Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Beneath a Southern Sky

Random House, Inc Beneath a Southern Sky

After her husband, Nate, is reported killed in Colombia, missionary Daria Camfield returns to the States to give birth to their daughter. Determined to move on, she marries veterinarian Cole Hunter. But then she receives startling news---Nate is alive! Will she return to her first husband or stay with Cole, a man she cherishes? 320 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beneath a Southern Sky
Review 1 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is hard to "judge" a book, as it comes from someone else's heart and mind. But this story was too "drama queen". It was a far cry from where a Christian wife in grief is - a subject I know. Yes, everyone is different, but even in the depth of grief when you abandon your faith - and yes, it happens, reason still exists; not panic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me review without giving away the story. I loved this book and the way it was written. The way Raney showed women can fight what God is telling us to do, and do things OUR way.....and yet our God is so amazing that He will love and take care of us even after our selfish ways. I find myself wondering what on Earth I would do if given a choice like that. What an impossible choice. Thank you for this book and making me remember how much love our Father has for us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
K Goodman
This was the first book I had read of this author. I could not put it down and would stay up late reading it. Even though I don't like her choice in the end, this is the best book I have ever read. I have got many others to reading it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
I read this book a couple of years ago and loved it very much.This is Deb's best book ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
Daria Camfield watches her husband walk away, never to return to their small hut in the jungles of Columbia. The young widow returns to the States heart-broken but holding the secret she never had a chance to share with Nathanshe carries their baby. Daria struggles to make a way for herself and her newborn daughter. When Dr. Colson Hunter enters her life, she wonders at the fact that God would allow her a second chance at love and family. When word arrives that Nathan is alive, Daria is caught between her two husbands and realizes she loves them both. Finally she turns to the God she has kept shut out of her life for far too long.Wonderfully written, believable, genuine characters come to life on the page with all their faults and glories. Raney shows just how easily we can justify the choices we make. She also shows the dangers of setting our own path rather than relying on God and waiting on His timing. The book explores relationship issues between husband and wife, parent and child, and adult parents and their children, giving biblical views of each. Beneath a Southern Sky takes an honest look at the struggles of new marriage, the deep riches of committed relationships, and the reality of sacrificial love. A wonderful, gripping story of sacrifice and second chances, it made my mind raced ahead to discover how Raney could possibly resolve this in a satisfying, biblical, and believable way. A believable ending is made even more powerful and satisfying by a touching epilogue. Recommended for women of any age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
terri
I thought this novel was great! Not the typical "if you've read one, you've read them all" type of book. I definately want to read more of Deb's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Beneath A Southern Sky had an interesting and emotional plot. However,I struggled to read Beneath A Southern Sky because I just could not relate at all to the characters mindset. I not only disagreed with many of Daria's choices and responses in this book, but felt downright angry at Daria Camfield/Hunter. I felt that she was a character who didnt really know herself. She was led into things by the men in her life and never really took control of her own identity. I was frustrated and unable to truly get behind her as a reader.I felt like the author was trying to steer me in a direction I didnt really want to go. Darias decision to move on after Nates death was not my problem. My issue was with her response upon hearing that Nate was alive. Her choice to stay with Cole or return to Nate was immaterial, she saw his life as a tragedy. I couldnt understand that. At the least she should have felt thankful for the miracle of his survival regardless of the obstacle or inconvenience it created for her personal life. I just didnt feel her compassion for Nate. I also wasnt pleased with the romance between Daria and Cole. I just didnt like him as a character at all. He was mean, controlling, impatient with Darias daughter and just unlikable. Cole also kept a very huge secret from Daria well into their marriage. To me, that alone would have been a deal breaker. I couldnt root for them.The author does have a talent with words, but I failed to get behind her direction in this story. I thought her characterization was also a little weak. Bottom line, I didnt enjoy this book. It isnt a story Id place on my list of books to recommend. In the future I will look at other books written by Deborah Raney because she can weave a story. Beneath A Southern Sky just wasnt the story for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
This was the first book I've ever read by this author but I really enjoyed it. It was a bit slow starting but once it did - it was truly a great read. It's a wonderful story about trusting God fully with your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Bennett
I loved this book. Deborah Raney is a gifted writer and brings such raw emotion to her characters they almost feel real. The book offers rich detail but does a good job keeping the mundane details at bay so the reader doesnt get bored. I was so emotionally connected to Daria, Cole and Nate that I couldnt decide a proper outcome for them. Most of the story is told through Darias perspective but elegantly flows to Nate and Cole when needed. The shifting perspectives brought necessary depth to connect to the men involved in this dilemma.Because of the synopsis of the book we the reader know what Daria is going to face, but yet she doesnt know until mid-way through the book. While the relationship with Cole is progressing, your thinking NO DARIA- Nate is ALIVE, but we travel down this new marriage with her just waiting for Nate to show back up. Not to mention Natalie, the baby Daria had from Nate is now connecting with Cole and calling him daddy. So we see not only Cole and Daria falling in love, but Natalie falling in love with Cole as well, adding to the heartbreak we know thats coming. Daria is so focused on moving on and falling in love she misses and ignores all the little things going on around her. Vivid dreams of Nate start to trouble her sleep, letters from the missionary field begging her back make their way into her mailbox. The deep gut feeling that she should wait and take things slow with Cole ignored- As God tries to drop hints all around her shes put her foot down and will not listen to her heart's warning. Daria marries Cole and settles into this new life happy and distant to her faith. When Nate finally does reenter the book- the reunion is agonizing and knowing the heartbreak Cole is going through, makes the reader suffer right along with them...I would recommend this for anyone who loves romance...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
If you're in the mood for an extremely wild ride on an emotional roller coaster, "Beneath a Southern Sky" will be a good book for you.In the first chapter, you'll meet Daria and learn that she is widowed and remarried, but has just been notified that her first husband never died. Then you'll jump back a few years in time to meet this husband and discover, step by step, how Daria found herself in this impossible predicament.Unfortunately, as impossible as that predicament is, Daria's life and the lives of those around her are full of complications that make the situation even more emotionally devastating. I'm warning you now, this book is intense.Yet it ends as perfectly as it can. It's a story of redemption and sacrifice and true Christian love, of repentance and of learning to listen to God and to obey His voice. Life is confusing and messy, but God can lead us througheven when we make well-intentioned, but avoidable mistakes. He can even use those mistakes to bring healing to other lives, using bad for good, redeeming everything.Author Deborah Raney has a gift for creating pleasant settings and realistic characters. She kept me guessing about the outcome of the book right up to the endand I hope I haven't given it away. The story was a little over the top in intensity at times, but otherwise I really enjoyed this read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beneath a Southern Sky
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
A missionary wife, widowed in the jungle, leaves for the states, mourning her husbands loss. But after two years pass, bringing with the birth of her daughter, Danica moves on and remarries, only to have her dead husband reappear from the grave.The description of this book really made me sit and up listen. How could a story with this magnitude be brought to a satisfying conclusion?Deborah Raney is a masterful storyteller, bringing to life characters and their situations until you feel as if you stand beside them, battling their same struggles. My heart just broke several times during the novel, hurting so desperately for the situations Danica found herself in. I read this book in a little over a day unable to put it down until the last page was turned and as I put the book on my keeper shelf, all I could think about was leaving those characters, their situations and all they had been through. And the ending, one I never say coming, never could have predicted. This book is truly a stunning example of masterful storytelling. The kind that will stick to you and continue to reel you in with its marvelous craft and lesson. A must read for all fiction lovers, you will not be disappointed in this novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.