Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Pearl in the Sand

Moody Publishers Pearl in the Sand

Rahab is an unlikely biblical heroine. Forced into prostitution, she builds up an elite clientele. Then she meets Salmone, a respected leader in Israel. Can a man of faith ever love her---a Canaanite harlot? Will their stormy relationship survive and bring healing to her scarred and shattered heart? A love story only God could conceive! 336 pages, softcover from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pearl in the Sand
Review 1 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MARVELOUS.

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evocative, masterfully-written, riveting, Tessa Afshar strings together words in a debut that will knock the wind out of readers with its sheer beauty. Many have most likely said this and it's true: Pearl in the Sand is a rare pearl in its genre. The depths to which this story isn't afraid to go is astonishing. Piercing through the thick walls of Jericho and crossing over the river to Israel's camp, Afshar turns the spotlight on a masterful contrast between inhumanity and humanity, leaving me flipping pages as though they were on fire. Then she goes even deeper. 'Pearl', in my eyes, is like baptism. Characters are immersed into a thickness of sorrow so great, it's almost too much to bear, until Grace yanks them out of nowhere, bringing people that are gasping for air, into a light that can only be divine. Afshar has accomplished something very few authors are able to do. Not only could I not stop reading this book but the message at its foundation - a message on trusting God - tugged at my heart with a magnetic intensity that sprung tears to my eyes. I cried, to be honest, and it's been a while since I've cried in a story. I cried as I noticed that Rahab's insecurities and fears starkly mirrored some of my own. I ached as I watched her take baby steps toward The God of the universe and most of all I understood, oh did I understand, her longing, thirst and hunger for the One True God. For all the differences in our backgrounds, she's proven to be the most relatable heroine I've encountered so far. Wholly trusting God is one of my big aims, and several times have I felt Him speak to me on this. Tessa's work has provided a good dose of His Word. When a book rises above its pairs to a level where the strength of the anointing is enough to bring you to your knees, that is superior storytelling, a testimony to the prayers that have most likely been poured into this work.
On a light note, I was surprised to find witty and very amusing quips in Pearl in the Sand. Tessa made me laugh and grin which immensely added to my delight. I also empathized with Salmone as he struggled to adjust with God's will. I found Salmone to be an amazing man, really. He's got an ironclad exterior but on the inside, he is as smooth and as soft as melted butter. His heart genuinely touched my own heart. Rahab, Salmone, Joshua, Miriam, Ezra and Hanini from Pearl in the Sand are some of the very best characters living in the Christian Fiction world and moreover, Rahab and Salmone's romance is authentically one of the most richly drawn romances I have ever read. Among the beautiful love scenes, one of them was so special, it sprung even more tears to my eyes and I've reread it several times now.
I have heard - and I agree!- that this book is comparable to Francine Rivers' Redeeming Love. But make no mistake, Pearl in the Sand is a gem of its own kind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
living4Christ
Location:Canada, Quebec
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I loved this Book! It was an engaing retelling of the story of Rahab. This story explains how Rahad saved the lives of her family and the spies but it tells what happended when she joined the Isaralites. The romance was beautiful and Tessa Afshar made me feel as if I was transported back in time and I experienced every emotion, fear and joy right along with Rahab. I could not put this book down!Everyone one needs to read this book it brings Rahab to life and allows you see into the heart of a woman that was changed by the amazing love of God. Can't wait for her next novel!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Rahab retelling I really enjoyed!

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pearl in the Sand will take you back in time to just before the Israelites conquered Jericho.
I really enjoyed this one! Miss Afshar did a fantastic job sticking to the Biblical account and still representing plausible personalities for Rahab and Salmone. Staying as true as one can to the Bible always earns points with me.
Rahab is presented, at first, as someone whose lost herself. She doesn't believe in her people's gods, her father has sold her into prostitution, and she just feels hopeless... Until she hears about Israel's victories and their one God. A curiosity stirs within her as she seeks out their God... and finds peace.
Salmone is a man struggling with his pride. He knows what the right thing is but he's growing sick of doing it "God's way". So you can imagine his reaction when Joshua said Rahab and her family would be joining the tribe of Judah. Thankfully, he grows and improves his attitude.
I found this book very enjoyable, despite a few things that can't be avoided. I appreciate Miss Afshar keeping details to a minimum when it came to Rahab's profession before the fall of Jericho.
I traded a book for this one, no review required.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pearl in the Sand

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Biblical fiction gives greater insight into Biblical characters, makes them real, and then after the book is over, sends me back to my Bible to re-read the story afresh. Pearl is the Sand is great Biblical fiction, combining biblical and archeological facts together with a dose of literary license to form a story that I couldn't put down. The lessons Rahab learns about forgiveness - of self and others, God's mercy & justice, and faith are applicable to anyone. Many of the secondary characters were also fleshed out and felt real, too, with lessons in their own journeys of faith. There were fun moments scattered throughout the story as well, including "the lower cough" which made me laugh so hard I had to read that section to my Hubby. I have Tessa's next book waiting on Mt. TBR, and I can't wait to begin reading it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much better than expected - a book with real depth

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
praise139
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I downloaded an audio version of this book from Audible and wasn't expecting much, but within a few minutes of listening to it, I realized that I was in for a pleasant surprise. The author takes the lessons that she gleaned from Rahab's life to give us a deep, spiritually uplifting and challenging book that deals with some of the harder issues of the Biblical account. I was frankly blessed by the book. I also appreciated that the author didn't go into very much detail in the romantically intimate moments. I find this hard to swallow in a Christian book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will read again and again

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pearl in the Sand is a story that makes you think. Rahab's story could have been exactly what Afshar has written. I hope that it was because it is a beautiful story.
Sometimes Biblical Historical Fiction leaves me confused about what is true and what is not even close to true. Afshar has mastered the art of telling a Biblical story that engages the reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captivating biblical fiction

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you enjoy biblical fiction as much as I do, you are going to want to get a copy of Pearl In The Sand by Tessa Afshar.
This book is the story of Rahab, best known for her scandalous reputation as a prostitute. Very little is actually known about Rahab but I really like the way the author took liberties with this story and created such an interesting account. Her suggestions as to how and why Rahab possibly ended up working as a zonah made perfect sense to me. Tessa stayed very true to the culture and customs of the time period which made the story completely believable. I also appreciate that she included some explanations and definitions at the beginning of the book; I had no idea there were two types of prostitutes during this biblical time period.
Although I knew from scripture that Rahab married at some point and had a son, I never really stopped to think about her love story. This story is the ultimate example of God’s grace, forgiveness and restoration. This book captivated me and held my interest all the way through – I highly recommend it!
Thank you to Moody Publishers for sending me a copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ultimately Inspiring After A Slow Start

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tessa Afshar offers an in-depth portrayal of Rahab's life and her eventual marriage to Salmone. Though Rahab is the primary focus of the novel, Afshar also delves into Salmone's emotions and struggles in his relationship with Rahab. The plot is accented with its share of danger as Israel enters battles in its rise to power. It is undeniable that Rahab's story is inspiring and emotional. Despite her new faith, Rahab goes against her nation of Canaan to support Israel. After she and her family join Israel and face prejudice because of their nationality, Rahab shows her strength of character and faith.
The first half of the story moved a bit slowly for me, and I struggled to remain interested. Although I sympathized with Rahab's plight and admired the growth of her faith, as a reader I felt like an outside observer. The plot progressed more quickly following Rahab's and Salmone's marriage. Afshar described the emotional turbulence of their relationship with realism and depth. As a result, I found the last portion of the book to be the most poignant, particularly the symbolism Afshar created with the pearl in the sand. The title ties in beautifully with Rahab's story and is touching note for the final pages.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley, courtesy of Moody Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reading Diva
Location:Philadelphia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually dont write reviews. But this book far exceeded my expectations. This is a must read!!! This book truly blessed my soul.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book in God's love and grace

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean Munson
Location:Kensington, Connecticut
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is well written, and the author Tesa, has looked into the background of the people in that period with such insight and accuracy It gave me a greater understanding of Rahab. I think when we read in the Bible "Rahab the Harlot" we just think of her as a harlot. But, back in those times she had to sacrifice her life for her family by becoming a harlot. BUT, God had a plan, a much bigger plan for her... As Tesa says, this book doesn't replace the Bible. So don't stop reading the Bible, but after you read her book, it just enhances the story of Rahab even more. It comes alive. I look at Rahab much differently now. God's love and redemption is so great. Oh how He loves you and me. It is shown so much through-out this book. This is a must read. Tesa is a great author and I can't wait until her next book comes out. She keeps to the Bible all the way through, but brings out a great love story between God, man, and women. I would recommend this book to everyone, even the men in your lives. My husband is reading it now, and says it's an excellent book. Jean from Connecticut.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Many words are not needed . .

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
God inspired Romantic
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To discribe this classic, like someone else already said before me. Loved it, could'nt put down the book. The characters felt real. This book goes deep into the meaning of the love our God has for us . .wow on so many levels!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!!

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bregabe
Location:Woodland Park, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is WOW, WOW, WOW. What an amazing love story. Not only between a husband and his wife, but a portrayal of how incredibly much God loves us, even in our sin. If you've ever struggled with your past sexual sins and your intimate relationship with your husband, this is a MUST READ!! Thank you Tessa!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Heartwarming Story of Rahab

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
Rahab grew up in Jericho with her family. Needing money to provide for his family, her father sold her into prostitution at the age of 15. This started her wealthy life as a harlot, resulting in her owning an Inn inside the walls of Jericho to accommodate her business. When 2 Israelite spies came into the city Rahab rescues them and invites them to her Inn, hiding them from the soldiers who came to her door looking for them. In exchange for helping them escape, the spies promised Rahab safety for herself and her family when Israel attacks by dropping a red rope from her window. Israel would pass over her Inn during the attack on Jericho.
As the story unfolds, Rahab and her family are not well accepted by the Israelites in the beginning, causing her a lot of hurt and disappointment. And then there is Salmone. He seems to always intimidate Rahab, making her feel she is not good enough for his people. Slowly, things begin to change between the two of them, and finally they were married. But this only caused more problems because of Rehab’s past life style. Salmone didn’t want the subject of her past life to ever be discussed between them, and Rahab knows that her past is a part of her, and they need to deal with it as a couple.
Will Rahab be able to deal with her past, leaving it in God’s hands? Can Salmone forgive her for her life as a harlot, and make their marriage one that honors God?
Wow, I can’t believe I didn’t find this book before now. I love reading about Rahab, because most people like to talk about her being a harlot, but never about her change of heart and following God. Rahab knew more than anyone what she did was sin. It’s so sad that her father sold her into prostitution when she was young. But the amazing part is, when God saved Rahab, and her life changed completely. Though God had forgiven her, she struggled with putting her past behind her and forgiving herself. I loved how Salmone help her in doing this in the story. And his marriage proposal was so very sweet. I just sit and cried!
Now, when I read about the battle of Jericho, I will always think of Rahab, and how she saved the lives of the 2 slaves, and how she and her family’s lives were saved by the red rope hanging from her window. A picture of how we are saved because God sees His son hanging on the cross for my sins.
With most of the characters, it took me a while to get to know them. I read this book much slower than I usually read, I kept going back and reading parts over and over to really get everything out of the story. As I slowly begin to know the characters, it gave me a feel of what went on those years so long ago. Even though this is fiction, as I read the battle of Jericho in the Bible, I try to put faces with the names, and realize even more how they were real people in a real time in history. I learn so much from reading this book. So many things I hadn’t thought about before. And I stress again….THIS IS a Fiction Book, but since I am no writer, it’s a blessing for me to read Tessa’s story of Rahab, putting her in a real life situation. It gave me a glimpse of what her life was like.
I think anyone would benefit from this book, even you guys. It is very well worth the read! And a very big Thanks for Moody Publishers for providing me a complimentary copy of this book to read for review. I was not obligated to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ! CLASSIC!

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Evangheline
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last night I sighed contentedly as I flipped the last page of Pearl in the Sand. A smile was etched on my face even though it was two o’clock in the morning. Indeed I was and still am beyond content. It has been a long time since I have read a book that wowed me with its beginning; it chained me throughout it, and then liberated my very soul with its beautiful ending.
Pearl in the Sand is a story about Rahab as it has never been told before. It makes you really think about what you might not have thought of before. For example, as a Christian you have to wonder if I or any other young lady with that kind of a past walked into our church… would she be accepted? Not only this, but if you came to God after having such a life, would you accept yourself? This story tackles the redemptive power of God and how when He changes one person, He changes many.
Tessa Afshar in writing this story wrote a master piece that I would liken to Francine Rivers Mark of the Lion series, even Quo Vadis (books I could read over and over again and never get tired of). She has put humor in just the right places, the dialogue comes alive and I often found myself laughing aloud at Rahab’s cleverness. When Salmone walked into the stage of this story Tessa delivered a wide range of emotions expertly turning an already emotionally packed story into an explosive Romeo and Juliet… did I say that? Well I take it back it was better then that!
My words simply cannot do this story justice. It makes you really makes you think. Do you have a horribly stained past? An unforgivable past? So did Rahab. Yet Tessa shows us how the unredeemable become redeemed by an infinitely wonderful God. Have you built up walls around yourself that are impenetrable? So did Rahab and this is a story of how those lofty, impenetrable walls come crashing down.
What you reach what some have come to call “the scene” and you finally understand why the book is called what it is called-I will not exaggerate-you will be left breathless. You won’t for get this book and you will never think of Rahab in the same light as before. Most importantly, if you have ever fallen, if you have ever failed, if you have ever given yourself to temptation and thought you were lost forever…then Pearl in the Sand is a must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Tale of God's Worth in Us

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Pearl in the Sand - Tessa Afshar - September 2010
One of my favourite things about being a Christian and having access to a bible is learning all the stories about all the wonderful christian women , who though they went through hard times -they eventually by following God's will , though it was extremely hard circumstances for most of them - God eventually provided for them , which makes them top Christian Godly women.
Last year, I read and reviewed a book called Chosen by Ginger Garrett , which told the story of Queen Esther and today's book Pearl in the Sand is similar whereas this one tells us the story of Rahab. Reading these books about what they went through , and it wasn't just the women as well - we had David, Joseph, Jacob and Moses and of course Abel which didn't end well at all. In some ways, Im glad being a Christian where I live isn't as hard as what they went through all those centuries and thousands of years ago. In Pearl in the Sand , it tells the story of Rahab's family during a drought and all the family are at their ends meet in trying to provide, families have sacrificed children tp get their blessings from the Gods ( their Idols) and as we all know that they are false gods, nothing happened. We see Rahab sold into prostitution by her parents for money to survive and we read the trials that Rahab went through, it breaks my heart to see parents selling their children off like this. As the story goes on , we see Rahab's heart hardening as she learns to mistrust all men and eventually drive herself to having low- self esteem and hating herself. Into the emotional turmoil of her world walks Salmone, a respected leader of Judah. Through the tribulations of a stormy relationship, Rahab and Salmone learn the true source of one another's worth in God and find healing from fear and rejection. This is where Rahab will discover that there is really only one God and through him all things are possible and through christ who strengthens, she can do anything. Will Salmone with God's help teach Rahab that she is worthy and teach her that it is alright to trust men and heal her wounded past ?
Find out in a Pearl in the Sand - a lovely and wonderful story that teaches readers, that no matter what we think of ourselves or how little we think of ourselves - To God we are like that Pearl in the Sand , an amazing and wonderful godly women who stands out from the rest as being special and unique.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings History Alive!

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! This is a fantastic book. I've shied away from Biblical histories in the past, afraid they would be too textbook-ish. This novel couldn't be further from that description!
"Pearl in the Sand" is, of course, fictional. These events happened so long ago very few facts are available. Yet Tessa takes what little truth is known and weaves it into an entirely believable fiction. Because Rahab was a prostitute and yet turns her life over to the Hebrew God, acknowledging Him as THE God, certain things about her personality can be construed. Tessa gives Rahab a set of emotional baggage that the reader accepts as logical for a woman in her circumstances.
Another thing I truly enjoyed about this novel was Rahab's seemingly bipolar beliefs about God. She has complete and utter faith in Him as The Lord and yet is unable to see that He could forgive her past or that He would think that she has value. Rahab, through the pen of Tessa Afshar, thinks God "seems at once impossibly holy and ridiculously merciful." What an apt description! We mere humans can't figure out how God can be both, because for the most part we are incapable of both at the same time. Rahab also has a refreshing way of looking at how to serve the Lord.
Because this novel is set during the early days of Israel, the people are more "religious" than we are accustomed to being. Yet everyone talking constantly about God and the need to pray and listen for His word doesn't seem the least bit preachy. It's appropriate for the context while at the same time these devout believers still struggle with pride, jealousy, and being judgmental. How very like modern Christians!
This novel is a historical fiction yet relevant to life as a Christian today. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Biblical history or if you just like a good love story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Saskatchewan Mum
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Read...Probably the best book on a biblical character I have ever read. Comparable to Francine Rivers Lineage of Grace story about Rahab, but more more in depth. Would recommend to all my friends!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pearl In The Sand

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adrienne
Location:U.S.A
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book, a novel based on biblical characters. I usually avoid reading fictional books based on real people because I am afraid to take away misconceptions, but this book was an exception. I was mainly interested in reading Pearl in the Sand because I had not know that Rahab was an ancestor of Christ. I figured that I would read and be diligent on separating fact with fiction. The more I read, the more I became impressed with Tessa Afshar's work. The task must have been monumental to write something with so little record, and I have to say that I enjoyed the novel. It was a fun read that gave me much to ponder though most of it was made up. I recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessa Afshar takes a little-known biblical heroine and gives her life dimension in a spiritual and emotional capacity I have yet to see from many authors. From the first reports about the God of Israel, Rahab reaches out in her heart to trust Him and He proves Himself repeatedly. In the heart of a woman who carries such shame and guilt, He reaches deeply inside to heal and help her to trust. There is a striking identification between Rahab and many women today. How many of us have not called out in pain and shame, and yet this is a beautiful reminder of the God who hears and acts out of His very nature...Love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pearl in the Sand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely enjoyable read

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
sweetie
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book by Ms. Afshar. Her historical fiction writing is similar to Francine Rivers and is extremely believeable. We often forget the people in the Bible were just that - people - everyday, common, ordinary people like us today, living their lives and trying to hear God to know which way to go. Ms. Afshar shows us how God's redeeming love will always be available when we least expected it - be sure to listen for it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>