Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Big Idea VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions

Big Idea VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions

Meet Moe (Larry the Cucumber), a good-natured cowboy living high on the hog in Dodgeball City while his kinfolk were toiling to dig the Grand Canyon. When Moe asks the heartless Mayor to let his people go, he refuses and trouble comes to town. Can Moe help free his people from bondage and flee Dodgeball City once and for all? Includes the all-new Silly Song "A Mess Down in Egypt" by Boyz in the Sink.
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Review 1 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute western theme of The Exodus

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda Gayer
Location:West Frankfort, IL.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson asks for this DVD everytime he visits...and he realizes that "Moe" is for Moses...it's great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

missed the exact biblical story

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Albany,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I believe Big Idea is a great company that has done much to teach children about God and His holy, infallible and unquestionable Word. It is this Word we as Christians must stand on in these difficult days... However, in this particular story, I believe they made some critical mistakes in retelling the Exodus story. In an attempt to 'bring it down to their level ' (which is done very well using veggie characters), they have, in this episode, represented actual events in a way that is untrue... The danger of this (and I know many will disagree, as is seen from many positive reviews) is that as those children see the actual story, they have an idea that God's infallible Word is changeable in different circumstances. I am seeing this in my dealing with young people who are now grown into young adults and have seen so many versions of the Word that they don't take God at His absolute speech...some simple examples of this in this film are: the plague of frogs is represented as a plague of prairie dogs (because of the western desert theme) and the parting of the Red Sea (one of God's most awesome miracles) is shown as Him causing snow in Death Valley... if only they would remake it closer to the Word it would truly draw children to a greater truth... There was also some frivolous humor ('pretend you see them in their underwear, Moe [Moses] so you won't be afraid to speak'), that could have been left out, due to the gravity and importance of this story, and it's N.T. counterpart, our Exodus out of sin through Christ's great Redemption... To their credit, at story's end the veggie characters say it is not the exact story of Moses, but only reminds them of it. As always, praying for Big Idea and all who step out to do something different. God bless you all as you make choices for your kids. Bro. Jim : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes a great gift

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dawn Corbin
Location:Hop Bottom, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a friends children and they loved it and said that it really made them see how important it is to for you to pay attention and follow directions or you can get into a heap of trouble, (from the mouth of a 6 year old).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great movie for my kids to learn about God.

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leslie
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids love Veggie Tales and this movie was no exception. I love the Christian storyline and the kids definitely enjoyed the cowboy theme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great teaching tool

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Qmil
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I buy these for my grandchildren for every holiday and they love them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brownie
Location:N,C,
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grandkids loved it. They like to sing along with the songs, once they learn them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Crull
We love getting Veggie Tales for our Granddaughter.She really loves them,and we don't have to worry about the content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
tracker482000
My little boy loves these and watches time and time again. I recommend these movies to everyone who has young children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Scuteri
I was very disappointed in the way this was done. I felt it was very confusing to kids the way it was portrayed. I will never show anything to my childrens church class without veiwing it first after this DVD. I plan to follow up this sunday with the real story...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita Schiller
My granddaughter loves Moe-she can watch it over and over and learn something new every time. A wonderful movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
I love the way they depict this Bible lesson. Even though it is not 'completely' from the Bible (they tell you that from the beginning) the "message" is there. So cleverly done and the kids love it, too! It shows how God can use us when we are willing to listen to Him! Even after we make a mess of things to start with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Park
This is a very cute movie as all of the Veggitales are! My 6 month old loves them, especially the songs!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Russell Hooper
What a great price on this DVD from CBD! Bought it as an Easter gift, my kids LOVE it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry Turner
I fell in love with the veggies 5yrs ago. Not only does it help to tell the story of God. But help entice children to eat their vegetables.You see its all good. lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
DawnieNo1@aol.com
This is just another of the fantastic, inspirational work of Big Idea Productions! Veggie Tales are so beloved in our home that all 5 of my children -- ages 27,23,18,11 and 8 are crazy about them! They all have Veggie Tales T-shirts and misc. merchandise and have absolutely no problem wearing their shirts in front of their friends, co-workers, etc. My older two will listen to the CD's or watch the videos with their friends and tell them all about them! They appreciate all the humor and music as well as the lessons. We even play the videos in our evening worship services with both the children AND the adults -- up into their 80's!!! You cannot go wrong, no matter the age, with any and all Veggie Tales!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Harris
My kids in Children's Church loved this movie. We always love Veggie Tales! We had a Bible lesson about Moses & Pharaoh and then watched the movie - great lesson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keri Flyte
My 2 yr old daughter was a big fan of Little Joe, and she loves Moe even more, she asks to watch it every morning!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Young
very good. Detailed story line, keeps your attention, humorous values taught. Informative important subject matter. The price was right. All ages would enjoy watching this video. Following directions is an important rule that leads to obedience to God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donald Draper
Another great "tail" with the veggies. The kids (young and old) at church loved it. Super for old fans of the Lone Ranger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for VeggieTales: Moe and the Big Exit: A Lesson in Followin' Directions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Matlock
My 6 year old grandson loved it and he is not a Veggie Tale fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.