Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy

WaterBrook Press Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy

If God loves us, why is life so painful? Exploring the biblical account of Naomi, Crabb explains how God longs to awaken his children to the dream beneath the rubble of tragedy---changing lives for good and forever. Ideal for small groups, this edition includes a workbook to help you dig deeper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Review 1 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soul Revolution

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
NannieP
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book addresses the hard questions and the hard times and does not mask it with Chistian platitudes. It is revolutionizing my desire for God and I hope my daily walk as His child living in this broken world with the certain hope of heaven where we will no longer be broken!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read Book

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherry Cowell
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only people who do NOT need to read this book are the ones WITHOUT Shattered Dreams. A real paradigm shifter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
go with the Flo
Location:Fresno, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It hits the spot and delivers 'why' we sometimes have "Shattered Dreams"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Severe Companion

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
IWSDReviewer
Location:Haverhill, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes courage, and a rather other-worldly conviction, to write a book that’s not a self-contained experience of satisfaction. This book, in focusing on the gift of shattered dreams, is like a spiritual leaf-blower, blasting away all that covers your true grounding in God, and like a leaf-blower, it also kicks up a lot of other things, like worms and rot in the soul. But it unearths more than it answers, and leaves your soul, and your story, open-ended, ready for a fresh, deeply personal encounter of God. The outstanding workbook accompanying this edition insistently fosters these encounters. Like a good spiritual director, the book is careful to stay out of the way of becoming more of a resource to you than God’s living presence.
When I finished the last chapter, at first I felt disappointed, and maybe a little cheated, having secretly hoped, after pages and pages of pent up anticipation, for a neat and tidy conclusion. But after a couple of days of turning to the living God, God spoke, as only God can do, to my unique soul. God gave me an image for an anchoring hope in Him that was not articulated as such in the book, but which I was made ready to receive because of the book. And now, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Now I’m glorifying God, not Larry Crabb, and I’m grateful to Crabb as a brother on the journey.
Working through this book is an eminently worthwhile experience I would recommend to anyone desiring deeper fellowship with and purer hope in God. When I say ‘working’, however, I’m not kidding–this book requires spiritual labor. But it’s good work if you can get it. -
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group, in exchange for writing an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight in looking past our Shattered Dreams

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wade Wood
Location:Plattsburgh, New York
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is of interest for two reasons:
1. The author Larry Crabb. I have read other books of his while pursuing my Master of Divinity in Pastoral counseling, and
2. I am going through a time period that looks like dreams are being shattered.
In the introduction Dr. Crabb enlightens the reader with a biblical truth. "***There's never a moment in all our lives, from the day we trusted Christ till the day we see Him, when God is not longing to bless us.***"-(Crabb, 2010) So many times we as Christians have our dreams smashed and shattered. Whether it is a career, finding we have a terminal disease or the ending of a marriage, we all have dreams that are shattered at some point in our life. In the book ***Shattered Dreams***, Dr. Crabb dares to address the issue that is not addressed by a lot of pastors today. He take a look at or dreams and asks the tough questions like:
1. Is our dream really a desire or is it an addiction?
2. Is there hidden hope?
3. What is going on when both shoes drop?
The book makes the reader look beyond the pain of the shattered dream to the hope that is within it. In doing so we realize the God has really not abandoned us, rather he is working in and through us to achieve the ultimate dream. This is the closer relationship with our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. When we look at our list of Dreams we need to keep Christ at the top, even throught he pain of the tough areas of our lives. In doing so we are going to find a new way to live. This will lead us on a new journey of joy. Shattered Dreams has shown that living out our dreams is not alway the best way to live out God's plan for our lives. In our self oriented lives we need to put God in the driver seat and let him lead. Larry Crabb has written a well thought out plan to accomplish this goal.
**(I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.)**
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deep and honest look at pain and dissapointment

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Shattered Dreams by Larry Crabb is apparently not a new book, but a re-release of a tenth anniversary edition. I hadn't heard of it before receiving it from Waterbrook Multinomah in exchange for reviewing it, but I find myself wishing I would have found it 10 years ago!
I've read quite a few books over the years on various hurts and basically, most of them boil down to "move on, let go, and get over it". Shattered Dreams surprised me by not taking this approach at all.
Instead, the book looks at the purpose of suffering, and why we have dreams shatter, focusing on what is achieved in the process of pain rather than on minimizing discomfort.
It follows the story of Naomi from the Bible, through the losing of her sons and husband and her resulting pain and sorrow. The story comes in bits, with large breaks to discuss what is going on and the point of that result in her life and ours.
I think the thing I found that hit my heart the most of the book was that it really gets honest. Not much of the standard Christian sugarcoating. Crabb admits that while our longings and cravings are ways to fill in areas where God is meant to fill, that we will never see them entirely fulfilled this side of heaven. But then he continues on... to show that the purpose of shattered dreams and unfulfilled longings is to loosen our grip on ourselves until we are truly able to have our longing to experience God overshadow even the desire to feel better.
It's very nice to have a book that doesn't pretend that it's a simple matter to just love Jesus more and focus on him more and suddenly everything in life gets better, dreams get fixed, longings get met, and everything is happily ever after if only you were just a better Christian and closer to God. Instead it addresses the reality that many times when it feels the darkest and you most look for and seek the feeling of his presence, its in these times when he can often feel furthest away until you could wonder if He's there at all.
This version also contains an 8 week workbook at the end, which I skipped initially figuring that I'd be through it in much faster time. I'd advise using it... as I quickly discovered that although the language is clear and easy to read, the content is deep, and it's not a book that you just rush through and move on, but more a book that you step through and process.
Honestly, I'll admit that even with re-reading parts, I don't think I "get it" entirely in all of the areas. But it will definitely be in the re-read stack to go for another round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shattered Dreams: God's Unexpected Path to Joy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Find deeper joy.

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shattered Dreams, God’s Unexpected Path to Joy, by Larry Crabb, issues a call to look beyond the trials of life to find the deeper blessings that God has in store for us. The message of this book is that the only way we can find true fulfillment and joy in the Lord is through pain and loss. Those who have peaceful, contented lives have no reason to seek a deeper relationship with God. Yet, through suffering, we are called to look beyond ourselves, to evaluate what is truly important, and to encounter God.
This was a compelling, yet tough book to read. The author doesn’t shy away from the tough questions of life. He says, “Sometimes God seems like the least responsive friend I have…relating personally with a God who is less responsive than friends with far fewer resources is difficult.” I have felt that way at times—yet, I am hesitant to express those sentiments to others.
Shattered Dreams doesn’t offer any easy answers—in fact, it emphasizes that God may never take away our trials and suffering and that we may have a long difficult wait before we encounter God. Regardless, the reward of perseverance is a fuller joy in the Lord.
I didn’t find this book as hopeful and uplifting as I would have liked. Regardless, I think it does contain a lot of truth and could be helpful reading for anyone willing to address the “difficult questions” of life. It includes an 8 week group discussion guide and would be a good group study.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.