Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today

Random House, Inc The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today

Want to lose weight, get strong, and live well? Hobbs says you can do it---one day at a time! Laying a solid foundation for building a healthy life, she empowers you to change your thinking, turn past mistakes into a positive force, make faith your focus, eat leaner and cleaner, and work out confidently. 224 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Review 1 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Wichita Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book keeps you focused and allows you to incorporate God into your fitness journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read. Easy To Follow Plan.

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Just Jenn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The One Day Way by Chantel Hobbs really reminds us what we already knew all along; if want to lose weight you have to burn more calories than you take in. How come were not doing this? How can we change the habits we have. According to Chantel " All it takes is doing things differently for twenty four hours - and then repeating."
The book is basically about changing the way you think. Set a goal for food and / or fitness one day at a time. This takes effort on our part but anyone can do anything for 24 hours. The advice is along the lines of information you'd hear from a fitness trainer (which she is) - eat between 1,400- 1,600 calories a day, commit to 30 minutes of cardio vascular activity 6 days a week, and three days of strength training. Some of the advice I question, for those starting out, like fasting one meal a week, indulging one meal a week and her interval training sessions (changing the intensity up and down, up and down, while working out). She does share, that when she first started losing weight she didn't tackle cutting her food in take and exercise at that same time.
Chantel helps get you started with some examples of daily goals you can set. She has also included a list of ten commandments for eating to lose weight, and then talks about each one. She does the same with ten commandments for getting fit for life. There is also a list of power snacks, power foods, sample menus, 31 strength training exercises with a medicine ball and resistance band. For those who like things documented she includes a 2 page Commitment Contract. Some personal stories are spread through out. Sometimes, I think they got a little side tracking.
Overall, I enjoyed this book. I have no doubt that following her advice will get you to your ideal weight. She warns you up front it will take hard work and commitment. Her advice is sound. It's honestly what we known all along but didn't want to hear. I would recommend this and give it 4 out 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
This review is fromThe One-Day Way.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's not just another dieting book

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peach
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The One Day Way by Chantel Hobbs
This book was different from what I usually read. I really don’t care for dieting books, but this one was a bit different. It was encouraging and uplifting as well as helping you to get a hold on this everyday things in life that can get a hold of you.
I would recommend reading this book.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. Be sure to read an excerpt or chapter. Wonderful reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
This review is fromThe One-Day Way.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Motivating!

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's time to take it one day at a time! The One Day Way by Chantel Hobbs teaches you how. By focusing on food, faith, and fitness, TODAY.... you can learn how to achieve your weight loss goals and live a healthier life.... tomorrow.
This IS a diet book. But in this diet book, you learn how to take it a day at a time. There are many books out there, believe me, I've tried a lot of them. But what I like most about this one, is the fact that Chantel Hobbs breaks down the bigger goal. You don't have to be overwhelmed or feel guilty when you 'mess up'. There is nothing you can do to change the past, but you have a choice of what you will do today. It's a simple concept, but a great one. After telling my husband about this book... he uses Chantel's 'One Day Way' in other areas of life as well. His new catch phrase is "I can do it... Just One More Day".
This is a simple book to read. Chantel Hobbs brings her personal experiences into it, which makes it easy to relate to her. She knows where we've been, because she's been there too. She teaches us not to be interested in perfection... but in progress. I like that. It seems like a goal I can keep and will certainly try.
Included in the book are simple exercises and a healthy eating plan. The One Day Way is very encouraging and I think you will enjoy it.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
This review is fromThe One-Day Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Chantel's books in that they the are inspiring and encouraging. Chantel herself lost a lot of weight like 200 lbs.
This book has a section on meal suggestions as well as a whole section on exercising and a picture for each example.
A lot of this book is on diet and exercise.
I like reading books like this not just for the inspiration and encouragement but the example she gives in that she lost a lot of wt. Herself but also that she has been able to keep it off.
*I received this book for free from the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
This review is fromThe One-Day Way.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great resource to lose weight for good

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book includes practical advice to help readers get healthy once and for all. With achievable tips about exercise and nutrition, Hobbs encourages her readers to focus on succeeding one day at a time. She includes inspiring stories from those who've lost weight using her attainable plan. Refreshing to read a weight loss book that's not about extremes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Carlson
This book is very comprehensive, giving both diet and exercise plans. Worth reading. I plan to combine the concepts in this book with the Body-for-Life program, a lot of which has been incorporated into her plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kitty Vander Kelen
We love Chantelle's thinking, and we are using her book as a guide for our Shaklee Cinch weight-loss support calls. Having "right" thinking based on God's Word & faith, we believe, is key for establishing the right priorities and perspectives - not just for weight loss, but for our entire life! Her book was the missing link for our program - our thanks to Chantelle, Focus On The Family, and Christianbook.com!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
The words "You can't control tomorrow, so stop worrying about it" resonated with me in a way no other words had. I've never been a true dieter. One time in my life, I actually worked on getting healthy and changing my ways, and it stuck for about 6 months, then I strained my back, had to quit working out for a month, and lost my steam. When I couldn't work out, I quit eating right. I gained more weight. And lost hope all in one fell swoop. That one line, that one thought by Chantel Hobbs has given me a ray of hope, however slight and slim it is, its enough to hold on to, enough to start making those changes I need, one day at a time, no, not even on day, but one hour at a time. Until I can make it to one day at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erika Chapman
I must admit that I did not read every word, but I read most of it and hopped around all of it. The message is great and full of motivation and great encouragement. The philosophy behind the eating plan and exercise suggestions is solid. Some of the things that stood out to me from the book is her suggestion to have a once a week meal fast as well as a once a week indulgent meal. She talks about doing a daily hunger check and to view food as a fuel not a friend. She also includes many personal stories from people who have followed her One Day Way plan and had huge success.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
Last year some of my friends who have done blog tours posted reviews of a book called Never Say Diet by Chantel Hobbs. It intrigued me. So I bought a copy along with the journal that went with it & I tried her methods. And I got results. Sadly I stopped following her methods. But when I was given the chance to read her newest book - The One Day Way - I knew I had to try it.Chantel covers some of the same things that she did in her first book but the overwhelming theme to me in her newest book was - "Just take it one day at a time. Don't let your past define your present. Don't let your future derail your present. Focus only on what you can change TODAY."Honestly, isn't that great advice for life?? She doesn't say to not have goals but don't let them become so overwhelming that you sabotage what you are doing and attempting. If your goal is to exercise five days a week for two months & you miss two days, should you consider yourself a failure? Of course not, because just remember all the other times you DID exercise! Celebrate those victories and every day is new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
"Today is all the time you need to lose all the weight you want," the author, Chantel Hobbs, believes. She herself lost 200 pounds and became a life coach, personal trainer, and marathon runner because she decided to change her lifestyle. The key to changing your lifestyle is to change your way of thinking. She offers a simple and encouraging concept: taking it one day at a time. It reminds me of "Baby Steps" from the movie, What About Bob? Hobbs tries to help readers not to feel overwhelmed or fearful or discouraged about losing weight. She emphasizes one bite-size success that will lead to more victories. In this book, you will find samples of personal success stories, practical guidelines, insights regarding food, faith, & fitness, meal-plan examples, 31 strength-training excercises using one ball and one band, and more. In my opinion, it all boils down to your determination, self-control, and commitment. Without these three things on your side, no books/weight loss programs will be able to help you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Here it is a new year with new resolutions. How many of us made one or all of the following resolutions: lose weight, eat healthier, start an exercise program. . . Do you have a plan to keep these resolutions? The One-Day Way is a great resource to keep you on track and keep those resolutions. Chantel Hobbs helps you stay focused and presents practical tips to keep you on track for weight loss. She focuses on 24 hours at a time and not beating yourself up over getting off track yesterday. This book includes lots of positive reinforcement, sample menus, strength-training workouts, and lots of success stories of those who have been successful with The One-Day Way . Focus on today and today only, taking small steps is the key to moving forward and bringing about lasting change. Stay focused and choose to be healthy each day.Happy New Year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
The first two-thirds of this author's third book is all about getting the reader to think differently about weight loss success and healthy living. Hobbs' focus is not on the big, long-range goals like "Lose 60 lbs." Instead she coaches the individual on developing her own healthy eating, weight loss and exercise strategy based on her own personal goals. Small steps and small successes build on themselves over time, and this book is all about living your new, re-built life one day at a time. With a healthy measure of encouragement as well as faith, Hobbs then rounds out her book by outlining a dietary plan and an exercise regimen. Two weeks of specific meals are included--one for weight loss and another for weight management. Thirty-one specific strength training exercises utilizing only a resistance band and a weight ball are also included.Overall, I have been motivated and encouraged to take some small initial steps toward my own goals as a result of reading Hobbs' newest book. Although herself a Christian believer, Hobbs has written her book broadly enough that someone of any theological belief could still effectively utilize her weight loss strategies. Perhaps a bit too broadly, however, and some chapters did not correspond well to my own theological beliefs. Due to personal food allergy issues as well as the fact that I am still lactating, her personal dietary suggestions would need some modifications in my case. However, due to the reliance on simple packaged food items and easily prepared meals Hobbs' food rules and diet section would prove useful for most.This book was provided for review by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene
Chantel Hobbs weighed over 300 pounds. She began her struggle with weight, dieting, not dieting and self-loathing at eleven years old. Then one day she chucked dieting. She stopped making excuses and began her journey to thin. In the One-Day Way, Chantel shares her success story, the successes of some of her friends, and the necessary strategies anyone can use to become healthy and fit. Chatel presents The One-Day Way in four parts. In the first part, she teaches us to level the way we measure success. To take charge of our bodies, we need to first take charge of our minds. No more excuses. In part two, we learn how to lay your own personal foundation for success. In part three, Chantel leads us to the realization of inner resources many of us may never have known to tap. In part four, Chantel outlines the necessary steps to maintaining our weight - but she is no longer talking about struggle, because by the time we reach level four, living healthy will have become a habit. This book impressed me more than I can say. I am committing myself to The One-Day Way. I have already begun. I would like to offer my thanks to the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for providing me with a free copy of this book for my review. I fully plan to allow what I have gained from reading this book to influence the rest of my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
The One-Day Way has inspired me. It's just want I needed. This book is a wonderful source of inspiration as well as information. Hobbs shares her heart with the reader in this book. I just don't know where to beginning. My doctor has been after me to lose a few pounds and I know I'd feel better if I did. So Hobbs is my inspiration here at the beginning of this new year. I've already programed myself to think one day at a time. In order to build a new life the author tells us we need to change our thinking. So, I'm trying to do just that. Discipline is needed in this new one-day way as well as commitment. "Yesterday is irrelevant. Tomorrow is unimportant. Today is what matters" Today and today only is what one needs to focus on. Tomorrow is a new day, another chance. Bite-by-bite the pounds can be taken off. This is not a diet it's a new way of thinking and a new lifestyle. Success is measured one good decision at a time, one pound at a time and one day at a time as we meet one bite size goal at a time says Hobbs. A 'maverick attitude' is what is needed in this new life changing adventure.Hobbs book gives you the foundation materials needed to build a quality lifestyle. This book is the foundation and framework. This book will help you change the way you look at: * faith: skepticism won't work * food: learn to control it * fitness: your body was made to move. So move! * * Some things you'll find in the chapters of this book: * simple ways to make exercise fun * detailed meal plans * fitness tools needed to be fit for life * strength training workout - how to get maximum results using simple equipment * a contract * 2 - sets of 10 commandments: One for weight loss & One for getting fit * and more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marie
I just read THE ONE DAY WAY and I amazed. I also took the time to read the other reviews.Not only was this book the best weight loss book I have ever read, I'm ready to love exercise because of this woman. I mean if she could go from 350 pounds to a marathoner...my 40 pounds shouldn't hold me back! I really enjoyed the endorcement from Mike Huckabee. And on a final note. There is no question, Chantel submits to Jesus and desires others to do the same. IN fact, another reviewer here took Chantel's comment about no matter what religion you are, you can cry out to God...completetly out of context and I must clear it up! In fact, it touched me so much, here it is. "No matter what religion you are, and even if you've never beleived in a higher being, today can be the day you choose to allow the God of the universe to take over and be your everything! If you've been running your own life based on your own wisdom and strength, you can continue doing that. But if there comes a day when you are so desperate for strength and help that you cry out to God, He will comfort you and give you peace. GO to a quiet place, and humble yourself before Him. Get down on your knees, low to the ground, and just cry out. I promise, He will hear every word, He will catch every tear, and He will show you more compassion, mercy, and love than you have ever known." Then Chantel quotes John 3:16- "For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever beleives in him shall not perish, but have eternal life".....I'm not sure about you, but I think CHANTEL makes it pretty clear who GOD is and who he isn't!She seems to be a woman called to share her story to help others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Equal parts philosophy, inspiration, and practical weight loss plan, the simplicity of Chantel Hobbs The One Day Way may well prove to revolutionize the way many women approach weight loss. Hobbs encourages women to make changes for a healthy lifestyle one day at a take, focusing only upon the present in order to avoid depression over slip-ups and feeling entitled by consistent progress..Hobbs maintains that a simple, no-nonsense, energy-in energy-out, approach for weight loss is called for in most cases. A sample eating plan and menu that provides between 1400 and 1600 calories (generally low fat and low sugar, balanced proteins, carbs, and fats) is provided, as well as a strength training routine that uses a medicine ball and resistance band.After reading Hobbs eating and fitness plans it can be easy to feel like you need to get on board with the entire program right away to be a success. That however, would be missing the point of Hobbs philosophy a day at a time, keep moving forward with small goals. So if the thought of jumping into a lower calorie way of life and establishing a big fitness plan all at once seem overwhelming, never fear shes not asking that of you. On the other hand, this isnt a pie-in-the-sky weight loss plan, and she consistently maintains that its up to you, and will take work.I was so excited upon reading The One Day Way; not only does it carry within its pages simple insights that are absolutely transformational, but these ways of thinking can be transferred to areas outside of weight loss. For those of us who are easily overwhelmed by long-term goals of any sort, applying The One Day Way to all areas of life results in better focus, and more productivity (it has for me, in any case). Im now looking forward to a never-ending journey towards growing into a better person day-by-day for the rest of my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann
Before this book made its way into my hands, I had never read a book on dieting in my life. But, like everyone, I know of many people who have tried diets that have not worked for them. Hopes are high as they start, but when the results do not seem to match their efforts, they easily get discouraged and often give up. There's nothing like a success story to provide a boost of encouragement though. Through dedication and perseverence, author Chantel Hobbs shed 250 pounds and has kept it off. In one of her books on the topic, The One Day Way, she shares some practical methods for losing weight. Taking the tone of a friend who has been there and wants to come along side the reader, she makes weight loss seem entirely possible. But she does not promise that it will be easy. She reminds us that the goal is progress (not perfection) and encourages a day-by-day approach. She repeatedly drives her point home: living one day at a time and celebrating little successes along the way is much more effective than setting lofty goals that feel impossible to achieve. Hobbs weaves together teaching, testimonials, questions and answers, sample menus, exercising tips, and encouragement into one well-planned book. She empahsizes the importance of faith as well as chosing the right foods and excerises. She maintains that determination is key, and gently reminds readers that every time we fall, we must get back up...one success at a time. I have found that the principles of this book can apply to many different life challenges, (not just trying to lose weight and get in shape). We would be wise to break any life goal into "bite-sized pieces" and give ourselves grace along the way as we persevere. I have learned many good life-principles from this book. I highly recommend it to anyone who would like some encouragement and/or a plan for losing weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The One-Day Way: The Common-Sense Plan to Create a Thinner You, Starting Today
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
When I received the book description from Waterbrook Multnomah, I was immediately interested in reading this book. Why? Because it sounded similar to the way that I lost 25 pounds several years ago. I think that gimmick diets are ineffective because no one can stick to them, and if they do actually lose weight, people tend to gain it back when they go off the diet.The One-Day Way is not a gimmick diet. Chantel gives good advice in how to make lifestyle changes to lose weight and keep it off. I really like her emphasis on not setting yourself up for failure. Each day is new and whatever mistakes that you have made are now in the past. I know that I tend to only do something until I "mess up", then I just completely quit. Included in the book are basic diet and exercise "commandments", as well as specific meal plans and exercises to try.What I didn't like about the book was its emphasis on positive thinking. Don't misunderstand me, I definitely agree that thinking negative thoughts is harmful, but I don't think the whole answer is to think positively. If we are new creatures in Christ, then He is our source of strength. There was a little bit of universalism in the book too. At the end, she said that it didn't matter what religion you are, if you cry out to God, He will give you strength. I agree, if you are calling out to the true God, but a person asking a false god for strength can not expect to receive it.I received a free copy of this book in order to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>