Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)

Quality. When it comes to a truly premium binding, you'll smell the quality leather right when you open the box. You'll see it grain so unique as to make each Bible a "one-of-a-kind" piece. Mostly you'll feel it when you reach in and pull out a brand new Bible that feels so soft and supple you'll feel as though you've been using it for years. You'll know right away, this is a keeper.

That's how it is with this gorgeous Classic Thinline Edition of the English Standard Version. Bound in the finest quality burgundy calfskin leather, this Bible will provide you with years of dependable service.

Features include:
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Double-column format
  • Section headings
  • Paragraph format
  • 8-point text
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Concordance
  • 8 Pages of color maps
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.00" x 6.00" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
41 out of 4298%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Review 1 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Leather, and Easy to Read

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ktbelle03
Location:Columbus, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been searching for a new Bible as a wedding gift to request. I had been using a big leather study Bible in the NASB, and loved it. I just wanted something smaller and easy to travel with and more feasible for using regularly. I searched and searched in stores and online to decide which one. My dad has a buffalo hide Bible that's lasted like 40 years, and I wanted one to last that long too. I found this one and loved the price for the value of the leather!
The other thing I was thinking about was changing translations when I got my new Bible. I already have the NASB, so I wanted something a little different, yet wanted to still feel comfortable with a very literal translation. This version came highly recommended from others I spoke with, so I took a leap of faith that I'd enjoy this translation. I haven't done much comparing it to others, but when I sit down to read, it is so easy to read and I can just spend so much time reading chapters and then going back to get more out of the same chapter. The version is great!
The translation is great and easy to read while not losing the literal translation. The leather and appearance of the Bible is also amazing. As soon as I took it out of the box, I was so excited. The leather feels so soft, and the book just unfolds and lays flat, and it seems to be bound very well. I didn't have it imprinted, but I plan to do that soon.
All in all, a great purchase! Thank you!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent gift

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
William
Location:Maine USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this as a baptism present and it was wonderful. Just what I looked for and delivery was speedy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
JSterling
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really nice Bible; great translation, the leather is nice, smith-sewn binding is real nice, I like the size. I'm very pleased with my new Thinline. Thanks CB I was very pleased with my shopping expierence!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
blak
Location:TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Bible for my third grade students at church. It is a red letter edition which helps them identify when Jesus is speaking. Look very nice, especially with the engraving.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful leather Bible! Nice engraving!

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son, as the other Bibles he had kept falling apart. It is a beautiful leather Bible, and very thin, so he can carry it with him to class, etc without a lot of bulk.
The engraving came out exceptionally nice--I would highly recommend as it was inexpensive to do, and it really adds a personal touch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
justme
Location:Peoria, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my son. He wanted one to be able to take daily to college classes without the bulk of the main bible he uses. He loves it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great size

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:Seattle, WA.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd purchase of this bible. The first 2 were purchased last year for myself and my wife. We have enjoyed using it and have now purchased one for my son. The font size is large considering the limited space making it a comfortable read. I think it is a great value considering the quality and the purchase price. We have enjoyed the ESV version as it clear, concise and accurate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what we were after

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikesopinion
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I are very happy with this purchase. The translation is easy to read and understand, the size and font are very nice, and buying from CBD is always a treat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but smaller than I was hoping

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This 'thinline' bible is smaller than I was hoping...I would like to have had a 9pt type, but all in all it is an ok size and the ESV is a solid translation!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Replacement for stolen Bible

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My tried and true travel Bible was stolen a couple of month ago. I had been thinking about purchasing an ESV Bible as a compliment to the other versions I have, so when I absolutely needed a new travel Bible the version was an easy choice.
I have been very happy with the new Bible. The size is perfect for traveling, the print is not too small to read and the ESV is a very good translation.
The physical quality of the Bible is very good. The pages are very sturdy and spine is well constructed. The leather covering is good but not the best.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product. I like it.

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:Boston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The font is clear and I really appreciate how thin it is. However, the cover is stiffer than I anticipated and the binding, although solid, does not lay flat as well as I would have hoped. Overall, I like it and I'm enjoying reading and continuing to learn the Word of God with it. It's a keeper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for church

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an ESV Bible to carry to church. This thinline Bible is perfect. It is lightweight and very durable for what I needed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather, Black

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JanE
Location:Cedarburg, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having purchased two others for my sons, I decided to get one for my son-in-law. Love having the ESV as an alternative version to the standard NIV 1984. Love the feel, look of this Bible, too. Any man would feel good carrying this to church. LOVE especially how CBD offers personalizing it with a name or monogram. I know the guys ALL appreciate that. I would love one for myself...perhaps another time...in a more feminine color!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
leesa
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this bible as an Easter gift, excellent quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely bible

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
marsha
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful but the stitching is already coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this Bible

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible; it is a great translation, perfect size, easy to understand, very accurate, and good durability.
I have had it since shortly after the ESV came out and have used it as one of my primary Bibles and it has held out better than other Bibles that I haven't used half as much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Greatest!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
livygirlhughs
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the greatest bible I have ever received, to start off with, there is no such thing as this bible having small print size. It must be that most of the people ordering this bible have bad eyesight. It is actually the exact same size print as my ESV study bible.
Second of all, I am very pleased with the 1 inch thick size, it makes carrying my bible around at church sssssoooooo much easier.
Third of all, it is plainly an amazing bible and easy to use. I am especially pleased with the red text for words of Jesus. I am overall extremely happy with this Bible and will continue buying my products from Christian Bookstore
Sincerely, livygirlhughs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome deal

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
shawn
Location:selinsgrove, pa.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very compact, good quality. Nice leather feel and smell, not all the clutter you get in some Bibles and the paragraph format most people like
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the Bible.

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dena
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible is great. I am a little unhappy with the name imprint on the cover. The gold is already wearing off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Classic Thinline, Premium Calfskin Cordovan (Mahogany)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Student Approved!

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Culbertson6
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a student at the Moody Bible Institute and this is MY bible. I take it everywhere. The ESV text is wonderfully accurate and yet readable. The leather binding is perfect. (It has broken in very well and is now nice and flexible.) The size is small enough for day to day use without sacrificing font size. (The font is large enough to read for long periods of time with no eye strain. Also, the small footnotes keep the reader from being distracted without being hard to read.) Overall, excellent bible for a great price. Buy it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.