Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monarch Books Genoa Bay

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Monarch Books Genoa Bay

After her husband's death, Brandy Beauchamp and her 5-year-old daughter, Gabby, look forward to building a new life on Vancouver Island. Brandy is eager to restore a long-established bed-and-breakfast---only to discover that a property developer has different plans. Will she be able to overcome treachery, adversity, and misfortune to achieve her dream? 320 pages, softcover from Kregel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Genoa Bay
Review 1 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
This story opens with a young widow, trying to find her place in life for her daughter and herself, when she gets bad news that her foster mother suffered a stroke. Following her foster mothers death, she finds herself the owner of a unique house with a boat inside it on a marina. When she decides to take the plunge and fix it up, she discovers many roadblocks in her way. Brandy is learning one step at a time to trust God and live by faith, but there are so many twists and turns along the way! You will fall in love with Brandy and her daughter. You will see how one woman's kindness (Maggie) turned a young runaway's life (Brandy's) into something useful and she then turned around and spread that care to others.My only complaint about this book was it was not long enough! I wanted a bit more details there a the end...what happened with the house, did she open a B&B and all that! It was a really good story though. I loved her daughter, Gabby, and the stories that twisted through the books with the old pictures and the hint of romance for the young widow!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
R.Johnson
Genoa Bay is a heartwarming story about a woman who returns to her roots to make a fresh start after the death of her husband. Building a new life for herself and her daughter on Vancouver Island in the home left to her by the eccentric woman who raised her, Brandy faces challenges at every turn. But along with the roadblocks she runs up against, she finds new friends, including a potential love interest.Bette Nordberg is a master of description, painting colorful word pictures that bring the interesting location, characters, and action of Genoa Bay to life for the reader. She skillfully draws Brandy as a sympathetic single mother, still trying to come to terms with the loss of her husband while she attempts to discern and follow God's will for moving foreward. I appreciate that Brandy is so relatable. Because she's not perfect, we can enter fully into her struggles, making her ultimate triumph all that much more satisfying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michele Howe
Bette Nordberg always writes believable fiction. Always. Nordbergs many loyal fans will be pleased and delighted that this author has delivered the goods yet again with her newest title, Genoa Bay. Telling a story ripe with heartaches ready to be healed, Nordberg skillfully handles the internal hesitations and grievances of young widow Brandy Beauchamp. Though living on the edge of financial disaster, Brandy forges ahead and risks her future (financial and otherwise) to take over a failing bed & breakfast. As Brandy and her daughter, Gabby, adjust to life on Vancouver Island, this single mom uncovers secrets, revisits her past, and learns to make choices for today with Gods enabling grace. Touching, introspective, thoroughly engaging...kudos to Nordberg for making us believe Brandy really exists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Sprout
It's been a long wait for another novel by Bette Nordberg, but Genoa Bay proves she hasn't lost her touch. Young widow Brandy Beauchamp and her daughter try to start over in remote, beautiful island area of British Columbia. As I watched the story unfold, it was easy to get caught up in her discovery of treasures and memories she found in the broken down bed and breakfast she'd inherited. Her perseverance in rebuilding her life and the old house in the face of severe obstacles, made me want to be there to help her. Nordberg knows how to touch her readers' emotions and most importantly, seamlessly weaves in her characters spiritual journey.If you're looking for a story of hope, this is it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Aaserud
I was so pleased to hear that Bette Nordberg had written a new novel. She is my favorite Christian writer. I find her books to be thought provoking page turners. In Genoa Bay, we meet Brandy Beauchamp, a young woman who recently lost her husband, Timothy, when he was flying a jet for the US Navy. Now, life must go on for Brandy and her seven-year-old daughter, Gabby. Brandy feels that she no longer fits in with their military friends and prays for Gods direction. Then, out of the blue, comes word that Maggie, a woman whom she lived with during her teenage years, has been hospitalized and is now close to death. Brandy doesnt hesitate. She makes arrangements and flies from Florida to British Columbia, Canada.Following Maggies death, Brandy learns that she has inherited Maggies entire estate. After much thought and prayers, Brandy and Gabby move to Genoa Bay, British Columbia to live in - and run - Maggies rundown bed & breakfast. Here, mother and daughter find a new life and no shortage of challenges. I got caught up in the lives of Brandy and Gabby. My hunch is that other readers will too. My advice? Curl up in a warm chair this winter and enjoy reading how life unfolds for these compelling characters. Karen Aaserud
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gloria Penwell
I think this is one of the most touching novels Bette has written. Her characters are winsome and engaging, making me want to know more about them. Bette introduces God and faith in a gentle and non-threatening manner, and yet there's no doubt of their importance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Seals
Bette Nordberg has done it again. I've read all of her books and this is now my favorite. I thoroughly enjoyed the story about a woman struggling with being a single mom and entrepreneurship. The book has humor, mystery, sorrow and romance. But mostly the story is about encouragement and hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katy Ackerson
Genoa Bay was difficult to put down. Early on in the book, the characters had already gripped me and I had a hard time leaving the lives of Brandy, a widow from Florida with a clear call from God to start a new life on Vancouver Island, and her daughter Gabby. Nordberg's novels deal with the personal trials of ordinary Christian women. She has a knack for creating believable characters that sort through their crisis with God's guidance, but with language that is non-threatening even for readers that are not Christian. Her latest novel has multiple strands and climaxes throughout that keep the reader turning pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Genoa Bay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Hake
When I delved into Bette Nordbergs new novel, Genoa Bay, I felt like Id sat down with a close friend, whose shared confidences provided insights into my own life. Bettes writing seems personal and compelling, as if the reader is in the midst of the scene and not an outside observer. Snippets of wisdom flow naturally from her characters. Before Id read one-fourth of the book, Id been touched profoundly.The novel deals with death and choices; its about living rather than just existing. The story follows Brandy Beauchamp and her young daughter as they struggle to reconstruct their lives following her husbands death. Her past and her future intersect when she returns to Vancouver Island and property shes inherited from the woman who took her in as a troubled teen. This story, with its accompanying suspense (someone is thwarting Brandys efforts to reestablish a quality bed-and-breakfast), pulls the reader along in its current. Pack your bags (figuratively) and head for Genoa Bay, where youll travel with new friends through tough and tender times. I felt the ending concluded satisfactorily before the epilogue, but that finale does include a couple of surprising twists as you learn the future outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.