Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Dirty Girls Come Clean

Moody Publishers Dirty Girls Come Clean

Addiction to pornography is not just a man's problem---it's also a woman's battle. Sharing her own struggle with sexual addiction, Renaud helps you break the bonds of alienation and shame and experience freedom. Discover how to surrender to God, practice confession, embrace accountability, take responsibility, and share your path to healing with others. 128 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Review 1 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So very helpful and needed!

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Micki
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be more happy with the truths in this book!
It was helpful to hear of others who struggle too and who are free from this. I loved the biblical application as well as the honesty of the women.
So thankful for this author and what she is doing for so many hundreds of women around the world!
Can't recommend this book enough!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource on an often taboo subject.

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy McGraw
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been blessed to know Crystal for several years. I stumbled upon her blog and then followed her on twitter (way back in the day!) and was blessed enough to be in a lifegroup online (LGO) with her and several other amazing people. We started sharing our testimony's and Crystal's was beautiful. Even more was that her heart was to help other women who were bound by pornography. It has been a privilege to watch God work in amazing ways and for this book to become a reality.
Crystal has a passion for helping other women where she was. Dirty Girls Come Clean is a powerful tool. Using the acryomn SCARS Crystal shares how God can work in our lives to heal this addiction. Not only is Crystal's information spot on, as a counselor I found it very useful to make me think and dig deeper with my clients. At the end of each chapter Crystal offers a Becoming Clean section where steps are introduced to help you on your journey. That is what this book is. A journey toward healing.
In Dirty Girls Come Clean we not only get a very informative book we also get the added bonus of beautiful stories of redemption through the testimonies shared.
Most importantly this book is not just for those women who struggle. It is a fantastic tool for any women. This is happening much more than we think and I know we all have friends who may be secretly struggling. It is good information for all of us to know.
This book is hopefully the first step of many unveiling secrets we keep as Christians...especially those of us who are women. We are all sinners in need of Grace...and we need to stop hiding behind our lies we are okay and life is perfect. Crystal takes a giant step here and we all should follow.
Dirty Girls Come Clean is an inspirational book that reminds us our God is still a Healer and He still works in amazing ways if we just let Him. I highly recommend every single person in the church read it and have their eyes opened...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Addicted to pornography? Know someone who is?

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Syd1
Location:kansas city
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the best resource I have come across in dealing with an addiction to pornography and being a woman. There are many books out there that on the topic of pornography addiction, but all of them are focused on men, possibly with chapters mentioning the affects of this pornography addiction on their wives/families.
This is the first book I have ever seen the deals directly, and only, with women who struggle with this addiction.
Dirty Girls Come Clean gives hope to the struggling heart and confidence that we are not alone in the battle. It is well written and well thought out.
It's a short book, but quite powerful, and gives you all the tools you need to overcome pornography, no matter how long you have been addicted. There's a great anagram for remembering the steps to recovery: SCARS (Surrender, Confession, Accountability, Responsibility, Sharing). At the end of each chapter a woman shares her testimony of addiction and healing. The testimonies were especially nice because they ran the spectrum of addiction and made it easy to relate to them and their situations.
I highly recommend this resource if you, or someone you know is struggling with addiction to pornography. Crystal bases her recovery steps on the 12 step programs used in other recovery systems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT!!

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
kh11
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot. And this book is by far the best book I’ve read in a long time. Why? Because it’s incredibly real. I started reading it, and I just couldn’t stop. I had to keep going, I had to hear the truths that I needed to hear. Porn is not just a guy thing. So many girls struggle with it and are convinced that they are alone. This book shows that we are not. The truths that this book shares are gripping, and I could relate to so much of it. I read this book in 2 days, it got me that much! Crystal did a wonderful job of encouraging healing, not just “getting over it”. She gives hope freedom, and that’s so needed. I was especially moved by being forced to examine WHY and to move forward. Not only did Dirty Girls Come Clean give me hope and strength to keep going in my own personal battles, but it drew me closer to God, and thanking him for what he brought me out of. I praise God for this book and this ministry! It’s a must read for any lady that has battled a porn addiction. I know that I plan to read it through again and again!! It’s about time that this silence is broken!! Thank you Crystal!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A chance to Come Clean!

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Del Kroemer
Location:WTBY, CT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Whether you are a "dirty girl" ready to come clean or standing by the pool merely wetting your feet and debating making the dive or a woman seeking understanding of the addiction that no one likes to talk about because you want to be informed so you can love on and lift up your sisters in Christ who struggle with pornography addiction,
this book is for you.
Unique both in genre and style, "Dirty Girls Come Clean" discusses the one form of sexual addiction no other book has. It speaks specifically to the sister who struggles with pornography addiction. It reads like a conversation with friends and sisters who have been where you are, but is also informative and educational, as well as personal growth inspiring. In fact, this is exactly what the book is.
Author Crystal Renaud shares her personal story of pornography addiction and how her mess was
turned into a message meant for others to hear. It's easy to listen to, as it is told in a nonauthoritive tone throughout the book, along with the inspiring stories of other women who have and still do struggle with
pornography addiction. The book also offers opportunities for the pornography addicted reader to be an active participant in her own recovery process, offering a personal inventory section to figure out just where you are at so you can get where you want to go and questions to reflect upon following each chapter.
Navigating the high and low tides of recovery with the use of an acronym known as SCARS (Surrender,confession,responsibility and sharing), "Dirty Girls Come Clean" takes the willing reader by the hand and leads her through the steps to redemption.
The stories of real Christian women's struggles with pornography let the reader know that she is NOT alone, the biblical references and scriptures shared throughout the pages of the book serve as a reminder of Christ's love and plans for us, and the lies society would have women believe about being sexually liberated are challenged by God's truth which offers true freedom from the bondage only a slave to sexual addiction of any kind could know. The resources provided at the book's end offer essential tools for the beginning of a road to recovery for the addict dedicated to finding her freedom, including internet filtering options, community options to connect with others and most importantly, the chance to connect with Christ for those who have not met Him yet!
So, if you are ready - and even if you feel you are not but you're feeling that nudge from God and it's about knocking you over by now - allow light to be shed on the darkness in your life, allow the doors you've been hiding behind to be opened, allow your chains to be broken and allow your dirt to be washed away through the reading of this book and God's grace.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Liz W
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crystal has a no-holds barred approach to sharing her story of addiction. This book is encouraging and edifying for women everywhere to come clean and receive the grace and strength of Jesus Christ. This book empowered me to come clean from my own sexual sins and pursue healing in Christ. What a way to blow open the doors on the “taboo” of women’s sexual sins and shatters illusions that women do not or cannot struggle with pornography. Crystal does a great job of offering steps to begin moving in the right direction and several resources to help along the way. She is speaking from a place on top of the mountain, but only because she has walked through the valley herself.
I will recommend this book to everyone! It’s motivating, powerful, encouraging, edifying and mostly full of grace.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have resource

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
c miley
Location:US
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dirty Girls Come Clean is part testimonial, part resource and part informational. It is also 100% needed. It is the story of Crystal Renaud's personal journey through addiction to pornography and her recovery process. In fact, this book came about as a result of her search for resources to assist in the recovery journey, and not finding any that adequately addressed the specific issues and needs of women facing this particular addiction.
Part of the book adapts a technique used in many sexual addiction recovery programs called SCARS (Surrender, Confession, Accountability, Responsibility, Sharing). A chapter is devoted to each category, with explanations and testimonials from women at various stages of recovery included, which are detailed but never graphic. Practical action steps/questions are included at the end of each chapter, as well as additional available resources, making it useful for independent use as well as group settings.
This book was very well written and is so inspirational. It approaches porn addiction and its potentially associated behaviors (such as masturbation, sexting, sexual activity) as symptoms of a "core unhealed woundedness". The bottom line is that God never wastes an experience, even (maybe especially) the painful ones. Instead of hiding behind her shame and guilt, Renaud is using her experiences for God's glory and wants this book, as well as Dirty Girls Ministries, to be a tool of liberation from bondage. Her style is very conversational and user-friendly, making a taboo subject less threatening.
Dirty Girls Come Clean is a book of inspiration and hope. While I think it is destined to become 'the' go-to resources for women dealing with porn addiction, I also believe it is a must have resource for anyone who works with girls/women in any capacity. You just never know what that person is or will be going through, particularly in this sex saturated culture. It is unapologetically Christ centered, but would also be a useful resource for anyone struggling with this issue, regardless of religious affiliation (or lack thereof).
I can't recommend this book enough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for women with porn addiction

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
marianne
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women don’t struggle with lust. Really.
Dirty Girls Come Clean is a refreshingly honest look at the issue of pornography among Christian women. Actually, it’s the first look I’ve ever heard of. Most resources (books, websites, pastors, churches, and etc) automatically assume that pornography is a men’s problem – and it is. But it’s also a women’s problem. About 30% of visitors to porn sites are women.
One of the best things I like about Dirty Girls Come Clean is that it is interspersed with stories of women, real women, who have overcome, who have come clean, who have been there, done that and emerged victorious. It’s not just a how-to manual but offers a vision of what beautiful testimonies real-life scars can tell. “Scars in and of themselves aren’t bad. Scars are a sign that healing from something traumatic has taken place. Scars are a reminder of where we’ve been. Scars show others that we know what they’re going through and that we may actually be able to help. In fact, there’s a saying that scars are like tattoos with better stories. What better story could be told than one of a healed and redeemed life?” (p.36) With “scars” as an acronym, the book offers steps towards healing, redemption and freedom. For women addicted to pornography, the book is hope packaged in a paperback.
Where Christian women addicted to pornography are doubly silenced by oversight and shame, Crystal’s voice rings loud and clear. Thanks for your courage in sharing your story, Crystal.
If there is one criticism of the book it is this – I wish there was more of it! I read the book cover to cover (well, metaphorically, at least, since I was reading an electronic version) almost in one entire sitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You don't have to remain silent

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Miller
Location:Rising Sun, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I struggled with an 11-year addiction to pornography. During this time, there was NO one speaking out about this issue with women. So I felt alone, and kept silent. Now 11 years later, there is virtually nothing published that deals specifically with women's addiction to pornography, yet a quick search of statistics will show you that this is definitely an issue not only in Christian circles, but in regular society.
I was able to get an advanced copy of this book, and after reading it I was able to find hope. Crystal speaks in a way that probably every woman with this struggle can relate to, as well as giving simple practical steps to start you on your journey of healing and recovery. Also included in the book are stories of other women who also have struggled with the same issue, proving once again that you are not alone.
It's a great book to reference, and refer to again and again.
Crystal's ministry, Dirty Girls Ministries, also provides added support after reading the book so you can find even MORE help and community with other women like you. I can't say enough good about this book and its author!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard about Dirty Girl Ministries originally through Anne Jackson's blog, and I love the work Crystal is doing for women addicted to porn. I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of this book, and I love how Crystal not only wrote about her experiences, but shared the experiences of other women as well. The recovery portion in the book is sound and based on a reputable 12-step program for sex addicts.
Addiction runs in my family and although I've never been addicted to porn, there are many people in my family that are or have been in the past. What strikes me about women is that they usually don't speak up about their porn addiction. There truly is a mask of shame and guilt many addicted women wear because of how porn is perceived in our culture. Even the church assumes (incorrectly) that it's only men that struggle with this issue.
This book would be an excellent read for someone struggling with porn addiction and would also be a great read for women-only church groups. Even if you're not struggling yourself, understanding how porn addiction works in women can allow you to offer help to someone else if the need ever arises.
Crystal's book does a great job of lifting the veil off porn addiction, and I imagine that when addicted women read this book, they will find it liberating to know that other women are dealing with addiction as well and that God has a plan to help them conquer it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a breath of fresh air!

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
chnl11
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Rest assured, God is much more concerned about where you've headed, than where you've been."
As soon as I read that line in the book, I realized how much of God's heart for us is expressed in this book. God is more concerned about our future, rather than focusing on our mistakes. This book led me through a journey of honest evaluation, with many insightful questions at the end of every chapter. I got even more healing than I expected, while reading it.
Crystal has compiled a LOT of great information very succinctly, and in such a way you feel like she's right there with you. I can't wait to see this book in more women's hands. I have been waiting for this book for a long time. This book is blunt, short and to the point, while still being very powerful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dirty Girls Come Clean
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Journey with Friends to Freedom

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
sproutingsherbet
Location:Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a journey to freedom from pornography addiction.
Well written and gripping, it is full of personal stories that shatter the illusion claiming you are the "only one" who deals with this addiction.
In a world where Christian women are made to feel dirty, ashamed, and alone in their addiction to porn, Crystal Renaud has broken the darkness and filled it with the light of the glory of the Lord.
This book will serve to be an invaluable resource in addiction recovery for individuals as well as in group settings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.