a terrible time reading Yesterday's Promise. It was very detailed and I would read a sentence over and over to stay focused. It is book #2 in a series and I don't think it would have helped to have read the first book. This story is set in the late 1800's to early 1900's. I do like history stories, but this one was just too far fetched and hard to follow for me. The story is about the son of a squire fighting to seek his fortune against his uncle. The woman he loves is in another country and the story goes back and forth and from earlier to present and was very confusing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
A mysterious murder. A dark intruder. A family full of secrets. The foggy shores of England. The gold mines of Africa. A treasure map. Diamonds. Intrigue. Deception. Love. If any of those things interest you, then read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie Billings
I place Yesterdays Promise by Linda Lee Chaikin in the historical fiction category. My biggest problem with this book is that it is the 2nd in the East of the Sun series and I had not read the 1st book of that series. So I needed a score card to keep up with the characters. I havent actually finished this book but do find the characters well developed and the conflicts interesting. Once I finish this one, I may just have to find the first in the series to see what Ive missed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yesterday's Promise, East of the Sun Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
I struggled to get into this book. The heroine lost consciousness in the first chapterand didn't regain it for quite some time. Other characters were introduced, then disappeared, then returnedI wasn't sure what the storyline was or whom I should cheer for as the book progressed. Was the book a murder mystery, a romance, an adventure? I was completely lost and tempted to give up entirely when it finally all came clear on page 108.Suddenly, I had a hero with a noble cause to follow and the book was worth my time. Would he fulfill his questor learn a better lesson along the way? The heroine was still unconscious, but I was certain she'd wake up before her knight-in-shining-armor completed his mission, conquered evil, and gladly returned to her side.To be fair, if I'd read the first book in the series, I might have understood more quickly what was really going on. But though the characters are the same and the storylines are related, I think each book was meant to be mostly self-contained. This book also leads to another, but one adventure ends as our heroic couple plans for the next to begin.Part of the book is set in England and part in South Africa in the late 1800's. Dialogue reads like a BBC period film. Fans of Jane Austen or with an interest in the events of this historical time may really enjoy this book series.Thank you Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for sending this book for me to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.