Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook

Thomas Nelson Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook

By examining the dramatic stories of the "Amazing Grace" hymnwriter John Newton and the Apostle Paul's encounter with the God of grace, Dr. David Jeremiah helps you understand the freeing power of permanent grace and mercy. These vivid examples and fresh biblical insights demonstrate how grace wondrously spans all differences, rescues you from your lostness, helps you overcome your weaknesses, and transforms you from victim to victor. Through Captured By Grace, you'll have a fresh experience of the very personal, transforming effect of God's wondrous gift of grace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Review 1 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Many great insights for the reader

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
biblesearcher1947
Location:Ellendale, North Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would consider this a great tool for any and all bible study groups. There are many very valuable points made for all of lifes tenets and these based on scripture. The references are very clear and distinct and easy to read and comprehend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Left me with a GREATER understanding.

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
crystal steimling
Location:PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you ever find yourself wondering how or where or even why GRACE fits into the everyday grind of humanity? This book is for you. Author David Jeremiah so simply and beautifully leaves the reader with a very clear, very biblical view of the plan of grace, the power of grace, the provision of grace, the promise of grace and yes, even the 7 wonders of grace. He leaves no stone unturned considering grace for the past the present and the future. And finally, he parallels the stories of two incredible lives....John Newton, an 18th century slave trader with the Apostle Paul and his Damascus Road experience. Maybe you'll never write the worlds most beloved hymn, and maybe you'll never be an apostle, but, because no one is beyond the reach of a loving God, you too, can be CAPTURED BY GRACE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
This review is fromCaptured By Grace: No One is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a must read for everyone

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
doug
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After you read this book, the grasp of Gods grace will be within reach; you will only need to have your heart and hands open. It will truly set you free!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
This review is fromCaptured By Grace: No One is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
BEth
I am fortunate to have Dr. David Jeremiah as my pastor at Shadow Mountain Community Church here in San Diego, CA. His newest book "Captured By Grace" possesses the power of the Holy Spirit as it speaks through him. The words we've seen many times before, "Amazing grace how sweet the sound..." have a new life in this book. I recommend it as a book that will change your life, change your heart, and capture your spirit--the part of you that God seeks and will never rest until it is found. "I once was lost but now am found." You will be blessed by this book, whether you want to be or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every Christian should read this book. It will take more then a couple days to read though as Dr. Jeremiah gives you a lot to learn. Worth the time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging and Refreshing

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heatherly
Location:Massachusetts
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've learned and read much about grace in these past ten years, but I was pleasantly surprised by all of the new insights that I gained while reading Dr. David Jeremiah's Captured by Grace.
Dr. Jeremiah, using the lyrics of the hymn "Amazing Grace" as his framework, explores the biblical teachings of grace and their implications in our heart, soul, and daily lives. What delighted me was they way that he did this using the life stories of the hymn's author, John Newton, and the Apostle Paul, the author of most of the New Testament's teachings on grace.
Learning the history of the familiar hymn and seeing grace lived out in the lives of these two men of faith allowed the teachings have more of an impact on my heart and spirit.
Captured by Grace is an easy, refreshing read that managed to encourage and convict.
Booksneeze.com provided me with a free copy of Dr. David Jeremiah's Captured by Grace in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caputed Forever

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
MutilatedAudio
Location:Miami, FL
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Captured by Grace: No One is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God by Dr. David Jeremiah and I believe this book was absolutely fantastic. It is just what I needed at this time in my life. I'm a fairly new Christian, I still have few questions, and there many things I just don't understand. I find it difficult to put all my faith in someone I've never known. This book changed that, I say it changed me completely, but it has opened a new door, and it has changed my outlook on life.
Dr. Jeremiah uses the song 'Amazing Grace' to help really understand the grace of God and what is and what it can do. The book is broken into three sections; Grace in the past, present, and future which I think was great. It really gave me a well-rounded idea of what Grace really is. Dr.Jeremiah also takes you through the journey of Paul and John Newton's life and how they came to be captured by grace and how they brought grace to others.
Through this book I have learned what grace really is. It means that I am forgiven no matter how great my sins are, it means that I am loved and am precious to God just as everyone else it.
I've never really believe in God, or Grace or anything growing up. I resented it. I recently I've began to accept it and learn about it, this book really was the final push to really believing it all and putting my faith in Him.
As a new believer this book was quite insightful and powerful. I'm not sure if it will have the same affect on someone who has been a Christian for years, but I do think it would refresh their memory of what Grace is, I do believe it would change your perspective on it all.
I definitely recommend this book to all Christians, whether they are new believers or old-time believers. Every non-believer should read it as well, just so they can understand what Grace and Gad is all about.
I'm really happy I received this book to review. I'm lending to a friend to read then reading it all over again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Captured by Grace by Dr. Jeremiah

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lara
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I chose this as my Book Sneeze selection because I've listened to Dr. Jeremiah on the radio for years and have always learned something from him. Captured by Grace weaves the stories of Paul out of Romans with the story of John Newton, author of the hymn Amazing Grace. If you've never read Newton's story, it is a very powerful example of what God's grace does for even the most heinous sinners (he was a slave trader.)
Dr. Jeremiah drew some interesting the parallels between the lives of Paul and John Newton. Both were enemies of the Christian church in one way or another and both had a dramatic conversion experience. Now, the book isn't entirely a biograpical; Dr. Jeremiah uses examples from both men's lives to illustrate points about the role of grace in the Christian life. He jumps from story to story, discussing God's grace as it played out in that particular setting.
My opinion of this book is that it was good, but not great. I listened to Dr. Jeremiah's radio series "Captured by Grace" and I found it much more interesting than the book. Perhaps Dr. Jeremiah is more gifted as a speaker than a writer. One thing that made this book a little difficult to read was that at times it seemed like Dr. Jeremiah tried to cover entirely too much ground; it was a biography of two men plus an in depth look at what grace means in the Christian life. Despite this, the book was still an overall good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elise Klepatz
John Newton.Paul the Apostle.What do these two men have in common?They were both captured by grace. Dr. David Jeremiahs book Captured by Grace compares the lives of these two men in their journey to receiving Gods grace. While it is clear that God destined these two men to greatness through His grace, He destines no less for you and me.This is the first book I have read by Dr. Jeremiah. At first, it was difficult to navigate the authors style of going back and forth between Newton and Paul. But eventually the book seemed to flow much better. The author aspires to a large subject: Gods grace. The subtitle reads, No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God. Dr. Jeremiah weaves the doctrinal subject of grace with the lives of men we can all relate to. All in all, I give the book 3.5 out of 5 stars.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Captured by Grace, written by David Jeremiah and published by Thomas Nelson, Nashville, 2006, is powerful description of God's grace. Using the life stories of John Newton and the apostle Paul, Jeremiah gives the reader a striking picture of how God's grace pursues, forgives, preserves, and restores us. Interwoven into the narrative are stanzas from John Newton's hymn, "Amazing Grace." Dr. Jeremiah divides his book into three main sections: "Grace for the Past," "Grace for the Present," and "Grace for the Future." Each chapter within the main divisions is subtitled with a line from the beloved "Amazing Grace." The prelude, as Jeremiah calls it, to Captured by Grace< is a stirring account of Saul being pursued by God as he persecutes Christians prior to his conversion, and of Newton being brought under conviction by God as he engages in the slave trade. The parallel accounts of Newton and Paul (formerly Saul) and the demonstrations of God's grace in their lives throughout this book leave the reader in tears and in awe of so mighty and merciful a God. There are also examples of other people "captured" by God's grace, and each example is compelling to read. At the end of each chapter is a brief devotional passage, which would be helpful as a Bible study. Those who read Captured by Grace will be uplifted, comforted, and amazed, not by the book itself, but by our great Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ! (This copy of Captured by Grace was provided free for review by Thomas Nelson. The opinions in this review are my own and I have not received any other compensation for this book review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norma Edie
This is not a book to be read quickly. I normally zip through books in a very short time; however, Captured by Grace required more thought, mediation and just time to savor the truths Dr. Jeremiah was writing. Its easy for us to take Gods grace for granted. For most of us life is not particularly dramatic, certainly not like that of John Newton and the apostle Paul, and we often dont notice His grace. This book will make you stop and think about the gift of Gods grace in your own life.His comparison of mercy and grace give a clear distinction between the two and makes both easy to understand. i.e. Mercy runs to forgive the Prodigal Son. Grace throws a party with every extravagance. I found myself meditating on each of the comparisons listed and finding a new perspective on both mercy and grace.Dr. Jeremiah gives us two powerful accounts of grace and how grace pursues us in the lives of John Newton and the apostle Paul. He goes on to point out that not only John Newton and the apostle Paul experienced grace; we also experience grace. We all face crises in our lives and it is Gods grace that brings us through those times. The author shows us, verifying it by scripture, that Gods grace produces power, perspective, perseverance and praise.We all need Gods grace for the past, for the present and for the future just as the author points out so clearly. This is a book rooted in Gods Word and gives us a fresh understanding of Gods grace. I highly recommend it to you.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Booksneeze.com book review bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com
You and you and you, and yes you, need to read this book! Im guilty of thinking Im better than people who commit murder, who abuse their children or who steal from the grocery store. Gods grace is for all of us! We are all sinners! We are all tarnished!This book opened my eyes to the deception Ive fallen into. The author takes us through the biographies of Saul-turned-Paul (you know, from the Bible) and John Newton (you now, the one who wrote Amazing Grace) and shares exactly what grace is and how we can show it in our lives toward others.Ive previously read and reviewed another book by Dr. Jeremiah. It was a great study on angels. Im liking this author more and more!I received a copy of the book from Thomas Nelson in exchange from my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
angel
I just finished Captured by Grace by Dr. David Jeremiah. I read it at a point in my life where it reinforced what God was teaching me via my daily Bible study, and because of that it was a blessing to me. I loved that it was a Biblically sound book, as they are rare to find these days even amid Christian literature. I was not fond of the storytelling Dr. Jeremiah used to help us walk in John Newton and the Apostle Paul's lives, but that is a personal preference. I did truly enjoy the Biblical truths he expounded on concerning grace through the book though.Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberlee
I recommend this book very, very highly to you. It was an engaging read that held my attention and my wandering mind (quite an accomplishment these days, LOL). There are so many interesting tidbits about Paul and John Newton, that it really helped to flesh out my understanding of their lives. It was also very interesting to see the influence of these mens' Christian walks on others, and how that affected the issues of their times. John Newton's conversion had a far reaching affect that influenced and added strength to the movement to abolish slavery through his unique testimony. While Paul was influential in the development of the early church and it's leadership. Dr. Jeremiah shares hardly known facts regarding each life from both before and after their conversions. Looking at Paul's life, Dr. Jeremiah shows us how small seeds of the knowledge of God were being planted in Paul's mind and soul by seeing how Christians acted during and after their capture. As Christians we often times forget how God can use us every time we interact with others, no matter the circumstances. This book has left me with a better understanding of God's grace, and how it should impact my daily walk. Dr. Jeremiah referenced many different versus, and this was the first time for me to feel that I understood what the Romans Road is all about. It has inspired me to be more conscious of how my interactions can be affecting someone else's life, and to work on being more Christ-like in my everyday life. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Aspacio
Captured by Grace: No One is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God by Dr. David Jeremiah is another book that is hard to put down. Dr. Jeremiah could not have done a better intro when he shared about Turkey Throwing Case that made it to the New York Times in 2005. I would not have known that it was so talked about until I googled it.Dr. Jeremiah penned it perfectly when he said, Grace is shockingsomething like the heavenly converse of a traffic accident. When love is returned for evil, we cant help stopping to rubberneck. Grace is the delivery of a jewel that nobody ordered, a burst of light in a room where everyone forgot it was dark.Dr. David Jeremiah perfectly weaves in the stories of Apostle Paul and John Newton(the former slave driver and the composer of the song Amazing Grace) and tells of their respective radical stories of Grace they found in Christ. I love how Dr. Jeremiah defines grace in a manner that it allows the reader to have a better grasp of what it is like and how it is still true even in the present day. For those who know what it is like,Captured by Grace will make them want to grab hold of it once again and who are yet to find it, long for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie
I have always heard so much about this author and was very excited when I got the chance to review this book. Unfortunately, my excitement was short-lived as I began to read this book.Although I was enticed by the subject of GRACE, the promises that I would learn something from this book were short-lived. I found the wording very hard for me to understand and follow. The examples of others that have been on the search for grace were too numerous in this book for my liking, I found myself trying too hard to remember all of the examples and not being able to focus on the main point that Dr. Jeremiah was trying to get across - "the transforming mercy that captured songwriter John Newton and the apostle Paul can awaken within you a fresh experience of the God who loves you fearlessly and pursues you with abandon."Maybe my initial understanding of what this book was about was wrong... I thought that it would be more about how to allow the Grace of God to enter your life and help through the trials of life. I may try and reread this book at another time (to see if I may gain more from a second reading than I did from this first reading), once I have grown more in my faith.If you are a person that learns best from example, this book may be for you... but for myself, I needed something a little more straight forward and to the point, at this time in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
It is very surprising that I had never read this book before. As an admirer of the extremely well spoken and scholarly Dr. Jeremiah, I find his teaching and writing very easy to comprehend as well as very applicable to my own life. Captured by Grace is no different.Saul of Tarsus (Paul) was a Jewish scholar whose goal in life was to rid the planet of those professing to be Christians. John Newton was a slave trader. Though they were well aware of the Scriptures, they engaged in some of the most reproachable practices even to today's standards. Thought Paul (Saul) became one of the most prolific writers of the New Testament and Newton the author of one of the most beloved hymns "Amazing Grace" they had something deeper in common. Both men were touched by undeserved grace and therefore able to turn their lives around without the weight of guilt for their past lives. Captured by Grace drives home that none of us, no matter what we have done, are beyond the reach of grace and forgiveness.Disclosure in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : This book was presented to me free of charge by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their program without expectation of a positive review. The sentiments expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Dr. Jeremiahs book follows the lives of the Apostle Paul and the former slave-trader John Newton, who went on to write the hymn Amazing Grace. God used grace as the instrumental key that turned each of these mens lives from brutal to beautiful. A wonderful reminder of the power of grace, this book will remind you that it is by grace alone that we are saved. I was also inspired anew to freely give grace to others in light of the fact that without Gods offer of grace to me, I would be without hope for salvation. While portions of the book were dry and the flow seemed off at times, overall a good read. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mechelle Champion
The book captured by Grace is one of inspiration and, if you allow it, will change your life's perspective on what it truly means to live by grace. While this book will point out the difficulties we as a human race tend to have in understanding what it means to be bought by grace, Dr. Jeremiah helps to redirect our focus so that it is not a frightening experience but a freeing one when we truly allow grace to penetrate our life. One of my favorite parts in the book is the question Dr. Jeremiah quotes us as using, "Why is this happening?", I can relate to this and agree wholeheartedly when the author redirects by stating the question we should be asking ourselves in hard or difficult times is, "What is God teaching me?". Overall this book is insightful and inspirational and I recommend it with two thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Captured by Grace: No One Is Beyond the Reach of a Loving God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Do you really understand grace? Do you know that God is out to get you...pursue you with His love? Have you been captured by grace?Dr. Jeremiah explores the concept of grace and what it means for us as human beings. Using the life stories of the apostle Paul and John Newton (the author of the song, "Amazing Grace"), Dr. Jeremiah gives us a picture of what grace can do in a person's life that was totally against God. He travels through the different principles of grace like...*apart from works.*accepted by faith.*available to all.*attained by justification.*awarded freely.*acquired through redemption.My favorite part of the book was when he elaborates on the story of the Prodigal Son. I love how he focused on the response of the father to his son and the grace that was involved. I will have to admit at times I had a hard time focusing on some parts of the book, but all in all I loved this look at grace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>