Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design

The English Standard Version (ESV) Thinline TruTone edition is ideal for travel and includes a wide range of features. A European hand-stitched cover creates a contemporary, attractive look.

Features
  • Less than 1" thick
  • Highly readable 8.2-point type
  • Full-color maps
  • Concordance with over 12,000 references
  • Extra strong smyth-sewn binding
  • Double-column format
  • Presentation page
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Family record section
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edges
  • Celtic cross design cover
  • Free ESV Bible resources software available
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Review 1 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well made

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Canny
Location:NYS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The imitation leather cover is of high quality, good feel. The font size makes for easy reading. I really like this version and the well made features of this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible for daily use

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
ReDO
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is the same size/format as the NIV I've used daily for 24 years and I plan to use it in the same way. I am excited to see how God will use the ESV translation to deepen my knowledge of Him and His Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love that it is slimline and inexpensive.

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
lmktnr
Location:fremont, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible is slim, has Jesus' words in red, is lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy enough to read, but still thin

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
TJTJ
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my son. It is small enough for him to carry easily, but big enough for me to see the font. His only complaint is that the "words in red" are too bright.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I expected

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was everything I expected and more. It is not genuine leather, and therefore much more economical. But the quality of the cover is excellent. The Bible is slim and flexible. Also, the Celtic design is beautiful. My daughter was delighted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jb31
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the easy reading of the ESV translations but the cover is not nearly what I had expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mitch
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a Great Bible I ordered it cause I wanted an ESV Version of the Scriptures it is just a basic Bible with maps and such with Tables of weights & Measures, Concordance.
I was hoping there would be a few more features as I love Bibles with lots of study features. However it is not a Study Bible so keeping that in mind if you just want to read God's Word this will make a wonderful addition to your Bible Collection. I Love Reading and Studying God's Word (so I have Study Bibles too..) and if you want an ESV I would highly recommend this Bible.
If you want more than just a basic ESV Bible such as a Study Bible I'd recommend you look at some ESV Study Bibles since this is just a basic Bible which is Great for me since I already have an NASB Study Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding value.

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cat Lover
Location:CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a first time Bible for a friend. She loved it.
The quality for the price was outstanding. Great size for carrying to church, yet still has good sized print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
cam17
Location:Littlerock, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm new in my faith and have always wanted to read the bible. I purchased a King James bible first but found it very hard to stay focused due to the wording. As I started looking into books to help me better understand the bible I came across the English standard Version of the bible. It is like night and day between the two. I can understand the bible a lot more clearly now and actually want to sit down and read it. This bible is great and I will be buying another. It has great feel to it, the print is big, the pages don't feel cheap like others I have handled. I am very happy with my purchase and could not imagine a better bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice leather cover...design is awesome!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
sweetpea
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased a number of these bibles for graduation service and the students really loved them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
trpt1
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this purchase. Love the soft sturdy cover.
8.2 type is readable. Good buy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Laura
Location:Somewhere with my Jesus, Maine.
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Bible over the weekend and just received it today... and was so excited to get it! I bought it because I wanted something larger with more normal sized type than the compact ESV thinline that I had gotten as a birthday gift a couple years ago. My old one is only a little worn out, surprising for all the use it has had, so I ordered another... just a bit bigger because I like the sturdiness of the TruTone thinlines. These Bibles seem to hold up very well, even if you use them several times daily! So far it's great! The cover is flexible but strong with a lovely design. The paper is a perfect "Bible" thickness. Good concordance and maps, font-size is very readable, and overall is just a nice Bible at a low cost! The only thing I didn't care for is the red lettering that highlights Christ's words looks slightly more pinkish on some pages. But, I would definitely recommend it to anyone! Thanks CBD!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
LouisvilleWife
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is wonderful, and I got it for my husband because I have the exact same one. The only thing I was not pleased with was the period after his first initial looked like a comma. Could be a one time mistake, but that was the only thing I could complain about! This product has my highest recommendation!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hurley Dutton
When I ordered the Bible,I was looking for an inexpensive ESV that would be easy to handle and carry. This one seemed to "fill the bill," so I ordered it. When I received it I became uncertain. The Bible and container seemed to have an effeminate look. After thinking about this awhile, I decided to keep it anyway. Now, I am satisfied with it. The only problem for me is the print is very small. Being a senior citizen, I need larger print. It does have bold type though. All-in-all I consider it satisfactory for my needs and recommend it to others. Nice Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nora Betry
This Bible seems to have a nice balance of several features. The ESV translation flows well. The book itself is handy in size, but the font size is still decent. The thickness of the Bible lets it fit well into a book backpack or brief case and the material the cover is made of is flexible and pleasant to use. If it gets soiled or damaged in use no big deal, considering the cost. It would be nice if the Bible's binding was sewn instead of simply glued, but in this price range, this is really more of a comment than a criticism. Over all, his would be one of my first picks for a "take with" Bible in a modern translation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
SKirtonBear
Great Bible!Translation reads well, the size is great, and the type is legible, compared to the Compact Thinline (has the center column cross-references and a snap closure - which had type so small that I would not even consider purchasing it for myself nor youth). The cover is strong and flexible and comes in several colors. Had a not needed one right away, I would have waited for the burgundy one coming out in a few weeks. This one doesn't have the cross-references, but does have a good-sized concordance in the back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Classic Thinline, Imitation Leather Charcoal With Celtic Cross Design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
stephanie
This is a stunning Bible, absolutly beautiful in its make, design, and quality! The type is easily read, and it's a perfect portable size. It's definitely one to show off....no book covers needed!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.