Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monarch Books How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos

Monarch Books How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos

We all have bad habits we don't like to admit to, and bad choices we've made. Bill Giovanetti calls these things your "inner mess," or your sin nature. In the first half of How to Keep Your Inner Mess from Trashing Your Outside World he outlines different aspects of the "mess" and the attitudes and behaviors it creates. The second half shows you how to overcome through God's awesome power and provision.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Review 1 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Blackson
This book is life-changing for the Christian struggling to please God. I was both intrigued and enlightened. I've read many books on the subject of grace, and this is one of the clearest. Loved how the author explained the power of the Cross!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie Bohne
Great book. Written with humor, but with an important message we should all lean. Cudos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. Romans 7:15How discouraging is it to attempt in earnest to live a mature, love and peace-filled Life only to fail and fail again? Why is it so hard for us not to hurt the ones we love? How can we break free of our old habits that distance us from God and from our loved ones? Can it be done, and how? Within the pages of How to Keep your Inner Mess from Thrashing Your Outer World, author Bill Giovannetti answers these ancient questions with scripture and drama. With Biblical accuracy and an engaging style, Bill shows us that we cant live that peaceful and joyful life by our own strength or by our own efforts, but we can with Christs. It is the work of Christ within us. It is by His Spirit, His strength, and not our own, that we find the abundant life that Jesus offers.Through Inner Mess, Dr. Giovannetti shows us the den of dysfunctional characters within each of us. The vehicle for the introductions is a public-transit bus. The reader meets these rogues one-at-a-time, and gets to see the havoc they wreak on the scene, reminiscent of a family-reunion-gone-bad. The bus is in an analogy-on-wheels of the war between our inner mess (the flesh) and our new identity in Christ.The story is not told all-at-once, but rather is told in immersive snapshots, usually ending in cliffhangers that keep the reader eagerly engaged in the book. Between episodes of the fictional story line, the author illustrates Biblical truths, gives practical advice, and asks probing questions to help the reader sort out their own miscreants and to teach the reader if we let Christ on our bus, well find that His Grace is sufficient.I read and enjoyed this book. I can now better recognize and understand my own unruly passengers. Though its not by my own strength but Christs, Im in far better control of my own bus, and my belligerent gang of hoodlums behaves much better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Birkland
This book is wonderful. Pastor Bill uses words and imagery that bring seemingly lofty Biblical principles down to everyday terms. I bought three additional books to share and will probably be buying a few more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anne
Ever feel like you're surrounded by a rowdy, unruly crowd even when you're alone? Do you sometimes feel as if you've stepped into the Twilight Zone and turned into someone you don't recognize? Who ARE these people and who are YOU when you're not yourself? Meet your Inner Mess! Let Bill Giovanetti take you on a wild and whacky bus ride with a cast of characters who may reside much closer than you think. Get to know your Inner Brat, Control Freak and others. Discover what brings them to life and, more importantly, learn to bring them under control so that you can live in harmony with yourself and others. Hop aboard and take a suspenseful and enlightening ride with people most of us would not willingly choose as our seatmates. Your family and friends are already acquainted with these people. Isn't it about time you get to know them, too?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen
This is a must read book! Bill Giovannetti is a gifted teacher and knows how to minister to my heart and mind so clearly using God's Word. He encourages me in my Christian walk and can do the same for you. I highly recommend this book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
cheri
I highly recommend this book to everyone! Finally a book that not only helps identify our hidden "inner mess" but also gives the solution in how to deal with it. This book is a scholarly work on how to practically apply the grace of God in order to live out our daily lives in freedom and love. I found this book transforming and one that I will refer to often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How To Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World: Creating Peace From Your Inner Chaos
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bob
I loved this book! It's a field guide to Christian maturity. It helps you understand your own foibles, and gives you very practical tools to use in overcoming them. It gives you a grace-filled perspective on human nature: one that will help you come to terms with your past, and will give you empathy for your closest friends. Our small group is studying it over the next 2 months. Thank you Bill!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.