Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It

Crossway Books & Bibles Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It

In a culture that minimizes infidelity and its devastating effects, best-selling author Jerry Jenkins gives strong but practical advice: plant preventive hedges around your marriage. You will face many enemies, but there is a way to deal with sexual temptation long before it occurs - and to stay faithful for life. Revised edition. Includes a 90-minute DVD message from the author and a new study guide for group and personal use. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Review 1 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Testify!!!

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cyndi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirty-two year marriage here that testifies to the effectiveness of the principles laid out in this book. The world would laugh at some of them, but then again, they are the one's desecrating the sanctity of marriage. Fifty percent divorce rate? Really?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quite possibly a CURE for the divorce epidemic!

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
scgirlgwd
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are working through this book together. We are using the book along with real life "what if" situations we bring up in our discussions to build hedges around our marriage. We are learning a lot about each other in the process!
This book is an easy, practical read with accurate, thought provoking ideas that challenge every man and woman to examine themselves and the situations they put themselves/marriages in daily....and how these very acts put our marriages in jeopardy and will eventually destroy it if we do not put hedges in place to protect it!
I highly recommend this book to every married couple and also to those who are contemplating marriage! "Hedges" just might be the cure for today's divorce epidemic :)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Stovall
Was disappointed with this book. The principles are great and I believe they should be followed by everyone. Unfortunately, he predominately focused on men needing to set hedges. Recently I've encountered women that were having problems setting hedges and was looking for something to help them...didn't feel this book was quite suited for women.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Stockstill
If your married you need to read this book! My wife and I are reading it together and we both are learning about me
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Porter
Would make a good bible study for couples and College age groups to put in place habits to protect the sanctity of relationships.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve Graff
At 43 and struggling to hold my marriage together (we're still hanging on), this book should be required reading for any engaged couple before the wedding. Oh, how I wish someone would have taught me this stuff 18 years ago....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lauren Soileau
This is the most useful marriage book I've ever read. I read it with my husband right before we got married - so glad we did. I ordered it recently for a friend who's getting married. This version is even nicer - comes with a DVD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherrell Kemp
Great insight on protecting your marriage from the snare of Satan, by fleeing and identifying the way of escape from our temptations. He is all about not creating any opportunity for messing up, such as never being alone with any female he is not related to. Also, he checks in with his wife no matter what, when he has to travel with a female colleague. At first, I was like some of this is ridiculous, but he's like Dave Ramsey, the financial adviser, of the marriage arena - Dumb-proof things by eliminating all potential stumbling blocks no matter how much self-control you thing you may have and innocent they may seem.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Randy Sharp
My first introduction to "Hedges" came as a gift from my father-in-law shortly after it was first published in 1989. Early on, I adopted Jenkins's first and most important rule in protecting marriage. Within the first few paragraphs, Jenkins' advises, "Take care of the way things look and you take care of the way things are." He explains that if husbands will not allow themselves to be alone with an unrelated female, they've eliminated the possibility that anything inappropriate will take place.Jenkins effectively encapsulates the fundamental nature of man's sexual character, and uses examples to clearly outline how and why men are attracted to women. His detail to common "weaknesses" that often lead to extra-marital affairs is quickly followed by hedges designed to help husbands avoid even the most subtle displays of inappropriate behavior.Prudish is a common word Jenkins uses to describe his own hedges. And, he makes no apology for it. As Jenkins correctly illustrates in Chapter 4, almost every extra-marital affair begins with a seemingly innocent remark or contact with a woman. His "never flirt" and "some compliments don't pay" hedges insure there are never any misunderstandings between him and women.Hedges also takes a sobering, yet compassionate look at the emotional devastation of marital infidelity as he challenges the reader to reflect on those around him who have experienced a failed marriage because of infidelity. It is a no-nonsense book applicable to all men, from the just-engaged to the golden anniversary husband.Revised in 2005, Hedges now includes an accompanying DVD presentation, a study guide, and an interview with Jenkins, and is suitable for use in a men's study group.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carlos L. Guerrero
This is one of the best book in how to be aware of the lust and temptation is getting closed to your life.and how defend yourself against that.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Barbara Gill
A MUST READ FOR EVERY MARRIED COUPLE!! Hedges has helped my husband and I stay clear from 'The Line' We use many of his ideas on how to protect our marriage from falling into the Satan's traps. I believe any and every couple who loves each other needs to buy 2 copies because after you read this book, you will want to pass it on. My husband is in the military, deployed right now we are buying a few for him to pass out to the other guys in his company. Thank you for this book
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hedges: Loving Your Marriage Enough To Protect It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Lee
This book should be a must read for every newlywed couple. Following these protective boundaries could help prevent the horrible damage that crossing the lines into infidelity brings a marriage. We read this after suffering just that damage in an effort to reestablish trust and protect our marriage from future damage.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.