Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy

B&H Books I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy

I Will Carry You is a powerful story of ultimate loss - a parent's loss of a child - interwoven with the biblical story of Lazarus, helping those walking through the difficult seasons of life to mourn and still have hope. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Review 1 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, heartbreaking, gave me hope

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
hollymarie
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best books I have read in awhile. Angie's openess, vulnerability and faith was inspiring. I'm going through a hard time in my life right now due to infertility, and the hope that Angie had while waiting on God through her trials, made ME feel hopeful in my own trial. I highly recommend this to any woman, or a man whose wife experienced a miscarriage or the loss of a child.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Heal

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janeece
Location:Kearney, Nebraska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During the healing process I was just stuck. This book was key to healing and moving on. I still refer to it. I love Angie's words about the Fathers heart and how we need to be completely honest with Him even in pain and anger. Very easy read...highly recommend it! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Experience of hope in tragedy

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bcouk
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read for anyone who has experienced or has a loved one who has had to make the decision of whether or not to continue a pregnancy after being told by her doctor her baby will not survive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have book

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darlene Klischer
Location:Douglasville PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any one who has had a miscarriage,loss of a new born ,or greiving grandmothers(me).
I purchased this book as a gift for my daughters and daughter in law who have all walked this journey.
Compassionate,tear jerker,scripture related book.
Written with a wonderful ability to share a most difficult subject...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gritsy
Location:VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, powerful book to help anyone walking through a difficult season of life... regardless of the difficulty being experienced. Bought several copies to give as Christmas gifts and to have on hand to share with those who are grieving. Angie Smith is so transparent throughout the book as she shares her journey of grief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful message to those hurting.

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:North Branch, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book!! Have followed Angie on her blog for several years and was thrilled to hear she was writing a book about her beloved Audrey. I lost a child myself one year before Audrey was born. Angie is full of encouragement for those who are walking this painful journey. She is so gifted in pulling applications from the story of Lazarus....a touching way to look at the heart of Jesus towards those who are grieving. You feel as though you are listening to a close friend. You will be blessed beyond measure..... :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
klgoodson
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely a must. It helped me through my greif and loss. I just lost my baby to same exact thing that selah lost there baby too. This book touched my heart deeply. Please don't pass this book up if you to have lost..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
MamaLinda
Honestly, it's the subtitle of this book that says it all - "The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy". In this life there will be joy, and there will be grief. In fact, Scripture tells us that Jesus Himself was a "Man of sorrows, acquainted with grief". It follows, then, that as we are sanctified, becoming more like Christ, that we would also become more acquainted with grief. Angie has put into words this dance that we must learn - carrying the grief, and the joy - living fully in both. She allows us to see that grief does not negate the joy, nor need to rob us of it. That they do indeed dance together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Grab a box of tissues. For those who followed Angie Smith and the story of Audrey unfold on her blog this book feels like a chat with Angie over a nice warm drink. And for those who are new to the Smith's dance with joy and grief you will quickly fall in love with this family and their testimony. Angie puts into words the thoughts and emotions of a mother who clings to hope while grieving, lives life fully while preparing for the worst, and who begs God for a miracle all the while praising Him no matter what. I Will Carry You is the story of the life of Audrey and the huge impact this small little girl had on her family and on the world. It will leave you counting your blessings, living with abandon, and celebrating life - no matter how long or how short. I was touched by Angie's honest and vulnerability with her readers and her simple, yet profound, explanations of what her dance was and continues to be like. I have been touched by the music of Selah for years and since 2008 even more so with the music being backed up by authentic lives. Though their road has not been easy, they have blessed many lives through their tears and their joy in the time of great grief. Whether you are a Mom or not, this book will have you crying and rejoicing all at the same time. Both Angie's writing and Todd's chapter from a man's perspective will be an encouragement in your life. Thanks to B&H Publishing Group for providing the courtesy review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.