Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook

Thomas Nelson Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook

Before he became America's pastor, he was simply known as "Billy." Hear the story of Billy Graham's beginnings at Wheaton, how he met Ruth Bell, and the unexpected challenge that almost changed the course of his life. Billy's good friend Charles Templeton was already a successful preacher, and the two young men strategized to evangelize the world. But their plans took a drastic turn when Templeton had a crisis of faith and became an atheist. Discover the stunning impact of that decision in this story of betrayal, hope and redemption!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
Review 1 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Masincupp
This is a great book and a great guide for all of us. What a blessing to know that 'Billy' is the great man that we all think he is and that he gives that glory to God who has lead him through the years and will lead us if we ask.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Blaine
Definitely one of the best books I have read in a very long time. An incredible story of faith and love and of the struggles we face both within and without. I recommend this book to everyone and will be buying this for all my friends this Christmas!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karma Sweet
I so want to buy the movie! I've read the book and it's even more interesting than the movie. But having seen the movie first I believe the book came to life even more. This truly showed the human side of Mr. Graham and the struggle of faith that he had and how he gave it all to God and walked his faith out. And it revealed a friendship and test of loyalty I hadn't heard about. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Den Slattery (Speaker/ Author)
I loved this book. It was well written, insightful, and thought provoking. It's the story of Billy Graham and Charles Templeton and their struggle with faith, evangelism and the Bible. My book club read it and everyone spoke highly of it. I have recommended it to many people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
I purchased this book in error thinking I was buying the DVD. All I can say is "Wow!" There is no way the movie can be as captivating as the book. I found it to be so inspirational and so many facts incorporated as part of the story line show how enduring faith can change so many lives. This book opened my eyes on so many different levels. A wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Clark
Billy is the story of a young Billy Graham. Told from the point of view of Charles Templeton, it covers Mr. Grahams humble beginnings on a dairy farm in North Carolina to the launch of the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association. I found this book insightful. Watching the greatest evangelist of the 20th century develop was heartwarming and endearing. Seeing the path his friendship with Charles Templeton took was heartbreaking. My eyes were opened to how easily anyone can lose sight of Gods will. Hearing Charles Templeton tell this story made me wonder about Billy Grahams side of the story.Although I did enjoy this book, I still have some misgivings. The book is wonderfully written. I had no trouble keeping the recollections and present day dialogue separated. Settings are easy to see with the minds eye, and secondary characters never outshine the true purpose of the book. On the other hand, I think this would have been more aptly named Charles, or Charles & Billy. So much of the story focused on Charles Templetons jealousy and rivalry with Billy Graham. Mr. Templetons personal story was more compelling, and more heart wrenching. Having him tell the story of a young Billy Graham before they met, made me question mental accuracies and personal interpretations. I am encouraged to seek out auto-biographies of both men for a more clear picture and understanding of their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Cedervall
An accounting that reminds us that God uses earthen vessels and even the ones we think most holy have had their battles with doubt and Satan's efforts to keep them from God's best will. The book is written in a manner that keeps the reader's attention and moves the story along without confusion or formula-like style. It was a blessing to read and gave great insight to one of God's humble servants, his family and friends, and his ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Billy, does a good job of retelling the story of Billy Grahams early days in ministry. He travels and speaks with Charles Templeton who is a popular evangelist; they both ministers with Youth for Christ. Charles begins to struggle with his faith after learning about the horrors of the Holocaust and he eventually walks away from his faith. Billy must then work through what his own faith issues as well as the loss of his friend. He found Gods truth to be true and was able to preach about these truths for the rest of his life, bringing thousands to a saving belief in God.I enjoyed reading the biography of this Godly man named Billy Graham. I learned many things I did not know; Billy was an evangelist for Youth for Christ, a pastor of a small church, a radio personality, a Fuller Brush Salesman and the President of Northwestern College in Minnesota. It is always fascinating to read how God has worked so faithfully in the lives of His people.The story is told by Charles Templeton, who is an Alzheimer patient nearing the end of his life. This part of the story bothered me, as I know that a Alzheimer patient is not capable of remembering in the manner the book betrays (I spent a lot of time with an Alzheimer patient this past year). As long as I did not dwell on this facet of Billy - I found the book to reveal God at work in both Billy and Charles Templeton.My Dad read it while he was visiting us during Christmas and enjoyed it very much. He said that it was interesting as he could relate to Billys life as he has known of Billy Graham for most of his life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Joan Bigden
This book was so well written that I couldn't put it down. In addition, it held profound truths of how God offers us a plan for our lives...but the choice is ours. The everyday choices wee make become a path that deterines the outcome of our lives both now and for eternity. I believe this book should be required reading for seminary students and pastors alike.Joan Bigden
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kara Sanger
To much of the world, Billy Graham is a name synonymous with Christianity and evangelism. "Billy" offers a glimpse of Billy Graham's life through the eyes of his best friend, Charles Templeton.The story is built around an interview that reporter Deborah Matthews conducted with Charles Templeton in 2001, just months before Templeton died. Matthews wanted to find the "dirt" on Billy Graham so she went to the one source that she thought could help her - Templeton.Back in the early 1940s, Templeton was a spiritual powerhouse preaching to crowds upwards of 20,000 people. In an effort to reach soldiers returning from World War II, both Templeton and Graham, a young upstart, agreed to preach at a Chicago event.Through that meeting in Chicago, Templeton and Graham became best of friends. They traveled together throughout the United States and Europe preaching to thousands in the name of Christ.However, Templeton began to have a crisis of faith. He expressed his doubts to Graham, who privately uttered the same questions. Within a matter of months, Templeton's crisis led to a separation of the two friends.The seeds of doubt that Templeton planted in Graham's mind led Graham down a sorrowful path where he doubted himself, his call to preach, and, in a sense, his God. While Templeton's crisis led him to academia, Graham sought answers while on his knees.While much of the book is told in an engaging story format, I struggled reading through the battle between Graham and his faith. The 8 pages detailing the spiritual warfare going on in heaven over Graham, his faith and career, seemed out of place and lengthy. In the end, as we know from history, Graham realizes that God and the Bible could only be accepted by faith.Told in an engaging story format, Billy is a wonderfully written biography. Much of the story is filled with action as well as insight into Graham's life and his relationships. Personally, I found the book hard to put down once I started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tracy Keck
Billy is a wonderful book about two men, two friends, two crises of faith and the choices that were made which led to the sad dissolution of that friendship. This amazing book is based on the true story, yet reads like a novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tiffany C Kinerson
Billy is an enthralling book about the choices that faithful people make every day that can decide the fullness of life in which they will walk.As Templeton stated, he had profound doubts, and [he] let [his] doubts guide [him] to questions that [he] could not answer.He let the aftermath of World War II tragedies wash over him until he couldnt believe anymore.In spite of the true change he saw after Spiritual encounters surrounding himincluding his mothers, Billy Grahams, and even people Templeton himself led to the cross.In spite of healings that came forth through the tingling of his own hands. In spite of the supernatural effects his powerful evangelist friend had on people.Templeton could not believe that Jesus was the Son of God or even that a loving God could exist in such an evil world as ours. Fascinating and addictive, like a drink I had to swallow down every day, I could not put McKay and Abrahams Billy down.It was a biography that read like a work of fiction with its larger than life characters put to the test by a world that questions the simplicity of faith.To all who search for Truth in life, Billy Graham knows the real thing.He is the real thing: a faithful man whom we would all do well to study and follow by example.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky
I have always liked Billy Graham, which is why I was thrilled to review a biography about his early years, written by William Paul McKay and Ken Abraham and published by Thomas Nelson.It is reassuring to me that Graham had doubts about his faith. I wonder if he ever looks back to the time the book records when he said he'd never be a preacher or an undertaker and laughs at the way things turned out. It was reassuring, too, to see how God worked in Billy's life to put him in the right place or put the right people in his life so that his ministry could grow.I don't think you can be a good Christian without examining your faith, and it was interesting to me to read about Graham's struggle as well as that of his friend, Charles Templeton. I was sad at the obvious pain Templeton was in because he could not believe as Billy did, and I rejoiced that Billy came through his struggle with his faith intact.Throughout this story, Billy Graham's parents and his wife stood by him, but most importantly, so did his God. That Billy turned to Him for guidance and in gratitude comes through in the book loud and clear. Reading this book makes me want to read more about Billy Graham. I'm sure there have been crises in his ministry throughout the years, and now I am eager to learn what happened where this book left off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Greenacre
I was intrigued to read the book, Billy as I couldnt imagine what the "untold story could be"--what more could be told about Billy Graham? After all, much has been written about the most renowned evangelist of our time. Billy is so well written, like a novel, rather than a typical biographical sketch, that it hooked me from the beginning! The intrigue from the onset was created through the unusual friendship and the choices Billy and his long time friend, Evangelist turned atheist, Charles Templeton were both destined to make. Those choices separated them until an unlikely event brought them back together for one final meeting. It's a must read for those who have loved him, those who have felt abandoned by God, those who have questioned that the Bible is the inspired Word of God and even those who have questioned the integrity of Billy Graham!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alyssa
If I were to describe the book with one word, it would be: Interesting! Before reading it, I was somewhat worried that this book would be a boring biography. But it wasn't! There is quite a bit of dialogue which keeps it entertaining. I finished it in four days; its a 272 page book! There was a lot of information about Billy Graham that I had never known. Its main "topic" or "theme" is the fact that when Charles (Chuck) Templeton and Billy Graham, who were both young evangelists and very good friends, struggled with doubts/a test of faith, one of them became an agnostic and the other continued to be an effective evangelist. It also shares the life of Billy Graham from his days as a young man on a dairy farm, to a college student, and on to an evangelist. He was told many times that he would not amount to anything great, that he was a failure, and that he did not have the talent necessary to preach. God gave him every ability he needed. It also shows how so many decisions led up to what he was eventually able to do. He could have become a farmer or a military chaplain. Instead, he became an evangelist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Billy: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything - eBook
This review is fromBilly: The Untold Story of a Young Billy Graham and the Test of Faith that Almost Changed Everything.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
I haven't read a biography this enjoyable in a very long time. Mr. McKay and Mr. Abraham have done a masterful job introducing me to a man I felt I knew before, but truly know now in a much deeper way."Billy" is the novelization of the motion picture that WON'T be coming to a theater near me (which makes me immensely sad). But this is far more than just the story of the beloved evangelist, Dr. Billy Graham.We also get the privilege of meeting Billy's dearest friend outside of his wife, Ruth: Charles Templeton.The authors begin at the beginning--describing Billy's early years, his family life, and his skepticism concerning church and God: all juxtaposed with Charles' life. With lively writing, this story comes to life as we watch these two young contemporaries grow, find faith, and then take two divergent paths.Billy as a young man puts Dr. Graham in proper perspective: a servant called of God and led to do amazing things, but a mere man. A truly humble man of high integrity. And Charles went the other way, but praise God, he chose right in the end of his life.Along the way, we also get to meet George Beverly Shea, T.W. Wilson, Cliff Barrows, and last but certainly not least, Billy's beloved wife, Ruth Bell Graham--now with our Lord.I cannot urge you enough to pick up this book. Don't wait for the movie--it may not even come to your area. The book is magnificent. I feel as if I know the Grahams, and I rejoice to call them brother and sister. Read it and see if you don't feel closer to the man many call Billy.I give "Billy" the golden bookmark for publishing excellence, with a golden tassel. I'm also voting it "Best Biography of the Decade". Thanks, Mr. McKay and Mr. Abraham, for staying true to the story of one of America's most beloved evangelists, Billy Graham.Happy Reading!Deena
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.