Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook

Thomas Nelson Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook

An evangelist's duties are many: preparation, prayer, community and actual evangelism are but a few. Apologetics, while in the strictest definiton not evangelism itself, is nonetheless instrumental in an apologist's performance of his Great Commission. While both gauging the sinner's attitude toward the Gospel and gently leading him into the Law, Christians need to be able to defend attacks - both overt and accidental - on that Gospel. Here we find the realm of apologetics, the defense of the Faith.

Ravi Zacharias is an apologeticist's apologeticist, speaking to audiences around the world while reaching others by radio, television and with his many books. Here he offers both his own writings and the writings of others who have been or are currently involved with his ministry RZIM, and the ground covered in these pages ranges widely, from the challenge of other religions to questions posed by the irreligious. Ravi himself contributes articles addressing evil and suffering as well as how churches should engage their congregations in apologetical instruction. Going past mere lists of answers to questions from the lost, this book will inspire you to active evangelism with the use of the principles provided.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
Review 1 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great apologetics book

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
steffanie
I really enjoyed Beyond Opinion, even though it took me a while to read. To me it was a bit heavy, which is what I expected. I wanted to have a resource to improve the way I defend my faith and didn't expect simple answers. I really enjoy hearing Mr. Zacharias on the radio, especially when he does open forums at colleges and tackles the hard questions students are asking. This book felt like setting in on one of those discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not an easy read, but well worth it

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
bweatherby
Location:Washington state
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This particular book is definitely not my usual choice of review material. In fact, if I was going to be really honest with you, I’d have to admit I requested this book primarily because I knew my husband would love it. My first impression of “Beyond Opinion” was that it looked … well, intimidating. But, I took a deep breath and plunged into what I believed was the deep end. And, I am very glad I did! Ravi Zacharias along with his team of apologists from Ravi Zacharias International Ministries (RZIM) have compiled an excellent collection of essays that cover a wide range of topics including post-modernism, Islam, Eastern religions, science and existentialism.
Those of you who know me, or who read my reviews, probably know by now that I tend to be a binge reader, with a preference for books I can devour in a single sitting. So, having put off reading “Beyond Opinion” for as long as I dared, I was truly surprised at how much I enjoyed reading it. Although not an easy read, I made my way through it over several days, it was definitely worth the time. And, by the way, I was right, my hubby will love this one!
FYI: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annie Kate
Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend is an insightful collection of essays by editor Ravi Zacharias and other apologists. Many of the essays focus on problems different nonChristian groups have with Christianity and on how to understand such nonChristians well enough to guide them to the Truth. Topics include postmodernism, Islam, Eastern religions, science, philosophy, and more. Later in the book, vital but often-forgotten truths about Christianity are presented to modern evangelicals.I was moved by the unique mixture of uncompromising clarity and godly gentleness exhibited in this book. Throughout, the issue is not to score intellectual points, but to understand Gods truth, both for ourselves and for others. That being said, I now understand our culture much better than before, and I also have a small inkling of the significance of Gods holiness, of the Trinity, and of the complexity of human denial of truth. This book has been very challenging to read, and I will need to reread and study it. It is, however, one of the very few books worthy of huge effort. I highly recommend it. It would be especially good for serious book study clubs, evangelism classes, and college courses so that the reader would be able to discuss difficult or questionable points with others. I am planning to have my teens study parts of it for their grade 12 Bible and apologetics course.Disclosure: As a BookSneeze reviewer, I received Beyond Opinion for free from Thomas Nelson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie Thurman
I love listening to Ravi Zacharias, and I really wanted to get educated a little in apologetics, so I looked forward to reading this book. I think that I got more than I bargained for here. Although, I think that the authors did a fantastic job here, this book was a tough read. There is so much to learn and think about, so many questions to consider, that I was overwhelmed. I was hoping for a little education, but got very bogged down in going through the book. I appreciated all that was written, and I learned a lot from these men and women, but it was much, much more than I was looking for. I thought the way the book was set up was great. The first section addresses questions brought up by different people groups concerning Christianity. This is very helpful, especially if you have been talking with someone asking those questions. The second section takes the reader to the questions behind the questions which is where I began to be bogged down. I would only recommend this particular book to a serious student.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Beyond Opinion is the most definitive book on apologetics available today. Author and General Editor Ravi Zacharias compiles essays from twelve different apologetics, including himself, who expound on the challenges from atheism, Islam and other Eastern religions as well as equipping the reader to witness intellectually, spiritually and relationally.Not intended as a one-time read or to be read in its entirety at one time, Beyond Opinion will help you get beyond the clichs and help you effectively witness and give the reason for the hope you have in Christ. If you desire to witness intelligently to those who pose difficult and impossible questions or those who try to confuse and belittle the issue, this book will help you be proactive instead of reactive. Ravi Zacharias is founder and president of RZIM (Ravi Zacharias International Ministries) and senior research fellow at Wycliffe Hall, Oxford. His many books include the Gold Medallion winner Can Man Live Without God? Click here for more information about RZIM.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
I have not studied apologetics much but have always had the desire to learn answers to the questions I am asked about my faith. This book urged me to learn this and to take it seriously because the Christian faith is not only about what Jesus has done for me, but what He wants to do for the entire world. I like the fact that these chapters (written by different authors) all meet the requirement of being loving to the one we are answering to. Too many times we want to learn the "answers" just so we can come off looking "smart" or "Right". This is not the point of apologetics...the point is "studying to show yourself approved, a workman that needs not be ashamed" so that you can relate to others who are searching from a different worldview for the truth. Or so that you can relate to those who would seek to undermine your faith simply because they have studied on how to bring doubts into your mind, while you may not have studied on how those doubts are settled intelligently and Scripturally. There are chapters on Postmodernity, Islam, atheism, Eastern religion, science and other topics. The vocabulary is advanced to a certain extent so a dictionary was necessary for me for a couple of the chapters since I am new to apologetics and the terms used in that study. I think my favorite chapter was addressing the challenges that our young people who are Christians face today as they attend public school and colleges. It stresses the importance of teaching our young people apologetics for their faith so that they can avoid the hazards of falling away from their faith simply because of oppression and not having been trained in how to defend it. We spend much time training our children to get good grades or to learn to play a sport well...should we not spend equal or more time teaching them how to hold onto their faith? It has helped me to grow already in defending my own faith as an adult. Sometimes the person that we are defending our faith to is ourselves...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Colburn
It is with a certain degree of irony that the author of this book chose the particular title that he did. I say that because my first impression (opinion) was that assumptions were often built upon without first being established beyond opinion. To be honest, I was disappointed as I read this book. I've been blessed by Ravi Zacharias over the years.I suppose, if the reader of this book dwells among the already convinced, there will be a flood of amens. What would have been a more accurate title? How to Create a Straw Man Argument and then Shoot it Down. If this was a first draft, no problem. If the usefulness of apologetics is in its clever ability to demonstrate why opposing beliefs are not absolutes, then this book is a winner. Yet the authors present nothing to bolster their own beliefs and, in effect unwittingly leave Christian apologetics a light-weight reputation.OK, OK, I'm doing much of the same thing in this review. On the other hand, this is supposed to be my opinion of the book. Ravi's book was not. This is not to say that there wasn't anything of value in this text. I enjoyed the writing style, the topics, and the cursory coverage of the many issues that confront Christian faith today. I just expected more.Who would I recommend this book to? This is a great book for those who are true believers. It will confirm them in their current evangelical worldview. It will introduce, or at least remind, them of the great diversity of issues that make up our reality. If, though, you are looking for something scholarly and courageous, this book won't be for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Schappert
Ravi is the pre-eminent Christian philosopher and apologist of our time; any book by him is a must read for any believer who is engaging this culture on a philosophical and cultural level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Davies
As an avid Ravi Zacharias and RZIM reader and supporter I was really looking forward to digging my teeth into this one. As with most Apologetics writings, the subject matter is right on for what the world is facing today. For the most part the different authors do a good job of not getting "too deep" so the average reader can udnerstand and apply what they are learning. The highlight chapter for me was the one on the challenges from Youth culture. If you are interested in engaging the current intellectual culture then pick this one up and you will not be dissapointed. You will not become an expert but you will certianly have enough information to feel informed and prepared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
hwbillm
I found this book very insightful, a little too deep for me but it has some great ideas. Some of the contributors are easier to read and understand than others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ethelyn Windsor
this is a great book ravi zacharias is one of the best christian apologists a great read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donald Lebel
This is the second book I have read by Ravi Zacharias. The title tells it all...It is simply one of the best books on the market today. It is easy reading on a difficult topic... opinion! and Ravi sums it up well. That if we, as Christians, must live out our lives from a biblical lifestyle, truely living what the Scriptures teach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Saint George
As a grandparent with grandchildren starting college this is an outstanding book to help them understand what their faith really means and how to defend it even if only within their own soul. It will help people remember what the Word of God really says and not what the devil wants us to believe by distortion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ashok Bruno
I have just started reading and am about 1/3rd done, it is an excellent book. All of the chapters are well thought out and constructed. I am sure the other chapters which I haven't read so far will be even better, since the topics are engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Deane
I haven't gotten through this book yet, but it looks like it will be very helpful. I like the mini-tutorial on assembling logical arguments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend - eBook
This review is fromBeyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
R. William Baxter
A must read for America and the world. Ravi Zacharias would not put his name on a book that was not one of the most compelling literary masterpieces in the 21st century. If we could apologetically apply in gentleness and humbleness just some of the principles of the book we could change the world, as I know the book will, for those who read and apply it to their lives. The insight in the book meets the demands of the the postmodern world in which we live head on. Wonderful Book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.