Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1

Moody Publishers Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1

In 1947 Allie Fortune is the only female private investigator in New York City, but she's kept awake at night by a mystery of her own: her fianci disappeared in the war and no one knows if he's still alive. Until Allie finds out, she will have no peace. When there's a knock on her office door at four in the morning, Allie suspects trouble as usual, and Mary Gordon is no exception. Mary claims someone is following her, that her apartment has been ransacked, and that she's been shot at, but she has no idea why any of this is happening. Allie takes the case, and in the process discovers an international mystery that puts her own life in danger.

Meanwhile, the FBI is working the case as well, and she is partnered up with an attractive, single agent who would be perfect for her under other circumstances-if only she knew whether her fianci was still alive.

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Review 1 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful start to a new series. Female PI in the 1940's. If you are a fan of movies mysteries of the 40's and early 50's you will adore this book. It is well written, the characters are well developed, and I didn't find any major plot holes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Cutter
I was fortunate enough to win the 2nd book in the series early last summer and then purchased the first book. We then read the book for our (Christian) book club - we can't wait for the next book. Excellent writing!!! We need more of this type of exciting book that is appropriate for several age groups. Loved it!!! "The Happy Ending Book Club"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
I really enjoyed this book. It had mystery, some romance, and a bit of humor here and there. Allie's search makes you want to find out, too! Can't wait to read the 2nd book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Thomson
I can't remember when I last enjoyed a book so much. It's a quick and easy read, but very entertaining. Sara Mills did a wonderful job in bringing the reader into the time period. It's hard to define mystery genres, so if you're wondering what kind of book this is, look at the back where it references the movies Casablanca and The Maltese Falcon and picture a female "Film Noir" character.The subplot of Allie Fortune looking for a missing man from her past added a depth to the book that will keep you turning the pages. I noted on the back cover that he is described as her "finance". I think that's in error although he is a love interest. The tender scenes between the two (written as back flash) are well done and beautifully written.I highly recommend this fun escape!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany Welch
Fun read! Reminds me of Raymond Chandler, but Christian. Very cool. Can't wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley Grove
A wonderfully entertaining read!This book did not disappoint! The plot was inventive and gripping, the characters very engaging. The dialog was well-written, witty and believable. This is one of the most enjoyable books I've read in a long time. I highly recommend this book, especially if you enjoy classic film noir, or are looking for an engaging and entertaining mystery/suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth Beck
Wow, is all I can say about this book! I began to read Miss Fortune last night and finished it today, it was that addictive! When you open the book, everything turns black and white, plunging you into a 1940's film noir movie. I loved everything about it, and I am eagerly waiting for the next book in the series. 5 stars to Sara Mills!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
What fun - mystery and romance set in 1947. Allie Fortune is the only female (and perhaps the best) private investigator in New York City. One night Mary Gordon stumbles into her office, says she is being followed and hires Allie to figure out who is after her. Soviets, FBI, Helen of Troy's gold, innocence or guilt. It's up to Allie to figure it all out... I had a great time working through the mystery with her. What a fun read! I look forward to the next book in the Allie Fortune Mystery series - Sara Mills has a winner on her hands. **** (4 stars) for sending me into my own film noir mystery!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice Moore
Great book, my 17 year old daughter enjoyed it as well, but was frustrated the next book won't be available until March. They did leave us hanging!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bailey
This book was absolutely amazing! I haven't read very many mysteries because it is so hard to find a good one, but this one tops them all !! I will definitely be waiting in suspense for the second one to come out.Way to go Sara Mills !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miss Fortune, Allie Fortune Mystery Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
Miss Fortune is a fast-paced, gripping story of mystery, treasure, and the search for lost love. I adored the nostalgic feel of the storySara Mills did a fantastic job of sucking me back in time and plopping me down on the sweltering sidewalk beside our intrepid PI Princess. The plot was detailed, developed, and daring. The characters were deep, complex, and involving. It made for a book I never wanted to put down.Dont miss Miss Fortune! This is one book youll want to snatch up like the treasure it is. But beware: you might share Allies sleepless nights as you search with her for answers, too eager to turn the next page to remember to go to bed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.