Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

Abingdon Press A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Review 1 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!!!

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Promise in Pieces is part of the Quilts of Love Series. It is the debut book for Emily Wierenga. She is an exceptional author. This book tells the story of Clara, as she reflects on her life story to her grandchildren and children. She tells of her times as a nurse and a midwife. She also includes a story of the quilt they are transporting to a museum for display. It is so realistic. She keeps you entertained the whole way through the book. I can't wait until I can read further works by this author.
I recieved this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Quick Read

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A PROMISE IN PIECES is written as conversation a grandmother is having with her grandson while they are on traveling. She tells him about her life growing up, in the army as a nurse and what happened after. There are intervals as they stop to rest, eat, and sleep, then the story resumes. Clara's story is also about Jesus, love, grace and forgiveness; and about forgiving others as well as yourself. Her grandson is a wise boy and gleans from his grandmother's tale.
The book is short and sweet, a weekend read. As you read, you feel like you get to know the characters, like you could even be a part of their family. Its relaxing and yet, you want to keep reading to find out what happened to Clara. This paragraph in the book "Oliver was doing really well at his job, so well, in fact, that we were lacking nothing, and this, I felt indicated a problem. Because we had not reason to need God anymore" really spoke volumes to me. Because although we are not necessarily "rich" in material possessions we are blessed, so blessed in fact that it is easy to become ungrateful and our mundane life is kind of just that mundane and pointless. I think this book is also a challenge to be all you can be for God, use your talents, your resources and whatever else you have to work for Him. That is true fulfillment in life. There are a few unexpected turns to the story and the ending is quite bittersweet, but I would highly recommend this book. The author did a great job, and I left inspired and moved to continue working on becoming all that God wants me to be.
I was blessed with this book courtesy of TBCN in exchange for my unbiased opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Promise

Date:June 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fran
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WWII, a promise to a dying solder and a gift of a quilt – all these things come together for a young lady and bring her an extraordinary life……..
“A Promise in Pieces” by Emily T Wierenga is one of the latest in the “Quilts of Love” Series. Emily’s writing will draw you into the life of Clara, a young girl that goes off to war with the Women’s Army Corp. Through that job she makes a promise to a dying soldier to carry a message to his wife. Upon delivering that message, Clara is given a gift – a handmade quilt. Little does she know how much this one gift will change her life and fill it with joy and love.
Emily Wierenga has created a story with so much emotion that you will actually feel a part of it. I know, I had to stop reading through the saddest part as I could not see through the tears. Great writers will do it every time.
I did receive a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Promise in Pieces

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnitaC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very touching story. Clara is now an elderly woman on a road trip with her family, and she is telling the story of the quilt to her grandson. Her story is full of love, heartbreak, forgiveness, faith. The author made me really care for Clara and her life. I would love to sit down and listen to her stories myself. I would definitely recommend this book as one to be read!
I was given this book by The Book Club Network, Inc. for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful story about life...

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story was by no means what I was expecting. I thought this would be a cutesy romantic WWII story. A Promise In Pieces was so much more than that!
The story is in two sections and is from the perspective of an elderly woman on a road trip with her family, while traveling she tells her story to her grandson. Interspersed with her memories are events that happen on the road trip.
There was a lot packed into this little book with less than 200 pages. One woman's lifetime of heartache and joy, the good memories and the bad. I loved how realistic the story is, Emily T. Weirenga has done and amazing job portraying that life isn't always easy and sometimes it can get pretty hard, but through it all the heroine learns the power of hope, forgiveness, love, and faith in a God that orchestrates it all. A Promise In Pieces is a real tearjerker but it is still full of hope and faith.
A Promise In Pieces is a good story to be read by people of all ages, young women like myself to great-grandmothers who have lived it themselves.
(I received a copy of this book from Abingdon Press through The Book Club Network for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Richey, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing in how it carried you with Clara on her travel as a nurse from New Jersey to Normandy in WWII. Her loneliness for her parents and then for her best friend who abandons her are heart wrenching. She has a very caring heart and tries to give every soldier that she cares for some measure of peace. She carries her guilt over Gareth for quite some time but the things she does with that guilt are amazing. She takes that quilt and her friendship with Mattie and honors Gareth and other soldiers. The thing that I really enjoyed about this book was that it was not without life's hardships. LIfe is far from easy.
I received a free copy of this book from BookFun.org. I was not given any compensation for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:May 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My skills as a reviewer cannot begin to summarize this book and do it justice. This book needs to be absorbed piece by piece like the blocks and stitches in the quilt that holds this story together. The fact that this is Emily T.Wierenga's debut novel is astonishing! It is impressive that a young woman created the life story of an elderly woman with such incredible depth of feeling and insight. The author displays wisdom beyond her years in portraying the yearnings, passion, emotions and realities in the life of the main character in "A Promise in Pieces."
The layers in this story are like the layers of a quilt, bits and pieces of cloth that comprise the top, batting which adds thickness and warmth, a backing to encase the batting, and the stitches which strengthen and bind the quilt together. As Clara's life unfolds and her faith is many times questioned assurance is realized through the light of something tangible in her life, and the scheme of God's plans are revealed, strengthening her resolve.
This is one woman's story, her journey of faith, her fears and dreams, the journey she travels throughout her life, and the people who become the focus in her life. This is an amazing piece of art that may be lost on young readers who lack the experiences of older readers, but I believe that the lessons learned throughout this beautiful story can be applied to anyone's life. I highly recommend "A Promise in Pieces" as a remarkable and brilliant narrative! I look forward to future books by this author!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Abingdon Press through the Book Fun program, a program sponsored by The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A touching, bittersweet story

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A Promise in Pieces is the fifth book I've read in the Quilts of Love series, and I think it's my favorite. The mingling of modern-day events with Clara's gentle telling of the bittersweet story of her life makes for a touching story.
This is the first book I've read by Emily Wierenga. I am impressed with her ability to create characters who come alive and seem to be sitting right across the room talking to you. It was as though Clara was a long-time friend sharing her life's story of loneliness, guilt, love and purpose -- all pieced together by God's "Amazing Grace."
I highly recommend A Promise in Pieces for a quick, sweet read that moves at a relaxing pace.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WWII, A Quilt and Life

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emily T. Wierenga in her new book, “A Promise In Pieces” Book Seventeen in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Clara.
From the back cover: A small gift, a simple promise, a life forever changed
It’s been more than fifty years since Clara cared for injured WWII soldiers in the Women’s Army Corp. Fifty years since she promised to deliver a dying soldier’s last wish. And fifty years since that soldier’s young widow gave her the baby quilt—a grief-ridden gift that would provide hope to countless newborns in the years to come.
On her way to the National World War II Museum in New Orleans, Clara decides it’s time to share her story. Little does she know she will re-gift the quilt one more time—to a recipient who, perhaps, is most deserving of all.
History, World War II, Quilting and a labor and delivery nurse. Quite a mix and, on the outside, it seems difficult to write a story combining all these elements. Not only has Ms. Wierenga captured them well she has also provided an excellent story. While it does seem to be Clara’s life story as she relates it during the car ride, it also is about the quilt and how if affected everyone’s life. This is a story about life in oh so many ways. Clara and the rest of the characters are outstanding and wonderful to be with and learn about. Ms. Wierenga has done an outstanding job of bringing history to the table. There is a lot in this book, much to think about and it just interesting and exciting as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Soul Searching Experience

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are searching for a well written book that will touch your innermost soul, this is the book for you. We, as humans, don't truly realize how a simple gift and a simple promise can change a life forever. This comes about by a caring nurse and a small quilt. Emily's story is told in the first person, which often is not my favorite. However, upon reading the first chapter, I was hooked!! She used rich language along side fluidity of the plot. The events just flowed into one another with ease, often shocking or surprising me. Intertwining subplots were woven , with meaning and purpose.
I was not prepared to choose Clara as a favorite character, when I began reading, however, once again, I was surprised!! She became an individual with determination, despite hard times, someone who cared very deeply for others and did not just think of what she could do to be helpful, she acted upon it. This not only was valuable to others who were hurting, but to herself as well. I became extremely emotionally involved in this book, the characters, and in their lives. It made me think: Have I ever done anything that is even close to making a difference to others, as Clara did??? I had to take this to heart. Maybe I should dig deeper within myself to discover how I could let God work in me, to be a servant to others.
I loved this book!! Definitely a five star book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A promise in pieces

Date:May 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book from the quilts of love series, second one I have read and can't wait for more.
This story is all about Clara and how one quilt changes her life. She tells her life story from being a child, a nurse during the war, coming home after war, having friendships, finding love, being a midwife, becoming a wife, having children, being a grandmother and above all how GOD becomes the most important thing in life.
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. It captures your heart and makes you want to keep reading to see what is going to happen to Clara. The story has a great morale and keeps this through the whole book. The part of how the quilt becomes the most important part of Clara's life and how it brings families together just tears at your heart. I recommend this to all women and especially those women that quilt. I don't quilt and still loved it, however, I have friends that do quilt and they said they found a great connection and inspiration throughout the whole book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Litfuse. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Tearjerker

Date:May 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was a good tearjerker book. If you love books that make you want to grab your family and hug them until they struggle to get away, this one is for you.
Clara Kirkpatrick suffers from many things. Like stubbornness. Which she inherited from her father. I enjoyed watching her grow from a rebellious young woman into a mature adult that realizes that everyone is far from perfect - just like her - and that everyone needs forgiveness, compassion, and love. I very much enjoyed how much she loved her mother and how their relationship was so good. That was a blessing, and I liked how she came to grips with her father and why he acted the way he did. They were human - and I loved them for that. I didn't like Clara at the beginning, but she grew on me when she came to grips with herself and her beliefs.
This novel skips from World War 2 to the year 2000, and there were times I found that pulled me from the story and I had to really concentrate on what I was reading to get myself back into it. I connected much better with the flashbacks than I did the year 2000 periods of the book.
My thanks to LitFuse and Abingdon Fiction for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions. I was not required they be positive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars!

Date:May 1, 2014
A Promise in Pieces is one of the most unusual books (in a good way!) I've read in a long time. Clara is the focus of this story. While her family takes a trip to New Orleans, her grandchildren ask her to tell the story of her life. She takes us back to her time serving as a nurse during WWII and reflects on how that experience affects the rest of her life.
It's an amazing story. Poignant, adventurous, emotional, sweet. I loved that the author gave us a beautiful love story—without making it a romance. It focuses on the love that Clara has with all of the people in her life. It was just beautiful!
The author does everything an author is "not supposed to do." There's a bit of head-hopping. The time changes between the past and present (sometimes unclearly) throughout the book. There's more telling than showing. The main character's story is primarily told through a first-person narrative that feels a lot like stream of consciousness, with plenty of long sentences. But somehow, it totally worked! The author's style left me feeling like the characters were chatting with me over breakfast. It pulled me into the story in a way that few books do, and I was loathe to put it down. In fact, I read the story in two sittings!
This is a phenomenal book, and I'm happy to recommend it! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful cover, beautiful story

Date:April 29, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this beautiful story by Emily T. Wierenga and the way that she brought this quilt to life. This series is fun to read since I like to make quilts. I understand how each quilt has a story and lots of time of the quilter is spent pouring into the quilts. I really enjoyed this story as the quilt tells a beautiful story that doesn't get brought up often, but just the right amount.
I liked Clara's courage but I could only imagine how her parents must have felt when they woke up and realized her choice. I admired that she did what she believed to be right and wanted to truly help people.
I liked how the story shows how God redeems people, like Clara. Clara makes a vow, but God has different plans. He brings Clara to a place where she sees that love has risks, but it is worth it.
I like history, so I really enjoy the time frame that was chosen for this book. It's rich in history, yet not boring. It captures emotions of the time and perspectives from then.
I also liked the style of writing that Emily T. Wierenga uses. I can't place my finger on what is so different. I just know that it's refreshing and different from what I have read lately.
_________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Abingdon Press in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book greatly. This new author has made a wonderful debut with this story. The story was heart-rending in places and hilarious in others. The author easily transitioned those scenes. I felt like I was in the car with Clara as she tells her story to her family. Great storytelling! A great debut, a great book. Loved it! 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely worth a read! No matter who you are!

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are an emotional person… at all, read “A Promise in Pieces” with tissues close!
I’m not sure whether it’s Emily’s experience as a ghost writer or simply her gift that enables her to pull you into the story so deeply.
You WILL feel the deep emotions in this story.
… Especially if you are a deeply emotional person.
I am noticing a bit of a trend as far as the Quilts of Love books go lately and it is an interesting turn.
I have never really been a huge fan of novels written about/around WWII but I am finding myself reading them more and more lately and I have to say this – “A Promise in Pieces” is not typical.
It is written about that time period but it focuses so much more on the family dynamics and the very personal experiences that Clara goes through.
The idea behind the story is not a new one but Emily Wierenga has most definitely found a new way to tell it.
Whether you’re a fan of WWII novels or not, this is a book worth reading!
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart warming story

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wierenga has written a delightful story combining a historical setting with its contemporary culmination.
The framework for this novel is a road trip elderly Clara and her family are taking. The year is 2000 and they are driving to New Orleans with the goal of having a quilt accepted in war museum. As they travel, Clara tells the story of the quilt to one of her grandchildren. She recounts her own experience of leaving home against her pacifist parents' wishes and joining the Women's Army Corpse. After the war Clara delivers a note a dying soldier wrote to his wife, Mattie. Mattie gives Clara a quilt that was going to be used to warm their children. Perhaps Clara could use it for her own children some day. Then Clara returns to her parents, fearful of rejection. She finds her mother a mere shell of her former self and her pastor father a caregiver.
We follow Clara as she finds her new way in life, working as a midwife and using the quilt as a means of remembering the children born. The quilt will ultimately have an additional role in stimulating a project helping spouses and parents honoring those lost in the war.
In an interview, Wierenga says Clara is loosely based on her own experience. Feeling stifled by organized religion growing up, she left home for school returning later to care for her sick mother. She found her relationship with her father, and subsequently with God, restored.
Readers can take away from the novel the reassurance that God is never finished with us, no matter our age. Just as with Clara, in the twilight of life, there are still meaningful tasks ahead.
This is a well crafted story combining two eras of a woman's life. Clara's compulsive youth is contrasted with her fruitful adulthood. We experience the horrors of World War II as well as the restoration of relationships when Clara returns home. We also see how God works out His plan for our lives, even if it is through rough patches in the path. I really enjoyed the novel.
I received a complimentary egalley of this novel through Litfuse for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Fine Fiction!

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emily Wierenga's debut novel is one of those stories that feels real when you're reading it.
In beautiful prose, she weaves together the memories and present experiences of one woman, Clara.
And I felt like I was "listening in," or reading a private journal, as Clara told the story from her heart.
It is the year 2000, and Clara's family is joining her on a road trip to New Orleans. Everyone knows this trip means a lot to her, and the destination involves a special event, but there are disparate parts of the story that need to be drawn together to show the whole, before they arrive.
So Clara begins telling the tale of her life, in the backseat of the car where she rides with her teenage grandson.
And as the miles roll on, so does the tale of A Promise in Pieces.
I was as captivated as her grandson, Noah. Clara tells us of her strict growing up years in the 1930's, and then the night she learned that the war was tearing a hole out of souls and families and nations, and the hour she slipped out of the house to join the nursing corps, and then her time in the thick of the devastation. And then we see how the WWII never left her, it broke her heart and yet expanded it and made room for so much love.
This story takes us along with Clara, through losses that shake her to the core and then her difficult return home and a search for purpose that leads her to places inside her that only God knew about.
Because Clara narrates many chapters, this book reads like a mini-autobiography. I was engaged from the start, and even when it switched to third person, I was invested in her story and wanted to know what happened next.
(This book would actually make a very cool movie, I think. You could have the scenes of the family on the road interspersed with scenes from Clara's life through the years.)
So whether you like contemporary family stories, or if you enjoy historical novels, and if you love tales of women trying to find identity and value and forgiveness and a reason to go on, then try A Promise In Pieces.
Thank you Litfuse for my review copy! I'll be looking out for whatever Emily Wierenga writes next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Family, Friendship and Forgiveness

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Promise in Pieces is one of the Quilts of Love stories and a book that will keep you entertained and engaged.
When Clara’s best friend Eva, convinces her that the war effort is where they need to be, Clara and Eva join the Women’s Army Corps. Clara’s father, a pastor, emphatically disagrees with the war efforts and although it may cause her to be disowned, Clara boards the train and heads off to do her part for WWII.
Through the reality of war, Clara is forced not only to grow up, but to put love into action on behalf of the wounded soldiers she is to care for. In a crisis of faith, she is faced with reconciling the two versions of God she’s known until a man named Gareth becomes her patient. And in his song, he shows her what God is really about.
When Eva and Clara’s friendship is tested, Clara must decide whether her passion to help people goes beyond her own personal suffering. While on a mission to complete a promise, Clara meets Mattie and they become friends who have a bonded purpose in life. Through heartache each provides healing to others with their quilt.
After the war, Clara returns to the United States and tries to live a normal life. In an effort to hide behind work and her own inability to forgive, she ignores the romantic initiations of a young man in town. Through persistence, love finds her and through tragedy, Clara finds the family she has always wanted.
A Promise in Pieces gives the reader the chance to walk through Clara’s life. It is a wonderful story about family, friendship and forgiveness. Definitely a must read!
I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Promise in Pieces: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely perfectly-stitched treasure!

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Promise in Pieces by is a fantastic addition to the Quilts of Love series, the first published book by Emily Wierenga. Her beautiful, descriptive prose is amazing; the feelings and actions of Clara, the main character, are reflected with a unique and gifted voice. The people that she meets as a young woman are not by chance; they are ordained by a loving God – each piece designed by His gracious hand in a quilt-life all of her own.
The book opens with Clara, now a grandmother, travelling to New Orleans with her husband, children, and grandchildren to deliver a quilt that is tucked into the back of the van she rides in. Her grandson, Noah, is eager to hear more about her life and she reminisces with startling clarity about her childhood, what led her to her calling and how it changed the direction and quality not only of her life, but the lives of countless others.
Clara became a nurse as her namesake, Clara Barton, had been, and she served with the Women’s Army Corp in Europe during WWII. Gareth, one of the young men she cared for during his final hours only need was for her to write a letter to his wife back home, and to deliver that letter one day to her when she returned to the States.
Clara did go to meet Mattie, his widow, after the war ended and she returned from. Clara gave Mattie the gift of Gareth’s final words of love and received something that would change the course of her life – a lovingly designed quilt. The quilt would have been for the child that Mattie and Gareth had planned to have when the war was over. How will Clara, who didn’t plan to ever marry, use this quilt over the next fifty years to help countless others? How did this bring Clara and Mattie together?
Clara’s struggles are no different than ours – what to do when one’s faith is gone? How to recover from deep wounds that brought self-doubt and self-condemnation? What to do with the rest of one’s life? How to trade in guilt and the insatiable need to earn grace for the free gift of God’s love and salvation? Keep tissues on hand as you experience Clara’s life and see through her eyes the value of faith, family, and ministry. This novel can be entertaining as well as share deeper spiritual values that can resonate in one’s heart long after discovering A Promise in Pieces.
Favorite Quotes:
“And funny how just as you begin to settle, you’re made aware of someone’s needs. And you’re kept always alive, serving each other.”
“… so well, in fact that we were lacking nothing, and this, I felt indicated a problem. Because we had no reason to need God anymore.”
“I hope you can know how it feels to be free, you know, of everything except happiness. To know while nothing makes sense and everything is in upheaval, you are exactly in the center of God’s will.”
“She kept walking as though praying with her feet…”
This outstanding book can be enjoyed by young adults as well as adults of any age who enjoy the Quilts of Love series, quilting, or quality Christian fiction.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>