Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook

Thomas Nelson Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
Review 1 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tanya
I admit it took me sometime to get through reading this book. I requested it from booksneeze because the church that I currently attended is going through some big changes & I thought it would help provide some direction. Brad Powell writes… Every week, more & more people walk away from church – not because they don’t believe but because church has become irrelevant to their lives. This book is to help you feel renewed hope in finding ways to grow in God’s word. Powell shares his personal experience of successfully transitioning his church believing it could happen anywhere and that God can use anyone. Though I did not find any new information or ideas really that have not already been shared in many other books it does explain how he excuted many principals in his own church that I do feel are doable. It took me time to read because I felt that it didn’t fit well for my small rural church experience. I am hoping to re-read it & share with my church call committee as we are preparing to call a new pastor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hope for the church

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patrick Ringler
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brad Powell writes this book to foster change in your church, and breaks the book up into 5 Parts
1. Here is the Church
2. Start the Wave
3. Paint the Target
4. Go For It
5. Hope of the World
In Part One he begins by sharing his story about being a pastor. He shares he felt he was at the top of his game, but realized he was not. He had been trying to change the hearts of people and could not, in that he realized that only God can change the hearts of people. This is a great point for pastors to realize. Over time the church has strayed from the purpose we started with. He takes a look at the church in acts and starts to look for specific things the first church did. Through those he starts to contrast what the church was to what it has become and paints picture of where he feels the church is today.
In the second and third parts of the book Brad begins to show what it will take to move the church from where it to were we should be. He talks about the structure and characteristics of leadership. and through the different ways we can show people the vision and mission God has set for us and his church.
In four He talks about the journey and the path it will take. He shares about the little things that will help. Also talks about staying strong and understanding that some people will always challenge you in many areas. Also with anything there will be Causalities. With everything Change hurts but for the most part is much needed.
Five is the reflect of how this could change the world.
I enjoyed this book and got to my hands as I personally went through a transition that was based in some struggle inside the church and what most people would call the ugly side of ministry. It was a great book that showed me hope and encouraged me to lead in such a way that will paint the new picture to others. I strongly recommended this book for those in ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Change Your Church For Good - Brad Powell

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette Roux
Location:South Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so challenged by what I read - as a pastor and as a member of a church I love. Brad Powell accurately pinpoints the different types of transitions that are often necessary for a church that is "stuck" or even dying. It's not just about changing the carpet color to bring a fresh look. A change in THINKING must take place in order to remain relevant to your mission field. Sometimes how a church feels, looks or even smells can be sentimental for people - they're comfortable with how it is when they've attended for many years. But to the outside coming in, that same church can appear outdated and out of touch with the outside world.
One of the things Powell challenges us to consider is whether there is diversity in your congregation or if you're just welcoming certain types of people. I believe that happens a lot, but it's not always intentional! It has just become the church's personality and what everyone is used to. God wants to TRANSFORM our thinking to reach this world - not just modify our ministry philosophy. And if people across the congregation are not transformed, just making changes without vision can be death to a church.
Powell compares this process to starting the wave at a sporting event. If only one person wants to start the wave, they look foolish standing up and sitting down over and over. But if they motivate those around them, the wave will begin to catch on. Furthermore, if you equip and invest in other leaders in your church, the wave will begin in different corners as well, and the ripple will come together faster. So even though there will still be people who choose not to participate once the wave has spread, it is still a very inspiring thing to watch people working in cooperation together. And transformation is not an easy process to start - you must be patient and not rush it - but Christ did not create the Church to be some static entity. It is always growing and changing and reproducing...
I HIGHLY recommend this book for pastors and leaders who feel stuck. 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brent
I just finished the book Change Your Church for Good by Brad Powell. It contains many thoughts and ideas for making the church relevant for the culture in which it has been planted. As Brad share the difficulties and victories of the journey that God took him and his fellow believers on I was encouraged and prompted to examine the methodology of ministry. I was challenged to always be open to the Lords leading as we reach out to this generation, even if it means being uncomfortable or going somewhere never gone before. All in all - a good book if you are not satisfied with the status quo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cory McCaig
Change Your Church For Good is a pastors (Brad Powell) perspective on creating transition in a church that is either stagnant or dying, to a church that is alive and thriving. Powell doesnt pull any punches either. He deals with topics such as resistance, hard work, and short-term loss. But Powell also gives great insight on good leadership, the current state of the church in America, and how a healthy church is one that functions as the body of Christ. Powell reminds the reader that its all about reaching people, lost people.This book is written in a very attention grabbing fashion. As a pastor myself, I found Powells words challenging and inspiring. What I liked about this book was that it wasnt a manual of how to change your church by incorporating certain programs, but it was a guide to get at the heart of why any church would want to change, for lost people. This book provides proof that change can take place in a church without compromising the truth of Scripture.I personally recommend this book to any church, layman, or pastor that is longing to see a change in the current condition of their church.Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jason Hanselman
Brad Powells book, Change Your Church for Good is best enjoyed if you start in chapter four. The opening chapters sound like a lot of other church growth/leadership books with little newinformation. Powell is able to redirect and move into some practical advice for church leaders that will prove effective if used over the long haul.The greatest strength of this book is Powells long term view of changing churches. There are no quick-fix methods presented and that is the most encouraging aspect of this work. Many church leaders want the latest and greatest fad to fix their problems. Change Your Church for Good is a long term leadership development plan.Over all, I think the middle section of the book is worth reading. It would be good for a leadership team to wok through Powells book together and discuss the serious issues of change facing the church. One way or another, churches have to face the reality that change has to happen and Powell at least gives church leaders a plan to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katherine Heimsoth
I was interested in this book because, as the wife of a pastor, I often see the church from a different angle than many and am often called to weigh in on decisions with my husband.This Book relates Brad's own experiences with changing a church to the larger context. Overall the book was much better than I had expected. I was put off in the first portion of the book describing the Church's faults. It was not that I disagreed with much of what was said, but the universality drawn from the church in the United states, and equating that to the church worldwide today was what is too often seen in American evangelical writers.The other problem I had was that the book left little to God's work, little to prayer, and little to the issues of how God chooses to act or not act. Often the book sounds very close to a strait equation of do these things and this is what God will do, which is a dangerous way to look at God,That being said, the main portion of the book was very good. I especially appreciated the fact that he did not diminish the difficulties of change, and encouraged slowly changing over many years with a very clear target in mind, and first working the idea of change until the leadership and the congregants fully buy into the need. There are many of my generation who either decide they want to church plant to avoid the need for change (at least in the early stages) or try to change a church to fast, give up and go elsewhere, which can do incredibly damage. I recommend the book to those in any form of leadership in a church that is missing the mark and who have desire to see change. If nothing else, reading through the types of change necessary to get to a new place can be very helpful, and some of the cautions and encouragements.So, if you can work past the over-generalization in the beginning, and the inherent tone of over-confident superiority that comes out at times, it can be a useful book for any pastors toolbox.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jack
The book I have been reading for the last couple weeks is Change Your Church for Good by Brad Powell. This book, unlike some that I have read recently, challenged me to process what a church needs to do to examine itself from the inside out.In this book the author examines not only what was wrong with the church he pastors, but also what could be plaguing many churches around the globe. He offers insight into how to examine the health of your church, but most importantly gives the church leader a blueprint for how to change it.Looking at many dying churches these days, it is simple to nod your head in agreement with his rationale as to why they are dying and to applaud the blueprint of how to change. Although it seems simplistic, the author states plainly that "When a church isn't living up to values that God has given, it is failing."The book has a wealth of information that can be used by church leaders, but not all of it will apply in every circumstance. I would consider it a good resource for self examination and prevention of the common pitfalls in a church and most importantly a great resource for a pastor that is taking over a dying church.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an unbiased review. The opinions presented are my own and a positive review is not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Change Your Church For Good, Revised is written by Brad Powell. Using his own church experience as a case study, Powell examines the things that are wrong with the church today and how she should and needs to change. He says The church is supposed to be a place that gives evidence to the resurrection power of Jesus Christ, and in many cases, the church is failing to do this. Powell holds nothing back. He lays out the failures of today and gives clear ideas of how to go about changing. It is clear in his writing that Powell loves the church and wants nothing more than for her to be all that God intended. Change isnt easy, but it is worth it. His big point is that the church should be relevant to todays culture and the irrelevance is what is keeping her from truly succeeding and making a lasting impact on this world. Change Your Church For Good is a challenge I think the church needs to hear and actually listen to. While I do not agree with every point he makes or agree with what he considers important at all times, what Powell has to say is a message we need to take to heart. The church needs to change and Brad Powell gives some good ideas about how to start the process of changing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanna
Change Your Church For Good by Brad Powell is exactly the kind of book that America's church leaders need to be reading. Powell - pastor of NorthRidge Church in Michigan - has seen his fair share of dead and dying churches. In Change Your Church For Good, Powell uses his experiences and insights to help guide churches back onto the path that they were intended for -- one that imitates Christ. Powell is honest...brutally honest. But, he also provides solid scripture to back up his points and makes an incredibly compelling case for the Church's need to seek relevance in our society. His criticism is not without suggestions on how to change, either. Change Your Church For Good contains solid principals on which to start restructuring your church. The first of which being the Bible and the life of Christ.The church has forsaken its first love for tradition and comfort. Change Your Church is a call for Christians to return to our first love.Full disclosure: Thomas Nelson provided me with a free review copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. I was not required to give a positive review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Kerr
"Change Your Church for Good" by Brad Powell and published by Thomas Nelson publishers is a book seeking to give those in leadership, and in ministry, tools to bring their church back to life and to make it relevant in the new age we're living in today. To quote the dustcover, "If you are a leader seeking a blueprint for change -or a member praying for a miracle- this living example can serve as a springboard for your church."Powell's writing style is simple, elegant, and easy to read while he challenges without being condescending or "preachy." As he recounts his story, you can sense how his inability to put God first in his ministry stopped growth and prevented his congregations from being living examples of grace.I don't know if all of his "tips" would help out ever congregation, but reading this book should challenge you to really re-center and make sure that God, and not just tradition, are the center of your church and your ministry. The world needs that message of hope, and it's our job to provide it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Change Your Church for Good: The Art of Sacred Cow Tipping - eBook
This review is fromChange Your Church for Good, Revised.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
change your church for good was written by Brad Powell.change your church for good is his first book and the copy i'm reviewing is a revised edition.change your church for good is a book about change your church can believe in.change/progress/transition; these are words that bring a lot of images and ideas to mind. some are good and some are bad. some are helpful and some are harmful. however, change/progress/transition, whatever word you want to use, happens. (some) change happens naturally. progress needs to happen. and life is full of transitions. will we use and facilitate change/progress/transition for good or bad? will we learn from it? will we grow from it? important questions.in the book Powell writes: "I believe the church is the hope of the world... when it's working right. And therein lies the problem. Most churches aren't." the emperor is officially naked; butt-naked.but Powell doesn't just call out the emperor and give us the bad news. he includes good news as well. he tells of his experiences and tells stories of the ups and downs and the lessons learned of the life of the churches in which he's been apart of and from his life as a pastor.an important thought and reacurring message, whether explicitly or implicitly, throughout change your church for good is the idea that we can change without compromising truth. the church has to admit where we've made mistakes and where we make mistakes. we need to rethink and redo a lot. however, there is truth that does not get compromised. the church is about truth you can believe in as well.change your church for good is a great read. it's an excellent resource for pastors and servants of the church as well as anyone who attends and loves the church.*Full Disclosure: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson. They give free books to bloggers for honest reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.