Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook

Barbour Books The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Review 1 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome stories from Awesome authors!

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good read. The six stories in this book is about six orphaned brother who all live in California and even work on the same ranch. Each of the three authors write different stories, with Kelly Hake writing three of the stories, Tracey Bateman writing one, and Cathy Hake writing two of the stories. The neat thing was having all six of the stories about the same brothers. I always love continuing stories, and series, so this was a treat for me.
The six stories in this collection are: One Chance in a Million; Second Chance; Taking a Chance; Last Chance; Chance Adventure and Chance of a Lifetime. Instead of going into each of these, a lot of reviews have them already, I want to just tell you that each of these stories are awesome! Even though the book is pretty large with over 570 pages, and that is for six books! And each one is short, so you don’t have to read the entire book at once. And I love the cover and the ragged edges of the pages. The Brides of Chance makes a wonderful coffee table book because it is so beautiful! I highly recommend this book by these three awesome authors!
I received this book from the Barbour Books to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One Chance in a Million by Cathy Marie Hake
This story is set in Reliable, California in 1871. Gideon Chance is the oldest Chance brother and not looking for a wife. His days are busy looking after his two young nieces and working his ranch. Miriam Hancock arrives from the islands where her parents are stationed as missionaries to help her older sister after her second pregnancy in three years. She arrives to find nothing to be as she thought. Most of the Chance brothers want her to stay, but her brother-in-law does not and he is not shy about telling her so. She wants to take care of her nieces, realizing she’ll never get married and have children of her own. Gideon realizes what a treasure Miriam is and how she lets the light of God’s love shine through her life as an example to everyone.
Second Chance by Tracey Bateman
The year is 1871, Alisa Worthington is on the run and Titus Chance comes to her rescue. She won’t reveal any of her past to him or his family, but she proves herself through her actions to be a God-fearing woman. She catches the eye of Titus from the get-go and the more time he spends around her the more he believes she is the woman he wants to spend the rest of his life with. The only problem is she refuses his proposal. Titus vows not to give up. Alisa fears telling the Chance family about her past as it might put them in danger. Should she go back home and sort things out so she can move on with her life with Titus or will she be condemned upon her return and never see him again? She and Titus must learn to wait upon the Lord’s timing and to show others Christ’s mercy.
Taking a Chance by Kelly Eileen Hake
It is the spring of 1872. Delilah Chadwick recalls she has never lived in one place for more than a week due to her gambling father. She has learned not to trust any man or the God her mother believed in. Her mother died and now her father has just died. In her eyes, God has taken away those she loved. How can her cousin Miriam and the whole Chance clan trust Him? Paul Chance has his eye on Delilah and the more time they spend together the more he wants her to be his wife. However, he knows they have no future as long as Delilah doesn’t believe in God. Can she find her way to God?
Last Chance by Cathy Marie Hake
It is the summer of 1872 and Dan Chance has been grieving for over two years for his wife after she died shortly after the birth of their second daughter. His grief has made him surly and cantankerous. He gradually has begun to participate a little more in the family goings on, but still keeps his distance. Then, Lovejoy Spencer enters his life. She has a heart full of compassion and works from sun up until sun down with a smile on her face and words of praise to God on her lips. He really isn’t looking for another wife, but somehow Lovejoy sneaks into his heart. Lovejoy wants nothing to do with another husband. She is a widow at age 24, but her marriage was anything but happy. Now she has more independence and can support herself with her healing skills. Can she let another man into her heart?
Chance Adventure by Kelly Eileen Hake
It is spring in the year 1874 and Logan Chance longs for adventure, but how can he find it stuck on the Chance Ranch? He and his brother, Bryce, set out for Salt Lick Holler, Kentucky to visit his sister-in-law, Lovejoy’s relatives. He meets Hattie Thales the local healer. Logan soon falls in love the Hattie, but Hattie refuses to leave the holler. Can Logan give up his life at Chance Ranch? Will Hattie learn that she can trust Logan?
Chance of a Lifetime by Kelly Eileen Hake
Bryce Chance has been dragged on his brother Logan’s adventure to Salt Lick Holler. He has no intention of staying through the winter of 1874, but returning home to the family ranch. Then he meets Daisy Thales and decides he might want to get to know her better. Bryce has always been the quiet Chance brother who is better with animals than people. Daisy is a young widow with a young son. She has just escaped a house fire that has destroyed everything she owns. She has survived this far on her own and vows to continue working hard to provide for her son. Can she learn that she doesn’t have to carry all her burdens alone, that she can lean on God? Is Bryce ready to take a wife? Will he stay in Salt Lick Holler like his brother Logan or will he return to the Chance Ranch in California?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun love stories

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen Sue Coleman
Location:COLUMBUS, OHIO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the tie ends of getting all the Chance men married. I was trying for a long time to see if I had all the books. So getting them all in one book was an answer to prayer. not deep reading. Just get away from it all fun. Reminds me of seven brides for seven brothers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a collection of six short novels. It tells the story of the Chance brothers. The Chance brothers live on a ranch in California. The oldest Daniel had married but after the birth of their 2nd child his wife died leaving the six brothers to help raise the two little girls. They thought they where doing well until the sister of Daniels late wife shows up. From there the stories continue until all six brothers find love.
What I liked: Sometimes I’m a little hesitant to read collection books that are short novella’s written by different authors but I liked this book a lot. Even though the stories are short they are well written and fun. I liked all the brothers and the woman they came to love. All the stories where good, but I liked the first one the best. I enjoyed how the stories were connected and evolved together. It felt more like one novel then six novellas.
What I didn’t like: Over all I liked this book a lot but its long with so many stories. This is not a bad thing really but by the last two stories I was ready to move on. It took me a few weeks to read this book all together.
This was a good read and a great book for traveling or keeping in the car. Because it’s so long reading it continually might seem like a daunting task. A very enjoyable book. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really enjoyed this book

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Fletcher
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The format was nice since the reader is able to get to know each brother and their wife in depth, but still see the family as a whole unit. The story was entertaining and there were Christian principles to contemplate throughout each story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Book, Good Story, Poorly cut pages on book!

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
csrobert12001
Location:Springville, In.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Book is nice, till you open it, and see that the pages are crudely cut on purpose, to make it look antique supposedly. I say the publisher went cheap, and just got out of cutting the book pages correctly. I don't like the way the pages are cut, because, after reading , the pages will used and abused. They will be dented from use and rip easily. Shame on the publisher, I want a book that is suppose to have pages cut, the way there suppose to be. Neat looking, not like a left over book, that was not finished. Thanks. CSR
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

funny and heartwarming collection

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brides Of Chance
This is a collection of six full-length-books about six brothers and six ladies that just happen to meet them by chance and give them once-in-a-lifetime chance at true happiness.
Silly me, I thought they were novellas, so when I saw that it was six actual books I got cold feet. But after reading first one, I just couldn’t get enough of it all. These books if read all combined in one are so much more fun than if read separate. From responsible Gideon to grouchy Daniel to smitten Titus and calculating Paul to quiet Bryce and mischievous Logan they all made such a combination that I was eager to see what kind of woman it will take to tame them into marriage. My favorite parts were their Chance votes. Somehow the younger ones always managed to outnumber the older ones. And once Miriam and Alisa got it into their head that women should vote too – it was a plain disaster, and I loved it all.
Out of all though I was most impressed by Daniel, the grief he went through and the healing from it is amazing. In truth you don’t heal unless you start facing grief in the face only then can you really manage to let God touch your wounds and heal them. LoveJoy did phenomenal job of making him face reality of it all. And when you see such a grouchy mountain of a man turn into a smitten teddy bear it makes your heart flutter.
If you are the kind of reader (like me) that after reading a book don’t want to see the story end, this book is for you, it just keeps on going perfectly balancing out the previous characters and the future ones.
I really enjoyed this historical, funny and heartwarming collection and I hope you will too.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this collection from Barbour Publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2013
The Brides of Chance is a collection of six novellas by Kelly Eileen Hake, Cathy Marie Hake, and Tracey V. Bateman. I really enjoyed the first four stories, but the last two were just okay.
The Chance brothers have been living on their own until women started showing up at the ranch for different reasons. One by one the Chance men fall in love and marry. I enjoyed reading about the different personalities and backstories of the women and how the Chance brothers captured their hearts. I loved having all six books to read one after the other because you could hear about the other characters still!
It was a bonus to read some stories by Cathy Marie Hake again! She's always such a fun read. If you have read any of these authors, you will definitely enjoy these books.
I was given this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Brides of Chance Collection: The Chance Brothers Journey into Romance in Six Historical Novels - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Brides of Chance

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an incredibly cute collection of books.
I can say that by the 6th book, I was on to the theme and could really guess the outcome of the stories but that didn't really take away from my love of the book.
Winter is a great time for cozy, clean, romance books and this is exactly that.
With humor, faith, love, struggle and history, this book contains many of the elements that I love about reading.
Not to mention, some of my favorite Christian Fiction authors participate in in the writing of this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.