Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Lausanne Movement More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

The Lausanne Movement More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years

The McCheyne Bible reading plan starts with the 'four great beginnings' and takes you through a wonderful sweep of Scripture. John Stott has used it for over 50 years, and says "Nothing has helped me more than this to grasp the grand themes of the Bible." Start at any stage in the year. Advice for new users included in this title which is part of the Didasko Files Series.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Review 1 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good start on reading Gods word daily.

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
From behind the wall
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I gave these little books of knowledge out doing an community outreach and the people love them.The ones that is that had the good forture of receiving the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
pudder
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had used this years ago. It is very helpful.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
LynO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is it concise and easy to use, I like the flexibility this Bible reading plan offers. I think this makes it manageable and consequently more likely to be followed through. I have recently started to use it on the 2-year plan and so far, it's been great.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible reading plan ever!

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Wee Flea
Location:Dundee, Scotland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
A number of years ago I heard John Stott being asked how he kept his 'spiritual life' going. His answer? "I was introduced by Dr Martyn Lloyd Jones to a bible reading plan by the young Scottish minister, Robert Murray McCheyne'. Last week I heard Ravi Zacharias, speaking in McCheyne's church, St Peters, state that he had used this bible plan for years. As the current minister of St Peters and the author of the most recent biography of McCheyne, I guess you can expect that I would have a certain bias.
But this really is the best you can get. Beginning with the four beginnings of Scripture (Genesis, Ezra, Matthew and Acts) by reading four chapters per day, we read through the whole Bible in one year, the NT and Psalms twice. It is beautifully simple, easily doable and a great way to get into the Word.
This edition in Didasko is the best one I know of...Highly recommended. (Each year we buy copies to give to every member of the congregation). Worth every cent!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really helpful plan to get you into the Bible.

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Henry Curran
Location:Nottingham, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm the pastor of a church and I've been using the McCheyne Bible reading plan for the last decade or so. The More Precious Than Gold booklet, being slim enough to fit into my Bible, has been a much easier way to keep track of where I've got to and what I'm reading next than the scraps of paper I used to use.
I've found it very helpful in my own quiet times, but recently I've seen how helpful it is in encouraging people to start reading the Bible themselves on a regular and consistent basis. They've proved very popular with new Christians wanting to read the Bible for the first time, and with people who have been Christian for a while but who haven't necessarily got into the best habits of daily reading.
I often encourage couples or groups of students living together to use this Bible reading plan in the way that McCheyne first suggested, reading two of the passages privately in the morning, and the other two, together, in the evening, and I know people who have done that have found it very helpful, but of course it's just as valuable if you use it on your own, over either one or two years.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Be sure you know what you are getting

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
hsl2000
Location:MN
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the description, it is hard to tell that this is just a tiny pamphlet with the Bible passages listed for each day. Since all of this is available online, I had thought that the book would include at least some commentary or added helps. It didn't.
If this is all you are looking for, the booklet is okay, but I don't really think it is worth even the sale price.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Very helpful. If you are like me and start to read certain areas and never finish you need this. You have a choice of reading four different things a day or just two. I like two a day better, that is what I picked. I hope you like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for More Precious Than Gold: Read The Bible in One or Two Years
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julia Cameron
If you want to read the Bible right through, you can start any time. This reading plan is used by many thousands around the world. 'More Precious than Gold' doesn't just lay out the readings; it begins with pastoral advice for people about to begin the big adventure. The advice comes from James Hudson Taylor III, Joni Erechson-Tada, Ajith Fernando, John Stott, Mike Treneer and others. Why not invite some friends to start this plan at the same time and you can keep each other going along the way. An inexpensive gift of lasting value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.