Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
3 out of 650%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Review 1 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do your own homework

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paul
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read this book back when I was "saved" and leaving my Catholic Faith to become an evangelical. I was in the Southern Baptist Church for over 4 years, went on missions, tithed, served faithfully, and when I moved towns I was forced to go through the common protestant practice of "church shopping." After attending a slough of churches for various times I began wrestling with the issue of authority, and I saw the great error in the protestant church: lack of authority? The root of many of the logical absurdities, and perpetual schisms that protestantism often breeds come from its origin to "protest" or rebel. The problem with this book is that it perpetuates convenient half truths and outright miscaracterizations of the Catholic faith, rendering it intellectually dishonest at best, and malicious at worst. Don't be lazy. Research the Catholic faith, the origins of the Church, the origins of the Bible, the early church fathers and their writings. You will be surprised at what you find.
0points
13of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Benedictine
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My experience with this book is an ironic one. I was an Evangelical Christian committed to the ideals spelled out by Rhodes here. In fact, I used it to "evangelize" Catholics and share the gospel with them. As I began to research the history of the faith, and the Church in particular, and the relation of Sacred Scripture to the People of God, my thinking began to change. Rhodes book became for me my last lifeline. I tried desperately to cling to my Evangelicalism, as slowly but surely each and every page of this book melted away in the face of the Ancient faith professed long before Luther and Calvin. I would invite you all to look over the wall of the Reformation, and past 1517. The Church predates the Reformation by 1500 years. Is there anyone bearing witness so-called Protestant ideals before 1517? It almost seems as though Rhodes would have Christ be the foolish builder in His own parable...
-13points
20of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is just what I need

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
atp1952
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is helping me know where my 85 year old Catholic friend is coming from...he has no hope for "heaven", no peace, doesn't know what the Bible says... it's so sad
+7points
21of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Readable on true Gospel and Catholic fallacies

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
SPQR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Rhodes has written an accurate and readable work on Romanism. As a recovering Catha-holic, I see this as a useful resource for Christians to better understand their Catholic friends and to minister the true Gospel of Christ.
Rome's contention that it "gave" us the Bible is fallacious. Examples include:
- "Rome gave us the Bible"
- Old Testament - do they really believe that Jesus did not know what was in the O.T.? ("From the blood of Abel to the blood of Zechariah, son of Berekiah" - Luke 11:51) Jesus lived before Jamnia Council, FYI.
- Apocrypha - Also, what about fact that none of the faithful Jewish rabbis or early Christian recognized the Apocrypha as part of the Bible? (Rome does and needs it to justify its bizarre doctrines like purgatory and masses for dead. Plus these books are inferior and even contradict the true Scriptures.)
- New Testament - How could Rome "give" us the Scriptures when it could not even agree which books belonged to it (and changed its mind through decades and centuries)?! Revelation, Hebrews, and 2 Peter come to mind. Plus Rome also accepts Gnostic writings as "sacred tradition" - books which are frauds and contradict God's Word.
- "Rome is the early church." - Much of the historical record on the church has been repressed by Rome/Constantinople. Yet, we do find some fragments about Biblical Christians who rejected Roman autocracy such as the Paulicians, Waldenses, Albigenses, and the movement of Patrick of Ireland (btw, he was not Catholic or even Irish, contrary to the history Rome would have you believe). Additionally, 250 years (from time of apostles to Edict of Nantes) is a long time for corruption and sin to taint the official "church" - just read the Book of Judges where it only took 1-2 generations (less than 80 years) before Israel was turning back to idolatry.
May the Lord be glorified in opening the eyes of people to the true Gospel of Christ through His grace alone through faith alone. (Eph. 2:8-9)
+6points
24of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Christ founded the Catholic Church

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Will
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
One of the most ignorant statements- that the Catholic Church was founded by Constantine. Did the bible fall out
of the sky? The church was around for over 300 years before the NT canon was decided(with much debate).And
yes the 7 extra books in the OT Catholic bible were accepted during the time of the apostles. Protestants use
Jewish OT canon decided at a council in the 1st century-that opposed christianity and denied Christ! Puzzling? After years in protestant (and evangelical) churches woke up to the nonsense about protestant objections to Mary,saints, purgatory-faith alone,bible alone(i feel sorry for the early christians who were without a bible and were illiterate). God's grace saves us(faith+works are necessary)
Man made traditions?How about the alter call-thats not in the bible. God claims us-we don't claim God.
Matthew 16:18-19(aramaic translation)-John chapter 6 (literal). Who founded your church?
-9points
26of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Resourceful, informative, written with good heart

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joshua
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My girlfriend is a Catholic and I have always wanted to learn about why the Catholics have adopted so many extra customs and beliefs to the way people followed God before the Catholic church started.
I have been searching for the answers to Life & God for 3 years now, constantly doing my own research & studies. I don't believe any ones view of God is complete nor is it without flaws. And so I know I will search for the answers until the day i die and still I will not have found the answers.
But in my studies I have found that the best sources of information are those that raise the most challenging questions about ones faith. I always search for the hardest questions to test my faith. If I find I have been believing a lie, a false idea, then I can change my perceptions and learn from them for the benifit of myself and of others as I try to share my findings with Love.
I believe this book raises the hardest questions that a Catholic will probably ever have to face and it gives a Protestant the best leads he will ever get in his search for the Truth.
This book definately raises good questions to all the customs and beliefs the Catholic Church has added to their faith since the day of Jesus and his disciples.
+19points
25of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gretchen
Great book to learn from. Ron Rhodes does a wonderful job comparing facts from the Bible and the CCC. Very helpful when conversing with catholics, but as stated above, the main "argument" here that has divided the church is the Bible's authority. This book acts as a supplement to the truth found in the Bible. Jesus was the rock, not Peter. No argument here, since you cannot argue with God's Word. Peace.
+10points
22of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Roess
It's sad to see this author perpetuate common myths about Catholicism. The early church did not even have a New Testament since it was still being written by Paul, Peter, John and Luke. At the time they were writing their letters and testimony, they had no idea they were writing Scripture. It was the Catholic Church who canonized the Bible, through the authority of the Bishops and Pope. How strange to use the Bible, which is a Catholic book, to argue against Catholicism. Please read the early Church Fathers: Ignatius, Polycarp, Justin Martyr and see what the truth really is. It is found in the Catholic Church alone.
-28points
29of 86voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Graham
" All Christianity came from Catholicism!!" This is the myth indoctrinated into Catholics. Once you take away the lie that it is the "True Church" founded on St Peter, all the other bricks start to crumble. The Catholic Church arose some 200 -300 years after the the events described in the Gospels and Acts. The clue is in the word "Roman". Rome had been persecuting Christians for 300 years, but the rise in Christianity kept multiplying. Like any Politician, Constantine recognized something had to be done and hence helped incorporate the Pagan religion of his people, and wrapped it in a layer of the new faith. The goddess Diana, was simply re-named Mary etc etc. Within a few years Christians who did not adhere to the Official faith were rounded up and put to death "In the name of Christ. This is the true but sad origin of this apostasy. Read the scriptures. Paul prophecies about this very scenario... Dressed in Crimson and Purple, the Roman Papal colours....The False church that will ban Marriage...Celibate priests and nuns. It is the very antithesis of the true Church, of which the early church pastors would have been appalled. Do not expect to be able to easily convince Catholics of this matter.
+12points
29of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul James Goetke
As a "Recovering Catholic" I must say this book is essential if you wish to share True Christianity with Catholic Friends or Family. It is not tru that all Christians came from Catholics; all Christians came from properly reading and understanding the scriptures. For years the Catholic church did all the interpresting of the scriptures for the common people. I believe that Catholics truly love God and want to please him, for me giving up the Catholic faith was a sprititual, family and tradition issue. Too muchof the Catholic doctrine is based on man made ideas and tradition. Salvation comes through a true heartfell faith in Jesus Christ plus nothing.
+22points
32of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
This is an accurate account of Catholic doctrine that uses Catholic publications, RC Counsels, and books by authoritative RC theologians. Of course a Catholic person would be bothered by this book. It takes RC teachings and tests it by Scripture with the proper methods of Biblical interpretation.
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ed
Since interpretation is the key ingredient in understanding Holy Scriptures, then why doesn't Ron Rhodes look to those who learned from the apostles - like Clement of Rome or Ignatius of Antioch - those who lived with the Apostles. Those two, who lived and learned from the Apostles wrote that the bread and wine were indeed Jesus Body and Blood - in a spiritual sense - NOT a symbolic sense. God is Spirit (John 2) and Jesus IS God, and after his death and Resurrection, He had a glorified body. The Eucharist is "God food", Spiritual but very REAL. More Real than our human life, as our souls are what will live forever. When Jesus saw them leaving Him over this doctrine, He did not say, "Hey, wait a minute - I was only talking symbolically! Come on back!" (John 6:66). No, he asked Peter, "are you going to leave too?" and Peter said, "No, You have the words to eternal life".Read about the Passover meal in Exodus to get a better understanding on the Eucharist.
-15points
12of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Benjamin Oviedo
I've always had a hard time witnessing to Catholics at my job, but with this book I've started to breakthrough and show them the light.These are friends that have welcomed my testimony. Ron Rodes is todays most intelligent apologist,and his books are a wealth of knowledge. I highly recommend this book if you have any Catholic friends.
+5points
12of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reasoning from the Scriptures with Catholics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chip L
Ron Rhode's Reasoning from the Scriptures series has become a standard staple in my library. Ron does an outstanding job of picking out the most pertinent subjects, articulating and explaining the Catholic position, and then charitably responding from the Bible. The author has gone to great pains in researching a vast subject so that we will not have to.This book is not an exhaustive resource, but if you want to purchase one well-written book that will better prepare you to witness to your Catholic friends, you will not go wrong with this one.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.