Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)

Quality. When it comes to a truly premium binding, you'll smell the quality leather right when you open the box. You'll see it grain so unique as to make each Bible a "one-of-a-kind" piece. Mostly you'll feel it when you reach in and pull out a brand new Bible that feels so soft and supple you'll feel as though you've been using it for years. You'll know right away, this is a keeper.

That's how it is with this gorgeous Classic Thinline Edition of the English Standard Version. Bound in the finest quality burgundy calfskin leather, this Bible will provide you with years of dependable service.

Features include:
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Double-column format
  • Section headings
  • Paragraph format
  • 8-point text
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Concordance
  • 8 Pages of color maps
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.00" x 6.00" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Review 1 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't Beat the Quality

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hunter
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Father's Day gift from my wife and son- which makes it that much sweeter. This is a very high quality binding AND paper. I have another Thinline (same layout, page numbers, etc.) and laid them open side by side on the same page and this has a considerable amount of less “bleed-through” (print from the backside of the paper) than the other. Premium Calfskin bibles are hard to come by from an affordable standpoint. This has to rank among the top from quality to affordability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Leather, and Easy to Read

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ktbelle03
Location:Columbus, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been searching for a new Bible as a wedding gift to request. I had been using a big leather study Bible in the NASB, and loved it. I just wanted something smaller and easy to travel with and more feasible for using regularly. I searched and searched in stores and online to decide which one. My dad has a buffalo hide Bible that's lasted like 40 years, and I wanted one to last that long too. I found this one and loved the price for the value of the leather!
The other thing I was thinking about was changing translations when I got my new Bible. I already have the NASB, so I wanted something a little different, yet wanted to still feel comfortable with a very literal translation. This version came highly recommended from others I spoke with, so I took a leap of faith that I'd enjoy this translation. I haven't done much comparing it to others, but when I sit down to read, it is so easy to read and I can just spend so much time reading chapters and then going back to get more out of the same chapter. The version is great!
The translation is great and easy to read while not losing the literal translation. The leather and appearance of the Bible is also amazing. As soon as I took it out of the box, I was so excited. The leather feels so soft, and the book just unfolds and lays flat, and it seems to be bound very well. I didn't have it imprinted, but I plan to do that soon.
All in all, a great purchase! Thank you!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely bible

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
marsha
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful but the stitching is already coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
reader
Location:wpg
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The leather cover will last for a long time. I love the size of the bible as it can easily be carried in a purse or bag. The way the text is put into 2 columns on each page makes reading easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful, Great Bible, but small print

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have become attached to the ESV. This Bible is perfect in every way; soft cover (with a wonderful smell of 'real' leather), beautiful paper, maps are sufficient. However, my only complaint is that it does not come with larger print except in the mammoth study Bible that is far too much of a book to carry.
I use this Bible for my personal reading and preaching.
If Bible came one size larger with a larger print font (excluding the study series), it would be PERFECT.
I've learned to live with small print and I still love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SOFT!

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CBD had the best price on this bible. The leather was quite soft, looked like it belonged on a 150 dollar bible! The pages and inside looked like they were out of a 10 dollar bible. I would have liked a second ribbon. I wish I could rate it 3.7 but I had to pick between 3 and 4.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Darn near perfect...

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
lakesideww
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would've liked TWO ribbon markers- otherwise it's perfect...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jason
Location:Shawnee, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three of the Signature Series from Nelson with Calfskin biding and I love them so when I began to use the ESV I wanted a Bible of equal quality. When I found the ESV Calfskin Cordovan it is similarly priced to the NKJVs I have and so I picked it up. I am highly impressed with the leather and the part of the cover that it handsown is just beautiful. The pages like all Bible pages are thin but they do not feel cheap like I would be afraid one would tear from use. The print size is great and the print is extremely clear. The red letters are almost a bit pinkish but it makes it very easy to read and see so no real complaints. The ESV translation is quickly becoming my favorite. There are many who like and recommend it. While one could make arguments I have yet to see a perfect literal word for word translation thats readable so this is wonderful. Anyone involved in serious Bible study should consult multiple english translations as well as do some Greek or Hebrew word studies to boot. So overall I love the translation and would highly recommend this edition to anyone who really wants a high quality Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaaa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soft leather, great print, easy read. The unique design of the leather gives each Bible its own characteristics. The print is easy to read and the ESV version is phenomenal for both study and reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soft top quality leather

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Palm Harbor, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is an excellent value. The wonderful smell of soft
calfskin leather makes it a joy to hold in your hands. The
print is dark and easy to read and I am happy to see the
words of Christ in red. Its a great portable size as well. If
I had any complaint at all, it would be that there are no
book introductions, but overall, I am very, very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve Janz
Nicest Bible I've ever owned. The leather is magnificent and feels so good right out of the box (like no Bible I've ever owned - including any "genuine leather" Bible... the leather is exceedingly soft and feels like it's undergone years of "breaking in"). This Book is my main tool as a pastor, and spending a few extra dollars on a Bible that's attractive and super nice to use, is totally worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nick Wilson
Great Bible. The translation is good, and the binding is really good. The leather is soft, and is seems to be very good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joe Morfei
This bible is as advertised. It is of high quality, is neatly stiched and is easy to read. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike Bayer
This is by far the most supple feeling Bible I have ever owned. The reason that the leather cover seems wrinkled (as one reviewer mentioned) is that each cover takes on the characteristic of that particular cut of calfskin. I find this distinctive and desirable. It is a little thicker than most thin line Bibles and is set in paragraph style rather than verse style. I like the paragraph style for my daily reading and verse for study. I also own the Single Column Reference Edition in premium calfskin/black--another great binding but not as supple as the thinline. The the yapp is not excessive which I like and the Bible lays flat when you open it--no matter what page you turn to. This has become my most-read Bible and the one I take with me everywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bruce Wolz
I was disappointed in the leather cover. It seemed to have many defects, like large wrinkles that were not in any of the photos. The quality control department must have liberal standards.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carol Sorli
I have a lot of Bibles. I have been collecting Bibles since 1979. I love the ESV version. This Bible is the most beautiful Bible I own. The leather is so soft you cannot stop touching it and the print is just beautiful. I love the stitching around the edges it gives it such a rich look. Of course the best thing is the version which has become my favorite. I would recommend this Bible to anyone who truly loves the Bible and wants one that is sure to last a lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rick
I love this Bible. I love the way it feels, smells, and most importantly reads. Truly the best formal equivalence text out there...and it looks and feels great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carol Sorli
I just got this recently, and this edition is simply monumental. The Leather is extremely soft and bound wonderfully. The print is very nice as well. And last but certainly not least, its and ESV. Way to go Crossway, great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.