Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Image The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook

Image The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook

In this hope-filled and profoundly simple book, Nouwen offers a radically fresh interpretation of modern ministry. According to Nouwen, ministers are called to identify the suffering in their own hearts and make that the starting point of their service. For Nouwen, ministers must be willing to go beyond their professional, somewhat aloof role and leave themselves open as fellow human beings with the same wounds and suffering as those they serve. In other words, we heal from our wounds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
Review 1 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read for those in leadership

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beaker
Location:Spring Arbor, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for some college students who hold a position of spiritual leadership on campus. It was a great encouragement to many of them as they were striving to lead fellow students despite the hurt and pain they have experienced themselves. I would highly recommend this to anyone who desires for the Lord to use their past circumstances to minister to other people!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Must read for those who care

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
pilgrimjack
Location:Tioga County, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read this book a few times and I bought this copy for a friend who wants to serve in Christian counselling. I can think of no better book for understanding compassionate interaction in human relationships.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Louise M Hutchinson
The Wounded Healer, by Henri Nouwen, was first introduced to me during my Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE)16 years ago. Since then, I have probably given 150 copies to professional and lay people, including my own physician. The Wounded Healer is at the top of my list of books to pass on to someone who ministers to the "wounded soul" or has been "wounded" themselves.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Irudayam Adaikalam
Nouwen suffered and saw much suffering in life and service. That qualifies him to write about healing of mind and heart. This is a must reading for every social worker, physician and any one in helping profession.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tincie M Mays-minor
This is a wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2004
Customer Avatar
JoAnn Bastien
Nouwen is an excellent author and this is by far his best book. Highly recommend to serious ministers (lay and professional). This is not light reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2002
Customer Avatar
Heather
This is a good book. However if you are new to ministry or just want to learn a little this isn't very good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2000
Customer Avatar
John Beeson
A fantastic book. This book is the clearest articulation I have read of both the effects of postmodernism on the church and how a minister must respond to this broken world. Nouwen does not shun academia, but neither does his work come off as erudite and impractical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wounded Healer: Ministry in Contemporary Society - eBook
This review is fromThe Wounded Healer.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
Geoff Bailey
This book provides a realistic look into the realities of being a minister in a wounded world. Nouwen does not avoid theology nor does he steep his discussion in the ivory towers of academia. He brings theological astuteness and practical reflection together in what I would consider a must for anyone in the ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.